Regarding The One Academy!, Students from there hop in!

Xiven
post May 17 2008, 10:33 PM

144 posts

Firstly,
How much is the fees for Diploma, Degree, Foundation? Seriously i have no idea =x. It would be nice to have someone list it down for me because i'm not financially well-equiped!

Secondly,
What do they TEACH there? The syllabus/subjects?

Thirdly,
Can anyone tell me more about Interior Designing and Multimedia Designing? (yes i'm noob!)

Fourthly,
Do i need to train up my drawing skills and photoshopping skills before entering?

All courses have different fees. Digital Animation is the most expensive if I'm not mistaken(I know cause I'm taking it now). For more info you can try toa.edu.my .

They guide you, share their experience with you here in TOA. Most of the time you'll have to learn stuff yourself / do your own research, afterthat look for the lecturer/tutor and let them guide you, so that you'll be on the right track. Most of the subjects are practical, only few are theory. For example the LAN subjects.

Again, for more info you can try toa.edu.my . Interior design is pretty obvious, you design houses / buildings and etc. Multimedia is mostly vid editting, flash, website designing, creating vids, and etc, you'll be learning some html/java in this course too, I think.

No, you don't have to train your drawing skills or whatever skills, but its better if you did / or at least know some of the basics. Most of the time you'll learn loads when going through an assignment.

Of course, like what rickrick said, no games, no nothing. Most of your social life will probably be spent with your TOA classmates. It is work work work when you step in this college. Sleepless night is not really guaranteed, it depends on how much you slack / procrastinate. If you can work all day without any interference, you'll prolly be able to sleep at night.

=)
Xiven
post May 19 2008, 12:55 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(obefiend @ May 18 2008, 09:36 PM)
nothing in life is easy dude. i think it might suprise you that multimedia student learn stuffs on their own most of the time. the technology and styles evolves way to fast for lecturers to teach them to you. sleepless night is the norm but when you are having fun doing artwork it ain't so bad.

and they say art subject is easy. yeah right? as most of the above posters will confess its ain't that easy chump!
I agree on the multimedia part, I myself picked up a few stuff regarding multimedia. Sleepless nights isn't normal if you're driving to college, its pretty dangerous. =x

And yes, I confess, art isn't easy, you need alot of critical thinking/ideas, most of the time you'll be spending on is actually on the idea than executing it. But that depends on the subject too.

I've heard so much about working hard and having sleepless nights, but i guess it's a good form of practice for the real world and the pressure out there !

Well i'm not one who loves to play, okay maybe i am but i guess it's about prioritising right!

Our assignments are very time consuming, especially when you're still in the "basics-zone" and "I-am-stuck-zone". For example, when you start your foundation course, there'll be this subject called Figure Studies, you'll have to do 4 portraits and deadline is in 1 week. If you're hardworking, you'd probably spend 4~6 hours on 1 piece.

Though, I think they changed the format to 1 piece per week for my juniors, lucky people. >.>

Well, this is my point of view from my experience. Some ppl might think otherwise.
Xiven
post May 19 2008, 09:14 PM

144 posts

QUOTE([+] @ May 19 2008, 05:28 PM)
interior? well you better hope you are lucky. cause at my batch, not many people choose that subject, therefor no class open for interior and those few who wanted to study interior went some place else.
For my batch, I heard most, if not all of the chinese ed[no offence] went for interior. (-5,6,7?)

I'm not really sure though.
Xiven
post May 27 2008, 04:12 PM

144 posts

Mr Tong1774 : Whatever you have said, I can see it is from your experience and the people you've met in your life. But you can't stop the fact that some people's interests are in this line. If everyone took your advice, in the end there would be no artist, no 3D movies, no good advertisements and etc. New ideas these days, I believe they come from the younger individuals/generation, as for the more experienced ones, they prolly ran out of brain juice.

I do not deny they fact that most artists will be throwing their lives away for the sake of art, but if they don't do it, who will?

Booblegum : Art, like everything else, is a necessity today, like food and business. Imagine a food brand like magee mee selling their products, there is always an artist behind the scene to design its packaging and logo. Can you imagine buying your magee mee which comes in a grey plain plastic?

Even business, without an artist in the background, how are they gonna advertise themselves with horrible looking brochures, or their websites? Where are they gonna get their logo from?

