Medical Conditions Hyperhydrosis aka sweaty palms, Sweaty Palms

TSdisco333
post May 29 2008, 10:32 PM, updated 18y ago

453 posts

I have very sweaty palms and it can be very disturbing. A simple everyday activity like shaking hands is made difficult. It is a problem that has plagued me since I turned thirteen or fourteen, besides having trouble shaking hands in mass I also have difficulty when sitting for exams. I tend to smudge what I have written as it is usually at it's worst during times of stress. However, stress is not it's only catalyst. It comes almost all the time.

It is very frustrating to have sweaty palms. Surgery would cost RM13K according to one doctor I consulted, above the cost of surgery I would also have to spend on accommodation and transport as the surgery is only conducted in SINGAPORE!

Does anyone suffer from this as well? If so what have you done to remedy the situation apart from surgery?

This post has been edited by disco333: May 29 2008, 10:35 PM
corad
post May 29 2008, 10:51 PM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,403 posts

you tried shaking hands with those politicians before ? try it in a crowd and watch their facial expressions tongue.gif tongue.gif

I'm not too worried about mine, I'm in the same boat as you . As for exams , sometimes the paper can be soaked through and when u lift it up...koyak laugh.gif I fix that by placing another folded sheet of paper below d hand i'm writing 1st tho smile.gif

My palms dont really bother me, so never considered getting them "fixed". (As long as I'm still able to get through the thumb print scanner at airports icon_rolleyes.gif )
TSdisco333
post May 29 2008, 10:54 PM

453 posts

Thumb print scanners have caused me hell too. I have to dry my thumb because they always seem to get a negative reading, very frustrating.

This post has been edited by disco333: May 29 2008, 10:54 PM
corad
post May 30 2008, 05:13 AM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,403 posts

QUOTE(disco333 @ May 29 2008, 10:54 PM)
Thumb print scanners have caused me hell too. I have to dry my thumb because they always seem to get a negative reading, very frustrating.
haha , i remembered the 1st time i got my IC done. the scanner only picked up a black smudge whistling.gif ended up trying to dry my thumb for an hour shakehead.gif

my parents did consult a doctor once, and he said surgery was the only way to go.

are you palms really bothering you that much ? I kinda like mine the way they are tongue.gif blush.gif
Leto Kynes
post May 30 2008, 07:22 AM

823 posts

Why don't you get special permission to wear gloves while writing? You might get strange looks from your friends though laugh.gif

I have sweaty palms too (very noticeable on my black DS) but I guess it's not as bad >.<
illiumiskum
post May 30 2008, 03:35 PM

36 posts

just do a surgery
its called sympathectomy
a surgery done to cut off sympathetic nerve that control your sweat glands in the palmar area
only 2 days of admission (my friend done this before)
and it totally works!

my friend have it done in HUKM,cheras (we are hukm students actually)
so u can go there to ask for the surgery
dont forget to ask for referral letter from your doctor

This post has been edited by illiumiskum: May 30 2008, 03:38 PM
oRoXoRo
post May 30 2008, 03:38 PM

Level 1 Audiophile
1,630 posts

but rm13k ...kinda expensive dont ya think?
illiumiskum
post May 30 2008, 03:41 PM

36 posts

dont think it will cost rm13k
my friend had it FOC as he is student there
but he once said that for outsiders it will cost a few hundred to may be a couple thousands
rm13k is ridiculous la

oRoXoRo
post May 30 2008, 03:46 PM

Level 1 Audiophile
1,630 posts

but he wanted to get it done in Singapore..maybe there is much more expensive? but seriously, if rm13k u need to reconsider it again
cheangck
post May 30 2008, 05:13 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(illiumiskum @ May 30 2008, 04:35 PM)
just do a surgery
its called sympathectomy
a surgery done to cut off sympathetic nerve that control your sweat glands in the palmar area
and it totally works!

Procedure is call Laparascopy Sympathectomy.. No need big scar.. Through small keyhole surgery.. R u a student now?? If so HUKM is free for u.. If u r working then also free if u r gov worker.. Dun b fool by ppl who says onli can b done in Singapore.. Can b cured wif surgery..
redline666
post May 30 2008, 05:37 PM

537 posts

how bout the sweaty armpits? how much does the surgery cost for curing it?
post Aug 27 2009, 05:51 PM

http://www.wethandsclub.com/hyperhidrosis_...nt.html#surgery
cost rm 7k to 8k
shahmh
post Oct 20 2009, 02:31 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(illiumiskum @ May 30 2008, 03:35 PM)
just do a surgery
its called sympathectomy
and it totally works!

