Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, where the 'deja-vu are tradition in here

sunnyboy
post Jul 29 2008, 10:25 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Jul 29 2008, 05:00 PM)
lolz... still no one can answer this question kah icon_question.gif
cannot....

cement is used to melt plastic so both part can "melt" together...

resin is not plastic...so to glue a resin part, u hav to use AB glue...
sunnyboy
post Jul 30 2008, 11:56 AM

1,446 posts

thanks for explain it....

This post has been edited by sunnyboy: Jul 30 2008, 11:59 AM
sunnyboy
post Jul 31 2008, 08:22 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(noob4life @ Jul 31 2008, 08:17 PM)
Your paint is not thin enough... put more thinner/ levelling thinner ...

If still got web the put some Mr. Retarder mild into ur mixture. ( Sumtimes i use it, sumtimes i dont... lol )

Or just use Mr Leveling Thinner.... cuz the Leveling Thinner alredi has retarder mixed into it... no need the hassle of figuring out how much Retarder u have to put.  smile.gif
nothing to do with retarder mild....

your paint is too thick, add more thinner......use a ratio of 1:3 or 1:4
sunnyboy
post Aug 1 2008, 04:58 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Aug 1 2008, 02:41 PM)
ok. will remember to spray black on last next time. thanks.
plan it b4 u spray....go from the lightest color to the darkest color.....
sunnyboy
post Aug 2 2008, 10:16 AM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Aug 2 2008, 01:32 AM)
is it possible to use a white basecoat (methinks mr hobby has one) instead of mr surfacer as a primer?
it is oso a surfacer...but in white color....me using that...
sunnyboy
post Aug 4 2008, 11:25 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(noob4life @ Aug 4 2008, 10:45 PM)
Guys got a question...  can i spray enamel paints onto Mr. Surfacer ?  And can i spray Mr. Topcoat over onto enamel paints ?

will have any side effects ?
as long the layer is dry...u can overlap it using airbrush.....but dun make the new layer too "wet" as the thinner might melt the color underneath it...
sunnyboy
post Aug 4 2008, 11:45 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(noob4life @ Aug 4 2008, 11:39 PM)
No i mean, lets say i already sprayed my kit with Mr Surfacer ... then can i spray enamel paints on the surfacer ?

And lets say i already spray my kit with enamel paint... can i use Mr Topcoat to coat it ?

Err thnx again lol.
can.....y cannot leh?
sunnyboy
post Aug 5 2008, 10:04 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(pcomet @ Aug 5 2008, 09:55 PM)
Thx rayloke for the info  , is that the woodland scenics do international shipment? thing going to get some tree and grass from them all realistic and nice~
go ebay find...type "scenic" got alot....
sunnyboy
post Aug 7 2008, 10:48 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Aug 7 2008, 10:21 PM)
Si fu si fu sekalian,

Would the 'chrome gold' painting trick work with other colours? I'm trying to not use the eye stickers for my SD, so am wondering if i paint the eye bit silver and then spray a coat of clear (methinks mr hobby has clear red, clear orange, clear yellow, clear green and clear blue) then i'm all set?
yes.....

u can play along with the clear color for shading as well...

like if u hav a red surface model...u can paint clear red for shading...

clear color is FUN!!!!!
sunnyboy
post Aug 8 2008, 11:06 AM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Aug 8 2008, 10:57 AM)
hi guys, anyone of ya have experience with this?

1. how long normally it ll take to oxydised? say stored indoor, in glass cabinet with no direct sunlight nor any source of strong lighting.

2. if any mistake made, any good way to remove?

3. the base color different, will it create different shade of chrome? eg the base color is gloss black vs bas is gloss Green.

If someone could help, might save me some time and money. this bugger aint cheap tongue.gif

Thanks in advance
u r the guru level in Malaysia, u should get n test and let us know abt it ma.... thumbup.gif
sunnyboy
post Aug 8 2008, 12:08 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Aug 8 2008, 11:43 AM)
not guru la, just like everyone else, enjoying the hobby while learning new things and hitting the wall occasionally tongue.gif

ok for more info, i quote what hlj descript about this product:

Name: Kosutte Gin-San

Maker : Work

Discription:You most probably can't cant tell from the name that this material produces one of the best metal finishes I have ever seen. By rubbing the powder onto a surface a metallic finish can be produced. The more you rub the brighter it gets. By changing direction and buffing patterns you can simulate different finishes. Warning: This powder is VERY adhesive. Wear gloves and make sure that you properly mask and cover areas you don't want to have this material on. It is difficult to remove.

