246 posts

BUDGET RANGE:2k

Second hand: no

QWERTY keyboard: Yes

Keypad: Virtual

GPS: Yes

Bluetooth: Yes

WIfi: Yes

Frequent Overseas traveller to Japan and US? or other countries: no (relates to warranty, and the type of band Pdaphone running on)

Camera Resolution minimum:2 at lease

Expandable Memory:if possible yes

3G : YEs

HSDPA or higher: NO

Front Camera: yes if possible (doesnt really matter honestly)

Gaming Type: Heavy Gaming(prefer gt games )

Screen Resolution:I dont give a hoot

if can i would prefer slide keypad like dopod 838 pro kinda like tht style of PDA and this will be my first PDA phone so just let u guys know i am really blur about this ...
dp82
post Jun 24 2008, 07:51 PM

862 posts

BUDGET RANGE: RM 1500 - RM 2000

Brand Preference if any: HTC / Sony Ericsson/ Samsung

Minimum how long ago released: 1-2years

QWERTY keyboard: Yes

Keypad: Virtual

GPS: Optional

Frequent Overseas traveller to Japan and US? or other countries: Yes

Camera Resolution minimum:

Expandable Memory: Yes

3G : Yes

HSDPA or higher: Yes

Front Camera: Optional

Gaming Type: Light gaming

Screen Resolution: I dont give a hoot

K_zyl
post Jun 25 2008, 12:35 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Jun 24 2008, 12:16 PM)
@K_zyl, i get your requirements. Looks like heavy gaming is your main requirement. I recommend NON Touch FLo devices. Which rules out all the touch, touch cruise, even diamond. QUite honestly, diamond is nice to look at and everything, but despite being able to play COD2, a lot of other games cannot play, due to VGA incompatibility and Touch Flo lagging up the game. Also, DIamond has too few buttons for u to really enjoy gaming. I was considering to downgrade back to tytn2 for gaming, but gf dun let lol.

So here are my recommendations, HTC Tytn 2, HTC P3600i. Both match all your requirements. Both the tytn2 and P3600i have same gaming capabilities, just one has qwerty the other doesnt.

Dont expect to play COD or Quake (QUake DIamond also not strong enuf to play, it only just manages COD, to play Quake u need Dell Axim), but u can play many many other cool games like Guitar Hero 3.

WIth those two options, i think u should go for Tytn 2. More buttons better.
Baronic, thank You very much! I will check out your recommendation. This is the 1st time i get a PDA phone. Btw are you selling PDAs? If yes pls let me know your location, else any shop that offer good deals?

This post has been edited by K_zyl: Jun 25 2008, 12:36 AM
TSBaronic
post Jun 25 2008, 01:23 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

@horseman, if u dun need a hardware numeric keypad, a virtual keypad also can, then u can basically settle for any PDA. I use virtual keypad, basically it shows a T9 normal phone keypad on your pda screen to type like normal sms using one hand only. its free to use, and any pda shud be able to use it. Need to know your budget range before offering anything though.

@chianping, chianping, for your requirements, i believe you'll have to aim for Eten Glofish M700 or the newer Eten Glofish M800. They both meet your requirements. I'm not too sure bout M800's current price but the worst is it exceeds your budget just a little. Your 2k budget constraint + no second hand is the issue.

@dp82, because you're a frequent traveller, your options are limited. Eten or Glofish devices are out since they're mostly Triband i believe, so do not work in US or Japan. I strongly recommend Dopod 838pro. It does not have GPS though.

@k_zyl, no problem. i dont have a shop, i'm just a normal pda fanatic. For the best price i would recommend searching in our garage sales itself. I would usually recommend a seller, but i'm currently having unresolved issues with him, so i dun wanna recommend in case he does not resolve it.
dp82
post Jun 25 2008, 12:21 PM

862 posts

How bout Samsung i780, Sony Ercisson P1 & HTC Touch P3452?
SFOD-D
post Jun 25 2008, 06:38 PM

757 posts

Forget SE P1
dadarouch
post Jun 25 2008, 06:52 PM

(´;ω;`)
2,920 posts

haha.. SE P1 is a darn Symbian..
TSBaronic
post Jun 25 2008, 09:32 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

HTC P3452 (HTC Touch) does not have qwerty. Does not meet your specs.

as for that samsung model, u could try it, i havent really tried that model before. But i believe it has WQVGA? So u'll have third party applications and games incompatibility problems
~Battousai~
post Jun 25 2008, 10:59 PM

4,477 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Jun 25 2008, 01:23 AM)

@dp82, because you're a frequent traveller, your options are limited. Eten or Glofish devices are out since they're mostly Triband i believe, so do not work in US or Japan. I strongly recommend Dopod 838pro. It does not have GPS though.

eten m800 is gsm quad band lo haha.. that's why i bought it tongue.gif
yourgadget
post Jun 25 2008, 11:13 PM

468 posts

HTC quite GOOD!!!
dadarouch
post Jun 26 2008, 12:16 AM

(´;ω;`)
2,920 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Jun 25 2008, 09:32 PM)
HTC P3452 (HTC Touch) does not have qwerty. Does not meet your specs.

as for that samsung model, u could try it, i havent really tried that model before. But i believe it has WQVGA? So u'll have third party applications and games incompatibility problems
my bro reviewed the Samsung i780, so i had a chance to play with it abit..

to me, screen not that responsive.. sweat.gif but the PPC is thin and is quite nice to hold.. but ppl who has big fingers should stay away.. the QWERTY was made for ants.
mosfet83
post Jun 26 2008, 12:24 AM

