Fund Investment Corner v2, A to Z about Fund

dewVP
post Feb 20 2012, 04:26 PM

146 posts

Hi fellow senior investors, lately I have started investing in bonds funds and I went for Dynamic Bonds Funds by AmBank. The reason being the return for the past few teas have show a satisfying % for me.

My doubt is UT can help investors earn through dividend (interest) annually and capital (when you decided to sell off your bonds. Am I right on this thinking?

BONDS funds return = annual dividend interest + capital gain (when you decided to sell)?

Technically speaking, am I right? Returns is based on my annual % of capital.
dewVP
post Feb 20 2012, 06:48 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Feb 20 2012, 04:45 PM)
total return = income distribution(if any) + capital gain/lost

go to how to calculate ut in my signature.
So technically I'm right. Because Pinky (below) made the explanations a bit complicated by saying there's no real gain (left side in, right side out) etc etc. No hard feelings. It's just that I'm a slower learner.

Added on February 20, 2012, 6:50 pm
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 20 2012, 05:04 PM)
go study kparam77's blog thumbup.gif

Added on February 20, 2012, 5:07 pm

to add for DewVP:

Normally UNLESS u elected for distributions to be paid back to u in cash, by default the fund will reinvest the distributions for u in the form of additional units

In share investing it's quite similar to your bonus issue, which THEORETICALLY won't affect your holdings value icon_rolleyes.gif
Yes, I know. I choose to reinvest my distributions. But technically that distribution is part of my gain as well. But I'm just reinvesting my gain into my capital. Maybe for some people, reinvestment gain is NOT a gain?

This post has been edited by dewVP: Feb 20 2012, 06:50 PM
dewVP
post Feb 21 2012, 12:34 PM

146 posts

kparam.... I GOT IT ALL WRONG!

I calculated it the wrong way!

RM5,000 capital.
10% return.

RM5000 x 10% = RM500

Total = RM5,000 + RM500 = RM5,500 (total capital now)

But it's wrong.

You said the RM500 is paid to me based on my RM5,000. If that is the case, how I earn my money??? You explain further that all the dividends earned will be revert into units.... So one of the way UT earn is to make sure I accumulate lots of unit and selling it high to earn capital gain????

2. So is that why u mention above I need to set which one I want? Either capital gain or dividend? Cause if I choose not to reinvest my dividend, I get to keep my dividend. If I reinvest, there is a risk that unit price might drop and affect my capital gain?

This post has been edited by dewVP: Feb 21 2012, 01:18 PM
dewVP
post Feb 21 2012, 01:52 PM

146 posts

But dividends also play part of the role. Cause if I reinvest dividends, capital more... Units also will directly be increased right?

The unit price you referred to... Is it MY PERSONAL unit price OR the unit price in GENERAL... Cause I read the past trend of unit price. NEVER DROP BEFORE WOR...
dewVP
post Feb 21 2012, 03:05 PM

146 posts

so my average unit price varies every year?

Or I just need to calculate my profit every year... so that i can calculate the amount of ''EXTRA'' units i can get...

and then repeat the process every year.

Added on February 21, 2012, 3:08 pm
of cource if u re-invest ur distribution, meaning no minus from ur value plus more unit accumulated. ur average price will lesser.

how to calculate my average price every year.

Added on February 21, 2012, 3:09 pm
QUOTE(dewVP @ Feb 21 2012, 03:05 PM)
so my average unit price varies every year?

Or I just need to calculate my profit every year... so that i can calculate the amount of ''EXTRA'' units i can get...

and then repeat the process every year.

Added on February 21, 2012, 3:08 pm
how to calculate my average price every year.
NEVER DROP BEFORE WOR...???????
which one? from where u read this?

for AmDynamic at least. I look through their trend for the past 3 months. So far never drop before.

This post has been edited by dewVP: Feb 21 2012, 03:09 PM
dewVP
post Feb 21 2012, 05:31 PM

146 posts

Well, have to start learning from somewhere. I don't mind the criticism, as long as I'm doing the right thing.
dewVP
post Feb 21 2012, 05:57 PM

146 posts

That's actually not what I meant when I pointed out about the 3 months. Due to the lack of information on the unit price for the past 3 years, I'm just MERELY saying that the available record of 3 months seem to be showing upwards trend.

