Chubby Hamsters V8, Rolling furballs

Elayne
post Jun 1 2008, 10:54 PM

122 posts

Hello everyone smile.gif I'm interested and planning to get 1 hamster but there are lots of hamsters breed i realizes. I have 0 knowledge about hamsters anyway sweat.gif Started to learn how to take care of them before I am ready to get one. I heard my friend who used to owned a white hamster said that red eyes's hamsters are aggrasive.Is that true? blink.gif And which gender of hamsters are better to mingle with? My first impression when I touched hamsters is,they seems to be curios and then will nibble my fingers. Is this the way for them to get used to human's smell? Sorry for so many questions here as I am really curious to know them more blush.gif tongue.gif All comments are welcome and I appreciated it. Thanks ya wink.gif
Elayne
post Jun 1 2008, 11:05 PM

122 posts

TQ 4 ur comments ya neishie,hehehe tongue.gif
Unique name you named your hamster biggrin.gif
Elayne
post Jun 1 2008, 11:20 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Jun 1 2008, 11:08 PM)
for me, most of my hamsters are red eye but they seem to be tame biggrin.gif i think for a start you can get either a syrian or a winter white. they will sniff at your hand, very cute le wub.gif  wub.gif
Ohh,really?How to indentify which is syrian type? But as I've saw in few shops,they don't have those winter white you've mentioned. Mostly are mixed colours like brown and grey nod.gif How much is the price for winter white & syrian? I saw the cheapest price they sell in 1 of the shop are just RM15 for each hamsters (small size) Is that a reasonable price or there is something wrong with the hamsters with this kind of prices? blink.gif Hehe,they nibble that time I said "Ahh,they bite me!!" Lolx,noob me tongue.gif
Elayne
post Jun 1 2008, 11:26 PM

122 posts

Good to hear that you wanna read and learn more before having one and I believe you can be a responsible owner and not like others just wanna keep and yet dunno anything but just keep saying they are noob. sweat.gif Red eyes don't mean that they are aggressive, it have poorer eye sight compare to black eyes. Aggressive is because the hamster is not tame. For me, the gender do not have any different in terms of tame or aggressive. Just that it will be more smelly and stinky if it's a female (i'm refering to Syrian). A half tame hamster will try to nip and explore when you handle them, but after some time they will be fine after they get used to you.

[/quote]

TQ for all the infos biggrin.gif I am a step closer in knowing hamsters laugh.gif Wow,your KIKO (correct me if I'm wrong) in your avatar is really cutee worr. Hamster can grow till how big de oh? Some hamsters are soo tiny..if I lost them running on the ground,then cham lor sweat.gif
Elayne
post Jun 1 2008, 11:30 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Jun 1 2008, 11:27 PM)
syrian is the biggest among all. as for the colours i think you can refer this website
CLICK ME

better let the pro answer you tongue.gif
Thanks a lots rclxm9.gif
Elayne
post Jun 1 2008, 11:32 PM

122 posts

Dilute Opal Platinum (Black-eyed white) Dwarf Youngsters

So cute drool.gif Is this the winter white type? Since its all white biggrin.gif tongue.gif

Elayne
post Jun 1 2008, 11:37 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Jun 1 2008, 11:31 PM)
hmm.gif Actually I think you should ask yourself what kind of temperament you want from your hamster? What  size?

Syrians are big. They need a lot of space and they are solitary, so they must be housed alone. smile.gif They hardly bite and can be handled quite easily. I think consider as a beginner hammie, especially for children. Many many colors and very nice to hold.

Russian Campbell, Winter White and Roborovski are dwarf hamster breed. in other words they are smaller. And definitely more challenging to tame than syrians (In my opinion).

Between the 3, the biggest dwarf is RC I think.  smile.gif It has many interesting colors to choose from and the study of breeding its genes is fascinating. They're notorious biters so get a tame one from a home breeder if you can.

Winter white is the second smallest of the three.  blush.gif I don't know much about them cuz I have only helped to board them in my home for a short period of time.