218 posts

BUDGET RANGE: Below 2k

Brand Preference if any: o2 > HTC > Dopod

Second hand: Yes if less than 2 months old

QWERTY keyboard: no

GPS: No

Frequent Overseas traveller to Japan and US? or other countries: No

Camera Resolution minimum: Don't care, not for taking picture, already got digicam tongue.gif

3G : No

HSDPA or higher: No

Front Camera: No

Gaming Type: Light gaming

Screen Resolution: The bigger the better

Need recommendation please guys. Wan to buy ASAP. Any big difference WM5 and WM6? First time PDA user here wink.gif Thanks in advance biggrin.gif
TSBaronic
post Jun 26 2008, 12:34 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

interesting requirements there mosfet83. U dun want much of a cam capability, dun need 3G also. Are u looking for a PDA or PDA phone just to clarify
mosfet83
post Jun 26 2008, 12:39 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Jun 26 2008, 12:34 AM)
interesting requirements there mosfet83. U dun want much of a cam capability, dun need 3G also. Are u looking for a PDA or PDA phone just to clarify
i'm looking for a PDA phone actually
so i dun hav to carry both my pda and phone at the same time
gonna sell my 4months old k530i after buying this flex.gif
dun need 3G since everywhere i go got free wifi tongue.gif
camera? nahhh im not photogenic blush.gif
doesnt mean i really dont need it
it would be an advantage if it has it biggrin.gif
i do make video calls sometimes but that isnt a priority

This post has been edited by mosfet83: Jun 26 2008, 07:17 AM
TSBaronic
post Jun 26 2008, 09:17 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

I see i see. Well, for starters i dun recommend O2 since their support is pretty bad. And pricey. Their new line up is promising though. but expensive.

But anyway, for you i recommend O2 Atom V. Brand new should be just at your budget. Nice, sleek, extremely powerful processor, downside, no video call, and only 64 mb of ram, so heavy gaming which requires more ram may be a problem. But u want light gaming. So stuff even like Age of Empires shud be no problem. i wanted to buy this cuz of the proc, but then, powerful proc plus weak ram, no point, hard to heavy game with low ram so didnt bother.

More within your budget i recommend HTC P3600i.Around Rm 1700 brand new, ori by SIS. I used this before, and its one of the more reliable HTC devices out there. Lower proc power than Atom V but still fast, just dun have 3D acceleration so cant play those 3D accelerated games like COD. with 500Mhz u can basically play any other game though. ALso, unlike atom V it has a front camera for video call.

Both above mentioned devices have GPS and 2MP cam. Both i strongly recommend for your requirements. If u dun need front cam, i'd go for Atom V. CUz of the beautiful design and proc lol. But if u plan to get a gf, get a front cam. haahaha
chianping
post Jun 26 2008, 06:31 PM

246 posts

@horseman, if u dun need a hardware numeric keypad, a virtual keypad also can, then u can basically settle for any PDA. I use virtual keypad, basically it shows a T9 normal phone keypad on your pda screen to type like normal sms using one hand only. its free to use, and any pda shud be able to use it. Need to know your budget range before offering anything though.

@chianping, chianping, for your requirements, i believe you'll have to aim for Eten Glofish M700 or the newer Eten Glofish M800. They both meet your requirements. I'm not too sure bout M800's current price but the worst is it exceeds your budget just a little. Your 2k budget constraint + no second hand is the issue.

@k_zyl, no problem. i dont have a shop, i'm just a normal pda fanatic. For the best price i would recommend searching in our garage sales itself. I would usually recommend a seller, but i'm currently having unresolved issues with him, so i dun wanna recommend in case he does not resolve it.
yeah thanks man let me have a look now then come back to u ya thanks ....
benny_268
post Jun 26 2008, 11:56 PM

Any PDA to recommend?? I wan to buy a new PDA phone. smile.gif smile.gif

BUDGET RANGE: Around RM1500

Brand Preference if any: Asus > HTC > Dopod> O2

GPS: Yes

Camera Resolution minimum: 2megapixels

3G : No

HSDPA or higher: No

Front Camera: No

Screen Resolution: The bigger the better
chianping
post Jun 27 2008, 08:57 PM

246 posts

hey brother any idea where gt sell the M800 ? kinda hard to look for it ?
TSBaronic
post Jun 28 2008, 10:35 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

@benny, check out X800, i think meets your requirements perfectly

@chianping, try contacting these guys. They're the official distributer's for Eten

GrandTech Systems Sdn Bhd
Suite A-3A-10, Plaza Mont' Kiara
No.2, Jalan 1/70C, Mont' Kiara
50480 Kuala Lumpur
Tel: 03-6201 0766
sigheart
post Jun 28 2008, 05:33 PM

The Ultimate Driving Machine
1,442 posts

Hi guys, I'm thinking of upgrading to a new PDA phone. Would appreciate it if I can get any help in choosing the right PDA phone as generally I know next to nothing about PDA phones having not previously owned one before. Any help would be really appreciated notworthy.gif

BUDGET RANGE: Around RM2,000 ( RM 2k is the max I will be willing to go. Cheaper than 2k is a bonus nod.gif )

Brand Preference if any: Asus or O2 but if there are other models which is better I'd be glad to consider. (Any model except HTC P3600i as my friend owns it and I want something different)

Second hand: No. Must be a new set. (First PDA phone of course have to be brand new tongue.gif )

GPS: If have its a bonus. If don't have then its OK.

WIfi: Must have.

Camera Resolution minimum: 2 megapixels

3G : Must have.

HSDPA or higher: What is this ? Can someone explain to me ?

Front Camera: Generally a yes because you need a camera in front for 3G ?

Screen Resolution: Doesn't matter.

Again thanks in advance for your time notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by sigheart: Jun 28 2008, 05:35 PM

97 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:47 PM