Overclocking E7XXX Series

SkywalkerxX
post Jun 15 2008, 12:43 PM

Protection & Control
590 posts

diff between 8 series and 7 series like darkshyte says is the CACHE..the bigger the cache,the bigger the potential to OC,but the bigger the cache with no OC is bloody hell USELESS..just like a 6 lanes highway with 1 car..

btw i just bought E7200,have to join this clan haha
SkywalkerxX
post Jun 22 2008, 03:51 AM

Protection & Control
590 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Jun 15 2008, 01:05 PM)
are u serious about this?
paiseh..this terminology should be use for HyperTransport not CACHE... sorry sorry doh.gif A bigger cache only allows the CPU to store more data at any given time and reduces the number of times it has to go back to the system memory to look for data..

Think of the data paths that link all those things together as highways. If you try to fit too many cars down the highway, you get a traffic jam and some cars have to wait before they can get through. HyperTransport puts more lanes in the highway so more cars can flow through it. If you have two lanes, but only one car is going down the highway, adding a third lane won't make that car go faster. If you have a few thousand cars, but only two lanes, adding a third lane would make the flow move faster. I used wrong terminology...paiseh.. doh.gif

0.0139sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:08 PM