Even for movies, if there is no artist in the background, how are they gonna make their special effects? How are they gonna present posters?

So, imo, I won't deny the fact that we are living at a time where art is an equal importance to everything else in life. It's practically everywhere, even when stepping foot into a shopping complex, just imagine everything around you were just boring / bland / so very dead.

Just my 2 cents.
Xiven
post May 27 2008, 04:57 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(tong1774 @ May 27 2008, 04:27 PM)
Ok basically in this line, or perhaps all other area. There are people who do it, and people who sell it. And believe it or not, 90% of the time, the people who sell it took most of the credit, or put it in the simple form- the people who sell it get more money than the people who do it. So... ask yourself, are you a salesman? Are you good in presenting your work to your client? Or i can say most of the time you need to bullshit. Sad but true, even though i don't like to believe it.

If u are those ppl that can do great work, but u can't talk or dont like to talk, then u will be forever a "backroom boy". The client may like your work, but most of the time the client don't even know u. What they know is XXX company doing a great job, and not YYY from XXX company is doing a great job. So in this case, if u are leaving the company due to low salary, your boss may or may not ask u to stay. And even if he do, dont expect mirical. why, because they know u are good, but the amount that he need to pay u, he may be able to hire 2 to 3 fresh-grat, and he believe he can use quantity to overcome experience. there are exception, but rare.

So if u are planning to further study in oversea, dont come back. The amount u earn is not worth spending that kind of money to study oversea. And if u work in oversea after uni, u wont feel like coming back and work here. Mostly because of the different working style, the whole big enviroment, and also the amount of money u get. So it comes down to the same question, what do u want to do? U want to settle down in oversea? How about your parents? Girlfriend? If u plan to come back, what do u want to do? Save some money in oversea and come back do business? Got a few friends did this and end up lost all their money. So here is the fact:

1) Do it only when u dont give a shit about money, family and u dont want a life.
2) Do it if u dont have to worry about money. I knew a friend who's father give him a million to start a studi after grat. god knows if he is making any money.
3) Do it if your father own a business that may need your skill, but young ppl now days dont like family business.
3) Do it only when u know that u won have to work in asia. i meant the whole asia. Including Japan & Korea.

I know it sound depress, but if u really wanna venture into this line, u need to be prepare. and i still don't encourage ppl to join this line. Unless u are in the list of what i just said. Good luck. will PM u my MSN, but i dont online everyday.
I completely agree with everything you said. Not only you need to have good skills in art, but also in communication to promote yourself. And yes, it also depends on what you wanna do with your life.

But since this is a topic regarding TOA, the moment you step foot in here, it's already like the beginning of whatever Tong said before. Classes will prolly be early in the morning, 9am or so, if you come late you'll face the consequences, and because of the assignments load, you'll literally lock youself in your room and will prolly be working till really really late or having no sleep at all, and still have to attend classes the next day.

As for me now, all I do is just my assignments. My daily life is basically go to college early in the morning, finish classes in the afternoon/evening, go back home bath and take power nap, wake up do assignments until god knows when[makan time included also la =.=]. Then repeat the same thing again. Feel like a robot. And not all the assignments are stuff I like to do, some of them I hate doing.

So yeah, this is basically the life of a TOA student.

If he really like art & willing to give up everything for it, then what i said wont influnce his dicision. And if he listen to what i said and give up, then its better to give up now then later, which for sure he is going to face in his career. What i am telling u guys is the truth, that your lecturer may not tell u, or may not know, so that u know what u are going to face. I had meet so many fresh-grat that end up dissapointed with what they are doing, which aren't what's in their mind at the first place.

U like doing illustartion? How many illustartor are suffering now? Try go ask Stanley or other pioneer in illustartion, if u happen to know them. Stanley studio main business are not illustration any more, but doing 3D walkthrough for developer. And u can go ask him why, he will be happy to tell u. And how many 3D fresh-grat are happy to do 3D walkthrough? But thats where the main source of income. u dont wanna do it, there are 100s more studio willing to do, with even lower price. So what i am doing is not ignoring the fact that some of u like art and has the passion for it, thats great. But i am trying to tell them, when u are in the business, u may lost what u once passionate for. afetr 14 hours of work, i dont think u want to do, or have time to do what u like, or so called "Own Project".

