9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Property price/value (Petrol hike), How petrol hike can affect price/value?

Pai
post Jun 9 2008, 07:48 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

QUOTE(a6meister @ Jun 9 2008, 12:28 PM)

secondly, i would also like to know where can i get a semi d below 300k in Klang Valley.
Plenty available in Rawang, Sepang etc smile.gif
gkl83
post Jun 9 2008, 08:42 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Jun 9 2008, 07:48 PM)
Plenty available in Rawang, Sepang etc  smile.gif

but the location are the boundary of klang valley...
same like klang's bukit tinggi, still have available units even completed build... sweat.gif
if for shah alam house, the construction done 10-20% only and 90% of under construction houses sold off... sweat.gif
Syd G
post Jun 9 2008, 09:14 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(rourou @ Jun 9 2008, 04:41 PM)
does these really works??  i've gone through an agent to acquire 2 properties from auctions but the seller always bail out last minute sad.gif sad.gif... is it really the case or internal workings?? unsure.gif

i'll reckon that existing property (not new ones) in town, price ain't going to go down any time soon from the discussion (soon as in 1 or 2 years time).  what do you all think of a RM180k landed single storey in Pandan Jaya.  there's existing tenant at RM700/month.  good buy?
In my honest opinion, If you're looking for positive cashflow from rental or property appreciation, it's not a good buy. That area is matured, jam everyday and the neighborhood is too dodgy for my liking... but that's just my opinion.

I'd add a couple of Ks and buy a condo near Setiawangsa LRT. Rent 1k++ and it's a good neighbourhood too smile.gif
firesphere
post Jun 10 2008, 12:13 AM

63 posts

KLCC bubbles? Come into the banking & property line. They're bound to increase a lot more (according to those umm economist?) and they have extremely high demand compare to medium and lower cost properties. I don't believe it til I managed to get my hands on the loan there.
rourou
post Jun 10 2008, 08:42 AM

Ho~ Ho~ Ho~
975 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 9 2008, 09:14 PM)
In my honest opinion, If you're looking for positive cashflow from rental or property appreciation, it's not a good buy. That area is matured, jam everyday and the neighborhood is too dodgy for my liking... but that's just my opinion.

I'd add a couple of Ks and buy a condo near Setiawangsa LRT. Rent 1k++ and it's a good neighbourhood too smile.gif
one of the reason i was considering the area was that in fact it is a landed property... and if one fine day i really get married then can live there laugh.gif

thanks for the info... will keep a look out at condos near Setiawangsa LRT... but the few that i viewed are like 300k and it's above what i can afford sad.gif
Syd G
post Jun 10 2008, 10:05 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(rourou @ Jun 10 2008, 08:42 AM)
one of the reason i was considering the area was that in fact it is a landed property... and if one fine day i really get married then can live there laugh.gif 

thanks for the info... will keep a look out at condos near Setiawangsa LRT... but the few that i viewed are like 300k and it's above what i can afford sad.gif
I used to think like that too but you gotta differentiate between investments and property for own usage. I personally dont like staying in the unit that I bought for investment - thus no sentimental value or plan to stay there in the future, just purely business decision biggrin.gif

rourou
post Jun 10 2008, 10:12 AM

Ho~ Ho~ Ho~
975 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 10 2008, 10:05 AM)
I used to think like that too but you gotta differentiate between investments and property for own usage. I personally dont like staying in the unit that I bought for investment - thus no sentimental value or plan to stay there in the future, just purely business decision biggrin.gif
biggest problem is cash flow... i would love to have a unit i bought just to stay in and then others for investment only... but prob is i would only have money to buy 1 for now sad.gif sad.gif... i don't need a place just yet, but want to start early... don't want to be still paying for housing loan when i'm 60
robertngo
post Jun 10 2008, 11:12 AM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jun 6 2008, 06:18 PM)
Or could be 500-600k house (depending on location). It's just to give some perspective and to support your point about how much/little the selling price of a house is tied to building materials (and the price increase).
the price of house is much more related to the land, if remember last time read about a property developer said that if you can get a piece of land in klang valley with a reasonable price you are almost sure of making profit from the project.

Anyway Bank Negara have said it will not raise the rate at this moment, but ask we have seen in the past this government can change it mind anything. with the inflation rate rising, Bank Negara may well be force to raise the BLR soon.
cody99
post Jun 10 2008, 11:45 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(rourou @ Jun 10 2008, 10:12 AM)
biggest problem is cash flow... i would love to have a unit i bought just to stay in and then others for investment only... but prob is i would only have money to buy 1 for now sad.gif sad.gif... i don't need a place just yet, but want to start early... don't want to be still paying for housing loan when i'm 60
Maybe you could get a smaller house and invest the remaining to gain profit?
Syd G
post Jun 10 2008, 11:55 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(rourou @ Jun 10 2008, 10:12 AM)
I started with a low cost unit (85k subsale, original price was 49k). Rent was puny but the property had appreciated nicely biggrin.gif

Start small. Start early.

Good luck! smile.gif
yeehs18
post Jun 10 2008, 12:30 PM

258 posts

With the current petrol hike until market price soon in August. A 1KM nearer to the place you work and hang out will make a difference in your pocket for the long run. Development that further away from KLCC vicinity will be cheaper and price might even drop soon which is a good buy. BUT it is clear that your travel expenses will double/tripple seeing oil will rise until USD 200 a barrel in next year. Will Toll and misc indirect expenses, you will feel burden soon.