May I know...who is the doctor? My relative also has this prob...really bothering him.
SueM11
post Oct 23 2009, 08:49 PM

85 posts

I came across a girl in her twenties who was having this problem with sweaty palms. Her hands were literally dripping with sweat so that she never shake hands with people as it was too embarassing.

She decided to try some supplements and after a few months her condition improved a lot.
So before resorting to surgery why not try another alternative.
She took the multivitamin/mineral/antioxidant, Bio Omega 3 and grape seed extract.

leongal
post Nov 14 2009, 09:21 PM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

i have this "problem", my palm n feet sweat for nothing, even when i am not nervous....i used to play piano and palm sweat so much tat my piano teacher gave me a yucky type of look as though i could control it... sad.gif

nothing much i can do about it.....
ivzh
post Nov 16 2009, 10:54 PM

668 posts

botox injection for hyperhydrosis is alternative to surgery, Bt u need to repeat the injection every few 4-6 month or the effect will go off.

Joey Christensen
post Nov 17 2009, 10:13 AM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

Please read under section "Treatment" and narrow down your alternatives. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyperhidrosis

Regards, Joey
Jinx-Z
post Nov 17 2009, 08:05 PM

116 posts

after all, only 2 solution available which is injection botox and surgery...haizzz~
anna.lee
post Nov 18 2009, 12:41 PM

QUOTE(disco333 @ May 29 2008, 11:32 PM)
I have very sweaty palms and it can be very disturbing. A simple everyday activity like shaking hands is made difficult. It is a problem that has plagued me since I turned thirteen or fourteen, besides having trouble shaking hands in mass I also have difficulty when sitting for exams. I tend to smudge what I have written as it is usually at it's worst during times of stress. However, stress is not it's only catalyst. It comes almost all the time.

It is very frustrating to have sweaty palms. Surgery would cost RM13K according to one doctor I consulted, above the cost of surgery I would also have to spend on accommodation and transport as the surgery is only conducted in SINGAPORE!     

Does anyone suffer from this as well? If so what have you done to remedy the situation apart from surgery?
KL do have those surgery too mar.I think no need 13k so much gua,u can try to KL there ask wherter had a clinic there price quite okay wat thumbup.gif .the clinic name called[.... club]*sorry 4 that cant rmb the full name. laugh.gif
babesteoh
post Dec 5 2009, 11:38 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(anna.lee @ Nov 18 2009, 12:41 PM)
KL do have those surgery too mar.I think no need 13k so much gua,u can try to KL there ask wherter had a clinic there price quite okay wat thumbup.gif .the clinic name called[.... club]*sorry 4 that cant rmb the full name. laugh.gif
Is SKIN CLUB by Derma Genesis. nod.gif
Mr HellAngelOfFire
post Dec 5 2009, 03:26 PM

183 posts

sure both are expensive sleep.gif
feels sorry for you
Xeraph
post Dec 16 2009, 02:00 PM

122 posts

i have it too and it really sucks trying to wipe your hand every single time some1 tries to shake your hand.

didn't know that we could do it here in msia o.O
did a little research on it a few years back when they only had it in US

btw, just as an alternative.
according to chinese traditional medication, sweaty palms are due to weak kidney. other symptoms would include bubbly urine. which actually is true in my case.
keyes87
post Dec 20 2009, 08:48 PM

Another hyperhidrosis sufferer here.

For me I use this antiperspirant called Driclor. It's really effective as apparently it says the effect stays for days, not hours. But I try not to rely too much on it and instead I do regular jogging + exercise (seems unrelated but it does help in a way). There are times of embarrassment when I have to shake hands with people so I just put on a smile and go, "Oh, my palms are really sweaty. I hope you understand."

As for exams, I just bring a mini handkerchief with me. I remember sitting for my SPM and having the handkerchief accompany me throughout the entire time, and I felt alright.

Last but not least, try not to think too much of having it! When it slips out of your mind you would slowly yet surely come to notice your palms getting drier. I'm serious! smile.gif
winter-X
post Dec 21 2009, 11:04 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(cheangck @ May 30 2008, 05:13 PM)
Procedure is call Laparascopy Sympathectomy.. No need big scar.. Through small keyhole surgery.. R u a student now?? If so HUKM is free for u.. If u r working then also free if u r gov worker.. Dun b fool by ppl who says onli can b done in Singapore.. Can b cured wif surgery..
free for student that study in hukm or free for any1 who is still a student?

