Fake Sony Camera?, how can I detect it????

TSxXStarAngelXx
post May 22 2008, 06:13 PM, updated 18y ago

14 posts

hi all! I new here and just posted my first topic. Okay,recently my friend bought this camera from China and it was branded "Sony". Yea, as quite alot of people know,stuff from china is fake. She was a total newbie in online buying(not so exposed like me =X lol) and she was like too excited (because she really wanted a digital cam and she earn her bucks from her blogging) so she bought it without asking my advice. When she told me about it,it was too late already. She paid for it and when her camera arrived, i told her i think this is a fake one. First of all, the camera has really blurr image when taken from near but from far it is quite okay. Not only that, it didn't have a warranty card. Third, they do not have many functions and things like real sony camera does.Lastly,it was TOO cheap for a sony camera. It is only about RM6xx with the shipment for a 12mp camera. I haven't come across a sony camera that is 12mp with such low quality picture(it was basically blurr) when taken from near. I told her that this camera is a 80% fake.When I went to the sony website and type "DC5288" it wasn't in the database.Plus, when I google around "sony DC5288","DC5288" all I found was sooo many sites(that is from china or hong kong or so) selling this camera. Some with the name "SLC-DC5288" with the exact same looks. I am quite sure now that it is fake but I need a strong proof of that it is fake and ready to confirm it to her.Since I don't own a digital camera(but I still know the defects of cheapskate stuff) I need a pro to help me in detecting that digital camera so help is needed blush.gif Oh and please tell me how to detect a fake sony camera.Do they have this trademark logo or so?

here is how her camera box looks like
http://www.mochaquest.com/ That is her blog.It is in her first post now or else you can find "The best day of the week"

Many many thanks!! biggrin.gif
Lord_Ashe
post May 22 2008, 06:16 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Am not a pro, but don't ALL Sony cameras use MSPDs? What's with the SD card logo on the box?

I call first evidence of fakery/
TSxXStarAngelXx
post May 22 2008, 06:23 PM

14 posts

ohw I see...fast reply! Thanks for telling me. =D All information is vital so even if you're not a pro it is still a good information! thanks ^^
hezda
post May 22 2008, 06:27 PM

402 posts

80% fake... I think Sony never comes out with this kind of design before. Also... as Lord_Ashe has mention, Sony will never use other type mem card besides their proprietary MSPD format on their camera (except their DSLR).
NaMyzarC
post May 22 2008, 06:29 PM

1,140 posts

i have seen one when one of them bring the camera to my place to buy sd card ;-) very poor quality.
TSxXStarAngelXx
post May 22 2008, 06:31 PM

14 posts

I see....thanks! From all the reply..I think I'm ready to tell her that her cam is a fake one..*sigh* I think this is her pitiful experience...

please keep the information comming! ^^
earl-ku
post May 22 2008, 06:32 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

If you would just simply do a search in Google, you get not much results for it ...

http://www.google.com.au/search?q=Sony+DC5...ial&hs=ApS&sa=2
TSxXStarAngelXx
post May 22 2008, 06:37 PM

14 posts

so where's the best place to find information?
chamelion
post May 22 2008, 06:57 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

sony web site?
TSxXStarAngelXx
post May 22 2008, 07:00 PM

14 posts

uhms.....but I thought he meant like finding information? *hmms?*
razuryza
post May 22 2008, 07:36 PM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

QUOTE(xXStarAngelXx @ May 22 2008, 07:00 PM)
uhms.....but I thought he meant like finding information? *hmms?*
what he meant was.. there is not many info about the camera... hence... might be not the official item from sony... senang cakap.. FAKE item.. huhu
Andy0625
post May 22 2008, 08:26 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

You pay peanuts you get monkeys. laugh.gif
atria83
post May 22 2008, 09:01 PM

257 posts

weird reading the blog...seem she kindda satisfy with the purchase...well some people can so excited when seing branded stuff at an unbelievable price...well...for us..spread the word..don't let others get cheat also...
adewhite
post May 22 2008, 10:38 PM

96 posts

She's 15 only? Aiseh... sure glad I'm not the one to break the news...
marauderz
post May 22 2008, 10:45 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

this is absolutely fake, the whole box doesn't match with Sony's design. And of course most importantly a Sony consumer cam would be using Memory Sticks, NOT SD cards
david890701
post May 23 2008, 12:31 AM

-
3,152 posts

reading her blog makes me feel sad and bad for such an innocent young girl , she bought the fake and yet still soe xcited about it sad.gif
TSxXStarAngelXx
post May 23 2008, 05:37 AM

14 posts

thanks for the replies! I'll tell her to spread the news in the blog.yea,she's my classmate and sadly she got a fake one..*sigh* She SHOULD ask me first...well,that's a painful and expensive lesson to learn.It's so annoying when seeing a friend getting fake stuff.arrgh...she really should ask my opinion first...................

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ May 22 2008, 08:26 PM)
You pay peanuts you get monkeys. laugh.gif
lols. I like that phrase biggrin.gif

QUOTE(david890701 @ May 23 2008, 12:31 AM)
reading her blog makes me feel sad and bad for such an innocent young girl , she bought the fake and yet still soe xcited about it sad.gif
yea,I'm kinda sad for her too. Honestly she is a lil naive even in class.
mybiebie
post May 23 2008, 11:51 AM

1,419 posts

i dun see any sony name on the box also...I think they make look look alike...but ppl perception think that is sony but actually not.
shootkk
post May 23 2008, 12:16 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Do research first on the web before buying, especially online. She's a blogger summore... hai....

Sony has only a few range of digicams:

1. The T series like the T-200, T-70 etc.

2. The W series like the W120, W150 etc. Uses Sony's own re-chargeable batteries.

3. The S series like the S750. Almost similar design to the W series only uses AA batteries instead.

4. The H series like the H-9. These are superzoom prosumer models.

5. The Alpha series. The DSLR models.

Spend RM700 - why need to go buy online. Top up only a bit more can get decent W series cam. from even Sony Style store ady.

This post has been edited by shootkk: May 23 2008, 12:25 PM
TSxXStarAngelXx
post May 23 2008, 02:35 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ May 23 2008, 12:16 PM)
Do research first on the web before buying, especially online. She's a blogger summore... hai....

Sony has only a few range of digicams:

1. The T series like the T-200, T-70 etc.

2. The W series like the W120, W150 etc. Uses Sony's own re-chargeable batteries.

3. The S series like the S750. Almost similar design to the W series only uses AA batteries instead.

4. The H series like the H-9. These are superzoom prosumer models.

5. The Alpha series. The DSLR models.

Spend RM700 - why need to go buy online. Top up only a bit more can get decent W series cam. from even Sony Style store ady.
yea,you are right but she was a lil impatient over somthing and yea so that's why. Usually I would do a research but even when she showed me the webpage,I knew that this seller's cam is a 80% fake. Too bad she paid for it already even before asking me. She told me about it and I said to her oh my gosh..She's very very naive on buying online but she's good in blogging skills.plus,the other day she claim that my knowledge in editing and other stuff in pc won't get me bucks and look at her now - being a foolish prey to a predator. *sigh* Anyway,that should teach her a lesson to do research first before buying. Sometimes I think that this might be payback to all the things she said to me.

0.0173sec    1.14    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:21 AM