goldfries
post Jun 9 2008, 01:47 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

so far i go ok lor. only like their salted-egg crab. smile.gif

the Bandar Puteri branch is their new branch, environment is WAY better than the one in Desa Aman Puri

Unfortunately for me is the Bdr Puteri branch is at the other end of LDP where I'm from which is around 15 minutes drive to Desa Aman Puri

I've not been there for quite a while, simply because there are good CRAB serving restaurants elsewhere minus the crazy queue.

I'm one of the few who couldn't care much about service as long as i don't have to wait long, i get what i ordered, it was well done. however I do get annoyed if i can't get someone to refill my drinks or get my bill in a timely manner.

other than that, what I hated about Tak Fok is that (in reference to the Wangsa Permai branch) is that I have to reach at 5.45pm or else I wouldn't even bother going due to crazy queue.

And even if i got a place to sit, I would also be rushing to finish and I hate that. you might ask "why rush to finish?" - Well if you've been to that branch and had your meal there, you'll realize (the many times I mentioned) the queue.

And these people will hang around your table like vultures as long as they get the hint that you're coming to the end of your meal. So it's like you have no liberty to stay back and enjoy a hearty conversation / chat session with others who are seated on the same table.

Eyes keep staring and all, it's uncomfortable.

All-in-all - decent food but overrated.

Added on June 9, 2008, 1:49 pm
QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 8 2008, 09:12 AM)
There are only 2 Tak Fook..One in Kepong & another 1 in Bdr Puteri..Agreed wth TS..nothing special at Tak Fook..Until now still wondering why ppl still queing up at that RM18/kg crab restaurant..The crabs are small & not juicy at all hmm.gif 

Eventhough it's cheap & they hv set a precedence & u can see more & more seafood restaurants around Bdr Puteri offering RM18/kg crabs..but the size  doh.gif ..Not sure on the service...din encounter such incident on my 1st & 2nd visit there.. smile.gif
indeed. there's 1 shop near where I stay (Bdr Sri D'sara) where the crab is a little more expensive but the quality is WAY better than that of Tak Fok.

or if you happen to be at Wangsa Permai and looking for crab to eat, try out Fook Kee instead. It's at the corner, just behind Old Town White Coffee.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jun 12 2008, 01:28 PM
goldfries
post Jun 12 2008, 01:26 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(jssim @ Jun 10 2008, 12:11 PM)
its located in desa aman puri....not wangsa permai or bdr sri d'sara...

yes. Desa Aman Puri.......

in case you're referring to my post, the Bdr Sri D'sara shop I mentioned was not Tak Fook la. smile.gif it's some other shop with way better crab. biggrin.gif

Added on June 12, 2008, 1:27 pm
QUOTE(vkeong @ Jun 10 2008, 01:15 PM)
great.. i will strike off tak fok from my to try list smile.gif
give it a try la. smile.gif from my experience, their crabs are alright. just that I've not been to their Desa Aman Puri branch for more than 2 years i think. Bandar Puteri branch, I went last year and it was nice though.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jun 12 2008, 01:27 PM
goldfries
post Jun 22 2008, 04:05 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(vkeong @ Jun 21 2008, 11:16 PM)
we had 1 kg cheese baked crab, and 1 kg salted egg crab, 1 vege and 1 ginger onion chicken..

good choice. that's what i always order, the salted egg. cheese baked comes next but bear in mind that the cheese baked crab ah, you MUST finish it while it's hot. as it cool down, it isn't that nice.

i also tried their marmite and kong pou crab, ok la. not my favs.

long time didn't go already. last i went was the Bdr Puteri branch late last year, it was fine.

i hate their rule where you need to order 1 vege, else you won't get to enjoy the RM18 per kg rate.. normal rate is actually RM26!!

sweat.gif wah. since when did they implement this? my last visit i only ordered crab and rice and it surely wasn't RM 26 or i'll complain already.

and the vege and chicken is darn expensive, RM15 and RM20!! what a rip off.. well i guess if you're paying cheap for the crabs, you need to pay more for others to cover their cost.

erm. their crabs would be cheap from supplier. the most they could do is increase their crab rate per kg IMO.

forcing is not nice. RM 15 for veg is expensive ler, RM 20 for chicken also. cos (myself being from that area) veg usually hovers at RM 8 - 10, chicken around RM 12 - 15.

oh well.

eh you come this area tell me la. i bring you some place to try.
goldfries
post Jun 22 2008, 07:51 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(sharkteef @ Jun 22 2008, 04:25 PM)
i've tried this place long time ago. Wanted to pop by yesterday at the bandar sri damansara branch but it was flooded with people. Went to eat bak kut teh instead down the road hehehe.
hope the prices didnt change much.
that's DESA AMAN PURI. smile.gif you have to pass by bandar sri damansara old phase first before reaching there but it surely is not BSD.

and yeah, like i mentioned in my earlier post. you either go there before 6pm or after 10pm. or else no place wan. really crazy, which is why i don't go there anymore despite being so near. in fact i go to another restaurant just nearby. biggrin.gif

0.0165sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:16 AM