What will Indy IV have to be to satisfy you?

TSBurgaFlippinMan
post May 9 2008, 10:22 PM, updated 18y ago

Wachaaa!
6,486 posts

For me, I'll be more than happy if it matches The Last Crusade. Yes, Crusade is easily the weakest of the three movies so far but its still miles ahead of most stuff produced today. Its probably too much to hope for the mindblowing perfection of Raiders or the offbeat genius of Temple of Doom. Even if it does fall a tad short of Crusade, I'll probably be satisfied. How about you guys?
firedauz
post May 9 2008, 10:42 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

I'd say the "hope" that it'll beat Raiders and TOD is still reachable.
Hollywood technologies had been better these past few years, that's a good point.
Add that with a good adventure storylines and an awesome music score.
And you get the best of the best thumbup.gif

Some might argue "meh, nothing much" - expect this from the young Matrix generation. However, given it going good, the tides may turn to the likes of good receptions of comeback movies such as Rambo and Rocky.

Maestro! THE MUSIC!

"tet-tenet-teeet.... tet-tenet.... TET-TENET-TEEEET... TET-TENET-TET-TET!" notworthy.gif
carpathia
post May 9 2008, 10:43 PM

2,619 posts

personally, i think its kinda way too late for another indy movie now. Harrison ford is really not a good actor as he used to be. my prediction is that this movie will bomb, regardless how well the new guy is in this movie as it cannot live up to everyone's expectations
+3kk!
post May 9 2008, 10:47 PM

8,275 posts

up par with the indy series.
TSBurgaFlippinMan
post May 9 2008, 11:00 PM

Wachaaa!
6,486 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ May 9 2008, 10:42 PM)
I'd say the "hope" that it'll beat Raiders and TOD is still reachable.
Hollywood technologies had been better these past few years, that's a good point.
Add that with a good adventure storylines and an awesome music score.
And you get the best of the best thumbup.gif
I do not think that special effects are what make the Indy movies so special. They always had a rough somewhat lo-fi look. Music wise, JW is in no way the same composer as he was in the 80s (though I won't say necessarily for worse or better). Judging frm the Amazon samples, he does revisit some of his 80s action sounds (the woodwinds are back for one) while also having a lot of his frenzied modern atonal stuff. Whether he'll produce big melodic throughlines based action sequences instead of post Lost World motivic fragments is something that remains to be seen. No..Raiders is 99% unassailable, ToD is a bizzare quirk which KOTCS is obviously not. LC remains the target for me. smile.gif
sidthesloth
post May 9 2008, 11:14 PM

174 posts

heh for me the last crusade is the best indiana series.
sean connery and harrison ford fits together so well in that movie.

for me the latest indiana jones movie got to have the classic indiana music (when he "tarzaning using his whip") u got to have the TENG TENG TENG music and it better not be remake the music into some kind of twisted version funky music.
too much cg is also a big no-no. i want realistic stunts like the previous movies.
Makakeke
post May 9 2008, 11:23 PM

310 posts

Yup, as long as it matches the weakest of the trilogy (which I think is The Last Crusade, entertaining though, jz ain't superior than the 1st 2) will suffice. I'm not expecting much though, never do when it comes to sumer movies.
SanosukeSagara
post May 9 2008, 11:58 PM

2008 2008
1,193 posts

the music.. the the theeee theeee the the the
hahaha..
and the rope swing..

SUSHITMAN316
post May 10 2008, 12:18 AM

73 posts

As always, the old school Indiana Jones' adventure and action sequences must be good. The script, it is better to have the qualities of the script of Raiders of the Lost Ark and The Last Crusade, I mean the script of Indy IV should be less humor than The Last Crusade, and less serious than Raiders, and not as dark as The Temple of Doom.

After all, can't wait for May 22. I am going to watch a Indiana Jones film in cinema, as I am only about six months old when The Last Crusade was released, and appreciate the classic Indiana Jones character in theatre.
SihamZhai
post May 10 2008, 12:22 AM

Green Droid Lover
1,035 posts

Still got his kick-ass moves can dy
PhoenixByte
post May 10 2008, 04:15 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

I just hope it's enjoyable like the National Treasure series coz I love it and it's almost the same genre as Indy only that it's got techy gadget.

