Grooming Everything about Pet Grooming!, Exchange ideas abt pet grooming

TSmikoyuki
post May 29 2008, 02:24 PM, updated 18y ago

101 posts

Hi all,

I am new here in this forum and new in pg. Just shifted here from Ipoh one mth ago. Previously, I have been operating my own grooming salon in Ipoh.

I'm currently just set up my grooming centre here in Penang and need some advise from pet owners.
Hope all can give me a piece of opinion and advise. Anything and everything regarding grooming would be helpful. Especially what customers here demand, pricing vice...etc..etc..

Not forgotten, on charity vice, there shld be some non-profit pet rescuer here at pg? I would very much like to contribute my help in any way I can. I guess maybe can give free grooming to those dogs and raise their adoption chances higher to find a good owner.

Or if there are anything at all regarding grooming, pls do not hesitate to enquire. I can't say I am a sifu in grooming, but I have 2yrs experience in this line and graduated with a recognised cert for all breed grooming.

Hope by having this thread, we can bring pet lovers and groomer to a better understanding that will overall benefit our furkids thumbup.gif

Added on May 29, 2008, 4:10 pmNo1 wanna help me out a bit meh? sad.gif

This post has been edited by mikoyuki: May 29 2008, 06:30 PM
sinv
post May 29 2008, 05:15 PM

I am Poodle Addict
2,810 posts

your title put penang grooming survey maybe other state people not even click in to see what happen tongue.gif
TSmikoyuki
post May 29 2008, 05:16 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(sinv @ May 29 2008, 05:15 PM)
your title put penang grooming survey maybe other state people not even click in to see what happen  tongue.gif
Alamak! rclxub.gif Yeah hor! But I can't modify anymore the topic wor...
babymiki
post May 29 2008, 05:17 PM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

mikoyuki is ur pet salon located at ipoh garden east with the big sign board upstairs?
TSmikoyuki
post May 29 2008, 05:18 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(mikoyuki @ May 29 2008, 05:16 PM)
Alamak!  rclxub.gif Yeah hor! But I can't modify anymore the topic wor...
Oh..can modify wor...luckily sweat.gif

Added on May 29, 2008, 5:19 pm
QUOTE(babymiki @ May 29 2008, 05:17 PM)
mikoyuki is ur pet salon located at ipoh garden east with the big sign board upstairs?
Previously...yes. Formerly known as Pethaus Professional Pet Grooming Saloon. U went there b4?

This post has been edited by mikoyuki: May 29 2008, 05:19 PM
babymiki
post May 29 2008, 05:20 PM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

yup send my silky there before once
TSmikoyuki
post May 29 2008, 05:23 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ May 29 2008, 05:20 PM)
yup send my silky there before once
Pethaus closed down long time ago, since last year May. Then I shifted to next 2 shops, there's a vet there, Dr. Gilbert; I worked upstairs.
babymiki
post May 29 2008, 05:23 PM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

hey i just noticed the silky in ur banner looked like mine LOL the time i send her there u guys tied up her hair like that too.

why closed down ner? no business ma?

This post has been edited by babymiki: May 29 2008, 05:24 PM
TSmikoyuki
post May 29 2008, 05:25 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ May 29 2008, 05:23 PM)
hey i just noticed the silky in ur banner looked like mine LOL the time i send her there u guys tied up her hair like that too.

why closed down ner? no business ma?
Maybe it's your silky... smile.gif About y closed down..hmm...boss punya pasal lar sad.gif
babymiki
post May 29 2008, 05:26 PM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

LOL really looks like Germaine. so which part of penang is ur shop located at now?
TSmikoyuki
post May 29 2008, 05:28 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ May 29 2008, 05:26 PM)
LOL really looks like Germaine. so which part of penang is ur shop located at now?
Georgetown. Just partition a room in my hubby's shop coz no money yet to set up my own grooming salon. I'm totally new here...so business is slow. Got any frens to intro icon_question.gif
babymiki
post May 29 2008, 05:30 PM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

there're quite a few Pg pet owners here biggrin.gif u'll get to know them as u post along. say, do u groom other pets as well?
TSmikoyuki
post May 29 2008, 05:31 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ May 29 2008, 05:30 PM)
there're quite a few Pg pet owners here biggrin.gif u'll get to know them as u post along. say, do u groom other pets as well?
Yes..cats, rabbits...If u c me so free all day logging in the forum chatting, means no business liao sad.gif

This post has been edited by mikoyuki: May 29 2008, 05:32 PM
babymiki
post May 29 2008, 05:34 PM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

okies. all the best to you first =)

do u sell products and food as well?
@lice~~
post May 29 2008, 05:35 PM

565 posts

I think most of us here is currently located PJ and KL.. so it might different from Ipoh o Penang.. anyway, a good services n reasonable price will attract most of the customer.. i will willing to pay a bit more if my groomer known well abt my pet requirement.. for example, my dog hv very sensitive skin n some skin problem.. so she wil try to help me to solve my problem.. just like my current groomer she know my shih tzu hv sensitive skin on her belly part so she wont shave off clean all the fur on that area.. she will only cut short the fur.. so i can 100% trust on her n let me baby to be with her.. well, i know it's a bit hard due to hundred of dogs will enter to ur shop daily but practice make perfect..
TSmikoyuki
post May 29 2008, 05:36 PM

101 posts

Can pls voice out your opinion on how a pet grooming centre can serve customers better in customer point of view? Is it really pricing all that important? I have survey ard a bit and found out that my grooming style is quite different from other groomers here. I, myself cannot judge other groomers style whether it is good or not, becoz to each their own style.

