cherroy
post May 23 2008, 01:44 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(dsugums @ May 23 2008, 01:14 PM)
First thought the bottom is 6.20; then 6.15, 6.10, 6.05, 6.00, 5.95........ hope does not end up like Airasia  sweat.gif
For this kind of counter, don't expect to shoot overnight one. It takes times before it rebounding strongly (typically when future doubt it clear up).

Market does concern about its massive expansion programme. If Genting wants to take Resorts private then it might not a good news for its short term share price as it involved large sum of money in stake which inevitably put more pressure on its stock price which it needs to raise more debt after 5 billions on newly Singapore Casino, several hundred millions in UK casinos.

Resorts has 5 billions+ outstanding shares, so to take it private at current 3.+ price, it needs 15-20 billion, minus the stake Genting have currently, Genting needs at least around 10 billions in cash to make it.

cherroy
post May 24 2008, 08:31 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(chen9wei @ May 23 2008, 07:29 PM)
Just read a book bout short selling. Kinda excited to try it out ..... Anyone know how to apply for the short selling ? Have to phone them up ?
KLSE doesn't allow short-selling, only regulated short-selling is allowed which on certain designated stock only.

You need to arrange with investment house to borrow the shares in order to sell. It is a tedious process, even fund managers don't show interest to do it.

Do you think investment house want to borrow a few then to hundred thousand of shares to you for you to short-sell?

Short-sell only work in mature and developed market like US.

Added on May 24, 2008, 8:34 am
QUOTE(zamans98 @ May 24 2008, 01:11 AM)
hmm, PN17?
Will become 2-3cts stock soon. If you want to test, can buy 250 lots say @ 0.035, then sell at 0.045 when market is healthy or syndicate is playing..

Can make bout RM300, good eh?
If company delisted, then all money gone. That's the risk of those PN17 counter.

I find amuse and hard to understand sometimes, why so many people like those PN17 company? Treat it as a gambling like 4D may be? Sorry, no offence. Don't mean it won't make money, just the risk involved is pretty high, to me, it is more like gambling already.

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 24 2008, 08:35 AM
cherroy
post May 25 2008, 11:38 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(lklatmy @ May 25 2008, 10:24 PM)
Yes,the market price adjust after the ex date.But that''s a different issue.

My main contention is that there are also companies with sound financial health classified as PN17/GN3.
Just to more specific.

PN17 company is not as same as GN3 company, although both potential being delisted due to violation of listing requirement.

PN17 - is towards ailing company which either in negative shareholder fund, or some financial distress or violation of rules due to financial situation.

GN3 - is towards to violation of listing rules because of having no business or core business.

Both are not in the same category.
cherroy
post May 26 2008, 10:32 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(chen9wei @ May 26 2008, 10:27 AM)
Esso is paying out 12 sen for each share , how come no one interested in buying this counter ?

Added on May 26, 2008, 10:28 amex-date = 29/05
Because its financial result is like yo-yo. One year make big profit, one year make significant loss, so people find no clue to judge its future unless it turns to be more steady result which currently showing some.

It was a Rm5-7 counter back long time ago.

Shell is more attractive compared to Esso, just my opinion (personally got Shell shares so please bare with me, if it sounds bias)

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 26 2008, 10:34 AM
cherroy
post May 26 2008, 11:06 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(chen9wei @ May 26 2008, 10:48 AM)
hmm, lets say, i buy 10 lots today, when can i sell it if i just want to take the dividen ?

Quite scare also, today is exdate and only 1 transaction been done.
hmmm.... esso main company is baed in europe right ?
QUOTE(zamans98 @ May 26 2008, 10:50 AM)
Sorry, I'm not good at DIVIDEN and related info.

ESSO is USA based company, SHELL is EURO based company
Wrong and wrong.

Esso and Shell listed in KLSE has nothing to do with its parent company. Just the parent company holds the controlling stake in them.

Business wise, their business is Malaysia based and incorporated in Malaysia and has nothing to do with their parent company. They both are refining company.
cherroy
post May 26 2008, 02:38 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ May 26 2008, 11:28 AM)
No, I'm not wrong. I'm talking about the parent companies. Umm, maybe you got the wrong perception on the discussion on Ex Date and Dividen, no?

