84 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Regarding The One Academy!, Students from there hop in!

cymon
post Dec 11 2008, 01:19 PM

digital artist regenerated
758 posts

QUOTE(rainyrin @ Dec 11 2008, 12:21 PM)
hi
I just finished spm..and all these years i've been dreaming of being an interior designer..but my mother wants me to get a better career like doctor,engineer or architect. I followed her advise and took science stream..I got quite good results for my trials and now she's expecting me to get good results for my spm and continue study in medic field..but I love arts so much. I want to be an interior designer but my parents didnt want me to..perhaps the income is small..I dont know what to do..
after reading some posts in this topic about art field of business,I'm scared..only a few people did really success..

Is st okay if I choose medic or engineering..or just following my heart choosing art field? I dont know can handle it..but..i want to have a good life..doing things that i like most..
it can't really tell what is the best future from what you study.
some ppl really have different kind of career from what they study.

myself is gradute interior architecture but now most of my jobscope is concept design due to the market down trend.
i choose my career wisely in beginning but later i discover myself more interested in 3d modelling, concept art/design & fx.
but i still love interior design which i still work at it.

it is common case.
just ask your self, what you love best.
it is your sturdy and your career, so i guess it is better youself to make a decission.
take some time to think about it. nod.gif
rainyrin
post Dec 11 2008, 04:52 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(cymon @ Dec 11 2008, 02:19 PM)
it can't really tell what is the best future from what you study.
some ppl really have different kind of career from what they study.

myself is gradute interior architecture but now most of my jobscope is concept design due to the market down trend.
i choose my career wisely in beginning but later i discover myself more interested in 3d modelling, concept art/design & fx.
but i still love interior design which i still work at it.

it is common case.
just ask your self, what you love best.
it is your sturdy and your career, so i guess it is better youself to make a decission.
take some time to think about it. nod.gif
thanks..
is it better if i choose architecture
then continue with interior design ?
my father said it is better because i could have more options..but i dont want to study for a long time..hehe..lazy me.. biggrin.gif

I know a guy who study medic but ends up hating it and repeat his years in uni for Law instead which equal waste of money and time. Meaning, just
follow ur heart desire if u think u are up to it but frankly just bear in mind, art field aint that successful in Malaysia. Possible just move somewhere else. To be a successful artist, you also had to remember just because u have an interest, doesn't mean you can earn big buck by simply selling ur design. U have to go out, find clients, networking, travel overseas and be lucky to fully be successful.

I was once like you, but ends up against it and go for engineering instead because i think art as hobby and not full-time profession because to make it into a profession, u will tend to hate it in the end (probably just for me) when reality sets in. Just question urself first weather if this is truly what you want?

rainyrin  Posted Today, 01:21 PM

hmm..had to fikir masak2..still had a few months..
I dont want to end up with the wrong decision..lol..so hard..

WinterzForum
post Dec 11 2008, 07:39 PM

Excuse me, but may I know what are the portfolio needed for the registry.Some example might be good.
Is it the kind that I did in school asignments or the new ones I will need to paint ? hmm.gif

one A4-sized portrait drawing (pencil drawing),
one landscape or still-life composition (colour drawing, any size)
and one free composition (any media, any size)

As for the 3rd one , does it mean I can draw whatever I like... but i still not sure ...please give me some examples...
icon_question.gif

In my forecast I got 5 A's and I was thinking that whether skipping to the degree is a more time saving then going through the foundation or diploma ?

what are the advantages of taking up foundation/diploma? blink.gif
cymon
post Dec 11 2008, 08:18 PM

758 posts

QUOTE(WinterzForum @ Dec 11 2008, 07:39 PM)
Excuse me, but may I know what are the portfolio needed for the registry.Some example might be good.
Is it the kind that I did in school asignments or the new ones I will need to paint ? hmm.gif

one A4-sized portrait drawing (pencil drawing),
one landscape or still-life composition (colour drawing, any size)
and one free composition (any media, any size)
As for the 3rd one , does it mean I can draw whatever I like... but i still not sure ...please give me some examples...
  icon_question.gif

In my forecast I got 5 A's and I was thinking that whether skipping to the degree is a more time saving then going through the foundation or diploma ?

what are the advantages of taking up foundation/diploma? blink.gif
now a day there are no standard default portfolio size, smile.gif
it depend your works.
if are good with a3, you can even go with it.
even you have not good at it, pls bring along. it is ok.
as for the 3rd, draw something you are good at it.
let your talent/skill shine at here.

