Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, where the 'deja-vu are tradition in here

markiemark
post Jun 6 2008, 12:29 PM

62 posts

i'm currently building my clear version Freedom gundam and noticed that those nip marks are really annoying esp if its on the clear parts. I even overdid myself on nipping and trimming some of the leftover sprues on the parts cry.gif
Need advice on how to properly clean the nip marks without leaving much ugly scratch marks.
markiemark
post Jun 7 2008, 02:36 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Jun 7 2008, 10:20 AM)
well since it is a clear version then u cant sand it or else it will spoil the surface... just use hobby knife and trim it till smooth bah... thats the only way dude...
first off, thanks edwardgsk.. i thought i could fix tht using a P2000 abrasive but then again, i gues not sweat.gif
markiemark
post Jun 9 2008, 07:22 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Jun 9 2008, 08:34 AM)
Frens! Which type of Tamiya Compound should i get???
The normal one, Fine or Ultra Fine??? Want to polish my transparent SD kit!
Just as what I was wondering... doesn't sanding clear parts leave damage to the parts?
hmm.. any tips for clear parts on how to uh, make it look nicer (e.g. cleaning the nip marks, etc)?

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Jun 8 2008, 03:10 AM)
clear version freedom gundam.. nothing special about freedom's internal skeleton system le... all gray only... maybe u should get a clear version strike freedom... clear version looks god with golden internal skeleton system...
clear strike version? i thought that one is sold out?

EDITED: reason - googled & found info already on Strike Freedom Clear Ver

This post has been edited by markiemark: Jun 9 2008, 07:53 PM
markiemark
post Jun 11 2008, 12:24 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(yamyinhao @ Jun 11 2008, 10:49 AM)
hi guy

i didn't know to do panel lining have alot of step

i do panel lining using permanent marker 0.01 and for  colour i use my wife nail polish

this is not complete yet try to finish it by this week
Nail polish? You mean color the whole mech with Nail polish? umm, care to enlighten me a bit sweat.gif
i havent heard of this tip before. maybe can share it here? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by markiemark: Jun 11 2008, 12:25 PM
markiemark
post Jun 11 2008, 03:54 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jun 11 2008, 03:44 PM)
lao... btw, craft knife.. which type is recommended to buy? the 60degree or 30degree one...
Im no expert but i'd say try both and see which one fits you fine biggrin.gif a bit expensive method tho

Added on June 11, 2008, 3:57 pm
QUOTE(yamyinhao @ Jun 11 2008, 03:50 PM)
ask yr sifu loh  tongue.gif  i use cutter and envelope knife this is where i can find for free

normally i search for free thing like colour  if match with my wife nail polish i will used it

so in my gundam you will find some colour i use MR.hobby and some colour come from nail polish

no problem you all may laugh but as long as yr gundam look nice who care  icon_rolleyes.gif
actually, i've come across something similar like what you're using but it wasnt for painting if i remember correctly... it was for some other method in which i forgot. i wish i could find that link again and show you fellas.... forgot already. i thought you were doing the same thing btw. in any case, i believe every modeller has their own way of doing things so chill bro wink.gif
btw, yamyinhao... your wife not angry kah that you are "abusing" her nail polish kits? laugh.gif sweat.gif

but thx for the input on nip marks. I'd like to know more efficient & inexpensive ways without having to paint the whole thing. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by markiemark: Jun 11 2008, 05:23 PM

0.0388sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:50 PM