Shell listed in KLSE is only on Shell Refinery (in Port Dickson), not exploration & production, as in EURO

Same goes with ESSO.
Ok, may be mis-undertanding a bit, just to avoid people has wrong perception that buying Shell or Esso in KLSE similar to buying Royal Dutch Shell, its parent company. Same does Esso, parent company is ExxonMobil.

They have nothing to do with their parent company business except the contolling stake they owned.
cherroy
post May 26 2008, 02:39 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Mikiyo @ May 26 2008, 02:35 PM)
Haha....just got back from uni..market seem to be pretty quiet today huh?

Added on May 26, 2008, 2:36 pmDoes anyone know what happened to MRCB?
Tonight US market closed as well.

We have low volume for the last few months already. From last year around 1 billions average to now around 300-400 millions.
cherroy
post May 26 2008, 02:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ May 26 2008, 02:43 PM)
Low volume cannot push market beyond 1300, let alone 1500 by year end.

Also shows that FF managers are not keen putting $ in Malaysia, as our political scenario is full of surprises. Next thing you know, Dr.M join PKR.. Hahaha
As long as political situation is not clearing up, for sure not many FF will keen to pour big into the market.

Also one key important element on economy front that is petrol and diesel situation not knowing what gov will do.
Gov need to act fast, can't keep on dragging on this issue, as businesses need clear signal and situation to make for future planning.
cherroy
post May 26 2008, 03:09 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aretla @ May 26 2008, 01:57 PM)
i also dont wan.. i dont think he wan... tongue.gif
The other way round
The lower it get, the more interest on it. brows.gif
Unless Genting reporting poor financial result, then situation might change then, if like that (poor financial result on this Thursday) then need to lower target price liao.
cherroy
post May 26 2008, 05:27 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ May 26 2008, 05:07 PM)
today i buy big time man.

i bought ATRIUM @ 0.875
I bought TGOFFSHORE @ 2.37
I bought AXIS @1.75
Axis and Atrium are having nearly net 7-8% yield now.

I more keen on Axis at 1.70 again.

Property sector is being downgraded by lot of investment banks, so won't see major upside in near term. Long term may be but short term wise much difficult.
So want to invest on property sector need to be long term.

In current bearish market, my advice to all is don't need to rush to buy stock, can take bit by bit. You don't know when it is the bottom one. Instead taking one shot (based on your fund), it is more advisable split it to several portion for different entry point to average down cost.

Just my 2 cents.
cherroy
post May 27 2008, 10:25 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Mikiyo @ May 26 2008, 05:59 PM)
Wa..u buy so many just to average down >.< should have cut loss back then ma ^^
For Neo18, he has strong bullets one, so as long as his holding portfolio is giving him more than 7% yield, it is hard to convince to cut loss.
What if cut loss then stock goes back up? Although personally doesn't view any major upside in near term, still stock investment, one can't or almost impossible to time the market exactly one.

If one has continuous reload his/her bullet through steady income from core job, then as long as those good fundamental stock still intact with their financial situation, cut loss is not the priority concern.

Unless got 'bullets' constraint or in tight situation then different story.

Just my 2 cents.
cherroy
post May 27 2008, 10:45 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ May 27 2008, 10:31 AM)
to tell u the truth.

my portfolio now RM28k loss la!!!
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 27 2008, 10:37 AM)
who knows your wealth is 28 times more than that 10 or 20 years down the road. smile.gif

we think far far one, long term investment.
Yes, Panasonic88 has a good point to make.

Stock investment is never a short term game. Only long term can see the real effect, but it doesn't mean it surely will gain, that's why stock pick is important and fundamental issues come into play.

Neo18,
Those are paper loss, not the realised one, unless you sell it/cut loss, then those losses only meaningful.

Most importantly in this bearish period, those good fundamental stocks are giving you the yield better than FD rate!.
Treat it as FD then you will sleep very well every night.
Then not much to worry about except monitor the the company stocks financial result from time to time.
cherroy
post May 27 2008, 01:43 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(PBB boleh @ May 27 2008, 01:09 PM)
I remember a forummer once said there is no such thing as paper loss (forgot who), I gave it some thought and I have to partly agree with him/her.

True, since if u haven't actually sold the stock, the loss remains unrealised. And if the stock is fundamentally sound, the chance for recovery in the long run is still there.

But the fact remains that u now hold in your hand assets that is worth lesser by the standard of what people are willing to pay for (as in right now and not in uncertain future time period).

