MayBank shareholder Group

Boon3
post Aug 3 2020, 12:28 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 3 2020, 12:12 PM)
If you're not selling now and solely for div, I don't see you're in loss. Just stop see the market and comeback next yrs.

ahem...

This is a TEST la.
A test to see if how good the theory of Dividend Magic.

Look at the test results.... where the ASSUMED purchases all made at lowest price possible each year ...

and yes, the result showed that if one had purchased Maybank at the lowest price, one is NOT IN THE LOSS.
My calculations showed that.

Did you see that? No?

But it showed some things... these are actual data....

1. YES NO LOSS but the results is not outstanding at all.
2. A CAGR of around 4% since 2013, is hardly impressive at all
3. What if purchased at the wrong prices? (remember the test data is based on the assumption of able to buy at lowest price each year!)

well... I shared what I tested... it's up to you to interpret it and it's also ok if you totally ignore it.

Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 12:09 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 5 2020, 11:56 AM)
Damn, imagine now got a mil sailang in. After ex date, sell away.

Share + div = crazy profit.  rclxub.gif
Would you mind at all if I do a small experiment?

Okay, assume I buy 1,000 shares of Maybank now at 7.50.
Strategy is buy in anticipation of dividends.
Once ex-date, I sell.

For benefit of myself, as I am interested to know if whether I can profit from such a strategy in the future, and hopefully can benefit others in this thread, ya.

let's wait and see how this experiment, goes ya .... icon_rolleyes.gif
Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 01:16 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 5 2020, 12:44 PM)
What is your calculation expecting here?

than see what is your real experiment profit after this.

Maybe you can get profit about RM900?

But will you sell after ex? 7.5 is good to hold.
Just an experiment (or as they call it PAPER TRADE) in which I will just mark down in my 555 book.

Like you said, buy now and sell after ex-date.

So I have recorded in 555 book, 1000 shares at 7.50.

* based on recent years , div went ex on Oct/Nov

** expected dividend for the coming interim dividend is between 23 to 25 sen

** Wah. You reckon can get 900 profit?
Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 01:42 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 5 2020, 01:38 PM)
Paper trade? Mana got exciting wor?

Hentam in la. 7.5 also worry?

Sorry for the div cal. I put it at 0.4. But it's interim where range probably 0.2-0.25. Profit maybe RM700.

Div ex around mid sep to end sep.
Paper trade is extremely good for testing theories... in this case, buying before the EX-date and hoping to profit from the dividend + whatever share movement gain.

And yeah... ex date is Sep. you are correct as I lost focus. I looked at payment date.

Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 01:45 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Aug 5 2020, 01:43 PM)
Just bought earlier 70 lots at 7.49. Cimb also feel like averaging down, see how. Slowly moving fd into bank stocks since missed boat on mahsing and gloves stock. Slow and steady I hope. Oh also last month went into bat at 10.50. Let's see how dividend blue-chip play turns out.
Did you know that if you bought BAT in 2015 for its dividends and held it till today....you would have lost money big time?

This post has been edited by Boon3: Aug 5 2020, 01:46 PM
Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 01:59 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Aug 5 2020, 01:49 PM)
Ya I know. But at 10.50 let's see how. Plan to average down once if it drops below 10 then that's it. Cimb I am down 20% because I bought from 4 to 5.5. Sad.
Good to know that you are aware of the situation in BAT.

sorry to others for going off topic .... notworthy.gif
Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 02:23 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 5 2020, 02:05 PM)
Previous ex div 9th apr. The range drop is alot given daily Maybank stock is quite stable.

Let say you brought at 7.2 but only manage to sell at 7.7 after bound back from 7.9 (ex div). All base on previous ex div chart.

Final div is 0.39

Profit share + div = RM890. If you buy 1k share la. Not bad in MCO time. 

Some comments

... 7.20 is kinda just about the year low leh .... which coincided right after the 'mco crash/lows' ....

Now using the same current scenario ...
in which, right now, Maybank has not reported its QR report YET, and it should probably report by end Aug.

hence, for a FAIR comparison (and not be accused of cherry picking the lower prices) perhaps, it's best that you use the month before Maybnk reported its quarterly report on 27 Feb, which will be early Feb 2020 or end Jan 2020 price. In either case, your buy price should be at least 8.30.

icon_rolleyes.gif

Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 02:37 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 5 2020, 02:34 PM)
I m stupid if still stand at 8.3 when it dip to 7,  52week low.

Make it more fair to pickup at 7.2, average down it. Sailang la. Wait for what.  drool.gif
It's hindsight already .....

so if you use 8.30 as purchase price... then buying the stock before it announces its dividend did not work ...
Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 02:38 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Aug 5 2020, 02:30 PM)
Oh okay okay sifu, newbie here. like ut also after distribution nav drop.
When a stock gives out dividend, the share price is adjusted lower to reflect the dividend paid.

