Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jul 31 2019, 11:02 AM)
Below 8.70 now.. Damn Trump..
Today DT started sounding his import tax horn again mad.gif
Someone seriously has to beat this guy to shut him up bruce.gif

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 31 2019, 05:04 PM)
Jialat.

My takaful mbsb rhb all leading loss.

Cry no tears.

Mbb touch 868 today.

Wahh
Not end of the world yet bro, why la so kan cheong?
This one is nothing compared to 2007 la, if you were trading through that period then you know whistling.gif
Small small drop like this is expected, I just keep accumulating and collect dividends lo brows.gif

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 2 2019, 10:33 AM)
GG.....

Want buy no money.

Want sell lost money.

Want cry no tears.
Wei salary belum masuk ka? Beginning of the month leh, tak kan you finished up your salary liao? hmm.gif

QUOTE(bmwcaddy @ Aug 2 2019, 11:48 AM)
Ham 7 liao, should have just played reits at current time zzzz
Drop more buy more. This is Maybank we're talking about lol. Next target to buy 8.60. Prepare your bullets for the next trench. Drop more buy more, please have standby bullets to pick up if it goes lower.
Stay invested for the long term. This is not even 5% drop yet so not end of the world ya sweat.gif
Jordy
post Aug 3 2019, 10:15 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 2 2019, 10:43 PM)
Will save more to buy MBB. Usually how many lots you buy at 1 go when want to accumulate?

this MBB 10 lots also need 8k LOL.

Dilemma now to choose takaful or bank. Takaful so lauya, 1 news say Lee ka sing come open already drop... apalah...
People also yet to operation... But now takaful penetration low and they target 45% penetration.... hmmmm
It depends though, if the price drops to a yield level I am satisfied with, then I top up more.
At the recent price of 8.80, I bought in 3k units as the yield is accretive to my overall portfolio.
This time around, if the price does drop to 8.60, then maybe I would scoop up another 2k units or so. But I would usually scoop up at least 1k units at a time to cover my minimum brokerage fee.

QUOTE(bmwcaddy @ Aug 3 2019, 01:03 AM)
Optimism is good but my wallet and inner me wont let me do it
You have got to overcome that man. Any possibility to readjust your portfolio to get Maybank? Liquidate stocks that have already outgrown their valuation and yielding less than Maybank? I personally took out a 15k loan from my credit card to fund my recent purchase lol. Interest rate was attractive so what the heck right? laugh.gif
Jordy
post Aug 3 2019, 12:35 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Aug 3 2019, 12:10 PM)
He is playing a dangerous game..

I think he want to push Fed into a corner and force them to cut more interest rates, which is now a possibility as early as next month.
The call for an impeachment inquiry is already starting to gain traction, we will wait for next month to see the actual vote count amongst the Democrats. In the worst case scenario, we would just have to wait until 2020 to witness his defeat. We hope for the best within this one year.

On to the trade war, it should not prompt the Fed to lower the interest rate just yet. Once the tariff starts kicking in, inflation will accelerate. The crucial number to watch would then be the GDP. I believe Fed would choose to watch the GDP figures over the next few months before deciding if they would have to proceed with further cuts.
Jordy
post Aug 3 2019, 06:28 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(cococonutseller @ Aug 3 2019, 06:18 PM)
If write off Hyflux, how big is the impact?
The impact of Hyflux was already priced in 2 months ago, it was in the region of 0.20, just a minor % of Maybank's outstanding loan amount.
Jordy
post Aug 4 2019, 05:01 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Aug 3 2019, 07:06 PM)
Yup, RM1.6b to Maybank is just a small figure, if we based on last year's profit of RM8bil, that is just around 20% of its annual net profit only. It means that the money can still be made back. If the case is 20% of Maybank's net asset, then that is a cause to be worried of.

QUOTE(cococonutseller @ Aug 3 2019, 07:17 PM)
If a news suddenly break out about Hyflux totally gone down, would it be another round of hit to the s' price?
Like I mentioned before, the impact has been priced in, as investors have already expected a full write off. We will have to see what happens coming 16/8, when Hyflux management will decide if a deal would be struck with Utico. If it happens, then Hyflux could be saved.

QUOTE(bmwcaddy @ Aug 3 2019, 07:30 PM)
Damn that's bold sir, even at current market situation you reloaded so thick!

Im still new and just started, MBB weighed alot in my portfolio, hence for now i want to diversity my portfolio into various stocks first, temporary profit is not my goal now
Well, I have to keep making my money work though. Keep on holding to cash is deteriorating my return rate. So like I said, if the yield is accretive to my overall portfolio, I will buy for the dividend. Short term weakness doesn't scare me off now, especially a huge conglomerate like Maybank.