**************************************************************************************************************************

Of course i ll try it myself, and i m willing to share what i encounter after that. just try to ask around for tips i need to take special precaution so i might be able to reduce unnecessary waste.

Also since this work most likely like those metallic paint needed to buff, i guess can create chrome-like effect.
i do notice this stuff quiet some times....from the sampel pic....we just need to hav a very gloss black layer, then apply the powder and rub it....seems simple...

1500yen not mahal...but it's on backordered sad.gif
sunnyboy
post Aug 13 2008, 12:16 AM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Aug 12 2008, 11:59 PM)
I want to redo an SD Kampfer. Will Mr Thinner remove both the flat topcoat and ALL traces of paint?
can...but i suggest u get a new kit....it will cost lower....

mr thinner is not cheap.... sweat.gif
sunnyboy
post Aug 13 2008, 11:20 AM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Aug 13 2008, 12:26 AM)
but my kit is nearly 20 years old... i repainted it last month, but not satisfied with the results. time to scrub scrub methinks.
the choice is yours....... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

i treat mr thinner as a expensive stuff for dillute the paint...not a item for remove paint....
sunnyboy
post Aug 13 2008, 11:33 AM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Aug 13 2008, 11:23 AM)
Instead of keep on saying Mr.Thinner expensive, isn't it better for you to provide another solutions other than Mr.Thinner? smile.gif

P/S : I use Mr.Thinner to remove paint. Yes, I have to use it damn carefully,not to waste even 1 drop.. laugh.gif
errr....me cant find a better solution to remove paint la.....u ingat me GOD meh..... tongue.gif

u can use brake fluid....super cheap...but later your model become fragile, break into pieces, dont cry....

unless the model kit is very expensive, if not i rather get a new box or get the parts if want to repaint......
sunnyboy
post Aug 13 2008, 11:54 AM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Aug 13 2008, 11:44 AM)
i read that gunze has a mr. paint remover. Apa itu?
never try b4 ler.....u can get to try, n giv us feedback...

i know it works on pinky, aka pvc material...not sure abt gunpla....
sunnyboy
post Aug 19 2008, 07:17 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Aug 19 2008, 07:12 PM)
any idea where to get those hobby polyster putty?
check his signature...got sell....

buy buy buy!!!!
sunnyboy
post Nov 25 2008, 08:11 PM

1,446 posts

skill most important la.....

u can hav the most expensive tools....no skill...outcome oso like shit....
sunnyboy
post Nov 26 2008, 12:01 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Nov 26 2008, 11:34 AM)
sitting in front of your computer n clicking mouse can give u lots of knowledge, but wont bring u anywhere in modeling.

trial n error is the best!, get your hand dirty n u will never forget those stupid mistakes u'd made; will remember them for life.............

only bad thing is, it might cost a lot of money if compare to watching youtube................... tongue.gif

So for those ask questions n got suggestions by others, make sure to try it out....
true...no pain no gain......

wait 1 day i snap my "gundam cemetary" pic...all gunpla that i tortured...haha
sunnyboy
post Nov 29 2008, 09:07 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(boltguard @ Nov 29 2008, 08:50 PM)
urmm, this is how i do, surfacer 30% & thinner 70%, correct ka?
then how bout mr. colour ? same mixing ratio?  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
dillute it until u feel it flow like milk....

*but not susu pekat la... tongue.gif
sunnyboy
post Nov 29 2008, 10:12 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 29 2008, 09:50 PM)
Normally I use a stick to see the dripping. If the paint dripping is like a dot and non continues, than the mixture is right. But sometime I do AB with thicker paint. Just increase the air pressure will do.
increase the air pressure will mean wasting of paint.....over pressure will end up the paint particle too hazel, your room will be full of paint haze, hazarous oso....

reason we use AB is to save paint, not waste it....

0.0430sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:26 AM