Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, where the 'deja-vu are tradition in here

post May 27 2008, 07:36 AM

1,447 posts

Like wat rayloke said paint will chip off one, even u used the best technology like those car paint, u will also get ur paint scratch or chipped off if it was knock or scratch by something else......

So they is no 100% way to prevent thise stuff frm happening, u either dun play with it or just dun paint it!

If u really want to paint it and still play with it...... then u will need to wash ur kit with detergent (clear of the chemicals and the stain of oil frm ur oily hand), applied the primer layer and let it dried (then same prevent ur oily hand to touch those stuff), applied ur paint, then in the end applied the layer of topcoat.....
If u did it all nicely the paint wouldnt chip off easily but as i mention earlier it will still chip off, areas like the combination of 2 armor or joints will still chip off if u play with it a lot. Just not so easily onli.....
post May 27 2008, 10:55 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(noob4life @ May 27 2008, 10:04 PM)
Guys i have a very annoying problem here.... i mixed Mr. Color's Super Black and Flat White at a 1:3 ratio... along with thinner and retarder... i mixed these in a large amount and keep them in a separate bottle.

When i want to use it for hand painting, i notice that when the paint dry, it look like " webs " !!  Its like the thing didnt dry properly then leave webs or sumthing like that... no matter how many times i stir or shake the paint still dry into webs when i handpaint... need help ! Thnx !

not much experience with it....but most of the paint that i mixed together all will dried up easily even if u use those special container (MR Hobby one) to store them......guess u still have to mix them when u really want them!
post Jun 6 2008, 01:23 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Jun 5 2008, 01:21 AM)
here

fichtenfoo.com

by the ways... its an expensive method and u waste a lot of surfacer just for that...so think wise if u r a budgeted modeler...
u can always use those small bottle Surfacer instead of those spraycans tat is if u got AB

QUOTE(ezCISS @ Jun 6 2008, 03:13 AM)
FYI, that specific item was AB with Mr.COLOR SUPER METALLIC:SM07 PLATE SILVER
but i heard a lot comments about those superchrome color getting dull very fast....they do last long!
post Jun 6 2008, 07:37 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Jun 6 2008, 06:19 PM)
^er, on your last line, they don't last long is it?
the chrome shinny effect tends to oxide through time....and they aint anyway to prevent it!
post Jun 9 2008, 08:34 AM

1,447 posts

Frens! Which type of Tamiya Compound should i get???
The normal one, Fine or Ultra Fine??? Want to polish my transparent SD kit!
post Jun 9 2008, 01:07 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Jun 9 2008, 12:36 PM)
A bit hard to answer le, because......

Compound is like sand paper, in liquid form.

So depends on what kinda effect u want lor...... for the really shiny and smooth surface, usually used for car model finishing, go for the finishing compound  (Tamiya).
hope that helps.... smile.gif
dunno woh becoz in the HLJ website they onli got Normal Compound, Fine, and Ultra fine.....I am thinking of making my transparent SD gundam look glossy and shinny!
So maybe i go buy the normal compound and fine together since just 600yen for one!
post Jun 9 2008, 02:53 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Jun 9 2008, 01:34 PM)
if financially ok, is best to do so. just like sanding, sand with lower grid first then only go for higher.

for tamiya, u can check in tamiya undergraound in 1 utama. saw they use to sell there.
yah becoz i read a magazine see them polish those transparent parts until it shine like a new one so want to test to make my SD have mirror effect!
post Jun 9 2008, 03:00 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(zero1st @ Jun 9 2008, 02:58 PM)
yup ... like what rayloke saids if financially ok with u get all 3 ..... since the proper way to use it is rub ( normal -> fine -> ultra fine ) but if ur lazy just rub fine is enuf .... also take note that it is better u wet sand 1st ur kit b4 rubbing any compound ....
yah hor...thx for reminding me. Do i need the original cloth to rub on the kit??? Or any cloth can do one becoz they also selling one for 2000yen....which i think is kinda of expensive.
post Jun 10 2008, 07:19 AM

1,447 posts

Frens and tutorial out there to teach u how to do gold paint that are really nice??? I want to start paint my Lancelot later on!
post Jun 10 2008, 12:41 PM

1,447 posts

For me panel lining with Enamel is really time saving and easy! U just dip it on to ur kit it automatic feels the line.....want to clean up just used back the enamel thinner to wipe it! And yup u guys need to used Gloss top coat first so it can make it smoother and easier to wipe!

Guys back to my Gold paint question up there.....any advise?
post Jun 11 2008, 12:19 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Jun 10 2008, 09:57 PM)

theres a few methods for gold paint depends on your desire on what kind of gold u like...

1. if u like the old type of gold, get the mr color no.9...

2. if u wan darker gold, get mr color metallic gold no.217...

