Cooler Master Mystique 632s Mod

TScskeong
post Jun 15 2008, 06:33 PM, updated 18y ago

438 posts

2nd time modding. 1st time was nothing much to shout about. heres the progress so far.

first up some pics of the casing straight out of the box

now some pics of the casing after it has been taken apart

i'm gonna sand them down to metal layer and mirror finish. the front panels are aluminum so they won't rust however the body of the casing is SECC........they rusted after i sanded of the paints and left them overnight. any idea how to prevent that. below is the top panel after going through 240,400,800,1200,1500 & 2000. i have yet to use the metal buffer and polish. any good brands to recommend?

Calvin22
post Jun 15 2008, 06:51 PM

462 posts

wow... nice casing there ... good lucky ... tongue.gif tongue.gif
Sib
post Jun 15 2008, 06:56 PM

#PasukanPenyelamatMalaysia
1,945 posts

wow TS, nice casing u got there...u sure got lots of $$$ there, still new n mod it after that... sweat.gif

btw, if u dun mind tell us wat're u going to do to the casing? i mean the mod of course. nod.gif

cheers n gud luck! icon_rolleyes.gif
TScskeong
post Jun 15 2008, 07:05 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(Calvin22 @ Jun 15 2008, 06:51 PM)
wow... nice casing there ... good lucky ...  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
tq very much

QUOTE(Sib @ Jun 15 2008, 06:56 PM)
wow TS, nice casing u got there...u sure got lots of $$$ there, still new n mod it after that... sweat.gif

btw, if u dun mind tell us wat're u going to do to the casing? i mean the mod of course.  nod.gif

cheers n gud luck!  icon_rolleyes.gif
i'm going to sand off the paint on front, left, right and top panel. after that i'm going to sand them into chrome like mirror finish. liquid cooling will have to wait as i'm on a tight budget.

oh yeah update gonna be slow as i can only work on the casing during weekends.

This post has been edited by cskeong: Jun 15 2008, 07:07 PM
Aquariusdenz
post Jun 15 2008, 11:01 PM

1,533 posts

wow nice case indeed.. how much is it? im sure waiting for the result of your mod.. smile.gif
TScskeong
post Jun 16 2008, 09:14 AM

438 posts

casing is RM 399. guys i'm having a problem. its rusting.anything i can use to prevent rusting after i'm done with the sanding and buffing?
d2z
post Jun 16 2008, 09:26 AM

398 posts

clear coat spray bro..? im not so sure laa~..huu~
TScskeong
post Jun 16 2008, 09:29 AM

438 posts

well i'm not an expert but here is wat i know. smooth surface gives poor adhesion to paint.........mirror finish surface are smooth........lol. besides i didn't get the buffing done yet so can't cover it with clear coat yet.....though i still think they won't adhere properly
Cloudx
post Jun 16 2008, 09:42 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,521 posts

Tai kor me not soo expert la... but i would suggest that u paint it once u get the buffing is done.. to prevent rusting. 1 coat will do to protect it.
Sib
post Jun 16 2008, 10:48 AM

1,945 posts

QUOTE(cskeong @ Jun 16 2008, 09:14 AM)
casing is RM 399. guys i'm having a problem. its rusting.anything i can use to prevent rusting after i'm done with the sanding and buffing?
may i suggest using WD 40 to cover the surface 1st? the reason using wd40 is bcuz it's easier to rinse if u're going to paint it later, using oil/cooking oil is troublesome bcuz of it's properties. nod.gif
TScskeong
post Jun 16 2008, 11:10 AM

438 posts

i'm not going to paint it. i'm going for bare metal mirror finish. wd40 is good however it will trap dirt
Sib
post Jun 16 2008, 11:19 AM

1,945 posts

QUOTE(cskeong @ Jun 16 2008, 11:10 AM)
i'm not going to paint it. i'm going for bare metal mirror finish. wd40 is good however it will trap dirt
yes, i know. that's y i state it can be rinse easier than oil b4 applying anything to it. meaning ur going for a clear coat only?
lot101
post Jun 16 2008, 12:27 PM

Apa got sing sing one......
603 posts

ok

everyone stay away from CSKEONG......he will rclxub.gif be on a mugging streak liao .......

ooops he got me liao......help!

This post has been edited by lot101: Jun 16 2008, 12:29 PM
TScskeong
post Jun 16 2008, 12:44 PM

438 posts

coming here kacau kacau =.=. and sib yeah i'm going for clear coat only. need to be careful lol. the paints gonna have poor adhesion to the surface.
lot101
post Jun 16 2008, 12:50 PM

Apa got sing sing one......
603 posts

QUOTE(cskeong @ Jun 16 2008, 12:44 PM)
coming here kacau kacau =.=. and sib yeah i'm going for clear coat only. need to be careful lol. the paints gonna have poor adhesion to the surface.
ai yo....you mai need the attention mah...... tongue.gif ...... send to an automotive paint shop....30 minutes everything kao tim....

kuzgo
post Jun 16 2008, 04:15 PM

266 posts

I'm not 100% sure, but I have read somewhere in these forums that you can clear-coat it to prevent rust. Other than that I can't think of anything else. Unless you're will to sapu WD40 all the time. lol. Or you can fill up an aquarium with oil and immerse the case. XD
sepulgilo
post Jun 17 2008, 10:58 PM

dead for good
1,626 posts

use undercoat sure fix ur problem
lohwenli
post Jun 20 2008, 02:42 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Thing is, he wants the exposed polished metal look. I'm having the same problem here too. Probably will try clearcoating first, if really cannot then may have to get it plated.
TScskeong
post Jun 20 2008, 09:05 AM

438 posts

clear coat added. waiting for it to cure before sanding and rubbing compound to get smooth finish on the clear coat. wonder if it will turn out alright lol
sukatra_aicaca
post Jun 20 2008, 11:15 AM

Forever Alone
1,180 posts

TS
this casing secc @ alu ??

0.0234sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:51 AM