Need some advice on my ICE setup..., Hope all the sifus here can help me out.

TSlimmin
post May 19 2008, 12:31 AM, updated 18y ago

125 posts

I am planning to upgrade my ICE in my car..

Stuff that are available in my car..

HU = Alpine 9887 (just bought)

AudioControl Four.1i (should i still use this?)

Nakamichi SPS-6500 componet set at the front.
- SINFONI 50.4x briged to power it.

Looking for a 12" SQ subwoofer..
- Going to use MTX 502 to run it...

Here are my questions...

1. Is it better to run my component set in active mode since i have a 4 channel amp?

2. Do you think my sinfoni can drive the midrange? (70 watt handling)?

3. Since my MTX 502 will briged at 500watt x 1 @ 4ohm..
- Is it good to look for a subwoofer that running at dual voice coil @ 2 ohm? or just get a single voice coil at 4ohm?

All the expert sifus out there... please give some advices.....

ckmoy007
post May 19 2008, 02:53 AM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

1. i dunno
2. of course ur sinfoni can drive ur mids, if u play SQ that's enuf d. 50W juz can't make the speaker play the loudest possible onli. SQ wise should be ok.
3.I suggest if u can find Morel Supremo subs, u r gud to go. haha.

juz giving in my ideas onli. Gud luck.
bafukie
post May 19 2008, 08:15 AM

1,406 posts

1. Is it better to run my component set in active mode since i have a 4 channel amp?

there is no better or worse. But alot more flexibility playing around with ur comp wink.gif Take note that by playing active, ur audiocontrol 4.1 is redundant.

2. Do you think my sinfoni can drive the midrange? (70 watt handling)?

Whats the recommended rms power for ur comp?

3. Since my MTX 502 will briged at 500watt x 1 @ 4ohm..
- Is it good to look for a subwoofer that running at dual voice coil @ 2 ohm? or just get a single voice coil at 4ohm?

it depends on ur liking.. dun go looking for dual/single.. instead focus on the sound produced.. see whether u like it la..
TSlimmin
post May 19 2008, 12:49 PM

125 posts

Hi ckmoy007,

Yeah, I am more to SQ..
Now still searching for the subwoofer, Morel Supremo? I got offer for Morel HCW10..
Any suggestion?

Hi bafukie,

1. Wanted to test running 2 wat active.. yeah will sell of my audio control....

2. Checked the spec for the midrange. Handling is 70watt and peak is at 120watt.

3. So any nice woofer to suggest? Got offer for pegasus, mtx, soundstream. jl audio, kicker, seas lotus .....

Thank everyone....

Added on May 19, 2008, 1:13 pmhi all..

Got an offer for JL Audio 12w3v2.... RM350 only
Any suggestion?

Anthony

This post has been edited by limmin: May 19 2008, 01:13 PM
ckmoy007
post May 19 2008, 01:20 PM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

For me, personally i wun take Morel HCW10, for that budget i would go for Hertz. If got more budget, i'd go for supremo or Helix's top sub, forgot the model, but that's way more expensive, In the middle can suggest u DLS Iridium or Alpine Type X.
TSlimmin
post May 19 2008, 02:05 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ May 19 2008, 01:20 PM)
For me, personally i wun take Morel HCW10, for that budget i would go for Hertz. If got more budget, i'd go for supremo or Helix's top sub, forgot the model, but that's way more expensive, In the middle can suggest u DLS Iridium or Alpine Type X.
How about Eclipse 6200?

