1.public capital protected select portfolio fund
2.public far east balanced fund
3.public far east consumer themes fund
4.public focus select fund
5.public smallcap fund
6.pb australia dynamic balanced fund
7.pb balanced fund
8.pb growth fund

Reading rtsusa replies, how do i check if any of the unit trust i listed above invest heavily in equity?

This post has been edited by nightzstar: May 26 2011, 09:52 AM
nightzstar
post May 26 2011, 11:05 AM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(gark @ May 26 2011, 09:59 AM)
Read the annual report, monthly factsheet and/or prospectus, you can get this online or through PB agents. If you are not willing to find out or do not understand, don't simply buy.  rolleyes.gif

Do some homework, it will benefit you greatly with some financial knowledge.  sweat.gif
am still learning lol. still don't understand yet blush.gif
nightzstar
post May 27 2011, 11:07 AM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(transit @ May 26 2011, 12:14 PM)
1 Public Capital Protected Select Portfolio Fund - closed on 11 September 2008
2 Public Islamic Opportunities Fund - closed on 09 November 2010
3 Public SmallCap Fund - closed on 05 May 2011
4 Public Islamic Bond Fund 15 June 2010
5 Public Islamic Sector Select Fund - closed on 29 November 2010
6 Public Bond Fund - closed 10 January 2011

2 funds from your 8 funds listed closed for new initial investment. FYI only. I am not about PB series.  icon_rolleyes.gif
hmm when can i buy it? hmm.gif
nightzstar
post Jun 24 2011, 02:47 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

hello ladies and gentlemen, wanted to ask.:

1. If the prices of fund drop, do I lose the money and do I need to keep pumping money whenever the prices of a unit trust drop?

2. Why is it money will not lose even the prices of unit trust drop?

nightzstar
post Jun 24 2011, 04:00 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 24 2011, 03:28 PM)
1. If the prices of fund drop, do I lose the money and do I need to keep pumping money whenever the prices of a unit trust drop?
+ if the NAV drops, the value of yr units drop
Thus, of course U lose $ (on paper which is as good as reality if redeemed at that point)

+No, U do not NEED to keep pumping in $ whenever the prices of a unit trus drop.
Who told U so? It's totally up to U.
Some ppl do that to do value averaging down. However, note that while they value average down, that unit trust MAY not go back up  tongue.gif.
Think of it like this:
a. if that unit trust invested in Enron & WorldComm only.
b. The prices of Enron & WorldComm dropped tremendously, thus the Unit trust invested in them falls as well.
c. U average down the Unit trust and keep buying as it falls
d. The prices of Enron & WorldComm becomes $0
e. The Unit trust NAV becomes $0
f. Congratulations  rclxms.gif - no cost Unit trust  tongue.gif
Note: Having stated thus, i myself do periodic programmed value averaging (not just averaging down) in specific mutual funds for at least 3 years "program" per fund, based on Asset Allocation and filtered mutual funds for total returns (i want the volatility, thus focused on total returns) for 3, 5 and 10 yrs stats.
2. Why is it money will not lose even the prices of unit trust drop?
+Who said so? This universe or the next ar? Or U talking about those artificial unit trust by the Government, specially for certain segments of the rakyat?
If there is such an animal, please share the details and statistics. 0% of losing $ + unlimited % of upside = perfect, if there is such an animal  brows.gif
icic, so basically i invest 1k and if the unit trust price drop, i will lose few cents there. same like shares but the risk of losing money is not severe as in stock market?

This post has been edited by nightzstar: Jun 24 2011, 04:02 PM
nightzstar
post Jun 24 2011, 04:15 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 24 2011, 04:06 PM)
Bro Nightzstar, U can lose 40% to 70% in unit trusts / mutual funds - just like stocks leh, assuming equity funds. 2008 - equity funds fell 40%+/-. So, it's NOT a few cents if U invested $1K at 2007 end, more like $400 to $600  brows.gif
fuuu, like that not differ with stock market la??
nightzstar
post Jun 24 2011, 07:53 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

i know about it just the more i learn the more i confuse lol. Ah dono if it justified the rm250 paid for exam to get licences to become utc. I think i better become investor first and learn from the bottom
nightzstar
post Jun 25 2011, 07:58 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 24 2011, 08:30 PM)
Bro, IMHO, if you're getting MORE confused as U learn at this stage, may be it's the things U THINK U are learning OR the sources...  tongue.gif

Anyways, U dont need to know in-depth about investing and investment vehicles, asset allocation, methodologies, etc. to go take the exam and license to be a UTC. U can just be a Sales Agent mar as many are  brows.gif
but need to go for exam rite?
nightzstar
post Jun 25 2011, 08:43 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

multiple choice right?
nightzstar
post Jul 2 2011, 06:16 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 25 2011, 08:50 PM)
Yup, main tembak pun dapat 20% to 25% (i cant recall A to E, or A to D  tongue.gif ) probability correct. Add cow sense = 50 / 50 + read a bit more = 75 / 25 lar  brows.gif
any tips for the exam? feel demotivated to study lol

btw, can i get back the money that i paid to sit for the exam?
nightzstar
post Feb 5 2012, 08:04 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

btw, i wanna ask is hwangdbs income select fund good?

0.0469sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:31 AM