Video Game Tester, is there any in Malaysia?

TSlord_aminkin
post Jun 15 2008, 07:09 PM, updated 18y ago

♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫
999 posts

Is there exist any company in Malaysia or international company that have branch in here that would like to hire a serious video game tester? I'm currently in extended year in degree Science Computer major in Graphics and Multimedia but after a poor performance making me think about this profession. I've search about it a google and found out it quite a serious business out there. Kinda wandering if in Malaysia we got that kind of job. Searching it at JobStreet but didn't find any.
ah_suknat
post Jun 15 2008, 07:59 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

no, you won't find it in Malaysia.

study hard, don't play too much game and get a decent job.
TSlord_aminkin
post Jun 15 2008, 08:09 PM

♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫
999 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Jun 15 2008, 07:59 PM)
no, you won't find it in Malaysia.

study hard, don't play too much game and get a decent job.
Really?? Too bad. How about Singapore? There are a few international games company there, right? Anyone knows anything about this profession there?

@ah_suknat
Thanks for the advice biggrin.gif
wodenus
post Jun 15 2008, 09:13 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

There was one in Ipoh wasn't there ? some online game producer in Ipoh needed game testers.
TSlord_aminkin
post Jun 16 2008, 07:10 AM

♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫
999 posts

So, there really is. But must be kind rare. Will try my best to find it.
lyk
post Jun 16 2008, 07:38 AM

547 posts

lord_aminkin, do inform me if u found such a job... i'm looking this kind of job as well... will inform ya if i found any... cool2.gif ...

This post has been edited by lyk: Jun 16 2008, 07:39 AM
navilink
post Jun 16 2008, 07:54 AM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

even if there's such a job in malaysia, don't think can earn much...unless u willing to go usa and have a try applying job at numerous game companies there... or u can try at nintendo, its an 1337 company!
TSlord_aminkin
post Jun 16 2008, 08:56 AM

♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫
999 posts

QUOTE(lyk @ Jun 16 2008, 07:38 AM)
lord_aminkin, do inform me if u found such a job... i'm looking this kind of job as well... will inform ya if i found any...  cool2.gif ...
will do. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(navilink @ Jun 16 2008, 07:54 AM)
even if there's such a job in malaysia, don't think can earn much...unless u willing to go usa and have a try applying job at numerous game companies there... or u can try at nintendo, its an 1337 company!
Yeah, that's probably right. But it's kinda well paid in the US and all. Ranged from RM 38 to as highly RM 300 per hour just for playing games. drool.gif
mikelee
post Jun 16 2008, 09:19 AM

1,419 posts

Actually Codemasters Malaysia setup their development centre at KL Sentral. Last time there are finding for QA tester for their developed games. They recently just launched GRID.

This post has been edited by mikelee: Jun 16 2008, 03:03 PM
TSlord_aminkin
post Jun 16 2008, 12:59 PM

♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫
999 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ Jun 16 2008, 09:19 AM)
Actually Codemasters Malaysia setup their development centre at KL Sentral. Last time there are finding for QA tester for their developed games. The recently just launched GRID.
That's sound promising. Might want to look into it.
ps: By the way, I have played GRID and it's really interesting game. tongue.gif
rexis
post Jun 16 2008, 01:30 PM

*** 7-star status Old Bird ***
3,590 posts

TS, why do you interested to be a game tester? Is it your interest or you thinking that it is an easy job?

Being a professional game tester is not just play the game, you are required to perform the following:
- go thru all the quest, subquest, bonus quest of the game as well as as many builds as possible to make sure they are working
- try to screw the game by seeking out bugs or find any possible exploit of any game rules like skills, quests, path, etc etc.
- build a super character that is impossible to beat.
- give constructive comments on gameplay and level design
- repeat the whole game many times until I achieve all the above, in reasonable time frame.
Its not an easy job, you see.

(Btw, I need some help here)
TSlord_aminkin
post Jun 16 2008, 01:54 PM

♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫
999 posts

QUOTE(rexis @ Jun 16 2008, 01:30 PM)
TS, why do you interested to be a game tester? Is it your interest or you thinking that it is an easy job?

Being a professional game tester is not just play the game, you are required to perform the following:
- go thru all the quest, subquest, bonus quest of the game as well as as many builds as possible to make sure they are working
- try to screw the game by seeking out bugs or find any possible exploit of any game rules like skills, quests, path, etc etc.
- build a super character that is impossible to beat.
- give constructive comments on gameplay and level design
- repeat the whole game many times until I achieve all the above, in reasonable time frame.
Its not an easy job, you see.

