Complaint About AIA insurance

FireUp
post Aug 24 2014, 11:22 AM

27 posts

Hi, am new here. Wish to raise my incident & if possible, seeking advice from experts out there.
I felt hv been cheated by a totally unethical agent with the selling point where at the end totally different from it's actual plan!
Anyone knows about ING's I-Income?
I was approached by the agent (is fren) about it. B4 she started the topic, I hv ady told her I hv got 3 policies seperated from 3 diff insurance comp in regarding to PA, Life, medical card & 36 critical illness, & my coverage of those r enuf. She said great bcos this I-income plan r totally not any of the above type, it is like the FD way u place in bank but it can guarantee gives u much much better interest return compare w bank FD, & w additional value added service for free!
Until this part, sounds ok to continue in listening to wat's the further details right?
Her abstract & selling point of the plan it : to take it comparable with bank FD, instead of 3% interest per annum, this plan actually gaves 4%+4% (guarantee + non-guarantee), only need 10 years investment, u r getting this! of course the interest is a yearly payout guarantee, but it is flexi like any other banks' FD procedure where u opt toleave the interest payout eith ING, let it role with the principle invested , ING wil giv additional compound interest (5.7% in year 2011) so the return amount in total wil b much better.
u r best advised not t take out the money from the account for atleast 3 yrs, let it mature, after that u r ok to take, but to maintain some money in the coount & as long as there is a yearly placement amount, the account wil remain active.
Furthermore, bank FD just money placement n interest gotten, thay's it, but w ING as pro insurance comp, u r given additional personal dead protection & TPD as value added service for free, as long as u r stil attach w this plan!
w pro investment team ING hv, not only help you generate great income, but giv personal protection at the same time. n the 4+4% is just general statement, in fact the non-guarantee part base past distribute, lowest was 5%, highest was 11%++. & wat is the most best part? even after 10 yrs, u r opt to continue the plan to another 10 yrs (total 20 yrs) without need to invest any single cent, it wil stil gen great interest! Sounds great izit? I buy, siged the plan (am an easy client actually).
F**king liar! this is not true at all!!! & I so naive to believe it n realise this bad cheated treat only after 4 yrs! yeah this plan signed in yr 2011. y I realise something wrong after 4 yrs? rmb the "better don touch for the 1st 3 yrs" advice? so I just follow, trust n din't check, just that after completed in yr 4, knowng ING been took over by AIA, suddenly an idea come to me just to make sure all T&C by ING earlier stil comply & remain the same, I call up AIA just to ask wat is my principle n interest til-to-date, n what is the max amount I can take out. To my surprise, was told I canot take out any amount at this moment, this is a 20yrs life plan insurance, if I consider to take out, wil consider surrender, n w that, I don't even able to get back 1/3 of my principle invested. WT*! I am so angry? info I get was a totally diff version from wat I've been promised!! any bank FD placement wil eat up our principle even if u wana take up the money earlier? & this is a life insurance (where life is d main plan & income is sub value added?) n this is a 20 yrs plan???!!
Even after 10 yrs completed, to withdraw, I oso unable to get bk my principle??

The whole thing was a bad approach, which using the wrong selling point! how it could b comparable with bank FD in this case?!
Why the agent can b so unprofessional? with the high post somemore (national sales manager)!!!
Feel so mad! I want my money back! Even without any interest, I would sacrify just to get bk the principle I hv put in! what can I do? Wat shd I do? Desperately hope anyone out there to advise......

FireUp
post Aug 24 2014, 03:34 PM

27 posts

MNet, tks for taking ur time in reply. Appreciate it.
R u former ING agent (now under AIA)? U may b right on the above, but u seems do not get my point correctly.
Is not the protection package not good, it is not the package I want. it was a mislead info from the brginning! If the agent hv share like how u share on top from the beginning, I shall get a clearer pic n can easily confirm wil not buy the idea! (means knowing is not my choice)

Did I mention I ady hv 3 insurance policies & coverage r enuf for those & sorry but wil not consider if there r the same kind? yes! Did the agent revert the msg like wat u revert on top? No! It is a purposely mislead info to bank FD package only! Did she tell if withdraw halfway u r consider surrender? No! Did agent mentioned actually is a 20 yrs plan? No! agent stated is special 10 yrs plan n u opt to prolong to 20 yrs! (such facts given is actually cheated if so!)
"10 yrs FD plan & opt to prolong to 20 yrs" vs "20 yrs plan opt to choose a 10 yrs conversion full pay up but wil definitely affect the premium where cant get a break even" - are this 2 statements sounds same to u?)

Was this the "strategy" ING agents been trained to use to sell this plan? Totally unprofessional! Totally lose faith to insurance agent!