That's what I was trying to point out.
dewVP
post Feb 21 2012, 06:10 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Feb 21 2012, 06:01 PM)
ah.. my bad English comprehension then.
Anyhow, AmDynamic? I'm assuming AmDynamic Bond fund? Definitely ada more than 3 months data leh. Again, perhaps U chose to see 3 months only thus that's your reality. No probs though - peace  icon_rolleyes.gif
Might be due to my mistake for referring to the wrong place. No worries there. Pardon my ignorance. Cheers.
dewVP
post Feb 28 2012, 01:05 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 28 2012, 11:50 AM)
FSM got no agent wan doh.gif

AmDynamic 0% entry fee, 1% exit fee
Kenanga 2% entry fee
Sir, do you mind sharing the excel which you mentioned earlier? If it's not too troublesome or inconvenient of course.
dewVP
post Feb 28 2012, 04:13 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 28 2012, 03:56 PM)
oh kk.. meaning everytime i put money in, i gonna get charged 1%? or when i take out money?
Only when you take out the capital. If you opt for your dividends to NOT be reinvested into your capital, that dividend will NOT be charged. So technically only the capital.
dewVP
post Mar 2 2012, 09:15 AM

146 posts

Guys, need a small advice here. I already invested a handful of money inside AmDynamic bonds. And now have the extra cash to invest again. Would it be more advisable to invest MORE into Dynamic bonds or is there any better bonds to invest my money?

Reason being because Dynamic currently yields one of the highest returns for investing in Malaysia bonds. Is there any better recommendation for bonds funds for Malaysia and other type of bonds?
dewVP
post Mar 2 2012, 10:22 AM

146 posts

kucingfight, comparing Alliance Global Equities Fund and Dynamic? What is your say? I know that both have different kind of risk level.
dewVP
post Mar 2 2012, 11:11 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(transit @ Mar 2 2012, 11:03 AM)
Domestic Funds are lower risk than Foreign Funds. I like Domestic as well :-)
What Domestic are you currently holding, mate? Dynamic being one of them I suppose, since it has one of the best returns around.
dewVP
post Mar 19 2012, 03:01 PM

146 posts

Guys, mind helping me with my UT calculations?

I bought my 1st UT in February. And top up in March on 13th March (distribution date). So I add up both investment and calculate the average unit price. And use the current date (16th March) to calculate my profit/loss. And it's clearly that I have a loss, since the price of my first UT investment dropped significantly.

I choose to reinvest my dividends, but I not sure if I will be entitled to any distribution (from my first investment which is just 1 month before the distribution date). Will I get my distribution?

Cause if I'm not entitled to any distribution this round, I will be at a loss right? I have yet to receive any statement from my bank.

Do help me out.

p/S: Cause if I'm entitled to distributions (UT units), then I will NOT be at a loss. So question is am i entitled to distribution?

This post has been edited by dewVP: Mar 19 2012, 03:22 PM
dewVP
post May 9 2012, 03:40 PM

146 posts

What are some of the good equity fund to look at? Moderate risk equity fund. Hwang being one of them I believe.
dewVP
post May 25 2012, 06:30 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ May 23 2012, 11:58 AM)
recover back the SC or recover the lost in investment.

if u invest, SC will deduct from amount u invest. so,  it will take some time to recover SC. when it recovered, its call Break EVen.

or, if u lost money, the time it recovered the lost, its call Break EVen too.

Added on May 23, 2012, 12:02 pm

DCA is the method, where u get less unit for higher price and more unit for lower price. the cost per unit shud be cheaper than market price to give profit for u.
so for those that don't have SC, you're just generally waiting for your targeted profit?

I'm actually waiting for opportunity to SWITCH to another fund. My bond fund ONLY have a 1% exit fee. So i figure i make use of the no SWITCH charge and switch to another fund.
dewVP
post May 28 2012, 12:28 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ May 27 2012, 11:15 PM)
switching from low-loaded bond fund to loaded fund, need to pay SC.

r u sure switching no charge? PM? or FSM?
I invest through Maybank.
dewVP
post Jun 5 2012, 12:37 AM

146 posts

For those using FSM, how does it works?

Create an account, and link one of your bank account to FSM to buy UT is it? Or?
Thinking to start using FSM. Thanks!
dewVP
post Jul 7 2012, 09:49 AM

146 posts

A thought.

Normally there will be a wave before puasa/CNY/election. So isn't it better to try to invest into funds/shares before the wave (before election)? Rather to after election?

Yes; true no one know when is the wave. But normally the wave doesn't start until election date is announced. Anyone?

P/S: talking about equity fund to be exact.
dewVP
post Aug 19 2012, 05:28 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Aug 19 2012, 05:13 PM)
Uptrend for more than 2 months already.. Even my energy and gold also showing uptrend now..
Is it appropriate to say that malaysia bond fund shows a uptrend now? That's what my profit is telling me.

0.0270sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:34 PM