(Btw, I need some help here)
I never think it an easy job. Before posting here, I've read a few review, article by experienced game tester and suddenly think this is an interesting job. At least this is where I good at. I've played many games, encounter many bugs, unnecessary features and whatnot. I'm confident that I can make use of my skills in gaming to make it worthy. Furthermore, I'm a Computer Science degree major in Graphics and Multimedia but I don't really see my future as a programmer because I don't take lesson seriously. So, I think this is the best way to start my own career, or at least that what I thought if I had the opportunity here in Malaysia. Can't I? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lord_aminkin: Jun 16 2008, 01:54 PM
wodenus
post Jun 16 2008, 02:03 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(lord_aminkin @ Jun 16 2008, 01:54 PM)
I never think it an easy job. Before posting here, I've read a few review, article by experienced game tester and suddenly think this is an interesting job. At least this is where I good at. I've played many games, encounter many bugs, unnecessary features and whatnot. I'm confident that I can make use of my skills in gaming to make it worthy. Furthermore, I'm a Computer Science degree major in Graphics and Multimedia but I don't really see my future as a programmer because I don't take lesson seriously. So, I think this is the best way to start my own career, or at least that what I thought if I had the opportunity here in Malaysia. Can't I?  rolleyes.gif
It's actually quite, boring, you have to count points, for instance, you hit 200 aliens, points range from 10 pts to 300 points, you have to keep track of ALL of them and see if the score matches. With RPGs, you have to make sure effects that stack actually stack, and effects that don't stack don't. Also you have to roam every inch of ground to make sure there are no "holes" in the map. Think about something like Warcraft, and having to walk up and down to cover every inch of ground so that you can find out if there are any "holes" in it. Also you have to plot optimal path, in a game there's always something called an optimal path, a build that lets players become a lot better. That's what you have to find.

You can always switch majors I think, can't you ?

WildChai
post Jun 16 2008, 02:04 PM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

Not to burst your bubble or anything....game testing jobs was practically everyone's once a upon a time dream job. Mine too....

But then reality kicks in....and hard. Get a real job?
rockdaman
post Jun 16 2008, 02:48 PM

357 posts

i saw EA singapore is hiring for the job u r asking...u may check it out.
rexis
post Jun 16 2008, 03:56 PM

*** 7-star status Old Bird ***
3,590 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Jun 16 2008, 02:04 PM)
Not to burst your bubble or anything....game testing jobs was practically everyone's once a upon a time dream job. Mine too....

perhaps a game maker is more practical then game tester...
TSlord_aminkin
post Jun 16 2008, 05:39 PM

♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫
999 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Jun 16 2008, 02:04 PM)

Yeah. Gonna do it sooner or later. Moreover, I still have one year of extended semester. tongue.gif

QUOTE(rockdaman @ Jun 16 2008, 02:48 PM)
i saw EA singapore is hiring for the job u r asking...u may check it out.
Thanks for the info. Gonna try look into it. nod.gif
oRoXoRo
post Jun 16 2008, 05:42 PM

Level 1 Audiophile
1,630 posts

Nobody can confirm what will happened in the future. So just do it. From game tester then u can move forward to game maker and so on. Better than you stuck with those boring jobs.
TSlord_aminkin
post Jun 16 2008, 06:07 PM

♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫
999 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jun 16 2008, 02:03 PM)
It's actually quite, boring, you have to count points, for instance, you hit 200 aliens, points range from 10 pts to 300 points, you have to keep track of ALL of them and see if the score matches. With RPGs, you have to make sure effects that stack actually stack, and effects that don't stack don't. Also you have to roam every inch of ground to make sure there are no "holes" in the map. Think about something like Warcraft, and having to walk up and down to cover every inch of ground so that you can find out if there are any "holes" in it. Also you have to plot optimal path, in a game there's always something called an optimal path, a build that lets players become a lot better. That's what you have to find.