So if u really have passion for art, u dont have to make it your career. u can work as a salesman, get home early, and do some painting or build some 3d model and have fun with it. It will make your passion stays beacause u do it because u like to do it, not somebody want u to do, and do it the way they like

I don't believe that artists are the only ones suffering in this world. Even bussinessmen can go bankrupt or many who are still in poverty. I believe every job has their pros and cons, not particularly when you become a doctor you'll bcome rich, with the growing amount of competition today, surviving WILL be difficult regardless of ones profession or job.

My dad's a businessman who owns a resort, yet he doesn't want me to enter his career line because it's difficult. And the fact that my dad has a resort doesn't immediately make my family rich, my dad is actually struggling to support me and my sister. So yeah, I hope you get my point.

This post has been edited by Xiven: May 27 2008, 05:05 PM
Xiven
post May 27 2008, 07:49 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(tong1774 @ May 27 2008, 05:06 PM)
So u have to do what u dont like even in the college, imagine all this thing is going to be double or triple when u start working. including the amount of work, the amount of frustration, the number of sleepless night etc... So if u can't take college life, it will be worst when u start working in this line. The only different is in college, if u dont do your work u will failed the subject. But in working life, u will get fired, or worst- being black-listed by all studio, and it happens.

Added on May 27, 2008, 5:26 pm

I can feel u, but what i am saying is majority. I know in every line there are good and bad. Just that in our line, the things u may get, doesnt worth all the efford. Like a sales man, if he is good, he manage to sell lots of goods, and he will be paid accordingly (except being con by boss) and get rich. But for a designer or artist, u may be good, but how to justify that? Would your boss pay u more if your work got awarded in some film fest? U see... i know they are risk and headache in every line, but at least in other line, u dont have to work like that long hour.

U are a contruction worker? U get pay for OT, and i dont believe there is any constuction worker that have to work more than 24 hours none stop (My record is none sleep, none shower for 5 days, and barely eat). U work in a big corporation, u work 9 to 5, sunday confirm no need to work, lots of benefits. U work as insurance/property agent? Flexible working hour, no need to go office everyday, can go cinema 3 in the afternoon, and the more u do, the more u earn.

But what do we got? I work 8 hours and 24 also get the same pay. My company get a 20K project or 200K project i still get the same amount. I work for 12 years in this line, only got yearly bonus once. So if u are those who is looking for bonus, dont work in this line. My department 10 ppl i get the same amount. when 5 of them left and i have to cover their work, i still get the same pay.

Well... if after all this u still din get what i say, then i guest i will give up. But what i can say id good luck. 70% hardwork, 30% luck. Thats what i can say.

Oh btw: U may misunderstand my statement. I am not saying art is shit, art is useless. what i am saying is, in Malaysia, people do not appretiate it, or they do not willing to pay for something that they appretiate, and those people are the one who pay your salary. So if u are working in oversea, mainly the "Mat Salleh" country, this problem may not be an issue. But now in those country, they are facing other issue. Due to the increasing production cost, most of their production will be assign to asia country, mainly china. and because of this, the amount of artist they need had been greatly decrease. And even if they are hiring, they will consider their own citizen first, then mat salleh from other country, then only asian. This is their goverment policy to protect their own industry. Good for them, bad for us. And when they assign their project to asia, those studios that wanted to take those job will start to counter each other in terms of pricing. And the end result is lower production cost, and lower average salary.

So if u want to work in oversea, the easist is to stay there after uni, since most of the country allow u to stay for another year or so. And if u manage to work there, work hard (And believe me, its not that hard compare to mat salleh), then your boss may help u to extend your permit. And if u stay there for 5 years (Depemds on country), u will get a PR, and then u can work in what ever company in that country without permit problem. i got a friend working in Microsoft as a department manager, and he can never come back and work here due to varies reason. So please take my words, i normally dont type so much.
I see, I believe I've learnt something from this thread too. =)
Xiven
post May 31 2008, 10:12 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(nikeshock @ May 31 2008, 08:10 PM)
icic, ok. btw ts. if u wanna study art and design. bear in mind that......the art materials price are killing me. we need to top up monthly if high usage. for example. one pencil set already cost rm 18 and one acrylic colour already cost rm 28. i use my own money to buy all these material and my monthly allowance is only 240. includes everything. makan. parking. toll. ktm. bus. and ART MATERIAL. mr tong. teach lubang la...let me earn extra money
Haha, you are still in foundation year only right?

