QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 31 2009, 07:44 PM)
OSK-UOB Capital Protected China A-Shares Fund - Series 2

Details: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../INV-Investment
this would be interesting, if it is not capital protected...i think
leongal
post Feb 4 2010, 09:22 AM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Jan 29 2010, 02:05 PM)
SORRY to say that i prefer to be my own fund manager  wink.gif
Quit UT few years back just want to confirm with some sifu like cherroy again whether my perception is correct or not.
if you have the time and knowledge, of course, doing yourself would be better; also you need to have a quite an amount of capital to build a well diversified portfolio
leongal
post Apr 7 2010, 10:56 AM

3,188 posts

wanna ask ur opinion, is unit trust a product or an asset class?
leongal
post Apr 7 2010, 03:59 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 7 2010, 12:36 PM)
It is a product which invest in multiple asset class depending on objective.  tongue.gif
yah, but alot of people (i.e. unit trust agents) are confusing it as an asset class
leongal
post Apr 22 2010, 02:03 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Apr 22 2010, 01:42 PM)
for the case of Public mutual, out of the 5.5%, agent gets 2.5% to 3.0% depends on your ranking. The rest will go to the Public Mutual.
As for the annual management fee/preformance fee/ trustee fee, they will all go to Public Mutual. I guess.
5.5% is too much, chinese saying: 未见官,已被打三十大板。
trustee fee will go to the trustee, not the utmc
leongal
post Aug 3 2010, 01:30 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 3 2010, 09:40 AM)
Now Available: 4 new Unit Trust funds!

Four new unit trust funds were launched on 19 July 2010 and are now available at Maybank. They are:

AmPrecious Metals
AmIncome Plus
AmGlobal Agribusiness
AmDynamic Bond

Learn more about Unit Trust Funds.

Details: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...d=/mbb/Personal
these funds are not new....already have track records for more than a year or two
leongal
post Aug 19 2010, 03:24 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 12 2010, 01:19 PM)
Any new capital protected funds?
osk-uob capital protected world mining fund
leongal
post Aug 20 2010, 05:05 PM

3,188 posts

The OSK-UOB Capital Protected* World Mining Fund (CPWMF) is a 4-year closed-end capital protected* fund which aims to provide capital appreciation over the medium term^ whilst protecting investors’ capital* on the Maturity Date.

^Note: "medium term" in this context refers to a period of 4 years.

The Fund will invest primarily in 4-year Zero Coupon Negotiable Instruments of Deposits (ZNIDs) to accord the capital protection feature of the Fund with the remainder of the capital raised invested in a 4-year over-the-counter (OTC) call option whose underlying is the World Mining Vol Target 10% Index (“WMF Option”) to generate the returns for the Fund. Any remaining cash is retained as liquid assets to defray the annual management fee.

CPWMF is suitable for investors who:

(i) have a low risk tolerance;
(ii) seek capital protection*;
(iii) seek potential returns from the exposure to the hard commodities sector; and
(iv) have a medium term horizon.

More information: http://www.oskuob.com.my/OSKUOB/page.jsp?name=funddtl_CPWMF

leongal
post Sep 15 2010, 02:10 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(blahbleh @ Sep 15 2010, 12:34 AM)
Just a quick question, do you guys think that this is the time to refrain ourselves from buying unit trust?

Seems market is doing quite good nowadays and price is high. However, the price market might be good for another (6?) months, and recommended for short term investment.

I'm referring to local stock market, focusing on unit trust investing in local equities.
because we can't predict the market - buy in small amounts on regular basis
leongal
post Sep 15 2010, 02:16 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Sep 15 2010, 02:11 PM)
whr can buy funds with low sales fee?

other than fundsupermarket
phillip capital
leongal
post Oct 26 2010, 01:44 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(mbhoo @ Oct 26 2010, 10:53 AM)
hihi all sifu,

and to lower the sc charge 5.5% can i do the following...
first time buy min rm1000 get the charge 5.5% ...
but dun wan monthly top up...
may be later when got money top up the fund .... the 2 time buy the same fund not charge 5.5% rite?

wrong, you will pay the same service charge 5.5% each time you enter into the fund, unless you switch from an equity fund to this fund, there could be no sales charge

leongal
post Oct 26 2010, 02:11 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(mbhoo @ Oct 26 2010, 02:09 PM)
thx for the information...