Added on December 21, 2009, 11:06 am
QUOTE(Xeraph @ Dec 16 2009, 02:00 PM)
i have it too and it really sucks trying to wipe your hand every single time some1 tries to shake your hand.

didn't know that we could do it here in msia o.O
did a little research on it a few years back when they only had it in US

btw, just as an alternative.
according to chinese traditional medication, sweaty palms are due to weak kidney. other symptoms would include bubbly urine. which actually is true in my case.
=.=no wonder why my urine always in bubbly form...izzit influence our health?

Added on December 21, 2009, 11:11 am
QUOTE(keyes87 @ Dec 20 2009, 08:48 PM)

For me I use this antiperspirant called Driclor. It's really effective as apparently it says the effect stays for days, not hours. But I try not to rely too much on it and instead I do regular jogging + exercise (seems unrelated but it does help in a way). There are times of embarrassment when I have to shake hands with people so I just put on a smile and go, "Oh, my palms are really sweaty. I hope you understand."

As for exams, I just bring a mini handkerchief with me. I remember sitting for my SPM and having the handkerchief accompany me throughout the entire time, and I felt alright.

Last but not least, try not to think too much of having it! When it slips out of your mind you would slowly yet surely come to notice your palms getting drier. I'm serious! smile.gif
where can i get the antiperspirant?

This post has been edited by winter-X: Dec 21 2009, 11:11 AM
C-Note
post Dec 22 2009, 11:17 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

Sweaty palms seems like a dominant genetic problem. Can someone clarify this? Most of my friend has this problem, just on different extents.
legolas1118
post Dec 23 2009, 05:54 PM

18 posts

I heard there are 'side effects' after surgery.

Like your palms not getting used to the dryness and the skin will become dry and flakey, which then causes other problems.

The surgery just redirects your sweat to other places, and not really 'curing' it. Instead of sweaty palms, you might just end up having sweatier feet or foreheads. Sweat glands in the armpits are different than those in palms, feet or heads, so i doubt it'll be redirected there.

Medication and healthier eating habits and lifestyle would help this hyperhidrosis problem of yours. I'm sure if you played an intense sport in the morning, there won't be any sweat left for your palms in the afternoon rclxms.gif also, if you're a hardcore coffee drinker, chances are you'll sweat even more because of the caffeine.

I heard that drinking less water (fluids) would help, but try not to harm your own health in doing this. sweat.gif

Just read up and understand why people sweat and how it can be reduced. Perhaps, the best solution can be found there. thumbup.gif
Xeraph
post Dec 24 2009, 04:29 AM

122 posts

nope, drinking less doesnt reduce the sweat.
i dont think eating habits will help for those who inherited it
coz... if it were true, i think when i was a kid, nutrition was pretty good, as in i was fed quite well, no junk foods etc.... and i alrdy had hyperhidrosis since a baby.

Added on December 24, 2009, 4:30 am
QUOTE(C-Note @ Dec 23 2009, 02:17 AM)
Sweaty palms seems like a dominant genetic problem. Can someone clarify this? Most of my friend has this problem, just on different extents.
yeap, genetic

This post has been edited by Xeraph: Dec 24 2009, 04:30 AM
ajbluestar
post Dec 30 2009, 10:50 AM

QUOTE(keyes87 @ Dec 20 2009, 08:48 PM)

you dun have to go for surgery actually.

contrary to what general perception abt botox injection, it is one of the non-surgical way to opt for when it comes to hyperhidrosis. and it's way cheaper compared to surgery.

i've been to this place called skin club with a fren with the similar conditions for consultation -which is free btw- and he decides to go with it and the result is satisfactory.

i'm not sure whether it's a permanent solution or not....i think you hv to inject in intervals of every 6-12 months...

if u r interested to find out more, here's the website http://www.skinclub.com.my

morning06
post Dec 30 2009, 01:41 PM

869 posts

same prob here T.T sweaty palms n feets... avtime when need to use the thumb scan sure a lot of prob... but dun feel like going thru any surgery...

btw the skinclub u talking about, hav to take injection every few months?
kinda troublesome >.< any feedback from ur fren? ok?
ajbluestar
post Dec 31 2009, 06:28 PM