The dwarves of all dwarf hamsters is the Roborovski. All Robos look the same, with the rare exception of the white faced roborovski. They're the fastest and the hardest to tame aside from being the smallest.  smile.gif They can live in groups, and in fact, my robos NEED at least one companion each or they would become too scared.  sad.gif I even had a robo who refused to eat after its companion died, until I got it another companion. Taming them is hard but when you succeed, it feels very rewarding and satisfying.
smile.gif I suggest you do more research and get the hammie's home ready before you get one.
Understood nod.gif
Hmm...any potential home breeder here? If those who sell it in the shop,will the hamster tend to be more aggrasive? Maybe the same concept to puppymills in which they breed them in a large quantities for the purposes of selling it without even bother to care about the qualities for hamsters?
Do they have any particular age for hamsters to start taming them with?
Elayne
post Jun 1 2008, 11:43 PM

122 posts

Aww..they are all cutie pies laugh.gif I think I saw winter white;Agouti type of hamsters in 1 of the shop I've visited. Really small size,can we tell how old are they by sizes? If not then how are we going to know whether how old is the hamsters?

Added on June 1, 2008, 11:45 pm
QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Jun 1 2008, 11:43 PM)
"Hmm...any potential home breeder here?"

I think there are some in Garage Sales. Or u can get in Petshack. Their hamsters all so cute and fluffy.

Honestly, you can google up a lot of the information that you want to know about. then come back here if you find any information that is weird or want to know/share experience
Alright,arigato notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Elayne: Jun 1 2008, 11:45 PM
Elayne
post Jun 2 2008, 12:11 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Jun 1 2008, 11:46 PM)
smile.gif There are many breeders right here in LYN. I think the best way to tame a hamster is while it's still young, in fact from before it leaves its mother. So getting from a home breeder would make your experience of keeping a hamster somuch more pleasant and interesting.

sad.gif I bought a robo from a pet shop. He was very pretty and his fur was unusually bright in color so I was very attracted. but its been 6 months and he won't stay on my hand for more than 3 seconds. He's been traumatized from a young age at the pet store. It would break your heart if you don't have the patience to deal with this kind of thing.

Prevent such things by getting a tame one. So always always get from a home breeder if you can, no matter which breed you want, whichever animal it is.

smile.gif Which breed are you interested in?
Sorry to hear that,such a bad seller sad.gif Ohh,I am currently looking for hammie laugh.gif Just have a quick browse through in garage sales on what kinds of hamsters they sell. And I found out lots varieties of breeds we have here,impressive thumbup.gif
Elayne
post Jun 2 2008, 09:19 PM

122 posts

Hie. Anyone here who wana let their hamsters up for adoptions/sales,kindly please let me know ya.I've browsed through the pets adoptions corner,mostly all have been adopted liao nod.gif Thanks again wink.gif
Elayne
post Jun 2 2008, 09:49 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(neshie @ Jun 2 2008, 09:20 PM)
what kinda hamsters are you looking for? syrian? ww? robo?
I heard robo and RC is harder to tame based on the comments I've saw. Any better recommandable breed for beginner like me? I am looking for male hamster biggrin.gif
Elayne
post Jun 2 2008, 09:56 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(neshie @ Jun 2 2008, 09:51 PM)
i would definately recommend a syrian. smile.gif It is true that robo and RC harder to tame, but if have the patience, anything is possible.  biggrin.gif
Yeap,you are right icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on June 2, 2008, 9:57 pm
QUOTE(anderyna @ Jun 2 2008, 09:54 PM)
go to pet shack for a syrian if you are near there rclxms.gif
Too bad it is quite far away from my place sad.gif I'm from Kajang nod.gif

This post has been edited by Elayne: Jun 2 2008, 09:57 PM
Elayne
post Jun 2 2008, 10:03 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(neshie @ Jun 2 2008, 09:58 PM)
good luck on your hammie search. smile.gif do update us with your choice of hamster. biggrin.gif
Hey,have a look at these>>http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=693262&hl=
All so cute^^
Elayne
post Jun 2 2008, 10:09 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(neshie @ Jun 2 2008, 10:05 PM)
hehe, saw those b4. she's a very nice person. tongue.gif
planning to get from her?
So fluffy and nice ooo the hamsters,considering brows.gif

