JayCY
Aug 21 2008, 03:51 PM

Hey OCers,
I'm a newbie or noob in overclocking. I have an E7200. I want to overclock it to around 3Ghz to 3.2Ghz just for abit more performance. I've read the Intel C2D overclocking guide. But still I have some questions to ask. I have a Team Elite PC-6400 800Mhz RAM with a Gigabyte EP43-DS3L. So yeah, I'm very sure overclocking is easier with these things.
First, I just need to keep the stock voltage, and just increase the FSB frequency? Do I really have to set the VGA PCIe frequency to 100mhz? Or setting the memory multiplier to the lowest? Then If I do, Will it affect the performance? Or I change the FSB frequency to 315-320Mhz? Then do a stability test with Orthos for about 5 hours? I usually on my com for about 6 hours straight If I play games. Then, if it is good enough. Then should I set back the memory multiplier and the VGA PCIe frequency to default, after the test or before the test?
I'm very glad and priviledged if someone help me..thanks.
This post has been edited by JayCY: Aug 21 2008, 03:52 PM
JayCY
Aug 21 2008, 05:07 PM

Hey OCers,
I'm a newbie or noob in overclocking. I have an E7200. I want to overclock it to around 3Ghz to 3.2Ghz just for abit more performance. I've read the Intel C2D overclocking guide. But still I have some questions to ask. I have a Team Elite PC-6400 800Mhz RAM with a Gigabyte EP43-DS3L. So yeah, I'm very sure overclocking is easier with these things.
First, I just need to keep the stock voltage, and just increase the FSB frequency? Do I really have to set the VGA PCIe frequency to 100mhz? Or setting the memory multiplier to the lowest? Then If I do, Will it affect the performance? Or I change the FSB frequency to 315-320Mhz? Then do a stability test with Orthos for about 5 hours? I usually on my com for about 6 hours straight If I play games. Then, if it is good enough. Then should I set back the memory multiplier and the VGA PCIe frequency to default, after the test or before the test?
I'm very glad and priviledged if someone help me..thanks.
JayCY
Aug 22 2008, 12:11 AM

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 21 2008, 06:12 PM) E7200 lor 1. increase the FSB will do. only increase voltage when things can't run. 2. don't touch the VGA PCI-E. 3. memory multiplier? 4. yes just change FSB. Orthos fail also ok wan. just that you don't get 100% perfect stability but on the other hand, still can play games wan la. If play game keep crashing and all, then yeah really unstable lor. Right...Thanks. But at least how long I should run the stability test, whether it is prime95 or Orthos? What about the memory multiplier should i make it like 2.4? Lets say my FSB is about 334x9. my memory mulitiplier would be 2.4 So it will be 334x2.4 is 801.6. Can this be done? Normally, what is the highest Ghz it can reach with the stock voltages for E7200? Thanks.
JayCY
Aug 23 2008, 12:12 PM

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 23 2008, 08:13 AM) aahh the FSB:RAM ratio thing la it depends on your BIOS la for me, i always run it at 1:1 Ah, tq GF. Btw, are you still using you're oced E2160? Or you've change to a C2D or C2Q?
JayCY
Aug 23 2008, 01:07 PM

Im sure E7200 will not bottleneck the new GPUs when it is overclocked. Goldfries, are you able to do a benchmark for HD4850 with your o'ced E7200 to see the difference?