Witty dialog, the puzzles, the somewhat related to real events and yeah the bad guys that at first was allies but then screws you biggrin.gif
Makakeke
post May 10 2008, 08:51 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ May 10 2008, 04:15 AM)
I just hope it's enjoyable like the National Treasure series coz I love it and it's almost the same genre as Indy only that it's got techy gadget.

Witty dialog, the puzzles, the somewhat related to real events and yeah the bad guys that at first was allies but then screws you biggrin.gif
National Treasure is no Indy my friend. It's not almost the same, it's a rip-off with Cage trying to be a Ford wannabe and all the ridiculous "twists/plots" coupled together. Forget about National Treasure and go back to the authenticity of the Indy adventure genre wink.gif
ifer
post May 10 2008, 09:23 AM

4,637 posts

it could be purely for introducing his son.
a spin off in the future!
PhoenixByte
post May 10 2008, 10:13 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ May 10 2008, 08:51 AM)
National Treasure is no Indy my friend. It's not almost the same, it's a rip-off with Cage trying to be a Ford wannabe and all the ridiculous "twists/plots" coupled together. Forget about National Treasure and go back to the authenticity of the Indy adventure genre wink.gif
well i certainly don't care about that coz I enjoyed it nonetheless happy.gif and I also like Indy when I was a boy back in the 80s...another man's meat is another man's poison.

QuickFire
post May 10 2008, 10:42 AM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

As long as its fun it would be enough for me. Indiana Jones has always been about the fun, and for my money Raiders and Last Crusade are the best. ToD was great but not nearly as fun as the other two.

kobe8byrant
post May 10 2008, 10:44 AM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ May 10 2008, 10:42 AM)
As long as its fun it would be enough for me. Indiana Jones has always been about the fun, and for my money Raiders and Last Crusade are the best. ToD was great but not nearly as fun as the other two.
Thank God someone agrees that ToD wasn't as good as Crusade tongue.gif
TSBurgaFlippinMan
post May 10 2008, 11:38 AM

Wachaaa!
6,486 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ May 10 2008, 10:42 AM)
Raiders is perfct. ToD was awesome in its own offbeat and mean way. LC is very very likable, but in the end (especially if you've watched the movies a gazillion times) is just too dependent on cute humor, which makes Indy feel less hard boiled. Ironically, LC feels like Roger Moore to the Connery of Raiders (pun intended). ToD is amazing in the way they took this massive pop cultural phenomenon and did something way out of this world with it, akin to giving the middle finger to mainstreamness. Brilliant in its own way.

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ May 10 2008, 04:15 AM)

National Treasure is nothing but a revolting Indy knockoff with an eye on milking the Da Vinci Code hype. The only Indy knockoff worth its salt insofar is the The Mummy.

This post has been edited by BurgaFlippinMan: May 10 2008, 11:40 AM
kevler
post May 10 2008, 11:40 AM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

i'm waiting for this sequel since Spielberg announce it 8 years ago ..

whatever it is , Indy sequel is legendary.

this is my 1st ever Indy movie I will watch at theathre
Reimao
post May 10 2008, 01:44 PM

Hola~!
709 posts

Cant even recall all the Indi movies..i think i muz have jumbled up everythin as 1.. biggrin.gif

Nevertheless Im still anticipating the 4th installation of the Indi franchise..I hope it wont be a big flop..They better make a great adventure out of it..

As much as l love adventure flick, National Treasure 2 was a big let down..nothing much to shout about..The 1st one was much better and i somehow enjoyed it alot..
navilink
post May 10 2008, 03:39 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

i will be satisfied no matter what...gonna be my first time seeing Indi Jones on big screen...last time see Star Wars Ep 3 on big screen first time...I was like WOW...i feel the force that time

and one more...hope the movie dont be so literative, just pure goodness action would be enuf for me...

0.0170sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:23 PM