This post has been edited by FireUp: Aug 24 2014, 03:59 PM
FireUp
post Aug 24 2014, 04:45 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 24 2014, 04:11 PM)
To be frank with u, u weren't "misled", but u did not do your own homework.

NEVER take the agent's words in deciding whether to commit to an insurance plan or not. U HAVE TO READ YOUR POLICY DOCUMENTS, that's what matters.

Had u read the policy document, u can choose to surrender the policy if u decide that what the agent said is not consistent with the policy contents. There is this "free look period" for all insurance plans, 15 days if I'm not mistaken.
Thanks Pink Spider, I admit that indeed.
Also, if choose to trust a professional personal is a wrong way, I oso have to admit am too naive to trust blindly. & hv to pay the lesson in a hard way.

So if those auntie uncle w less educated or buta huruf, which the only source is to understand from the agent, to sign any plan or settle bank issue r consider trying their luck? cuba nasib whether they meet the ethical agent/ bank officer & if kena tipu consider their nasib? theregistered pro agent / bank officer is not liable for their unethical act & hold no responsibility?

means no way I can find justice in this case?
ur suggestion wil be? Either continue to accept the plan I do not want with continue losing premium for more in another 20-30 yrs ; or terminate n bear the lost of rm20k? only these 2 options? to just touch my nose n say "my fate"? sad.gif

This post has been edited by FireUp: Aug 24 2014, 04:54 PM
FireUp
post Aug 24 2014, 05:09 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 24 2014, 04:51 PM)
In a hindsight, you should have read the policy or get someone with good english and/or financial literacy to read it through for u.

My insurance agent took the trouble to go through the policy document, line-by-line, page-by-page with me. You CAN and SHOULD HAVE insisted the agent to do that for you.

Let's say u are a buta huruf auntie/uncle, u can ask the agent to read and translate to u. IF she translate "you pay RM100 you MAY get back RM120" as "anda melabur RM100 anda MESTI dapat balik RM120", yes u can complain/sue the agent/insurance company til they underwear also lose. But the problem with u was, u DID NOT go thru the policy. I think u have to bear some responsibility/fault here.

But what is past is past. U already missed that 15 days "free-look period".

If I were u, I'd just surrender the policy and take back whatever that can be taken.

U can get better returns from a good unit trust fund or from buying some blue chip stocks than from such savings plans.
Haha, ur example on the "MAY" & "MUST"is cute! but again, it reflect the similarity of the incident I faced too. Do u think the agent who translate wil admit he said "MUST"? Do u think the insurance comp wil stand with & take auntie uncle words or strictly stil insist on tgeir written policy "MAY"?
At the end, u think we can sue the agent til underwear oso lose? or we ourselves r the one with underwear lose actually? ><"

anyhow, my inner decision oso lead me to termination, just that u know... tak patah hati & fire up...
FireUp
post Aug 24 2014, 05:52 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 24 2014, 04:11 PM)
NEVER take the agent's words in deciding whether to commit to an insurance plan or not. U HAVE TO READ YOUR POLICY DOCUMENTS, that's what matters.

for all insurance policy, normally the full plan proposal wil not be shown, the client can only rely on the talk 1st, then if overall ok, to sign on few pieces of papers (mostly medical background check, norminees confirmation, some personal information verification, payment mode - autopay by credit card or cash pay etc). Full skrip only come weeks later.
honest speaking, the full policy alwiz in medium thick book version, with all the specific insurance terms & wordings, wil anyone really read through in details & thoroughly?
sorry i didn't, u r right... is my mistake. sigh.

FireUp
post Aug 24 2014, 06:11 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 24 2014, 05:05 PM)
To be able to decide better, find a friend or someone with financial skills to calculate for u:

(a) if u continue with this plan, how much will u get after 20 years?

vs

(b) if u terminate this plan now, and use the money that you would have paid into this insurance plan had u not terminated it and invested elsewhere, how much will u get after 20 years?

E.g. (just a rough example to illustrate my point)
u pay RM1200 a year for another 17 years (this a 20 yrs plan, right?) for this plan, after 17 years u most likely will get back RM28,000

vs

u surrender now and get back RM1500. Take that RM1500 and invest. For next 17 years u invest RM1200 a year into a good unit trust fund(s), after 17 years u most likely get back RM35,000
thanks bro (or sis? since u r pink ;p).
I understand wat u r trying to say & get the point.
initially the claim was on bank FD kind, similar flexi in withdrawal, but get higher interest return, & known to b a 10 yrs plan (claimed can withdraw after 3 yrs), thus I think ok to giv it a try.
but if ended up is a min 20yrs to break even or up to 82 yrs bounding kind, it was totally a koyak plan to me ady! (other protection may sounds ok to other ppl, but am not interested at all. Said is add on product for free then I don mind, but in fact it is not). Add to the worst, even after 10 yrs choose a conversion on fully pay up, it wil stil at a loss of rm10k-20k (depends on AIA interested pay by then whether 7% - 5% or lesser).
As shared earlier, it was totally a diff plan as the agent verbally claimed.