QUOTE(morning06 @ Dec 30 2009, 01:41 PM)
same prob here T.T sweaty palms n feets... avtime when need to use the thumb scan sure a lot of prob... but dun feel like going thru any surgery...

btw the skinclub u talking about, hav to take injection every few months?
kinda troublesome >.< any feedback from ur fren? ok?
he said so far the results are very good...it depends on the condition.

u need to come for consultation and then the doctor will decide how many injection u should get.

nah...here the link http://www.skinclub.com.my i think u can ask online~
pengotor.diver
post Jan 1 2010, 04:51 PM

another special one here! *__*
sweaty palms n feet.
i been having this special ability since i was in primary school. i remember having to sit for year end exam and in the end, my exam paper went "koyak". hehe. after that, i started using handkerchief anytime i start writing.
remember practicing karate on a slippery floor! hehe! it gives me an advantage during sparring session! hehe!
i wanna go with the surgery but the cost is my main concern. been trying to look for an alternative solution i.e supplement, cream etc.

p/s: palms starting to sweat as i was typing this post. as if it knows..duuhhh!!

opethbleed555
post Jan 2 2010, 07:09 PM

340 posts

where can i get this driclor. its annoying when ur rock climbing coz the grip becomes slippery.
Salience
post Jan 5 2010, 09:52 AM

top of your mind.
1,361 posts

dun recommend botox because the effect is only temporary.

just use something like powder on your hands
talcum powder.

i have very hyperhydrosis as well but being confident does not cause sweaty palms

nervousness etc causes sweaty palms. be more confident and less nervous and you can reduce sweaty palsm
and that is FREE
Xeraph
post Jan 5 2010, 11:13 AM

122 posts

I'll be going to UMSC next week to see Dr Chin for consultation.
will definately share some news on it!
happy_gal
post Jan 5 2010, 02:12 PM

154 posts

guys, driclor is no longer available in malaysia.. haha.. i've bought the last of the entire malaysia's stock last 3 years ago lah.. hehehe... if u guys want, the oni way is via online purchases lah..

there's another product PerspireX which u guys can get.. its selling in all major pharmacies such as guardian, watson.. the confirm ones are guardian in ioi, guardian in 1u (opposite KFC)...

its like deodorant.. just rub it on ur hands and it will block ur sweat glans in which u wont need to sweat so much anymre.. im also using it.. tongue.gif
leongal
post Jan 5 2010, 02:54 PM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Dec 22 2009, 11:17 PM)
i duno whether is is genetic problem....cos whole family does not have this problem (even extended family) but me >.<
opethbleed555
post Jan 5 2010, 07:33 PM

340 posts

thanx happy gal for perspireX.. been looking high and low to stop me from sweating too much esp on the hands. by the way i think its a genetic problem caused by eczema. my doctor told me its weeping eczema or hyperhidrosis
powie the cat
post Feb 10 2011, 11:08 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(disco333 @ May 29 2008, 10:32 PM)

If u do surgery, the risk is very high and by the end of the day, it might come back to hunt you. I think for now, the best way is to do botox.
sweet_pez
post Feb 10 2011, 12:29 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

I watched a TV Program where a celebrity said she injected botox @ her armpit because it sweats. But after some time she noticed that sweat starts coming out heavily on her palm and the area between mouth & nose. According to the doctor (that she consulted afterwards), the sweat gotta come out somehow and since she blocked it on her armpits, the body uses another channel to release the sweat.

I'm not sure of the accuracy and it may vary case by case. You might want to check on this before going for the surgery. I do get sweaty palms at times and it's troublesome when I need to shake hands with people. But I guess it's not so serious that I actually thought of surgery... Hope the stuffs described above gives you some insight.
sab2106
post Feb 10 2011, 12:32 PM

44 posts

i've heard about it! the skin club i'm going to offers this treatment. quite cheap also should check em out!
Seager
post Feb 10 2011, 10:48 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

I understand how you feel man. I sweat too, for no reason at all, both palms and feet literally dripping of sweat. I'm an undergrad, and i use about 3 or more handkerchiefs a day. It's even worse when I'm in electrical circuits lab, I have to be extra careful, just to not get electrocuted.haha

I try to avoid shaking hands with people.

Even in air conditioned room, i tend to feel weird. My hands tend to get too cold, they start to feel numb.

And my feet sweat too, so no slippers/flip-flops for me. Only shoes, i change socks 2-3 times a day.