Dont get me wrong I am also having paper losses at the moment but I do agree with the current value agruement.

Just my 2 cents
A loss still a loss, what different between paper loss and realised loss is:

Realised loss - that is, just like putting the money on the table then being 'sapu', game over for this round.

Paper loss - still a loss, but you are still 'in the game', final outcome not yet known, can be better and can be worst.

In stock investment, there is impossible to not have any paper loss especially on the initial stage of investment or just after market peak down. <-- which current condition.

What matter most is how you pick a stock and whether the company can still generate enough wealth to the shareholders.

That's why it is important that those money being invested in stock market one, one should sure those are extra and won't be needed for long period of time, at least 3-5 years above.

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 27 2008, 01:44 PM
cherroy
post May 27 2008, 02:58 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 27 2008, 02:49 PM)
lklatmy, is it a better idea to sell GPLUS? assuming one bought it at 1.6x.  unsure.gif
If one bought at 1.6x and now is 2.2x, still want to hold on some company that failed to submitted audited account for the 31/12 ending one? Then I salute him/her on the bravery side. notworthy.gif sweat.gif

Don't mean recommend buy to sell. Judge your own, and buy/sell on your own risk.

cherroy
post May 27 2008, 03:01 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(dsugums @ May 27 2008, 02:57 PM)
The Star proof reading very bad. Last week they spelled Public Bank as Pubic Bank  rclxub.gif  doh.gif
Pubic Bank? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif rclxms.gif

Tell you remiser then want to sell/buy your 'pubic' bank then. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
cherroy
post May 27 2008, 03:08 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 27 2008, 03:03 PM)
taken immediate action.

actually it was my dad, i knew that he have some GPLUS, for fun sake only he buy that. now he is holidaying in bangkok, i wonder whether he have the time to watch today's market, have sent a SMS to notify him.
FYI, the company submitted the extension of period for the financial reporting on 31/12 but has been rejected and is classified as PN17 company already, but someone during that time, 'goreng' it kau kau, I suspect try to unloading stake (just my guess).

This is some line published by KLSE
Bursa would like to advise investors to exercise caution and due diligence on
the trading of GPLUS securities and to guide their investment decisions based
on fundamentals of the Company.

Bursa will not hesitate to take appropriate regulatory action to ensure fair
and orderly trading of GPLUS securities.

cherroy
post May 27 2008, 03:12 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ May 27 2008, 03:07 PM)
But there could be an interesting reason why GPlus has gone up, a reason that outsiders don't know yet, but a reason that may make the price go up even further.

Just playing the devil's advocate here, hehehe.. smile.gif
That's fine, if one believes it, after all it is a free market.

But personally won't touch on those company failed to report their financial report on times one, even for speculation purposes.
Those reporting losses but still properly on schedule is much much better that failed to report anything.

Just my opinion.

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 27 2008, 03:12 PM
cherroy
post May 27 2008, 04:23 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 27 2008, 03:15 PM)
so unfair sometimes, the fund managers will have the "power" to push a certain counter up, to unload, and to escape.

we little tiny salty fish gonna bear all the loses by ourselves.
Not all fund managers, syndicate, or hedge funds are successful in every attempt, there are plenty of fail story also. We have seen plenty of hedge fund winding up since subprime mess.

We small fish can only swim together with big shark and eat what passed by or left over. <--- this is typically on goreng stock issue. If if one swim wrongly and opposite with big shark then being eated.

Playing fundamental stock, don't need to swim with big shark, so safer. nod.gif

Just my 2 cents.
cherroy
post May 27 2008, 04:25 PM

25,802 posts

Airasia become penny stock already.

Budget airliner become budget stock also. sweat.gif
cherroy
post May 27 2008, 05:35 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 27 2008, 05:03 PM)
closed at 5.90, unchanged. sweat.gif

no eyes see.
This stock if you plan to hold and don't keen to average down or cut loss, then can forget it and don't need to see it for somewhile.

No eyes to see is right. icon_rolleyes.gif tongue.gif

I think a lot of people (those only start involved in stock market since 2006-2007 onwards one) don't have this kind of experience.

It is quite norm to have this kind of downtrend in a bear market. It can make one very frustrating to see its daily price movement and eager to sell-off.

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0219sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 11:41 PM