You can always switch majors I think, can't you ?
Tell me which job is not boring. At least there's some fun part and it something I want to do. By the way, thanks for the job description. There's some useful info in that. About switching the major, I don't think I can afford that. Besides the financial problem, I don't think I can manage it at this stage. (Too lazy to study anymore) tongue.gif

QUOTE(oRoXoRo @ Jun 16 2008, 05:42 PM)
Nobody can confirm what will happened in the future. So just do it. From game tester then u can move forward to game maker and so on. Better than you stuck with those boring jobs.
Thanks for the support man. notworthy.gif

ps: Actually, I started this thread to find out if there is opportunity in video game tester career in Malaysia or maybe Singapore. Not opinion on whether I should take this path or not. But, nevertheless I welcome all of it. smile.gif
Myter
post Jun 17 2008, 01:37 AM

127 posts

wah TS there are a lot of mmu student like u lor...hurm wonder if they really interested in this kind of job also...they played nvr stop even got exam also still play game...really crazy~
gtqr68
post Jun 17 2008, 01:39 AM

68 posts

Dun always think of gaming. Just find a decent job and earn yur living
TSlord_aminkin
post Jun 17 2008, 11:27 AM

♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫
999 posts

QUOTE(gtqr68 @ Jun 17 2008, 01:39 AM)
Dun always think of gaming. Just find a decent job and earn yur living
There's a lot of ways to earn a living right? I'm just inquiring how to make this one of the option. Can't I?
If you have any information about this job in Malaysia, I welcome all of it. But if you just want to condemn whatsoever, please let you out yourself. Peace icon_rolleyes.gif
oRoXoRo
post Jun 17 2008, 02:03 PM

Level 1 Audiophile
1,630 posts

if just game tester then you can find it in malaysia. But video game tester(xbox,ps3,ps) kinda hard. Last time jobstreet did send me a notification about a game tester job for those handphone games.
mikelee
post Jun 17 2008, 02:05 PM

1,419 posts

How about starting yourself as a normal QA tester for any kind of software industry? From that on, you can pick up QA skills and also know how QA tester works day to day.

This post has been edited by mikelee: Jun 17 2008, 02:05 PM
nameless
post Jun 17 2008, 02:08 PM

623 posts

Dude, I been worked some years in game industry in Malaysia & Singapore.
Game tester/QA not as fun as you think especially working in local company.
First the pay was low, workload is heavy, you don't get to pick which game you like to test to play, you might "been force" to play the same boring,crappy game again & again in whole month or even more.

This post has been edited by nameless: Jun 17 2008, 02:10 PM
oRoXoRo
post Jun 17 2008, 02:21 PM

Level 1 Audiophile
1,630 posts

The reality kicks in..
Klesk
post Jun 17 2008, 02:58 PM

3,469 posts

http://www.gamebrains.com/jobs/Index.html
this might help
TSlord_aminkin
post Jun 17 2008, 04:33 PM

♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫
999 posts

Thanks for everything guys. There's some good information as well as good advice. If there's anything related to this job, don't forget to let me know. Thanks smile.gif
zc_squash
post Jun 17 2008, 04:39 PM

1,149 posts

I read an article written by a an in-house game tester many years ago (btw, i'm still young if you must know). From the outside, many people would think that it is really a fun job to do. Hey, after all you are just playing games! But...no, apparently. Just imagine you are testing the Mario game. You will have to hit the brick say 400 times to see if there is a bug. What happen will if i hit it 401 times? I will go nuts really doing the same thing over and over again - with a Mario!

But if your passion is with games, then go right ahead. If you think you can have a good career as a game tester, don't let others to tell you otherwise. Good luck!

This post has been edited by zc_squash: Jun 17 2008, 04:41 PM
navilink
post Jun 17 2008, 09:11 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

QUOTE(zc_squash @ Jun 17 2008, 04:39 PM)
I read an article written by a an in-house game tester many years ago (btw, i'm still young if you must know). From the outside, many people would think that it is really a fun job to do. Hey, after all you are just playing games! But...no, apparently. Just imagine you are testing the Mario game. You will have to hit the brick say 400 times to see if there is a bug. What happen will if i hit it 401 times? I will go nuts really doing the same thing over and over again - with a Mario!

But if your passion is with games, then go right ahead. If you think you can have a good career as a game tester, don't let others to tell you otherwise. Good luck!
this is madness11!! hit bricks 401st times!?? haha...that one called bad testing strategy ler...well u must be efficient in finding more bugs in games...more bugs = more kpi = more bonus tongue.gif
mieoren
post Feb 8 2010, 11:07 PM

for those who want a game job, i have some site to share with. you have to register to be a game tester. just go through the site and decide the best that suite you.