Thing is, it's a hard way to live, but i'm used to it. I've talked to a Surgeon from Singapore, and some from Malaysia too. They've said surgery should be only your final decision.

One even said, if sweat doesn't come out of your palms, it might get redirected to your head, your head might start sweating, which is worse.

I've also known a few people that had hyperhidrosis and they get cured over time. My dad had it, and as he grew older 25+, it eventually went away.

Just compromise my friend, compromise. It's uneasy, but you'll eventually get used to it smile.gif
powie the cat
post Feb 25 2011, 05:00 PM

19 posts

Botox injection can help.. but then u'll have to do it every 6 to 8 months.
Eugene91
post Mar 15 2011, 11:53 PM

6,109 posts

having this same damn problem.. so afraid to shake hands with people.. damn palms sweating like $%#* sad.gif sad.gif

My lecture slides because printed with inkjet gets smudged.. so malu let people see my paper like dat.....................

Touching my touchscreen phone can be like #@#& sometimes.. Doesn't respond because it's capacitive..

Feel like ...........................
deepa24
post Mar 17 2011, 09:40 AM

22 posts

consult a dermatologist... tey cn solve ur prob smile.gif
kikukid
post Apr 30 2012, 01:45 PM

QUOTE(illiumiskum @ May 30 2008, 03:35 PM)
just do a surgery
its called sympathectomy
and it totally works!

i wanted to do the surgery as well. Can i get ur fren's email?
Or how can i contact u?
uRfaith143
post May 4 2012, 10:19 AM

757 posts

is there any treatment for this?

Added on May 4, 2012, 10:26 am
QUOTE(legolas1118 @ Dec 23 2009, 05:54 PM)
I heard there are 'side effects' after surgery.

Like your palms not getting used to the dryness and the skin will become dry and flakey, which then causes other problems.

The surgery just redirects your sweat to other places, and not really 'curing' it. Instead of sweaty palms, you might just end up having sweatier feet or foreheads. Sweat glands in the armpits are different than those in palms, feet or heads, so i doubt it'll be redirected there.

Medication and healthier eating habits and lifestyle would help this hyperhidrosis problem of yours. I'm sure if you played an intense sport in the morning, there won't be any sweat left for your palms in the afternoon  rclxms.gif  also, if you're a hardcore coffee drinker, chances are you'll sweat even more because of the caffeine.

I heard that drinking less water (fluids) would help, but try not to harm your own health in doing this.  sweat.gif

Just read up and understand why people sweat and how it can be reduced. Perhaps, the best solution can be found there.  thumbup.gif
Surgery? that freaks me out. Is there any medicine which can prevent too much sweating. I prefer that one rather than surgery which might over dry my skin

This post has been edited by uRfaith143: May 4 2012, 10:26 AM
longu1
post May 14 2012, 07:30 PM

43 posts

just go for Dysport (BTA) injection. it costs less than BOTOX injection. advantage is your sweat wont be redirected to other area, disadvantages is you have to repeat it every 6-9months, but your condition will improve after few injections.
georgejohn
post Aug 18 2016, 04:03 PM

Sympathicotomy solves sweaty palms, feet as well as armpits fast and the procedure only takes 20minutes. Cost is RM 10600 , cheapest in Klang Valley in Prince Court Medical Centre by myself.

Pls call Prince Court and ask to see Dr George John Thoracic Surgeon

You can even make apt via PCMC Website too.

Come and get one stop solution for your excessive sweat

This post has been edited by georgejohn: Aug 18 2016, 04:06 PM
nosweatypalms P
post Sep 26 2019, 12:27 PM

Probation

There are several solutions to address excessively sweaty palms, but not all situations are as severe as you think. Doctors can advise you on whether or not your case warrants full-scale surgery, or whether you would stand to benefit from other, more temporary solutions, such as Botox or iontophoresis.

iHEAL has the iontophoresis machine for you to try out if surgery is not your preferred option. Their founder is the most experienced in Malaysia. Installment payments are also accepted.

Level 7 & 8, Annexe Block, Menara IGB, Mid Valley City, Lingkaran Syed Putra, 59200 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
E: enquiry@ihealmedical.com
T : + 603 2287 7398
T : + 6016 261 5297
T : + 6016 343 7398
F : + 603 2287 7320
FB: facebook.com/ihealmedical
Instagram: @ihealmedical

0.0340sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:21 AM