So if it gives out 20 sen dividend, after the stock goes ex dividend, the share price is adjusted 20 sen lower.
Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 02:47 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 5 2020, 02:41 PM)
I don't understand why stand still at 8.3 but not average down when got chance before ex. "then buying the stock before it announces its dividend did not work ..."
Err... you looking at hindsight already lo.... yes?

Ok, that was the past...

now it's 7.50.

7500 a pop of 1,000 shares ....

(is our experiment based on unlimited capital meh? rolleyes.gif )

okay say first ...

IF .... maybank report for the coming quarter is poor ... and Maybank falls .... err.... touch wood first la.... dowan to simply jinx any1 ....

1. please state how many times one can average down.
2. but for simplicity sake... just post here and say average down...
3. how long after ex to 'sell' ? ( by one week? )

ok bo?

*** oops typo ****

This post has been edited by Boon3: Aug 5 2020, 02:51 PM
Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 02:48 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(alworks @ Aug 5 2020, 02:41 PM)
wow, will still have 20 sen dividend with current situation?
Aikks.... 20 sen is a simply tembak number la
Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 02:59 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Aug 5 2020, 02:51 PM)
you got the point also. MBB target price had been downgraded to 7.55 and INDO part making losses.
still worth to average down ?
typo ..... unlimited profit = unlimited capital

The thing I don't like average down .....

1. You can actually buy a 'good' share but a BAD PRICE ....
2. when I buy a share and the price goes down, it means only 1 thing. I made a BAD INITIAL INVESTMENT purchase, buying more means I am buying more of my initial mistake.
3. the more I average down, the more the mistake is amplified.
eg. if my initial purchase is 7,500. Averaging down 5 times, means my initial bad investment would have exploded exponentially 5 times to at least 30k ++
4. which comes to the point of 'is our capital unlimited'? Maybank wo. 7500 per 1000 shares wo. How many shares can I really buy?
5. In gambling terms. I am betting more on my poor first bet.

but that's just me.... I don't like it. I think it hurts more averaging down.
Anyway, think about what I am saying...
just sharing my opinion only (certainly not advising)

Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 03:01 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 5 2020, 02:58 PM)
I will average down as much as I got bullet. This is what I do back few month.

But after ex div, will not sell. Cause I stay for 3yrs and sell it or which come 1st. (reach my target sell)

No hurry.
Eh?

But your point this morning was .....

Share + div = crazy profit.

I am confused liao
Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 03:21 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 5 2020, 03:17 PM)
Sorry, the 1 mil is what I mean to get short term. Get in, ex div, and get out.

Normally I have 2 kind of invest. Long and short term.

Even in maybank, some share will stay long and some will in short term.
Well.... i am basing my paper trade on your short term theory lo

shall I say one week after going ex?
and averaging down not more than 2 times?

So I start with 1,000 shares at 7.50.
And I can only add another 2,000 shares

ok?

Got to keep it respectable and believable, yes?

Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 03:29 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 5 2020, 03:25 PM)
What respectable and believable?

Go in la. 7.5 afraid of what?
what is personal TP?
Well? Agree or not?
Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 03:30 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Aug 5 2020, 03:27 PM)
today matched 7.48, last week wed/thurs matched 7.68

hindsight 20/20
you must got tons of capital to buy like this.
Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 03:41 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Aug 5 2020, 03:38 PM)
no amount stated... if buy 300 shares only, is it alot?

if i knew will drop to 7.48, i wont buy at 7.68 right?

if dont buy, also can't learn?
Sorry that turned out bad....

GL to your investment...

Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 03:51 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 5 2020, 03:43 PM)
Depends on your time outlook.
i bought quite a lot at Rm4.3 in 2009 during the big drop in the financial crisis.  So all in all a pretty good investment just on reaping dividends.

Bought another one paying 12 % dividend in the crisis. Went up 4 bagger later.
Ah ... but you bought it during the drop and not before the drop.

err... talking about the issue of average down ..... not saying Maybank is a bad stock or what not....
Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 03:57 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 5 2020, 03:50 PM)
Agree or not what? I don't understand.
Don't understand. LOL!

Here....

This one you say one....

Share + div = crazy profit.
Well, I want to know if I can get crazy profit if I follow what you said.

So I paper trade 1,000 shares at 7.50.
See if it works or not.

On the issue of averaging down....
cannot average down more than 2 times.

Selling period. Not more than one week after Maybank goes ex.

Now can understand?

If cannot understand.

it's ok.
no big deal
no worries

this is for my own personal learning.
I will keep my paper trade as stated and see if can get crazy profit as you stated.

icon_rolleyes.gif
Boon3
post Aug 5 2020, 04:01 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 5 2020, 03:52 PM)
Yes...catching a falling knife. Is that not what you are discussing here?
Oh yeah... but you only said you bought during the fall. You owned Maybank shares before the fall?

The big point I want to share is average down would require substantially much more capital.

I did do a recent example based on PBBank ... post #2525
Do give/share your opinion. smile.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0221sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:25 AM