Only For Gamers

Game Testing Guru

National Game Tester

Video Games QA

i'm one of the game tester and i love my job biggrin.gif
hypercore
post Feb 9 2010, 02:43 AM

84 posts

There's another company in Mid Valley City that was looking for game testers for their online MMORPG some time back.....I dont know now but you maybe want to search for "Mid Valley" on Jobstreet search bar to see the results.....
Lester1987
post Feb 9 2010, 07:27 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(hypercore @ Feb 9 2010, 02:43 AM)
There's another company in Mid Valley City that was looking for game testers for their online MMORPG some time back.....I dont know now but you maybe want to search for "Mid Valley" on Jobstreet search bar to see the results.....
the company is cubizone. used to play their MMORPG and their Customer Service sux.
alex13
post Feb 9 2010, 09:20 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(lord_aminkin @ Jun 15 2008, 07:09 PM)
Is there exist any company in Malaysia or international company that have branch in here that would like to hire a serious video game tester? I'm currently in extended year in degree Science Computer major in Graphics and Multimedia but after a poor performance making me think about this profession. I've search about it a google and found out it quite a serious business out there. Kinda wandering if in Malaysia we got that kind of job. Searching it at JobStreet but didn't find any.
Talk to The One Academy. They have partnerships with Ubisoft on games' development course and could have similar positions around.

Games Tester is kind of rare here, unless it's for the magazines; even that, you probably will not be exclusively testing for games only.

Note on one thing though, Games Testing is not as fun as we might think. The number of games you have to test varies and half of the time you will be testing games that you won't even like. It will be like software testing / engineering, you will be spending times writing the so called "failure analysis report" and will need to touch the source code from time to time. You will also need to follow multiple scenario on the testing just to make sure that the game is bug-free.

It's a job that requires you to play games, not a job that let you play games. And that, my friend, makes a lot of difference. Don't let people affect your desire though. If you like it, go for it, even it means you have to re-locate to somewhere else.
bludaisy
post Oct 28 2011, 02:44 PM

79 posts

hi guys, just wanna bring up this topic again.

have anyone tried this before: www.iamgametester.com
does it work in malaysia? my friend in philippines is earning from their product.

Added on October 28, 2011, 3:59 pmhmm...no reply, means no one has tried it yet...

i think i'm gonna buy it. it has 60days money back guarantee. and a lot of positive reviews on it. just not sure if it works in malaysia.

will let you know if it's helpful for me smile.gif

This post has been edited by bludaisy: Oct 28 2011, 03:59 PM
SYL17
post Nov 30 2011, 12:32 AM

295 posts

game tester in sg have.. bad pay and your scope sometimes double-up with forum administrator, or in-game manager.
Very little job advancement.
Overseas are abit different, because they make plenty of games, worldclass games and MMORPG.
in malaysia and singapore, they do more of marketing and network/systems instead.

with your qualifications, u are better off in different IT job rather than a gametester. If u like games, u can still join a game company and have a more fulfilling career.
thoxenzor
post Jan 25 2014, 03:50 PM

55 posts

After the one who post this mention once, I also felt this post are going a bit off the road already,

I think the title will be "Are there any game tester job in Malaysia", but topic discussion are turning to "are game tester a good or bad job in Malaysia",

I also looking for information about game tester job in Malaysia, if anyone knows, please share with me,

nameless
post Jan 27 2014, 11:13 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(thoxenzor @ Jan 25 2014, 03:50 PM)
After the one who post this mention once, I also felt this post are going a bit off the road already,

I think the title will be "Are there any game tester job in Malaysia", but topic discussion are turning to "are game tester a good or bad job in Malaysia",

I also looking for information about game tester job in Malaysia, if anyone knows, please share with me,

Lad, game jobs/companies in malaysia pretty much dead... same as singapore
Your best bet would Ubisoft singapore.

To get a game tester/QA in these big company,beside games knowledge and experience, having good writting skill and knowing 1 or 2 foriegn languages would be a big PLUS
Azurika
post Jan 27 2014, 04:13 PM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

I know of afew places taking in Games Tester, only catch is many do not qualify as they have 0 knowledge in what a game tester does. Many Malaysian thinks game tester is fun and easy, but hell no. Hence it has became cheaper for us to test the games ourself and push out a beta stage game for bug fixing. I took in a guy for Game Tester once, had to spoon feed him and not willing the extra hours, showed him the door after his probation ended. Hence I decided no more newbies in this field !

0.0283sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:57 PM