wa... then each time i go buy same fund oso kena 5.5% sc lol....  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
if monthly top up each time no sc rite... ?? rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

me .... bankrupt lol like tat ..
monthly top up will have service charge.....it is considered "new investment"; if you invest rm100, the actual amount being invested is RM 94.50
leongal
post Nov 4 2010, 11:07 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Nov 4 2010, 08:56 AM)
ICAP is a closed end fund, mutual funds are usual open ended funds. Close end fund means you have to buy and sell the unit among the investors, open end fund, you buy and sell with the manger. Each got it's own advantages.
hmm.gif Icap sounds more like a stock than a fund
leongal
post Nov 4 2010, 09:48 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Nov 4 2010, 09:18 PM)
I thought invest in for example, Public Mutual got no charges. For example, if you invest RM10,000, you will get back RM10,000 plus the profit divide with the bank.

Am i wrong?
yes, you are wrong

there will be upfront charges - which is the sales charge on your initial investment

they will have annual management fees, which is already calculated in the fund's daily pricing
leongal
post Nov 19 2010, 12:03 PM

3,188 posts

New fund on the list: AmIslamic Greater China fund

Objective

The Fund aims to grow the value of the investment in the Longer Term by investing in a portfolio of Shariah-compliant equities with exposure to the Greater China region namely in China, Hong Kong,Taiwan markets, as well as companies on Approved Equity Markets with business dealings in China.

Initial Offer Period: 21 days commencing from 8 Nov 2010 to 28 Nov 2010 at USD$0.20 per unit.
Financial Year End: 31 August.
Distribution Policy: Income distribution (if any) at the Manager's discretion.

Benchmark: S&P Greater China Shariah Index (obtainable via www.ammutual.com.my)
Investor Profile

The Fund is suitable for Investors seeking:

* investment exposure to the fast growing Greater China region;
* capital growth and appreciation through a portfolio of Shariah approved equities investments; and
* Longer Term investment goals.

Strategy

To achieve the investment objective, the Fund will invest a minimum 85% of the Fund’s NAV in a portfolio of Shariah-compliant equities with exposure to the Greater China region.

AmIslamic Funds Management Sdn Bhd is the Investment Manager of the Fund whilst Hamon Investment Management Limited has been appointed by AmIslamic Funds Management Sdn Bhd as the Sub-Investment Manager to manage the Fund’s Greater China portfolio.

The Investment Manager is responsible to manage the Fund in accordance with Shariah principles and that the underlying portfolio of investments is also Shariah-compliant. The Sub-Investment Manager is responsible for the asset allocation and stock selection for the portfolio.

Based on in-depth fundamental analysis, The Sub Investment Manager adds value by performing active bottom-up stock selection; picking securities without the constrain of market capitalization and growth or value styles which depends on the changing economic cycles and market conditions.

However, in attempting to respond to adverse market, political, or any other conditions, the Manager and Sub-Investment Manager may take temporary defensive strategy by maintaining a maximum of 100% liquid assets/cash weightings that may be inconsistent with the Fund’s principal strategy.

Asset Allocation:

* Up to 95% of its NAV will be invested in equities and equities related investments
that conform to the Principles of Shariah.

Source: Signal invest

Sales charge: 5%
leongal
post Nov 21 2010, 09:19 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(kenny5978 @ Nov 20 2010, 10:11 AM)
Public mutual is currently launching a new fund with Rm0.25 per unit
Public Bank’s wholly-owned subsidiary, Public Mutual is launching two new Islamic funds, Public Islamic Alpha-40 Growth Fund (PIA40GF) and Public Islamic Infrastructure Bond Fund (PIINFBF) on 16 November 2010.

http://www.publicmutual.com.my/page.aspx?n...rls_101115_1730
leongal
post Dec 9 2010, 02:29 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Dec 9 2010, 01:58 PM)
Maybank did offer 2.70% from the amount of RM10,000 i invested
so, if i took the 3 month scheme fixed deposit

Is this the right measure?
RM10,000 x 2.7% = 270 (for 1 month)
For 3 mths = 270 x 3 = RM810
So, at the end of 3 months, i will get RM810 or Maybank will cut another fee from that?
you mean you put into fixed deposit? is it not like investing

at the end of the 3rd month, you will get rm 10,000 x 2.7%/12 x 3 = RM 67.50
leongal
post Jun 13 2011, 04:05 PM

3,188 posts

just want to check - public mutual funds - the fund fact sheets only come every two months once? icon_question.gif

0.0714sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:11 AM