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 3 2019, 10:09 PM)
Wahh. Your pocket so deep. Buy like that only.

You life is my dream.
I am just a small anchovy only la. Can buy around 10k each time only. The life of those who can keep buying in with 100k is really my dream la sweat.gif
The thing is that we need to have confidence in Maybank, especially at such valuation. Price around RM8 is a good entry price as historical PE is only around 12x. The PE for a huge conglomerate like this can command around 14x, so I believe the fair price should be around RM9.90. As such, I would take my chances, that is why I am going to take it slow to top up Maybank by going in 10 small lots each time from now on.
Jordy
post Aug 6 2019, 12:49 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Aug 4 2019, 08:31 PM)
In my opinion, I suggest averaging down every 5% drop if you believe in the company.

If you entered at RM8.80, next time to buy is RM8.36 (0.95 X RM8.80). Averaging down just 2.3% drop is not worth it and you will soon run out of bullets. [2.3% is RM8.80 to RM8.60 drop].

If the price fails to drop to RM8.36 and you cannot average down in time as the price is already RM9+, there are always alternative stocks out there.
I suppose you are referring to the EzyCash that most credit card company's provide. Actually, the way they phrase it is a marketing tactic akin to false advertising.

Maybank offers 0% interest with 3.88% one time cash advance fee. The false advertising is the 3.88% fee to borrow for 6 months.

This means that you are borrowing at credit card rate aka 7.76% p.a. (3.88% X 12months/6 months). Maybank dividend yield of 6.59% (at 4 Aug 2019) is insufficient to cover this. You need a capital gain of 1.17% (i.e. price increase to RM8.90 suppose you purchased at RM8.80) to break even.

Edit: I'm using Maybank's EzyCash as example. Other banks may differ but you get what I'm trying to say.
"I suggest averaging down every 5% drop if you believe in the company" - I would like to agree on this, but can I wait for 5% drop? I would like to keep reminding myself to be patient laugh.gif But from the looks of it, seems like 8.36 is closer to becoming a reality now. Haha.

"I suppose you are referring to the EzyCash that most credit card company's provide"
Nope, I don't take those short-term cash advance. I took a 60 months tenure loan at a flat 3.88% pa interest for RM15k, with equal 60 monthly repayments of RM298.51. Total interest payable is RM2,910.60 (19.40% over 5 years). So basically, I could stand to receive total dividend of RM4,260 (assuming a reduced dividend rate of 0.50 per year / 8.80, for a yield of 5.68%). That is already a gain of RM1,350 from just the dividends.

I would only make a loss if a) the dividend rate goes down to 0.34 per year (while share price stays at RM8.80) or b) if the price drops to RM7.10 (assuming no dividends were declared over 5 years).

I believe that it is practically a safe play with Maybank, I am not going to be greedy with this loan.

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Aug 5 2019, 03:35 PM)
Please please TIGER BANK, stay around 8.61+ this week. No ammo now, FD only mature this friday, lol

tongue.gif
That sounds like a big amount of FD to unload on Maybank brows.gif

QUOTE(moosset @ Aug 6 2019, 09:48 AM)
Almost got it... I was queuing at RM 8.50 since last week.
Just 1 cent off your TP lol. You set GTD at 8.50 ah?

QUOTE(zero47 @ Aug 6 2019, 10:59 AM)
there's very determined (foreign) selling... 1m units thrown at one go at 52w low.
I believe this is due to the slide of MYR against USD, so foreign investors had to pull out funds to avoid forex loss. They will come back when MYR is set to recover its ground.
Jordy
post Sep 12 2019, 11:29 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(voyage23 @ Sep 10 2019, 04:41 PM)
Wanted to split my purchase into twice. First time went in at 8.60, now not sure if there's chance to deploy the second round!
Don't be too worried. There is always opportunity when it comes to Tigerbank. Market is still unstable right now.
Most importantly is that you have invested in it.
Jordy
post Sep 27 2019, 05:55 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 27 2019, 05:33 PM)
Wow.. Today 10 sen drop to RM6.60. Don't know what's up. unsure.gif.
Probably due to:

1. Russell decided to keep our bonds in watchlist
2. Interest rate is set to reduced again in the upcoming BNM meeting
3. Just a normal sell-off for profit taking (last DRP shares were priced at RM8.00)

But a 0.10 drop is just a veli small % for a share with pricetag of RM8.60 la (~1.2%) rolleyes.gif
Jordy
post Oct 3 2019, 11:17 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Oct 3 2019, 11:10 AM)
Wow.. Public bank finally looking attractive.

