Movies Frank Miller's THE SPIRIT: Movie Series Thread, The SPIRIT Sequel in Plans NOW!
aiyish
Jan 5 2009, 05:44 AM
QUOTE(hawsucheng @ Jan 2 2009, 04:37 PM) All the haters on this board complain about the campiness and the over the top characters, cheesy lines and ridiculous sequences. Well THATS THE POINT of this movie. Its supposed to be so over the top its funny. Its been said before and I think the problem was that this film was marketed to be a serious action flick as opposed to what it actually is, a action comedy and I can even go as far to say a parody. I've never watched the trailers before i've seen the movie and I went in not knowing what to expect and i LOVED it. This movie was funny and brilliant once you understand that its SUPPOSED to be like that. I can understand that if you walk into this movie expecting it to be the next Dark knight, because thats the way it was marketed, then yes you're going to be disappointed. Its like Kill Bill, its not a serious action movie, its actually quite ridiculous and thats where the enjoyment of the movie comes from. Chill out for a sec and allow yourself to be entertained. i second that... m not expecting a dark Knight here... its cheesy like Kill Bill Vol.1 & 2... it was meant that way. Can't wait if there is a sequel..
malayneum
Jan 5 2009, 08:09 AM
I DONT LIKE EGGS ON MY FACE !!
det3st
Jan 5 2009, 11:30 AM

does anyone think that the spirit resembles hambuglar from mcdonalds? and yeah... the movies suck minus the tooth ad... somewhat funny
yeehs18
Jan 5 2009, 02:59 PM

The female actor really has the best booty.
alanyuppie
Jan 5 2009, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(aiyish @ Jan 5 2009, 06:44 AM) i second that... m not expecting a dark Knight here... its cheesy like Kill Bill Vol.1 & 2... it was meant that way. Can't wait if there is a sequel.. Yup . agree the movie is trying to be true to the comic, and it was "meant that way". Too bad, its style and "that way" DOES NOT ENTERTAIN the masses. can't blame them for disliking "that way" . To the lovers out there, please accept the fact that this movie FAILED TO ENTERTAIN. For true blue fan boys only. this means Commercial Failure. too specialised to ONE single market of viewers, in which its trailer might be made so to mislead "the rest of us". This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Jan 5 2009, 03:05 PM
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
Jan 5 2009, 07:53 PM
i love the fact that there were many pretty ladies int he movie. besides that felt it blew a whole lot.
shaznizzle
Jan 5 2009, 08:15 PM
i knew it was a detective story...... so it when well for me... surprised people juz move out of the cinema... what were they expecting?? Spider-Man?? LoL!! Its funny, story yea maybe on a dull side but well done.. actors were great and effects is very Frank Miller signature pop culture. More action perhaps on the next movie!
spriggan
Jan 7 2009, 05:53 PM
(stephen chow tone): you ask people to kao tim the actor, then you ask the director to go gao tim himself..quote from god of cookery
Hou_JaI
Jan 7 2009, 06:15 PM
lets hope this one is not as shytty as "the spitrit"
khaidani
Jan 8 2009, 01:19 AM
the worst movie ever..
wasting my time,
when I watch this movie, really felt wanna get the hell out of the cinema, but thanks to the chair, really comfort and I had a nice sleep
Ngto
Jan 8 2009, 08:11 AM
Yes, since already paid, just take a nap and enjoy the air-cond
Ahlok
Jan 8 2009, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(khaidani @ Jan 8 2009, 01:19 AM) the worst movie ever.. wasting my time, when I watch this movie, really felt wanna get the hell out of the cinema, but thanks to the chair, really comfort and I had a nice sleep QUOTE(Ngto @ Jan 8 2009, 08:11 AM) Yes, since already paid, just take a nap and enjoy the air-cond  sorry, i cant stand it anymore when samuel became japanese.... i left the cinema after that scene..
selenium
Jan 8 2009, 11:24 AM
ugh the 3rd baddest movie i ever seen....
i know its supposed to be slow but not my cup of tea.
even critics gave it a 16% zzzzz..
movies that are worst than this is Phantom of the opera and narnia
fraulein
Jan 10 2009, 11:56 AM
Can't believe I spent RM9 to watch it.  There's only 5 of us in the cinema last Saturday. 1/3 of the movie, the other couple tak boleh tahan and quit. Another guy fall asleep! This post has been edited by fraulein: Jan 10 2009, 11:57 AM
sshahar9
Jan 25 2009, 09:43 PM
to each their own.
but i would say that this movie sucked so bad it choked on its own vomit
Jessica Tan
Feb 1 2009, 12:38 AM
errr.... it's not even about the way it was marketed... i went in with no expectations at all and came out feeling cheated of my time and money. over the top is fine, but is it even FUNNY? sure, there were some lame laughs.... then? in the end of the day, it just sucks. the WORST movie EVER watched. (and i'm an avid movie-goer)