degree don't have worry about how many A you got.
now most of the art/design school is running " you pay what you take, we teach what we take" laugh.gif
you pay them for degree cert, they will accept you good, bad or ugly.
they more into business than education.
that why you can see dozen of art/design school in such a small country.
we are more art/school than certain country like japan, australia, uk...
"you got money, you can open one..you got money, they take you.."

advantages of taking up foundation/diploma is learn the foundation/diploma's stuff smile.gif
those are very important element you need to know.
you can't skip it.
taking a degree is not bad ideas at all. it help you to learn more advance thing but mostly theory.
you won't regret this, if you aim for big company or work at foreign country.
WinterzForum
post Dec 12 2008, 10:41 AM

@cymon
oh... so now here is all depend on whether you got money or not...=.=

anyway...thanks

Added on December 12, 2008, 10:51 amOh... For The one academy... any open days lately this month or next?
How about the scholarships ...?

Is it really true that TOA are only work work and no play play? So scary one meh?

This post has been edited by WinterzForum: Dec 12 2008, 10:51 AM
carsonoel
post Dec 14 2008, 07:16 PM

Sol.
703 posts

QUOTE(WinterzForum @ Dec 12 2008, 10:41 AM)
@cymon
anyway...thanks

Added on December 12, 2008, 10:51 amOh... For The one academy... any open days lately this month or next?

Is it really true that TOA are only work work and no play play? So scary one meh?
we play also, but when we work we tend to lose sleep ; when we play, we sometimes tends to trade playtime over worktime, hence the lost of sleep in the end. It's only no fun when you want it to be that way cool.gif
TSbooblegum
post Dec 15 2008, 01:42 PM

128 posts

Hey i'm wondering what about Interior Design?

Which college do you guys recommend if i wanna take that course? Raffles? KBU? TOA? Any ideas? THank you so much smile.gif!
cymon
post Dec 15 2008, 02:56 PM

758 posts

QUOTE(WinterzForum @ Dec 12 2008, 10:41 AM)
@cymon
anyway...thanks

can be say that.
as i mention before now a these day the education became bussiness industry.
it is no more tight or porfolio value to intake the students.

some university/college even have design course which is out of their pro coverage course.
from this you can see what going on at education.

imagine taking graphic design at harvard, interior design at princeton or fine art at m.i.t smile.gif
rainyrin
post Dec 16 2008, 12:55 PM

140 posts

Added on December 16, 2008, 12:55 pm
QUOTE(booblegum @ Dec 15 2008, 02:42 PM)
Hey i'm wondering what about Interior Design?

Which college do you guys recommend if i wanna take that course? Raffles? KBU? TOA? Any ideas? THank you so much smile.gif!
I want to know about these too..looking for the best place to study interior design.

This post has been edited by rainyrin: Dec 16 2008, 12:56 PM
Trinity
post Dec 16 2008, 04:32 PM

188 posts

Hmm, I dun recommend TOA for interior. Just my opinion. I'm toa student also.
bluesoul
post Dec 17 2008, 04:09 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(Trinity @ Dec 16 2008, 04:32 PM)
Hmm, I dun recommend TOA for interior. Just my opinion. I'm toa student also.
whats your major course
Dhang
post Dec 17 2008, 09:34 AM

131 posts

How's their Digital Animation? Anyone here willing to share their experience regarding the course?

This post has been edited by Dhang: Dec 17 2008, 09:35 AM
SUSi-scream
post Dec 17 2008, 09:45 PM

24 posts

Hello, i'm student from TOA. You can log on to www.toa.edu.my for more details.

BUT BUT BUT, TOA is kinda tiring. tell you first... /gg
zxV
post Dec 18 2008, 01:29 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(rainyrin @ Dec 16 2008, 12:55 PM)

Added on December 16, 2008, 12:55 pm

I want to know about these too..looking for the best place to study interior design.
Hello there,same on me,I also would like to know which is the best place to study interior design?how about LUCT?
and

hi cymon,sorry for bugging tongue.gif ,so you're graduated in Interior Architecture isn't it?actually what its about in this IA and what does it study regarding this course,IA?is it a course whereas a combination between the architecture and interior designing?cos i was kinda interested in interior stuff and planning to study IA, smile.gif hoping for ur reply..thx

skindred
post Dec 18 2008, 02:34 AM

283 posts

-------------

This post has been edited by skindred: Mar 4 2011, 10:56 AM
cymon
post Dec 18 2008, 02:56 AM