Maybank or Public bank?
Dividend and valuation wise, Maybank.
Public Bank for stability over the next 40 years (depending on the succession planning which is still being kept a secret).
I would still go for Maybank as the it has scaled over ASEAN, so potential of growth is still there.
Growth for Public Bank is limited to the local market (which is dead), unless the new successor plans to expand to regional markets. Then it will open up a whole new market for Public Bank.
Jordy
post Oct 3 2019, 11:57 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 3 2019, 11:46 AM)
eh, I thought PBB had operations outside M'sia, like HK?
Ah, correct also. Upon checking, yes PBB has operations in HK, Cambodia and Vietnam. But I can't stop to wonder what is the scale which they are operating at.
Having a presence in a particular country but if working on a small scale, it is just going to increase the cost to income.
Jordy
post Oct 3 2019, 04:34 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Oct 3 2019, 01:10 PM)
The great thing about PB is its a stingy Chinaman bank with a crazy low cost to income ratio of like 33% compared to normal Malaysian banking industry standard of 40%-50%, which means great ROI.

I do wonder whether it's conservatism and stinginess will backfire in the long run tho.. But now it's starting to look attractive price wise..
Agree, but the stingy Chinaman isn't going to be there for that long anymore, thus we need to see who would be taking over the throne and see what he/she does to it before deciding. In the meantime, Maybank is the better choice for the foreseeable future.
Jordy
post Oct 4 2019, 10:54 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 3 2019, 08:57 PM)
Can buy batch by batch 😒
QUOTE(donhay @ Oct 4 2019, 09:49 AM)
8.42 masuk masuk, one batch first

Delay no more tongue.gif
One batch already RM8k+, wonder how many batches can one keep going in if the price keep falling like this tongue.gif
Need to have VERY deep pockets to keep accumulating like this wor.
Jordy
post Oct 4 2019, 11:45 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 4 2019, 11:31 AM)
Why buy 1k shares when u can buy smaller 🤑
To ride the weakness of Maybank 😁
No choice, minimum brokerage fee is RM40 (0.6%), so had to buy RM7k worth to make up the minimum fee.
I usually buy my shares in multiples of 1k lots as I don't buy expensive counters (like Nestle, BAT or F&N types).
Jordy
post Oct 4 2019, 12:50 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 4 2019, 11:51 AM)
Oh okay..
U think that way...

Well for counters like Maybank or those u stated..
Needed to buy smaller.. yes. brokerage fee would eat.. think long term.. can cover back...
Think of it this way. If I keep buying in smaller quantities, then everytime I will kena RM40. Buying 1 time big lot I get charged around RM60 on time (0.6%+SST+clearing fee).
If I were to buy in smaller lots, say 2 x 5 times, I have to pay RM40 x 5 = RM200 (not including all the SST + clearing fee).

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Oct 4 2019, 12:03 PM)
I don't know why u still use remisier..

I just put order at RM8.40. But I see a lot ahead of me in the Q, so let's see if kena.
I need to attend meetings, travel outstation for work, and some times I even get too busy shouting at people until I forget to check my phone.
With a remisier, easy. I just have to send one Whatsapp with my instructions and I'm done, no need for me key in many things and to keep following up all the time.
After all, my remisier have been serving me for 20 years already since I started trading in stocks. I don't feel it is nice to just terminate him like that.
For newbies who have just started with the remisier yes, can dump anytime. I started trading when Internet was still very new, when the stock trading apps were launched, we already built over 10 years of trading relationship.
I am a person with heart, not easy for me to dump a long relationship like this. If he stop working, then only I will stop using remisier and do manual trading.
Jordy
post Oct 4 2019, 01:02 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 4 2019, 12:51 PM)
I'm queuing at RM 8 and RM 8.30 .... actually not much difference.
Queued at 8.42 and got it matched within 2 minutes at 11am. Seems like hard to get at 8.40 as too many people queuing at that price, so I cut the queue a little at buy at 0.02 higher.
Jordy
post Oct 4 2019, 03:57 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Oct 4 2019, 01:22 PM)
And here I first tot ur remisier must be lenglui.. 😆 But good lar u.

On banks, now seem chance of another Fed 25bps rate cut end of this month is much higher due to their weakening economic indicators. If so that will mean 3 x 25 bps cuts by them. Means possibility of BNM cut in Nov has got higher too.

