Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, where the 'deja-vu are tradition in here

PakFoo
post Dec 11 2008, 02:53 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(siawgu @ May 25 2008, 01:29 PM)
hi all, may i know what Mr. Hobby color code is use for the gattling gun head.. kinda shinny and nice..

Hi Guys,

I am looking for the little green balls for my unicorn beam gatling gun. Do you know which shop I can go to look for this? or something like metal/screws truster to make your gundam kit look nicer
PakFoo
post Dec 12 2008, 11:14 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Dec 12 2008, 11:16 AM)

PakFoo: hey, this is the FUN part of modeling! u improvise, u try to see things other cant see, u use things that nobody expected; n u make it look so nice and reasonable in your kit. Now people r really spoiled by aftermarket stuff

Yes, this is the fun part.

That's why u see modelers always hang around hardware shops, electronic/eletrical shops, computer shops etc etc. Enjoy the fun!

this is how modeling evolve.
P/S: U can check out erh_Teo's winning entry in this year's BAKUC. The fella use the weirdest stuff  n make them nice in his Qubeley. tongue.gif
I just started to play with gundam model kits. This is because my wife bought me a 1/60 gundam exia transparent version when she go shoping last month at Sungei Wang whereby BAKUC 2008 is going on if not mistaken. I got addicted on this when i started assemble it. doh.gif Then after i finish it i go bought MG UC/Strike Freedom EF version and Destiny EBM. I dont have any other modeling tools yet except the cutter and a knife. Trying to do more research on how to get an AB to work on the UC gatling gun cos the part that i cut leave the mark on it which very irritate me. vmad.gif (see picture below)I still not yet decided to use Spray paint or get AB. If i get AB my wife will kill me for spending so much in 1 short but i cannot wait this to be done man cry.gif I still have 2 other kits havent started because of this.

PakFoo
post Dec 14 2008, 12:17 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(LagunaLoire @ Dec 13 2008, 08:24 PM)
@PakFoo:
WAH! where you get UC gatling gun? I tot habis stok adi whole malaysia??

Just a question to all. Anyone knows how to do panel lining on a black gundam...eg: HG 1/144 Blitz gundam? I tried with the usual GM001(200) pen and it looks....no difference.

And has anyone experimented with Real Touch Markers? I accident bought one (the orange color one) thinking that it is normal Gundam Marker and the colour macam normal highlight pen.
And how
I get it from ebay malaysia. try to search for it. The seller still have some stock.
PakFoo
post Dec 23 2008, 09:10 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Dec 13 2008, 10:54 PM)
Seems  like u r getting pretty serious about modeling! Welcome to the world!

Looks like u r talking about basic work here. Check out edan's post in this page. mebbe u can try going to the workshop. althought the speakers r not gunpla modeler (1 afv, 1 plane) but i guess should be better than u searching around in forum tutorial. The venue, as in the poster, miniature hobby, shop upstairs of sushi king, opposite pj digital mall, in section 14 pj.

i m not sure about how much u know about basic works in modeling; the work need to be done before u start painting. normally it takes me around 2~3 weeks, of around 6 hours per week, to get the kit to priming stage before coloring. If i did modification, it might goes up to few months.

i hope i m not scaring u off here, just that i wanna say, the RM130+ ringgit u spent for a MG kit can actually last your for at least one month of pleasure. So u dont have to rush to buy ab first, i would recommend u do the ground work for mebbe 2 MGs, then u can start buying paints n ab. I think after 2~3 months without spending on any plastic model, buying an ab shouldnt make your wife kill u..... tongue.gif

or u also can check out some forum specifically for gunpla modeling, which i wont mention the name here, u gotta pm me if u want to know. Those sites will give u more of an understanding what modelers do. There r members ranging from newbie to veteran.

Thanks rayloke for your advice. I have start buying all the basic tools like paint, cement, top coat, putty and etc little by little as u said it take me around 2~3 weeks. Still havent complete yet, I still need to buy those aligator clips, sand paper and a basic compressor + AB. So far i also bought 5 MG kits and just finish 2 of them without painting. I will start my 1st basic modeling with a BB gundam 1st which i bought it too biggrin.gif. Still busy with my daily work and only have time to hunt those tools on weekend.
PakFoo
post Jan 17 2009, 11:11 PM

61 posts

Dear Sifu's,

May i know the effect is the same if use Flat paint + Clear Gloss top coat VS Gloss Paint + Clear Gloss top coat?
PakFoo
post Jan 18 2009, 11:23 AM

61 posts

O.o thanks rayloke.. i will play around with it cos i dont like kit to be so glossy
PakFoo
post Dec 7 2009, 10:52 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(dante_cool @ Dec 5 2009, 02:16 PM)
hello guys,

Thanks for all who answered my queries earlier.

Got something I am curious about. I plan to do some weathering/shading but without painting my gundam.
I am quite confuse with the procedures regarding about topcoat.

Can someone please clarify which method is correct ( as below ) :-

1) Gloss Coat -> Panel lining -> decal -> Flat Coat

or

2) Panel Lining -> decal -> Flat Coat / Gloss Coat.

Can someone please clarify for me which procedure is correct ? I did a lot of research on the internet and seems like alot of people uses method 1 . However there are people that uses method 2 as well.

I heard the drawbacks are panel lining will bleed and etc if uses the wrong procedure.

Lastly, do people normally spray the topcoat during the building process or when the mech is completed ?

Any advise / comment is highly appreciated.

Cheers
I presume you are using panel line marker to do your panel line. If yes, go for method 2 because you didn't plan to paint it. Just panel line -> decal and final topcoat with flat/semi-gloss or gloss. whichever you like your final finishing will be.

Why other people choosing method no 1 is because they paint their kit and need to do panel lining using washing technique (enamel wash) Gloss coat will give a smooth surface which allow the paint flow nicely.

Hope this helps you.

0.0487sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:06 AM