This post has been edited by FireUp: Aug 26 2014, 10:42 PM
FireUp
post Aug 24 2014, 06:32 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 24 2014, 06:23 PM)
aiyo, so fast forget already?

u have a 15 days "free-look period" AFTER you receive your policy to review your policy (which u will only get after u sign up for the plan). If u not satisfy or don't like the policy, u can cancel and get back 100% of your money. No need give insurance company any reason. They are obliged to comply with your cancellation request by law.
Pink spider, I rmb ur statement on this lar, in the same page ma smile.gif
I dy said I trust the agent & her professionalism ma, from head to toe (beginning verbal claim til the plan book itself), so didnt check, so 15 days free-look-period oso nothing lor. as the result, let agent fool me from head to toe lor :'(
FireUp
post Aug 24 2014, 06:52 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Chigme @ Aug 24 2014, 06:32 PM)
FireUp, write in officially what you shared here to the insurance company. In the letter make sure you describe how the agent has  misrepresented to you and  clearly state what is your intention/demand. Although 15 days free look up period is over, you have the right to  get your premium refunded as this is a case of agent mis-selling.
Thanks Chigme.
Will write in officially better or directly go to their HQ office better?

FireUp
post Aug 24 2014, 10:25 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Aug 24 2014, 09:43 PM)
actually, prior to signing up, they are suppose to show you something called sales illustration and product disclosure sheet. that's when you see the figures, premium for your age. these 2 documents, will be relatively easier to understand, AND at the same time, give you a brief overview of the important T&C. what i was quite surprised with, many agents skip this part. only use pencil, paper, draw draw. sometimes don't even send the full quotation.

actually, there's a 3rd option. you may look inside your policy, and search for something that says non-forfeiture option. with NF option, usually there's an option to continue your policy without paying extra premium. this will be known as reduced paid up, and etc... so it won't be exactly a total waste, you know, instead of terminating it.

(a 3rd) Actually, if you can bring your policy to menara aia, 99 jln ampang, that would be great la. but i don't know, maybe big company like AIA is used to receiving this kind of complain.

i've heard of successful cases from a compliance manager, of a smaller insurance company, that there are customers who managed to get FULL refund, after 1-2 years of buying into those stupid endowment plan. but maybe cause that company takut so just paid it off and let it be.

OH BTW... since my guess is, your policy is the pay 10 years for 20 years type, your loss will be greater. cause you pay more premium upfront.  cry.gif
Adele123, appreciate much on ur feedback & sharing too!
& I learnt NEW thing again : Sales illustration & product disclosure sheet. New means ur guessing is right, I never been disclosed to these 2 documents.

& bout the NF option & details, I don't really get it... mind to further enlighten?
Means that if with such word somewhere, may opt to stop paying now & future, but the remaining premium I hv invested earlier stil entitle for whatever offer, but in a lower benefit & amount in return form? & normally which part to look for the NF (higher chances to spot it if there is such option), near the table on figure-premium-age duration pages? few pages from the begining of the policy? end pages? (just to narrow the searching area from the "textbook").

Ya, I guess, big comp like them shd hv special dept trained to handle various complaint, n concerned if they r too used to such client complaint n handling way is beating around the bush then it wil b a total waste of time... :'(
(tks for feel my pain)

FireUp
post Aug 24 2014, 10:39 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Aug 24 2014, 10:21 PM)
Write in with the evidence/proof that the agent has misled you into the sales.

You may also CC to Bank Negara should you are not satisfied with the reply.

Jabatan Komunikasi Korporat
Bank Negara Malaysia
Tingkat 14B
Peti Surat 10922
50929 Kuala Lumpur
Tel: 03-2698 8044
Fax: 03-2693 6919
Thanks roystevenung! Your sharing is valuable to me too! Appreciate it.
Challenge part is, hardly to get a strong proof what quoted VERBALLY by relevant agent if she deny, & with what I hv is only a piece of pencil drawing. & guess to another party, their written policy wil serve as the final official doc...
Hmm... I feel like poke my eye & dig my brain out for trusting agent friend too confident & blindly! :<
FireUp
post Aug 26 2014, 12:24 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 24 2014, 10:58 PM)
do u contact back ur agent ask him why?
MNet, sure got. & her response :
- 1st few attempts to my query was tried to avoid answer straight to the point & beating around the bush lor
- then knowing can't escape, just use the "refer to ur policy written" reason
- last response was denied everthing & challenged me if I hv any proof of what she verbally say during her proposal stage
FireUp
post Aug 26 2014, 12:52 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Aug 24 2014, 10:45 PM)
basically with NF option, you can sort of maintain the policy, without paying anymore premium, but strip down of some benefits.