On Maybank I noticed PNB has been aggressive selling. I guess this is part of their diversification effort. Epf has been picking up (n selling Public Bank). I follow EPF.. 😆
You must have been very disappointed right? Well can say I'm stupid but that is my personality. I can't bear to tell him that I will terminate his long-time service just so I could save some extra coffee money.

I have been waiting for opportunity for a very long time, when opportunity comes knocking we hop on. It's ok if we get it a little wrong sometimes, as long as the dividend payout is still intact and better than FD.
And I too have noticed that EPF is continuously and consistently buying Maybank instead of their usual buy sell buy sell pattern.
Jordy
post Oct 4 2019, 05:41 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 4 2019, 05:14 PM)
RM40 or 0.6% looks quite expensive, as it hinders investors buying in small batch, which is an important strategy when buying at downtrend time for long term play.

With smaller batch, I can buy in various price from 8.40, 8.30, 8.20, 8.10, 8.00, 7.90, 7.80
I have better chance to buy or hit the bottom, vs the other person need to buy a larger batch, eg. at 8.50, 8.00.
Not to mention, better strategy maneuver in between. Currently, it is big bear trend, need to adopt small batch buying strategy, and avoid trap in too much capital in one or two go.

Even my own remisier (he can also earn 0.6% if phone over) also advise to key in myself to save the commission charge via online order. There is no different than key in order ourself vs the remisier keying in.
Just type in price and lot, then done, quite simple only.
Understood the concept. Here is the fee charged if I were to key in the order on my own using my broker's online platform.

"Our standard brokerage rates are 0.42% or minimum RM28 per contract. Other charges are stamp duty (0.1% round up) fees and clearing fees (0.03%). Standard SST of 6% is applicable to brokerages and clearing fees."

Still, I would get charged a minimum fee of RM28 @ 0.42%. Say, if I trade 300 Maybank shares @ 8.42, my brokerage fee would be 0.99% (min. RM28 / RM2826 = 0.0099).
In order to cover for the RM28 min fee, the value of my trade would have to be RM6,667. That is almost 1 big lot of Maybank shares nod.gif

Malaysian brokerage fee is high, hence making it inefficient for small purchases.
Jordy
post Nov 1 2019, 11:36 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 31 2019, 04:32 PM)
waiting at RM 8. sad.gif
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Nov 1 2019, 10:32 AM)
queue at 8.40. But no money to buyyyy TT
It's better to buy a bit first at current price, because it is very unlikely that the price could go down too low from this point. Even with a small cut in interest rate, the effect would be too minor to dent the price to drop more than 5%.
I am confident that Maybank would still be able to maintain its dividend rate at 0.55 for the coming year, thus supporting its price at current 8.60 - 8.80 level (6.40 - 6.25% yield).
The strong yield itself is already a very good reason to buy into Maybank.

As for the hope for Maybank to reach RM8, that is kind of a joke la unless one isn't really serious about investing into Maybank. Like another one guy in our forum who will only wait and wait for the price to hit his TP, it is just a wait while those who have entered would have been receiving dividends. Always remember that we can still average down when the opportunity arises, but once the boat leaves the harbour, no point to cry and complain that you should have bought earlier.

I have been averaging down a few batches but now my average cost is still 9.00, but I don't mind that much as I know I am still getting above 6% dividend.
Jordy
post Nov 1 2019, 03:38 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Nov 1 2019, 02:22 PM)
I have been accumulating too. My average cost is a nice 8.88. So it's negative 3+%.

Im expecting final dividend in May next year to be at least 30 sen.
I started late in Maybank, having bought my first batch at 9.65. Still working to pare it down a little, perhaps after the BNM meeting is a good time to buy more.
I'm expecting to bring the average down to a more manageable average cost of around 8.8x before the end of 2019.
Jordy
post Nov 6 2019, 09:16 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Nov 5 2019, 01:26 AM)
Well, if dividend same as ASB, I happy already. Capital upside is "bonus".
Well said. We have the similar mindset. But I set my dividend rate lower due to my conservative portfolio currently. I set a more conservative 6% p.a. dividend and any possible upside will increase my accumulative yield.

QUOTE(bmwcaddy @ Nov 5 2019, 09:31 AM)
Noob question here, but whats your minimum units purchased each transactions (to utilize the brokerage fee)? i suppose most of the people here uses Maybank Trade? (Or not)
I use Kenanga (with a remisier as most already know), so my brokerage is 0.60% with minimum RM40 per trade. So I do a minimum RM8k per trade, usually I would try to go for more than RM10k, but in Maybank's case, 1000 units per trade is sufficient.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:58 AM