758 posts

QUOTE(zxV @ Dec 18 2008, 01:29 AM)
Hello there,same on me,I also would like to know which is the best place to study interior design?how about LUCT?
and

hi cymon,sorry for bugging tongue.gif ,so you're graduated in Interior Architecture isn't it?actually what its about in this IA and what does it study regarding this course,IA?is it a course whereas a combination between the architecture and interior designing?cos i was kinda interested in interior stuff and planning to study IA, smile.gif hoping for ur reply..thx
basically more on creativity site builder lesson, material study/calculation, interior design, basic 3d visual software lesson, history of art, machine study, plan drafting and modelling lesson.
but those i mention above is only available at second year and i fought out most of the subjects is no more at the currents IA lesson.
so good news is less study and bad news is learn something less.
i believe most of the pro IA designer will never teach coz they earn more from the project field and only leave the semi pro back to teaching the new generation..

sooner some lesson like history of art will disappear at time..

i don't think there is the course combination between the architecture and interior design.
both are different platform but under same field.
you can't master both subject the same time too at the very short period like 3 years time.
the lesson of IA is more flavour to interior design overall but with some basic architecture knowledge.

architecture is sort like manufacture and interior design is like packaging.
both are important.
nowaday nobody will buy anything that non-packaging,right?
well, take your time and choose your best pick pal. smile.gif

wish you all the best at your study smile.gif

This post has been edited by cymon: Dec 18 2008, 02:57 AM
zxV
post Dec 18 2008, 01:27 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(cymon @ Dec 18 2008, 02:56 AM)
basically more on creativity site builder lesson, material study/calculation, interior design, basic 3d visual software lesson, history of art, machine study, plan drafting and modelling lesson.
but those i mention above is only available at second year and i fought out most of the subjects is no more at the currents IA lesson.
so good news is less study and bad news is learn something less.
i believe most of the pro IA designer will never teach coz they earn more from the project field and only leave the semi pro back to teaching the new generation..

sooner some lesson like history of art will disappear at time..

i don't think there is the course combination between the architecture and interior design.
both are different platform but under same field.
you can't master both subject the same time too at the very short period like 3 years time.
the lesson of IA is more flavour to interior design overall but with some basic architecture knowledge.

architecture is sort like manufacture and interior design is like packaging.
both are important.
nowaday nobody will buy anything that non-packaging,right?
well, take your time and choose your best pick pal. smile.gif

wish you all the best at your study smile.gif
hi there,really thanks for ur information regarding the IA field smile.gif
so which means IA is more to interior design study while some basic to architecture knowledge,i got it then.

would u mind to recommend which college is better in study IA?
sorry to everyone,PINJAM THREAD here.. tongue.gif

zaephyrus
post Dec 18 2008, 01:52 PM

Being a TOA student that has never failed any subject nor semester, I can vouch that it's not that lifeless in TOA after your first two horrible semesters in your foundation year.

The worst part is the Figure Studies class - you have to hand up 2 portraits of people per week, spending roughly 4-6 hours per piece to get the optimum results. After a few classes the quality deteriorates because you ultimately sacrifice this subject for other major presentations you have to finish up at the end of the semester. tongue.gif

I won't deny that several young women are often seen acting flirtatiously with and showing boobage and ass-cracks to every breathing male organism in college - the lecturers/tutors to gain favour and to ultimately get higher marks despite the low quality of their work, or to get them to help them with their work, and the young male students to get them to finish their assignments for them.

[ Seriously! You come into class and the first thing you hear is some hiao girl saying "Omg sirrrr, you look so handsome today!" ... Wtf? ]

Work hard, play hard, get your results. If you know how to juggle your time effectively instead of stoning away without getting anything done, you'll be fine. I've classmates who club on a regular basis every week or so but still pass up their assignments and get relatively high marks because of their quality work. A lot of us also work part-time AND have fun outside of college while getting good marks.

There will be those who seem to retake countless semesters... but then again, that's because they don't even bother giving any form of work that's up to par, nor do they even bother putting in any proper effort in the first place. For TOA, you can't complete a final project that you were given 5 weeks to plan, design and execute within an hour and expect decent results if you don't have the skills to back it up.

In short, those who fail usually deserve it. They fail, blame the lecturers and say that the lecturers are picky and overly detail-oriented, choosing to favour everyone else but seem to have some sort of vendetta against them, and then whine continuously until the end of the semester they retook, and... fail again. See a pattern?

