Renovations 3-phase wiring

Trande
post Dec 9 2016, 01:17 AM

Hello knowledgable sifus, I have come to seek for advice. My new house which is a twenty year old apartment can't boil water with an electric kettle and microwave food at the same time. The electricity will "jump".

The fuse on the wall states 40A and I think it is a single phase without db box. It's an old antique wooden box wacko.gif .

My question is can I upgrade to to be able to support 4 a/c, 1 instant water heater, oven, microwave oven and electric kettle/hob if on simultaneously?
Trande
post Dec 10 2016, 06:36 PM

QUOTE(Richard @ Dec 10 2016, 12:55 AM)
What you are asking cannot be answered without first checking the type, size and condition of your existing electrical wiring..

The simple answer would be to size the required copper conductor to your maximum demand but that is dangerous without knowing the existing load and condition of that circuit..

Please get a competent electrician to check the condition of your existing house wiring..

The electrician will carry a minimum of two measurement tools..

One is a clamp on ammeter to measure amperage and the other should be an insulation tester..

He will see your existing distribution board measure out the load and test the insulation..

Only after that will you get a qualified answer..

Hope that helps..
Thank you very much for the prompt advice! thumbup.gif I shall engage an electrician soon.

0.0320sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:42 AM