RMS power handling: 350W/300W
Max. power handling: 1000W/900W
Kevlar composite cone
Dual 4 aluminum voice coil
ABS + 15% fiber filled magnet coverd
Injection santoprene surround
Rubber gasket
Flat pc spider
Air vent cooling system
Quad 10awg chrome terminal

I also got an offer for SEAS LOTUS SW300/1 for RM1500 with sealed box....
Any suggestion?

driftmeister
post May 19 2008, 03:40 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

not a bad deal for the SEAS
good control if drive with correct amp
ckmoy007
post May 19 2008, 11:25 PM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

neva audited eclispe and seas before, sorry can't give u advice on that. But with 1500 can look for DLS Iridium d.
TSlimmin
post May 20 2008, 12:30 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ May 19 2008, 11:25 PM)
neva audited eclispe and seas before, sorry can't give u advice on that. But with 1500 can look for DLS Iridium d.
Thanks..
Completed my setup liao.. just need to tune it..

HU = Alpine 9887

Nakamichi SPS6500 componet set. (plan to run active)
- run by Sinfoni 50.4x

12" Seas Lotus S300/1 Subwoofer in Sealed Box
- run by MTX 502

mfa151
post May 20 2008, 05:19 PM

35 posts

what car you planning to put all this ICE?
TSlimmin
post May 20 2008, 10:55 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(mfa151 @ May 20 2008, 05:19 PM)
what car you planning to put all this ICE?
Planning to install in my wira 1.5 sedan.
Installed dynamat on both the front door liao.

any good speaker cables to recommend to drive my tweeter ?

driftmeister
post May 20 2008, 11:35 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ May 19 2008, 11:25 PM)
it's a disgrace if u compare DLS Iridium with SEAS Lotus

QUOTE(limmin @ May 20 2008, 12:30 AM)
Thanks..
Completed my setup liao.. just need to tune it..

HU = Alpine 9887

Nakamichi SPS6500 componet set. (plan to run active)
- run by Sinfoni 50.4x

12" Seas Lotus S300/1 Subwoofer in Sealed Box
- run by MTX 502
u probably need a more powderful amp for the SEAS TBH
abt the power it's the more the merrier e.g. TRU Hammer, Genesis DMX
QUOTE(limmin @ May 20 2008, 10:55 PM)
Planning to install in my wira 1.5 sedan.
Installed dynamat on both the front door liao.

any good speaker cables to recommend to drive my tweeter ?

QED silver anniversary or Chord Carnival/Odyssey

This post has been edited by driftmeister: May 20 2008, 11:36 PM
TSlimmin
post May 21 2008, 07:40 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ May 20 2008, 11:35 PM)
it's a disgrace if u compare DLS Iridium with SEAS Lotus
u probably need a more powderful amp for the SEAS TBH
abt the power it's the more the merrier e.g. TRU Hammer, Genesis DMX

QED silver anniversary or Chord Carnival/Odyssey
Hi driftmeister,

Do you mean that the SEAS Lotus is much better than DLS iridium?

I already owned a MTX 502 ... so no choice have to use it, it putting out 500watt at 4ohm bridge...
Maybe next time only get a new and powerful amp.

I heard that the older version of SEAS Lotus SW300 need more power but the new version SW300/1 required less power.
When i plug in my MTX502 to test the sub, i need to turn the gain of the sub to nearly 3/4 only can really hear and feel the sub. Is it normal?
There is a frequency knob adjustment at the MTX 502, any idea have to set at where to fully utilize the SEAS Lotus SW300/1?

Is it necessary to use 4AWG power cable for my dinfoni 50.4x and MTX 502?

Thanks...

Anthony
kenlimfornication
post May 21 2008, 09:00 AM

729 posts

Seas Lotus SW300/1 with sealed box (also with handles)

If it is the one you bought. hehe it was previously in my car for a week.

Tested it. Good sub no doubt. Had to returned it because you bought it. Congratulations!

It is necessary to use 4awg cable. I used 8awg before for my Alpine MRV. It melted. Even my fuse melted.

It is best to go 0AWG to a distribution block, then 2 x 4AWG to both amps. That is the best way to go in my opinion.

Enjoy your ICE!
driftmeister
post May 21 2008, 10:32 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(limmin @ May 21 2008, 07:40 AM)
Hi driftmeister,

Do you mean that the SEAS Lotus is much better than DLS iridium?