Actually the trend has started that a lot of young people actually preferred to buy apartments or condo nearer to KLCC eventhough it has smaller build up instead of getting landed at same price but far away land. Factor in the further traffic, fuel cost, travel expenses, child education, convenience; undeniably that nearer to KLCC is still a clear choice. I already heard that those development in North and South corrider starting to go bear with recent fuel hike. Places like Rawang, SG Long, Kajang, Seremban 2, Klang. A good reference is KL Draft 2020 and see DBKL has focus on KLCC as a center. I know this plan is still no concrete yet but at least you can see a general direction of where development can be.
Syd G
post Jun 10 2008, 12:34 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

My friend bought a Maytower unit (300-400 sqf, I'm not so sure) for 200k. That's like... a shoebox?
yeehs18
post Jun 10 2008, 12:38 PM

258 posts

Unit like that small is normally for single living, or for rental investment. If location is good then it has potential long term value.
tinkerbel
post Jun 10 2008, 01:29 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Syd G,
It's slightly bigger than a shoe box; probably can fit hundred pairs of shoes if lined properly *grins* I call it pigeon hole wink.gif
robertngo
post Jun 10 2008, 01:48 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 10 2008, 12:34 PM)
My friend bought a Maytower unit (300-400 sqf, I'm not so sure) for 200k. That's like... a shoebox?
the place actually quite good within the golden triangle and close to LRT. i am hoping we can get more development like these single bedroom studio apartment right next to LRT and within the city center, you can walk to LRT and directly to office biggrin.gif with fuel price going up to USD 200 i think this is good solution for single working adult or couple with no children. If the fuel price later rise to RM 6 per liter, a lot of ppl will looking for job closer to home, or home close to job. right now i see a lot of ppl living in one place and work at the other side of town. which include me staying in cheras but work in cyberjaya tongue.gif need to plan know where to buy my house and where in want to work. smile.gif

This post has been edited by robertngo: Jun 10 2008, 01:55 PM
Syd G
post Jun 10 2008, 02:01 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Jun 10 2008, 01:48 PM)
the place actually quite good within the golden triangle and close to LRT. i am hoping we can get more development like these single bedroom studio apartment right next to LRT and within the city center, you can walk to LRT and directly to office  biggrin.gif  with fuel price going up to USD 200 i think this is good solution for single working adult or couple with no children. If the fuel price later rise to RM 6 per liter, a lot of ppl will looking for job closer to home, or home close to job. right now i see a lot of ppl living in one place and work at the other side of town. which include me staying in cheras but work in cyberjaya  tongue.gif need to plan know where to buy my house and where in want to work.  smile.gif
Maytower is close to LRT? Which LRT? The nearest I reckon is Masjid Jamek. Still need to walk for 10-15 mins sweat.gif

It's neighbouring Little India. God forbid it ends up like CityOne where the developer went dead, the place has no maintenance and property owners renting out to contract workers who will then use the swimming pool to brush their teeth.......

rourou
post Jun 10 2008, 03:24 PM

Ho~ Ho~ Ho~
975 posts

QUOTE(cody99 @ Jun 10 2008, 11:45 AM)
Maybe you could get a smaller house and invest the remaining to gain profit?
i sucks at investing my $$ sad.gif sad.gif

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 10 2008, 11:55 AM)
I started with a low cost unit (85k subsale, original price was 49k). Rent was puny but the property had appreciated nicely biggrin.gif

Start small. Start early.

Good luck! smile.gif
low cost unit such as flats that can be rented out?? hmm.gif
robertngo
post Jun 10 2008, 03:31 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 10 2008, 02:01 PM)
Maytower is close to LRT? Which LRT? The nearest I reckon is Masjid Jamek. Still need to walk for 10-15 mins sweat.gif

It's neighbouring Little India. God forbid it ends up like CityOne where the developer went dead, the place has no maintenance and property owners renting out to contract workers who will then use the swimming pool to brush their teeth.......
bandaraya and dang wangi lrt and monorail station is also nearby not sure which one is the nearest. haha Cityone is really a disaster, price of unit actually depreciated. rclxub.gif who is those idiot that rent out their unit to contract workers? the apartment design actually quite nice, better that maytower.

This post has been edited by robertngo: Jun 10 2008, 03:39 PM
Syd G
post Jun 10 2008, 04:05 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(rourou @ Jun 10 2008, 03:24 PM)
low cost unit such as flats that can be rented out?? hmm.gif
Can. In Bukit Beruntung even hv 25k/unit. But remember the rules - Location, location, location wink.gif

QUOTE(robertngo @ Jun 10 2008, 03:31 PM)
bandaraya and dang wangi lrt and monorail station is also nearby not sure which one is the nearest. haha Cityone is really a disaster, price of unit actually depreciated.  rclxub.gif who is those idiot that rent out their unit to contract workers? the apartment design actually quite nice, better that maytower.
Dang Wangi is still far leh from Maytower. I'm not a big fan of the neighbourhood but I really like the concept of studio apts in the city.

They rent out to contract workers cause get higher return ma. They stay 10 people in a house - dont care also if the house looks like they gonna fall apart. This is the same case as Cyberia Condo. Rent out to students so that area become like second hostel tongue.gif
robertngo
post Jun 10 2008, 06:05 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 10 2008, 04:05 PM)
Can. In Bukit Beruntung even hv 25k/unit. But remember the rules - Location, location, location wink.gif
Dang Wangi is still far leh from Maytower. I'm not a big fan of the neighbourhood but I really like the concept of studio apts in the city.

They rent out to contract workers cause get higher return ma. They stay 10 people in a house - dont care also if the house looks like they gonna fall apart. This is the same case as Cyberia Condo. Rent out to students so that area become like second hostel tongue.gif
developers dont seen to be very interested in developing studio apartment currently, only seen a few example like Marc, 10 semantan and maytower. but maybe later there will be a trend of people moving into the city center instead of moving futher out into the suburb because the cost of transportation is too high hmm.gif

This post has been edited by robertngo: Jun 10 2008, 06:08 PM

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:52 PM