example is reduced paid up and extended term insurance.

http://course.uceusa.com/Courses/content/405/page_143.htm

it's slightly different for savings plan and non-savings plan. i only have my own normal life insurance policy contract with me, so not sure about savings plan, if there's any difference.

i'm afraid different company may have different layout. it should be earlier/beginning section. cause, it's sort a general condition/provision. usually at the later section it's when they start explaining the benefits in detail.

but still at the end of the day, still a lose for you la, but not total loss.
Adele123, I hv check - got automatic NF option & Elective NF option (guess is bcoz this is indeed a "20 yrs life insurance")
but I don't really understand the said ENF statement.
"for this option, u r stil able to continue with this policy but the only change is that you no longer hv to pay any further premiums & wil no longer benefit from the profits of our life insurance biz"
Means if choose this option, it wil b treated as a pure life + TPD insurance, where the death benefit amount & TPD amount remain d same as in contract.
But there is no further elaboration... whether policy holder (PH) who switch to this option after 5 yrs, r the benefits amount of TDB & TPD same with if another PH who buy at the exactly same premium but only choose to switch after 10 or 15 yrs? (soli, looks like my thinking bcome too sensitive & tricky after this incident)
hmm, am goin to call to their CS centre to ask on this NF option details then.
Tks for the brain storm sharing smile.gif

FireUp
post Aug 26 2014, 12:56 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Aug 25 2014, 12:26 AM)
Your story are very long. But 1 thing I can tell you, any savings and investment related policy you end up have to pay on double of the time or double the amount to get back your principle as they will depreciate automatically 1-3% every month.
Always read the T&C that are very very small till you can't really read.
Don't worry too much on which agent that serve you, since all of them will cheat and mislead you, in order to get money from you. You can continue to drive a kancil while they use your money to drive a BMW whistling.gif
I stop buying insurance since 6 years ago and my savings are getting more and more.
tks for ur opinion sharing wink.gif
FireUp
post Aug 26 2014, 01:17 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Aug 26 2014, 12:07 AM)
biggrin.gif Adele123 is right.
I would prepare the Sales Illustration, Product Disclosure Sheet, as well as a summary, all three with my signatures and date, and I would ask the client to sign as well.
This is done in order to protect both parties, the client and myself, and I also keep a physical scanned copy of the application form that reflects what is on the proposal that I prepared, and any changes scribbled by the client will also be there.  thumbup.gif
JiuHwei, really? if what u claimed is true, u r a proper & pro agent not just by self-claimed & title, but in the practice. Like wat Adele123 shared, agent who apply such practise r in minority. Keep on the good work then.

This post has been edited by FireUp: Aug 26 2014, 01:39 AM
FireUp
post Aug 26 2014, 11:22 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Aug 26 2014, 09:12 AM)
Nope, all agents do have their SOP, point out your current policy's flaw to make sure you stop and buy from new agent. Then on new policy he will cover up the important parts and won't tell you.
So best way is don't pay by credit card first and use that 14 days cool down period to read all the T&C and ask more questions to the agent that serves you.
If you really understand all those T&C, you won't buy insurance at all.
Supersound, u r right that better don't pay by credit card. But actually even if to read thru the whole book & those T&C, some terms shall be too tricky & hard for some of us (i mean myself) to understand the actual meaning behind.
Now only i know y some ppl wil take agent A's policy A to show agent G, agent G's proposal G to show agent P & so. Agents normally willing to point other competiter's plan flaw & hide their own one... so with the passing steps, we hv clearer pic on each insurance policy's cons & pro (if there is any pro), huh? Sigh I understand the IMPORTANCE of such counterchecking too late.

Just share this to all youngsters out there... do take my case as example, trust agent friend fully will never b a wise step. ur trust given is a gold to him/her, but u may get sh*t in return. I learnt this, in a hard way.

This post has been edited by FireUp: Aug 26 2014, 11:24 AM
FireUp
post Aug 26 2014, 10:03 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 26 2014, 07:05 PM)
They will ask u refer back to ur agent for explanation
Do u think I still wan to c her face? ><
Also, guess after such incident, i couldn't take & judge whether what she is going to say is true or false anymore. After all, her explanation is stil VERBAL. "may" & "must" issue can stil happen.

This post has been edited by FireUp: Aug 26 2014, 10:04 PM
FireUp
post Aug 26 2014, 10:15 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Aug 26 2014, 07:40 PM)
Agents who would touch on all 4 instead of harping on one particular product or "package" to push to you, are usually agents who you can trust and visit them at the office once in a while. =)

Hope this helps.
JiuHwei, maybe my case is too long story that u didn't complete in reading it. to let u know ur above is totally out of topic actually... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by FireUp: Aug 26 2014, 11:33 PM

0.0206sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:54 PM