MayBank shareholder Group

xander2k8
post Apr 18 2023, 07:07 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 18 2023, 06:55 PM)
Yeah waiting for second dividend then will buy again. Will have reinvesting option at that time
Don’t just wait dividend announcements to buy πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ and by the time you wait for it price is already has risen

You buy when the markets falls and Maybank drops within the fair book value range since you are the accumulator
xander2k8
post Apr 25 2023, 03:17 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Apr 25 2023, 01:39 PM)
Should I put 10k monthly into only Maybank or split it up to MBB, CIMB, RHB in equal percentage just in case one of them bankrup.

I'm not good at predicting share price. Only know they all make profit and all pay about 5% dividend. better than FD.
No point do equal weightage if you are buying for dividends πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

Buy Maybank because of solid dividends track records and it won’t be easy any of those banks to be collapsed in the 1st place but CIMB would be highest risk among of them due to higher lending
xander2k8
post Apr 26 2023, 02:44 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Apr 26 2023, 09:28 AM)
if you want to diversify, suggest to look into other sector, than diversifying into other banks in this case.

suggest you look at UP, i like their dividend yield (at my entry price point).

No one can really predict share price i think.
Anyone can predict but whether realised prediction no one can predict to that accurate
xander2k8
post Apr 26 2023, 03:57 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 26 2023, 11:16 AM)
Bankrupt? You read too much in US bank run news.

Bank in MY is most protected.

I would rather all into MBB. MBB is average 6% div.
Protected doesn’t means good because the bank management will take advantage into riskier assets πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ already happened before with 3 banks in Malaysia and have to been bailed out with shotgun merger just like CS case πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Apr 26 2023, 03:27 PM)
Afterwards like credit suisse how? even big swiss bank can bankrup. But anyway, its safer to buy shares than bonds now. So that's why diversifying from that too.
Yes Malaysia has happened before with 3 banks collapsed and been forced into shotgun merger πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

You buy shares because you know and plan your exit strategy while bonds is at the mercy of issuer hence you will have do a very through lookup on the issuer before committing to it
xander2k8
post May 3 2023, 04:29 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(ColourShadow @ May 3 2023, 03:57 PM)
Maybank after getting the dividend, now the price already climb back...

Public bank still sleeping...
Usually after dividend paid ppl will start buying hence the price go higher πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 3 2023, 04:01 PM)
now OPR rate hike...

probably would see some major movements whistling.gif
No OPR hike anyway plus non existent and non impacting news πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

The bigger and moving news is Fed announcement on imminent hike
xander2k8
post May 3 2023, 04:35 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 3 2023, 04:32 PM)
what u mean No OPR hike?

did u read the news today tongue.gif
All consensus analysts including me wrong πŸ˜‚

BNM useless now only hike πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ later when year end will start cutting again once the Fed starts cutting as well
xander2k8
post May 3 2023, 04:50 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 3 2023, 04:42 PM)
they did very slowly...

should hike in March...

so probably maintain.... no cut cut rate like Fed did crazy hikes  tongue.gif
Yes too slow and now they start inflation will go up hence today hike πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

Won’t maintain because they need to cut a bit to stimulate growth this year end
xander2k8
post May 3 2023, 04:58 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 3 2023, 04:53 PM)
lets see later...

very slow act in hiking rate but fast2 reduced?

doubt about it...
Yes because BNM Governor already said to not to overshoot and undershoot on OPR πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

Too slow because raising earlier might already help to slowdown inflation much earlier than now πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ another reason why they do it because of Raya as this Raya season has been slow for consumer demands πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ so they only hike when there is no impact hence when they cut the time will be overreaction again πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
xander2k8
post May 3 2023, 05:01 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 3 2023, 04:59 PM)
ours is slow & steady...

don't following Fed decision...

if really following... January or March already hike 25pts  brows.gif
Not slow and steady πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ but no impact especially when they start cutting rates πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ if rate raise like today caught all the analysts πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ imagine the next rate cut when there is no impact
xander2k8
post May 3 2023, 06:26 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 3 2023, 05:11 PM)
imagine there's no cut or hike...