Later have to spend even more. First week de I spent RM150, second week RM100 on art materials. I'm in DG, doing 2nd year term 1 now.

Heard from seniors, 1 term above, they had to spend rm300 on marker renders only. So yeah, first week they blew rm300++ de. XD

Foundation you don't really need to spent alot one actually.
Xiven
post Jun 1 2008, 12:07 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(nikeshock @ May 31 2008, 11:51 PM)
the lecturer name lilly. screw her. like to waste our stuff
LOL, Liliy is teaching me too, and yes, she thinks money to us is water.
Xiven
post Jun 1 2008, 04:12 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(tong1774 @ Jun 1 2008, 12:39 AM)
biggrin.gif The name Lily sounds like a hot chick. So is she?
Sorry to spoil it all, but she's not. xD
Xiven
post Jun 1 2008, 03:22 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(5w33 @ Jun 1 2008, 01:54 PM)
New batch oh smile.gif
CD075 cry.gif  cry.gif
075? What course you taking? I'm also 075.
Xiven
post Jun 1 2008, 07:56 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(nikeshock @ Jun 1 2008, 06:23 PM)
to ts. check out silverant. google it.

yeah la. my artline pen 2 days finish d @@ for assignment she gave!!!!
btw, is she pregnant now.

Added on June 1, 2008, 6:25 pmbtw, i dont think im talented, passion for design hmmmm. got la. not much.. normally its the money that motivates me. but what mr tong said had bring my hopes down. owhhhhh sad...
I think she is, she keeps rubbing her belly. o.o
Xiven
post Jun 2 2008, 03:58 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(booblegum @ Jun 2 2008, 02:21 AM)
What's all this cd075 thingy? Hey i wanna know too!

(LILY SUCKS.)

And thanks nikeshock biggrin.gif.
To be precise, it's our batch's codenames? xD

CD is for foundation year, 07 is 2007 and 5 is for May. This is more or less our enrolment date into TOA. The -2 or -1 are our classes.
Xiven
post Oct 19 2008, 01:47 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(D22S @ Oct 15 2008, 10:54 PM)
thanks thanks!! bro...usually if morning what time is the class and also in the afternoon ? one day at least have how many classes need to attend for interior design and also will there be any moral & history taught in malay to take up with ? pls reply..love u!  biggrin.gif
It depends most of the time, not sure about interior design, but for other courses where there are more people taking it, there're usually 2 classes, so one class will be in the morning - afternoon, the other in the afternoon - evening. Or sometimes, full day. I currently have a class till 10pm.

Usually only 2 classes a day, or 1.

Yes, there will be LAN subjects, it is compulsary in every college/uni in Malaysia, you can't escape from it!
Xiven
post Jun 27 2009, 12:00 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(kelsoo @ Jun 26 2009, 12:07 AM)

YEAH dont do last minute work, it really end up crappy and u'll just disappoint ur self as all ur work will go into ur portfolio which i am redoing right now cz of stupid me.

Bowling Club
Aiya, since foundation you also been doing last minute work la. xD
Xiven
post Jun 28 2009, 04:52 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ Jun 28 2009, 12:45 AM)
Gotta get for choosing major ...
still struggle on choose between digital animation and multimedia ....
my drawing still quite bad enough but I like anime much more =.=
There is a huge difference in DG and MM.
I'm in DG atm, and kelsoo is in MM, you got any questions you can ask them. xD

Drawing is something anyone can learn, you'll be under intense training in the foundation period to buff up your drawing skills, art sense and some technical stuff.
Xiven
post Jun 28 2009, 03:28 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(kelsoo @ Jun 28 2009, 09:44 AM)
what kellie always say: the diffrence between DG and MM is that MM students smell better than DG student hahaha (well thats a joke le)

well you can ask xiven about the DG stuff, i would suggest you to go MM if u like to do outdoor activities, group projects, interactive media, quick thinking, musics, movies, games, photography, filming, exploration. Basically we in MM do everything from branding, project planning, photography, film and movie making, short animation, composing music, new media exploration and interactive game.