Added on June 2, 2008, 10:11 pm
QUOTE(anderyna @ Jun 2 2008, 10:07 PM)
1 of my syrian is from her rclxms.gif

Really?!Surely now the hamster is as chubby as can be under your care laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Elayne: Jun 2 2008, 10:11 PM
Elayne
post Jun 2 2008, 10:14 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(neshie @ Jun 2 2008, 10:11 PM)
but the post quite old liao lor. almost 1 month. tongue.gif better pm her for pictures/info. after all also sold out. hehe
Ya,realized that. Anyway,I've already PM her.Waiting for good news whistling.gif
Elayne
post Jun 6 2008, 09:18 PM

122 posts

I already reserved a ww from the girl brows.gif Baby ww will be gam gam 3 weeks old next week so I'll only be able to get it next week lor nod.gif
Since her syrians are all sold out..do you think ww is comparable in taming them like syrians? Wow,can train hamsters to sit also ar..cool! drool.gif
Elayne
post Jun 6 2008, 09:25 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(neshie @ Jun 6 2008, 09:20 PM)
which girl?  blink.gif
WW's are tame, but mine loves nipping me sometimes.
Lovable rodents, but then sometimes their eyes like wanna pop out. scarrry.  cry.gif
I've ordered it from juzannies,she got sell hamsters de nod.gif Got 1 syrian left,3 months old but not very tame de..so i don't want lor.Some more i am new..i scared later i can't control notti notti hammie,prefer young ones so that i can train them since young tongue.gif
Waa..pop out type de ar ww? Scary leh sweat.gif
Elayne
post Jun 8 2008, 12:32 PM

122 posts

Good afternoon smile.gif I've just got my boy boy syrians yesterday when my friend said she no longer can keep it due to moving to overseas to study so I decided to take care of him lor biggrin.gif He is kinda guai,when i talked to him he will just stare at me not moving at all tongue.gif Hehe,so cute ooo~

But hor the prob is his mini water tank in which he can lick it to drink whenever he wants it. The water keep on leaking so easily that it wets his hay.I've already checked and changed it last night and this morning same thing happened again sweat.gif I do know that if the hay is wet,hammie will tend to get sick easily. May I know anyone do faced the same probs like me & any solutions other than changing his water tank? Many thanks notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Elayne
post Jun 8 2008, 12:41 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(neshie @ Jun 8 2008, 12:33 PM)
I think the best solution should be changing the water bottle. smile.gif what kinda water tank u using? got brand wan?
Unless u wanna change the bedding everyday, i suggest u get a new water bottle.  laugh.gif
No brand de wor,yesterday purposely went to buy everything new for him at pet shop nearby my house.
Mana tau the water tank leaked water de sweat.gif doh.gif And hor hammie like to sleep cuddling themselves? My boy i noticed he like to sleep under the
rolling wheel. Will find a small cute house for him later on laugh.gif
Elayne
post Jun 8 2008, 01:06 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(neshie @ Jun 8 2008, 12:57 PM)
ooo. hahaha. no brand de tend to leak easily. Even the living world brand also quite lousy. I checked living world website, they do have a better water bottle, but i don't see it in stores. It's better to get those bottles which have the spring loaded ball to prevent leakage.
Lol, cuddle themselves like how?  ohmy.gif
The water tank he is using it now got the metal ball inside but without any spring attached lor sweat.gif
Hmm..not into cuddling,just he like to sleep at the corner side. Have to change his hay again,wet again sad.gif I wonder if i put a small mini cup inside his hay to replace the water tank,will it be better?Scared later he spill it out unsure.gif He is now sleeping quitely,just now woke up chew some food with eyes closed then sleep back again. Lolx laugh.gif

0.0602sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:09 PM