just maintain... while fed keep cutting

unexpected right  tongue.gif
Fed have to cut to stimulate growth while if OPR don’t cut not stimulating the economy πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ Malaysia govt this year if got recession got no tools to stimulate the economy if they just keep on depend on govt to handout money πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
xander2k8
post May 3 2023, 08:49 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 3 2023, 06:37 PM)
BNM have big headache later...

on the OPR rate... really crossroads... needed to consider the state election too... political pressures building up...

banks like Maybank... happy to make more $$$  tongue.gif
What headache πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ It is because of BNM is not independent enough and like to get their hands on political situation πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ unlike the Feds which are independent enough as the voting members changes every few years

Banks unlikely to more make money because they disperse less loans due to higher interest rates already πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ and you need to check each of the banks books

The most affected when OPR increase will be PBB because of their low to book value
xander2k8
post May 25 2023, 05:23 AM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(tailangong @ May 24 2023, 11:47 PM)
Q1 2023 result increase almost 11%.
Why so quiet here?
Not that great when price is falling to below 8.50 soon πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
xander2k8
post May 26 2023, 01:38 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(tailangong @ May 25 2023, 09:35 PM)
Why say so?
Market sentiments
xander2k8
post Jun 8 2023, 05:23 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(holyleonard @ Jun 8 2023, 04:23 PM)
epf recently dumped alot
Not a lot πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ only 0.3% for the past month πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

EPF needs liquidity now for Kwasa Damansara
xander2k8
post Jun 9 2023, 03:51 AM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 8 2023, 06:22 PM)
seems like so much $$$ is going towards KWASA Damansara  dry.gif
EPF really having cash crunch or what  devil.gif
Not cash crunch but they really need liquidity before embarking a property development and being master developer you need to have cash on hand otherwise the project will be delayed

Now they are embarking on the commercial development which requires more capital and it is heavy capital intensive especially if they wanna built a world class 5 star hotel in Kwasa Damansara
xander2k8
post Jun 9 2023, 02:56 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 9 2023, 12:33 PM)
5 Star hotels in CBD of KL also not much business... Some for sales...

Build in KWSA Damansara area? Good luck with them...
They still think old skool πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ these days ppl go for high end AirBnb as you can get penthouse for a fraction of price of high end 5 star suites

QUOTE(zstan @ Jun 9 2023, 02:17 PM)
not much business? where are you plucking your figures from
You go take a look around 5 stars hotels JW Marriott, Banyan Tree, St Regis and Four Seasons occupancy also not even 50% on holiday weekend πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 9 2023, 02:20 PM)
Hotel groups... MAH figures

Business not like before COVID time.... Some are up for sales....

Now even companies AGM Not using Hotels facilities... Not like before... All online type...
Even Weddings now are getting lesser these days as one table will set RM3k easily

300k wedding is already the normality for 5 star hotels πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
xander2k8
post Jun 9 2023, 05:12 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 9 2023, 03:34 PM)
yes.
this the problems with all gomen link agencies or companies.... such old school thinking...
must change according to market demands & flows....

competition is high... esp from neighbouring countries.... which offers cheaper & value for money.... not forgetting all those crap restrictions we have here..... that cannot this cannot... go against our culture & religion....

weddings nowadays held in just AC Halls only... or some high end restaurants... smaller scales like 500pax or lower....
Sorry to say to Tourism Malaysia failed big time with their old skool marketing πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ Go take a look at Saudi Tourism as they are more liberal and aggressive in marketing their country as they have even now with EDM concerts unlike Malaysia πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
xander2k8
post Jun 9 2023, 06:24 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 9 2023, 06:11 PM)
some sheeps around is more Arab than arabs...

that's why everything must related to Religion  bangwall.gif

lucky.... Maybank & others are smart.... Got Maybank Islamic (must be in topic since we in Maybank Shareholders Group Thread cool2.gif )
Then you should compared Maybank to Arab Malaysian banks for performance to get a better picture πŸ˜‚
xander2k8
post Jun 10 2023, 11:56 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Jun 9 2023, 06:42 PM)
i can confirm the 4 seasons one. i'm member there. weekend staycation pretty quiet thou. during breakfast buffet like 10 table occupied in 2 hours eating.  drool.gif
4 seasons Malaysia food is terrible compared to the ones abroad particularly US πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ rooms are nice though

Wah very rich to become member for staycation πŸ‘

0.0282sec    1.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:45 AM