I already owned a MTX 502 ... so no choice have to use it, it putting out 500watt at 4ohm bridge...
Maybe next time only get a new and powerful amp.

I heard that the older version of SEAS Lotus SW300 need more power but the new version SW300/1 required less power.
When i plug in my MTX502 to test the sub, i need to turn the gain of the sub to nearly 3/4 only can really hear and feel the sub. Is it normal?
There is a frequency knob adjustment at the MTX 502, any idea have to set at where to fully utilize the SEAS Lotus SW300/1?

Is it necessary to use 4AWG power cable for my dinfoni 50.4x and MTX 502?

Thanks...

Anthony
IMO, SEAS Lotus sub is much more superior than the DLS Iridium if given the correct amount of power

it's pretty normal that u turn ur gain higher bcos 500w is a bit low for the sub
it will sound better if u can get a better amp for it
maybe u can try source around for the old skool Orion
or even contact mnkh27 , he may have some good deal for u brows.gif

4awg is a minimum requirement for power cable wink.gif
mfa151
post May 21 2008, 10:57 AM

35 posts

Lot of thing to learn from all sifus here.
TSlimmin
post May 21 2008, 11:24 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(kenlimfornication @ May 21 2008, 09:00 AM)
Seas Lotus SW300/1 with sealed box (also with handles)

If it is the one you bought. hehe it was previously in my car for a week.

Tested it. Good sub no doubt. Had to returned it because you bought it. Congratulations!

It is necessary to use 4awg cable. I used 8awg before for my Alpine MRV. It melted. Even my fuse melted.
It is best to go 0AWG to a distribution block, then 2 x 4AWG to both amps. That is the best way to go in my opinion.

Enjoy your ICE!
yeah. bought it from jeremy.testing it raw without tuning...
very powerful and acurate. better than my old 12" MTX thunder 8000 in term of sq.

u use which amp to drive it last time?
kenlimfornication
post May 21 2008, 02:27 PM

729 posts

I used Alpine MRV 1005 to drive. About 600w rms.

Of course it is better than MTX la.

Anyway, I would advice to keep the amp and use it. I believe it is enough to drive the sub. Please be reminded that the sub is playing at most 150hz to your ears only.

You have extra money to spend, spend it on the front first. =). After that, if you have even more extra money, then only spend on a mono.
TSlimmin
post May 21 2008, 07:28 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(kenlimfornication @ May 21 2008, 02:27 PM)
I used Alpine MRV 1005 to drive. About 600w rms.

Of course it is better than MTX la.

Anyway, I would advice to keep the amp and use it. I believe it is enough to drive the sub. Please be reminded that the sub is playing at most 150hz to your ears only.

You have extra money to spend, spend it on the front first. =). After that, if you have even more extra money, then only spend on a mono.

Yeah, i am happy with the current setup. Today spend the whole day upgrade the wiring to 4AWG. And rewire the front to active. The sound seem louder after using the 4AWG cables... drool.gif Never expected got different wor.. been using 8AWG my whole life....... rclxub.gif

Now the final setup is my HU.. still waiting for alpine 9887 to arrive....

kenlimfornication
post May 22 2008, 09:28 AM

729 posts

There is difference when using 4awg and 8awg, I don't know if it's psychology or not.

But it does. haha
TSlimmin
post May 26 2008, 07:13 PM

125 posts

Hi all the sifus out there,

Actually I have some problem with my sinfoni 50.4x.
Is there any way to bypass the electronic crossover ?

Anthony
kenlimfornication
post May 28 2008, 08:59 AM

729 posts

I think it'll be better to check with the seller.
bafukie
post May 28 2008, 07:29 PM

1,406 posts

why didnt u check with the seller first b4 u commit?
siauann
post Jun 27 2008, 08:29 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ May 19 2008, 01:20 PM)
any reason u dont take HCW10?

0.0206sec    0.90    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:25 AM