Added on May 29, 2008, 5:37 pm
QUOTE(babymiki @ May 29 2008, 05:34 PM)
okies. all the best to you first =)

do u sell products and food as well?
No, I concentrate only on offering grooming services.

Added on May 29, 2008, 5:39 pm
QUOTE(@lice~~ @ May 29 2008, 05:35 PM)
I think most of us here is currently located PJ and KL.. so it might different from Ipoh o Penang.. anyway, a good services n reasonable price will attract most of the customer.. i will willing to pay a bit more if my groomer known well abt my pet requirement.. for example, my dog hv very sensitive skin n some skin problem.. so she wil try to help me to solve my problem.. just like my current groomer she know my shih tzu hv sensitive skin on her belly part so she wont shave off clean all the fur on that area.. she will only cut short the fur.. so i can 100% trust on her n let me baby to be with her.. well, i know it's a bit hard due to hundred of dogs will enter to ur shop daily but practice make perfect..
I make sure I have individual cards for each owner for me to record their visits and special requirements. Of coz, hundreds of dogs would be hard to remember, but regular customers that comes back every mth wld not be hard to remember.

Added on May 29, 2008, 5:58 pmSometimes, it's about communication between pet owners and groomer. Some pet owners don't know how to really express in words what they want, how they want it to be...

For e.g: I have about more than 50% customers wld tell me, cut as short as possible. I wld ask them how short...then customer replied as short as possible. To customer point of view, "as short as possible" is not botak. To a groomer point of view, it simply means botak. Haha!

I make sure to spend some time and show them pics from my portfolio...let them see the pics and imagine how they want their doggies to look like. But of coz, no 2 dogs are the same. Likewise human...right? We all have different features of our own, my long straight hair would not look the same on you with the same hair styles.

In most cases, to pet owners, they did not even realise their doggies fur is matted from the inside. It's not only hard to comb out the matts but it is also a painful procedure for the dog. Not that groomer doesn't want the extra work. If really too matted..dematting the fur that is very matted will cause bruises and skin irritation to the dog.

Added on May 29, 2008, 6:07 pmI sincerely hope this thread will bring pet owners and groomer very close together to a better stage of understanding so that all our doggies would be a happy dogs smile.gif

This post has been edited by mikoyuki: May 29 2008, 06:07 PM
clementcpteh
post May 29 2008, 07:40 PM

Find the business that's right for you.
2,439 posts

mikoyuki,
Welcome to Penang. Penang still less professional grooming, do you know what is professional grooming?
Penang grooming like vet, repair dog skin and tick. Those owner never take care their dog, all give to grooming do the service.
professional grooming will never accept a pet that is not vaccinated as the risks of pets being exposed to diseases is very real. they will give your pet a thorough physical examination. A few things will be checked out:-
a. Eyes
b. Ears
c. Mouth
d. Skin condition
e. Anal glands

Some people commented that this is all so unnecessary, however we beg to differ. The health of your pet is utmost concern and it is groomer responsibility to make sure no pets are at any time at risk of being exposed to diseases. Should we discover any conditions that deem grooming can be stressful, you will be advised.

Good luck. Maybe I go to penang drop by your shop. Need dog magazine let me know. I have sell.

This post has been edited by clementcpteh: May 29 2008, 07:44 PM
TSmikoyuki
post May 29 2008, 09:03 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(clementcpteh @ May 29 2008, 07:40 PM)
mikoyuki,
Welcome to Penang. Penang still less professional grooming, do you know what is professional grooming?
Penang grooming like vet, repair dog skin and tick. Those owner never take care their dog, all give to grooming do the service.
professional grooming will never accept a pet that is not vaccinated as the risks of pets being exposed to diseases is very real. they will give your pet a thorough physical examination. A few things will be checked out:-
a. Eyes
b. Ears
c. Mouth
d. Skin condition
e. Anal glands

Some people commented that this is all so unnecessary, however we beg to differ. The health of your pet is utmost concern and it is groomer responsibility to make sure no pets are at any time at risk of being exposed to diseases. Should we discover any conditions that deem grooming can be stressful, you will be advised.

Good luck. Maybe I go to penang drop by your shop. Need dog magazine let me know. I have sell.
Thanks clement for your input. Of coz I know what professional grooming is becoz I am a certified professional groomer smile.gif What kinda dog mags u r selling?
clementcpteh
post May 29 2008, 09:15 PM

Find the business that's right for you.
2,439 posts

mikoyuki,
Penang have many pet, should be good business soon, need do more advertising or promotion. By the way I carry Bark magazine, it is english edition. You can buy online. or I personally delivery to you. beside that we have many imported dog supplies from USA. you can check online. http://www.petmysite.com/
interested just let me know.

This post has been edited by clementcpteh: May 29 2008, 09:15 PM
TSmikoyuki
post May 29 2008, 09:24 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(clementcpteh @ May 29 2008, 09:15 PM)
mikoyuki,
Penang have many pet, should be good business soon, need do more advertising or promotion. By the way I carry Bark magazine, it is english edition. You can buy online. or I personally delivery to you. beside that we have many imported dog supplies from USA. you can check online. http://www.petmysite.com/
interested just let me know.
Will check it out soon..thanks smile.gif

0.0226sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:44 PM