At the end of the day, a lot of these ARE the rich b-stards who are really spoilt and can afford to waste their parents' money. But not all of us are like that, and we do have a lot of fun while completing our assignments on the side.

Don't stereotype TOA students into a) Rich/spoiled kids and b) Zombies simply because that seems to be the majority that make their obnoxious views known. tongue.gif There're all kinds.

That aside, you're better off choosing another college for Interior Design. Just sayin'.

TSbooblegum
post Dec 18 2008, 03:46 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(zaephyrus @ Dec 18 2008, 01:52 PM)
Being a TOA student that has never failed any subject nor semester, I can vouch that it's not that lifeless in TOA after your first two horrible semesters in your foundation year.

The worst part is the Figure Studies class - you have to hand up 2 portraits of people per week, spending roughly 4-6 hours per piece to get the optimum results. After a few classes the quality deteriorates because you ultimately sacrifice this subject for other major presentations you have to finish up at the end of the semester. tongue.gif

I won't deny that several young women are often seen acting flirtatiously with and showing boobage and ass-cracks to every breathing male organism in college - the lecturers/tutors to gain favour and to ultimately get higher marks despite the low quality of their work, or to get them to help them with their work, and the young male students to get them to finish their assignments for them.

[ Seriously! You come into class and the first thing you hear is some hiao girl saying "Omg sirrrr, you look so handsome today!" ... Wtf? ]

Work hard, play hard, get your results. If you know how to juggle your time effectively instead of stoning away without getting anything done, you'll be fine. I've classmates who club on a regular basis every week or so but still pass up their assignments and get relatively high marks because of their quality work. A lot of us also work part-time AND have fun outside of college while getting good marks.

There will be those who seem to retake countless semesters... but then again, that's because they don't even bother giving any form of work that's up to par, nor do they even bother putting in any proper effort in the first place. For TOA, you can't complete a final project that you were given 5 weeks to plan, design and execute within an hour and expect decent results if you don't have the skills to back it up.

In short, those who fail usually deserve it. They fail, blame the lecturers and say that the lecturers are picky and overly detail-oriented, choosing to favour everyone else but seem to have some sort of vendetta against them, and then whine continuously until the end of the semester they retook, and... fail again. See a pattern?

At the end of the day, a lot of these ARE the rich b-stards who are really spoilt and can afford to waste their parents' money. But not all of us are like that, and we do have a lot of fun while completing our assignments on the side.

Don't stereotype TOA students into a) Rich/spoiled kids and b) Zombies simply because that seems to be the majority that make their obnoxious views known. tongue.gif There're all kinds.

That aside, you're better off choosing another college for Interior Design. Just sayin'.
Woah nice input, yeah i've heard quite a lot of girls doing their flirtacious gestures, oh noooo shant away!

I'd like to ask, is Interior Design and Interior Architecture the same? I really have the passion for this line, and i think it's the most "solid" out of all the art types i've seen, but that's just my personal preference. I really want to study in a good college regarding Interior or Interior Archictecture, and i'm hoping if anyone can just share a few colleges i can check out? (running out of time you see haha!)

I've heard of KBU, TOA, LKW, LUCT, Raffles.. i really dont know what to pick, but definitely not LKW. TOA seems good but their Interior course is new, so, having doubts about entering there. So what do you guys say?

HELP THE SEVENTEEN YEAR OLD!! Thanks.
TheGyreMotion
post Dec 19 2008, 07:04 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(booblegum @ Dec 18 2008, 03:46 PM)
Woah nice input, yeah i've heard quite a lot of girls doing their flirtacious gestures, oh noooo shant away!

I'd like to ask, is Interior Design and Interior Architecture the same? I really have the passion for this line, and i think it's the most "solid" out of all the art types i've seen, but that's just my personal preference. I really want to study in a good college regarding Interior or Interior Archictecture, and i'm hoping if anyone can just share a few colleges i can check out? (running out of time you see haha!)

I've heard of KBU, TOA, LKW, LUCT, Raffles.. i really dont know what to pick, but definitely not LKW. TOA seems good but their Interior course is new, so, having doubts about entering there. So what do you guys say?

HELP THE SEVENTEEN YEAR OLD!! Thanks.
uh

This post has been edited by TheGyreMotion: Feb 11 2009, 01:57 AM

84 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:35 AM