We focus more on execution and how to implement our ideas into new media such as website, mobile device, installations, virtual worlds and anything that is new. Do not think that Multimedia is just a focus on computer related subject but its actually a focus on everything that IL, AD, DG student learn. Everyone mistakenly think that MM is a short form for multimedia but its actually a short form for Multiple Media as in you will deal with anything from print, video, web, sculpture, installations and so forth. 

Do take note that MM is a very fast pace major as we need to do everything quickly.

Oh and MM faculty is the most active XD and also we have lots of crazy lecturer that will force you to watch movies and play games for research.  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(wingster @ Jun 28 2009, 11:20 AM)
hmm suite's me ...

well I'm also love in photography, watching anime and movie and also playing games =3 ...

Maybe I will concern about it XD since tomorrow is major talk
Sounds almost the same, DG does photography, film and movie making, short 3d animation, 2d animation, concept art, lighting, storyboard, project planning is a duh, drawing / CG. More or less you'll have to cover almost everything in DG too. As for composing sound / music, that is all up to you, they do not really spoon feed so you'll have to pick them up yourself. Can you imagine a 5 min 3D animation with no sound whatsoever?

Drawing, photography and basics of filming / storyboard is the backbone of being an art student / animator. These are the fundamentals, without it the chances of you making a good 3d animation is quite small.

When it comes to animation, it seems if you have a sport background or better yet a dancing background, your sense in timing will differ from the rest. As far as outdoor activities goes, it is really up to you on how far you want to explore, study and research. Do you depend solely on the internet, or do you go out and experience it for yourself? There is no boundaries in DG, no one will limit you.

If you like games, DG doesn't particularly teach you how to make them, but we study closely on the 3d models/textures/animation and etc. And of course, we even talk about games in class sometimes with our lecturer. Atm quite a number of them are playing Dragonica, haha.

The only thing that will bore you when you enter DG is the technical stuff you'll have to learn. Sometimes it could get tedious and esp time consuming when it comes to working on 3D projects. So if you enter DG, be ready to face sleepless nights in the 3d lab.

If I'm not mistaken, new batches will be entering a new syllabus, whereas most of the finals in the final year will be individual projects than group projects. And well, the newer batch will be more specialized as they are going to divide DG into 2 courses instead of one, you'll be specialized in either modelling or animating. Don't worry though, before you choose you'll experience how both of these work, you'll just touch the surface and then they'll ask you to decide.

I'm not here to advertise on which course you should join, just that you should make the right decisions or else you'll be wasting your time and money.

This post has been edited by Xiven: Jun 28 2009, 03:29 PM
Xiven
post Jun 28 2009, 06:16 PM

144 posts

Lol, photography all the courses also will learn one.
Being serious about it is all on you, how far you willing to go or venture into photography.
Xiven
post Jun 30 2009, 12:34 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(lonelyshadoe @ Jun 30 2009, 11:34 AM)
r we having photography next sem?
All courses will have photography classes. It occurs in the 2nd year 2nd term if I'm not mistaken.
Xiven
post Jul 1 2009, 12:13 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(kelsoo @ Jun 30 2009, 11:53 PM)
depending on your course, for AD is 2nd year 2nd sem, for DG and ilust is 2nd year 2nd sem as well i think. for MM is 2nd year 3rd term
But MM gets to learn filming first, haha.

Our filming comes in 3rd year 1st term, now for my case. =/ Damn stress.

This post has been edited by Xiven: Jul 1 2009, 12:14 AM
Xiven
post Jul 5 2009, 09:28 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(nikeshock @ Jul 5 2009, 06:05 PM)
u really like photography or u just like the camera? thats two different thing. people nowadays like the camera more than photography, its like im holding a dslr and i look cool. get what i mean? are you like that? or friends have dslr so u wanna get one also?
Well, what he can always do is read about all the technical aspects of a normal digital camera first. When I mean all, I mean really going full manual playing with the ISO, shutter speed[though there is little selection choices, but still!], the white balance, and if your digicam is high end enough, aperture.

Having a DSLR doesn't mean your pictures will be better, it's just that you understanding of the camera will be more advanced compared to digicam users, but one step at a time.

You can still learn alot just from a digital camera, and well, right now I believe you can loan a DSLR from the operations department. =) They are using Canon D1000 and another which I forgot the series.

After all that, then decide. But I would still recommend getting one regardless. At least after all that effort, you can go up to your parents with full confidence, ya? And get your DSLR earlier. Haha!

0.0184sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:33 PM