Renovations 3-phase wiring

iraz
post Nov 29 2012, 04:15 PM

21 posts

sifus,

would like to share my experience changing fr 1 phase to 3 phase. i had no idea the financial impact until i went thru the ordeal....All below are TNB cost alone.

Just renovated my semiD house. Since I have 13 AC plus some other equipments, I decided to change to 3 phase.
1. TNB Meter location was at next to one of the gate pillar. Since I expand the gate, I need to relocate the meter (and change 1 phase to 3phase meter). The cost to relocate the meter is a whopping RM8.5K - just to terminate the old 1 phase and relocate.
2. Cost to pull new 100A cable (3 phase) from TNB substation (50m away) to the new meter is another RM8.9K. This one is really bothersome as TNB needs to apply permit from local council to dig the road etc.

Work scope 1 and 2 involved two different departments from TNB.

I am still waiting for TNB to lay the new cable and currently my house is powered using the old 1 phase still. Note I am not using all the ACs, the most is 5 AC at a time.

My question: is item 1 is really reasonable/necessary - I cannot believe 8.5K just to terminate the 1 phase cable and relocate. Any feedback appreciated.
iraz
post Nov 30 2012, 09:16 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 29 2012, 05:47 PM)
Have you finish renovate and enjoying staying? Or still doing the renovation?

If you already staying and running 1phase, than continue using it and monitor any fuse blow that cause by overcurrent. (overuse) If it didn't happen, than save your money.

But if you pay everything already, than no choice but continue your 3phase.
Hi Ozak - Yes I have finished renovated. I Have paid item 2 but not item 1 as I am still arguing with TNB on the termination method.

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 30 2012, 12:15 AM)
You pay directly to TNB or agent?  Sound expensive to me. My neighbor change to 3 phase, but remain the meter on the wall, she told me is cheaper alternative but it sure look one kind with 4 cables loop in. Did not ask her the  actual conversion cost her, but she told me was not too bad, less than 5k.

Maybe your due to the covnersion and moving meter to the gate. Is the power pole right outside your house or accross the road?  SemiD may need 3 phase since you have 13 AC
Hi Weikee - I paid directly to TNB and they appoint their contractor. Item 2 I can understand since it will involved new cable plus labor but item 1 I think not reasonable. They will pull the new cable from substation (not power pole) which is about 50ft (not m as per my earlier posting) from my house.
iraz
post Dec 12 2012, 08:38 PM

21 posts

Really sorry to hear this bro...i feel for you.

Yeah dealing with TNB is suck big time for me lah.. They dont have one centralise customer service center..nobody being assigned to my case...its up to me to check and see the appropriate person...

0.0140sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:48 PM