3. if u wan "1/100 oowashi/shiranui akatsuki" or "strike freedom full burst mode skeleton system" type of yellow gold, spray a layer of chrome silver on top your kit and then spray a layer of clear yellow on top the chrome silver layer but remember in this method, your yellow layer must be same thick every where or else the thicker yellow paint parts will have a darker yellowish gold comparing to other parts of the painted body... also remember to adjust the yellowness of the yellow by adding clear orange to make it darker...

add clear(no.46) to lighter the yellow but i don suggest you to do so cuz natural gold colour should be yellowish laugh.gif

the third method is tested by myself so it is proved to work but if u wan example pic for it then im sorry cuz i din do it on my kit, i help other people do... please try it on a runner for testing 1st before u do on your kit because it's not that easy... and remember to gloss the surface to make it nicer laugh.gif
wow thx i was trying to look for the 3 method! I remember reading it before but cant find it back, and i also remember seeing erix did some tutorial on the gold paint but i search the ZeroG tutorial but found none!
Will carry it out on my Lancelot!
post Jun 11 2008, 01:20 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jun 11 2008, 12:58 PM)
Re-quoting question tongue.gif
I'm asking same question... hope rayloke can help rclxm9.gif
go buy the Tamiya Compound to polish ur thing! Then sure will leave no mark, it can even turn a scratch clear part back into shinny form!!!!!!!!

My question about the compound is just one page in front of this!
post Jun 12 2008, 05:34 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Jun 12 2008, 03:20 PM)
^paint without surfacer???
The paint wont chip off meh??? 
lol spray a layer of top coat after paint lor... don worry it doesn happens to me so far but with surfacer of cuz better lor compared to no surfacer... don purposely go scratch la... becareful and try not to play with it or change its' pose frequently lor...
if the base color is similar with the paint color u wont notice scratch or anything one!
post Jul 10 2008, 07:36 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Jul 10 2008, 07:29 PM)
anyone got a guide on the paint job (How-to) for the Gundam Wing Zero's wings to make it like er... grayish... or tarnish er... u know... like they're not brand new as they are from the box?

sorry for the bad description... i hope i got my question through....  blink.gif
Airbrush it and do shading effect on it! Or used those Tamiya Enamel Paint to paint grey on ur wings then wipe them off it with the thinner again. Last is used Flat Top Coat to kill the gloss and then do panel lining with Enamel paint and try wipe a bit of those tat run out of the panel line!
post Jul 10 2008, 08:50 PM

1,447 posts

first Airbrush one i think u cannot do it
Second one is enamel paint, try finding it loh but i think is still a bit hard for u to understand
So the last one Flat top coat and panel lining loh! This one most easy all u need is go buy a can of those Flat top coat from hobby shop and spray it on to ur kit then Panel line using some gundam marker (those very Fine one) then Flat top coat on it again! It will kill off the glossiness on the gundam's Wing but u wont get the greyish effect! Tat need shading technique which u required a compressor and airbrush
post Jul 11 2008, 07:38 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jul 11 2008, 05:13 PM)
can someone teach me how to remove the seam line properly? i've been using mr cement s, apply to the gaps and press it hard for a minute or so before sanding. the result isn't satisfactory sad.gif
Sometimes it depends on the cement u using and whether u join the 2 parts together the cement will squeeze out enough for u to operate on the part or not!
If u using those Plastic Cement tat are Fine grade u wont get the result u want, if u used those extra strong one it sometime over do the stuff for u! Try buy those normal type one!
post Jul 11 2008, 08:59 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jul 11 2008, 08:50 PM)
After finish assemble lor...
mine cement deluxe RM15 only.
deluxe is the strongest can used to make color putty one!
post Jul 23 2008, 06:53 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jul 23 2008, 05:11 PM)
Can somebody give him an idea?
If no money to invest on an AB tat should be a nice idea... or u prefer GAS tank..
Anyway for long term a compressor will be a much better idea! Since those Air Tank after sometime u used the pressure will eventually go down and if it is too low the air flow will not be strong enough to spray the paints!
post Jul 30 2008, 11:40 AM

1,447 posts

plated gold and self AB color gold is really 2 different thing! U can mimic the gold but u cant achieve the quality of plated one!
Plate chrome gold are smooth surface and u wont see those small gold sand particles! The color is usually really tough and wont get scratch off easily!
AB one, u can notice those small gold particles and also the surface is not smooth and gloss as the plated one! However AB one can do a lot of special effect and shading on the gold then the plated one!
post Jul 30 2008, 02:00 PM

1,447 posts

ehhhhh tat would still be costly becoz u need to bring ur Gundam over for them to chrome and base on the part and size.... charges may be higher than the medal since medal they can make in bulk while ur gundam onli is one kit.....

And it reminds me of my car chrome part being scratch offffffff.....damn sakit hati!

Added on July 30, 2008, 2:02 pmFor u ppl info also! Gaia Paints gold color seems to be more fine than Mr. Color and Tamiya one! U guys can purchase it to tried it out! Nice gold color indeed!

This post has been edited by 300078: Jul 30 2008, 02:02 PM

0.0470sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:43 AM