Technical Upgraded PS3 HDD yet?, technical discussion on PS3 HDD

DarkTenno
post Dec 9 2010, 03:55 PM

347 posts

any 1TB upgrade success story ? and what brand? (i'm being greedy tongue.gif) ps3 slim btw
DarkTenno
post Dec 9 2010, 04:28 PM

347 posts

got meh but most of them with casing tongue.gif

edit: ugh cannot those 1TB are 12.5mm ps3 need 9.5mm doh.gif

This post has been edited by DarkTenno: Dec 9 2010, 04:35 PM
DarkTenno
post Dec 9 2010, 05:33 PM

347 posts

so any 750GB ? tongue.gif i guess stuck with 500GB then
DarkTenno
post Dec 10 2010, 11:29 AM

347 posts

you have no idea how much hdd my pc have but still not enough tongue.gif
DarkTenno
post Dec 10 2010, 11:48 AM

347 posts

porn? i married i don't need them tongue.gif guess stick with 500gb for now smile.gif
DarkTenno
post Jan 24 2011, 09:49 AM

347 posts

anyone have 750gb installed? still can't decide 500gb or 750gb Scorpio blue tongue.gif

750GB - http://www.wdc.com/global/products/specs/?...=815&language=1
DarkTenno
post Jan 26 2011, 11:47 AM

347 posts

WD5000BPVT RM150 lowyat smile.gif bought one just now hehe
DarkTenno
post Apr 4 2011, 02:57 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(shah_ho_nam @ Apr 4 2011, 02:46 PM)
i've upgraded my old 40gb to 500gb Hitachi.

no more deleting contents

Added on April 4, 2011, 2:50 pmowh does this affect only SLIM or both FAT as well? i plan to get 1tb also. since the price is quite cheap nowdays
if you plan to get 1tb make sure it will fit because 1TB disk have a slight larger dimension and diameter
DarkTenno
post May 10 2011, 09:42 PM

347 posts

darn it my seagate momentus still the plastic wrap, since PSN is down I have to wait before upgrading my hdd as I can sync my trophies doh.gif
DarkTenno
post May 10 2011, 11:03 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(TheUndead @ May 10 2011, 10:54 PM)
choosing seagate momentus too? naiss thumbup.gif

PSN so full of controversy.. hopefully we can enjoy it once again unsure.gif
YES! rclxms.gif being eager to put it in but can't sync trophies have to put my eagerness away for now sweat.gif
DarkTenno
post May 28 2011, 09:27 PM

347 posts

shoot i just plugged in my momentus 500gb but ps3 only detect 300gb max ugh wondering why darn
DarkTenno
post May 31 2011, 05:41 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(TheUndead @ May 31 2011, 04:48 PM)
hmm.. this one is weird.. iinm, the ps3 takes about 10 to 15% of hdd size for system usage.. but yours detect only 300gb?

u sure u bought 500gb? or maybe its the 320gb? tongue.gif
hdd problem! got replacement already, sticker said 500gb but the actually disk is 320gn doh.gif, i got a replacement PS3 500GB now thumbup.gif
DarkTenno
post Jun 1 2011, 11:37 PM

347 posts

not sure about these locked save I backup all my ps3 data to my external driver (full backup) when i restored on my new 500gb drive all my save are still there here the list of the game save:

FF13
GOW3
EA Sport Active 2
Red Alert 3
rigde racer
Mass Effect 2
Assasin creed 2

and some other which all are intact smile.gif, i think the way of the backup utilities work is make a full backup of the hdd and dump it back as it is because it will always format the disk before restoring

This post has been edited by DarkTenno: Jun 1 2011, 11:39 PM
DarkTenno
post Jun 4 2011, 07:37 PM

347 posts

if it can fit the casing smile.gif but not sure PS3 can detect 1TB but given the hardware specs it should
DarkTenno
post Jun 4 2011, 10:12 PM

347 posts

download backup? to where? what the error/problem you encounter?
DarkTenno
post Jun 5 2011, 11:58 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(nobody#2 @ Jun 5 2011, 11:05 AM)
haha, i have the same problem like you, cannot get back the games that share(bought) from terion .. now i'm still downloading my own PSN games..
no you can PM terion ask the password for the account that you bought the games he would be happy to give it to for to re-activated the games, I also bought games from him asked him the password he give it to me, he keep record for all purchase just give him the group number and you are set smile.gif

after you the account passwd just go to account management -> systems activation and activate you console, all you games tie to that account should be usable no need to recdownload

This post has been edited by DarkTenno: Jun 5 2011, 12:02 PM
DarkTenno
post Jun 5 2011, 12:38 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(nobody#2 @ Jun 4 2011, 10:19 PM)
o O..  cant copy the back up file to the usb HDD.. now the back up file still in my PC.. so the previous game that bought from the sharing account just gone like this?

cause i found the backup file need space 28GB, so i backup into HDD(this is the new 500GB that later need to put into PS3) then store into PC and transfer back to the HDD(this is the 80GB of the original PS3 HDD)
you should be able to, you need to format is as fat32 copy the folder over as it is mean copy the whole folder that was created by ps3 backup utilities not the files inside, then restore because i did the same thing too no problem smile.gif
DarkTenno
post Jun 5 2011, 07:46 PM

347 posts

The reason of doing backup is not have to redownload all the games back from psn smile.gif I have 40gb of games redownloading would be a pain,by restoring from backup I just need to reactive them without the need to redownload all the games again
DarkTenno
post Jul 4 2011, 04:19 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(gigantor @ Jul 4 2011, 03:15 PM)
i thought extended to 9th July?

Anyway, I was thinking about getting extra HDD for my Slim. Anyone knows where to get HDD for PS3 Slim, possible the 500gb ones? Price and place. Thanks!
I bought my 500gb momentus from EtechZONE $ so far working fine smile.gif

0.0568sec    0.37    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:02 AM