Fund Investment Corner v2, A to Z about Fund

SKY 1809
post Jun 14 2008, 11:52 PM

23,851 posts

A new investment link policy comes with an auto debit feature whereby if you do not pay your montly payment, the insurance premium is automatically deducted from your cash value ( savings/investments , units built up from previous payments ) so your policy is still in force. Provided you keep sufficient money/cash value in the accounts.

There is no interest charged ( traditiional policy does ).

It could be an added advantage. You can top up more to buy units ( investments ) so future premiums could be debited. It is flexible.

Of course, there are pros and cons too.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jun 15 2008, 09:46 AM
SKY 1809
post Jun 15 2008, 09:10 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ May 13 2008, 07:12 AM)
Oversubscription for Maybank Structured Deposit

Launched on April 15 2008, Maybank Alpha Centurion Structured Deposit (MAC) closed a week early on 7 May. The total deposit size has exceeded RM480 million, 60% more than the initial size of RM300 million.

Maybank Head of Wealth Management, Teh Cheah May said the response to MAC was quite overwhelming particularly in the present challenging market conditions. The attraction of MAC is the flexibility of investing in a 2 and 3 year tenure and the compelling strategy of generating potential returns in excess of the term deposits rates and is independent of any market conditions, be it bull or bear.

An all weather opportunities structured deposit, MAC offers 100% capital protection to investors when held to maturity and it takes the emotion out of investing during uncertain market conditions. It is an ideal product to complement existing investment portfolio of long positions.

URL: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/corporate/pres...08/080508.shtml
In time of uncertainties, investors usually looking for some certainty.

Capital Guarantee Investments perhaps work better with today investment climates. , the uncertainty and slower economy.

A good asset class when comes to asset/risk allocations. A good wealth protection tool.

It is my personal opinion that Capital Guarantee has a better capital protection than REITS , though not actually comparing apple with apple. The returns could be equally attractive as REITs on papers, actual performances may vary from one fund manager to another. Withholding tax on reits are quite high.

But for a period of 2 to 3 years is rather short for Capital Guarantee investment standard, especially for Maybank where the track records are lacking ( they sound too bullish )

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jun 15 2008, 10:33 AM
SKY 1809
post Jun 15 2008, 02:29 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(lwb @ Jun 15 2008, 02:17 PM)
hi,

don't ever take the word for it.. do you really understand this product?
do you know how this product derives it's underlying guarantee?
do you know all the variables that can influence/impact such guarantee status?
do you know what sort of efficiency/inefficiency in terms of cost to place such an guarantee for the issuer?

if you have no idea what i'm talking about.. you're merely buying shampoo at hypermarts.
If you think you know a lot of things about them.

It is time for you to share some things, good or bad of them. This is what this forum for.

We can debate here.

Honestly no one product is perfect to all, may be to some only. But in time to come, this product can be perfected. The bottom line is whether the banker could produce the desired returns as advertised. It could and might not, or doing better than expected.

If they do able to produce desired returns covering all the expensive costs, then it is fine.

And if you want to know the A to Z, then it is your duty to call up Maybank. It is not my job to do the A to Z and report back to you.

If an investor has 500k in FD, and wants to earn slightly better than FD without taking much risk. Supposing bank can only guarantee 65K of 500k if the bank is facing a problem.

What is your investment advice to be given to him or her, if he insists he wants 500k to be guaranteed and other than FDs ?

If you are given a job to perform as CEO of the company, basically your job is to solve the problems. You are not paid only to bring out the problems of the company,without offering any solutions.

I did mention some things about Guarantee product in other threads, and it is boring to repeat the same things again and again. I am sure no one is interested in it.

And till today, i have not heard that investors are getting less than Capital Guarantee. If you do, let us know.

Anyway, I am not the sales person for Maybank.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jun 15 2008, 04:38 PM
SKY 1809
post Jun 16 2008, 07:59 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(lwb @ Jun 16 2008, 07:25 PM)
i know my fund manager and their capability.. enough?
i managed a syndicated hedge funds before.. enough?

you only know their names.. what tok you?
What is the big deal if you managed funds before.

There are many US hedge funds went bust too. There were far too many fund managers failed badly.

Even a football team that had won a match 10 years back, it does not mean they are good forever.

You talk as if the whole world would collapse if without you.

Frankly speaking, the rich and the super rich do not have to go around , and telling people they are rich. Only those not so rich do that.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jun 16 2008, 08:22 PM
SKY 1809
post Jun 16 2008, 08:30 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(lwb @ Jun 16 2008, 08:21 PM)
so, everybody.. this is what i'm trying to illustrate..
for those who trust their fund managers blindly are as dumdig as yourself..
fund managers know what they're doing.. konon!
A professional Fund Manager by professional standard would not condemn other fund managers, and without doing any analysis.

Only the unprofessional ones do, and with lots of bad feeling at heart.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jun 16 2008, 08:31 PM
SKY 1809
post Jun 17 2008, 08:20 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Jun 17 2008, 04:34 AM)
lwb, thank you for your kind sharing with us. I really appreciate what you are trying to do smile.gif
So, since you said that, we all SHOULD interview each and every fund managers that we come across to assess their credibility.
To all investors and prospective investors, heed lwb's advice and get to know your fund managers.
A very good suggestion indeed.

Shall we start to interview those ( fund managers and ex fund managers ) who are actively in the forums ?

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jun 17 2008, 08:24 AM
SKY 1809
post Jun 17 2008, 01:24 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(ante5k @ Jun 17 2008, 12:45 PM)
just to clarify, the withholding tax for REIT at fixed at 15%. the word 'HIGH' would depends on how high you are tax(your tax bracket).
I apologise for using the word " high " because i think there were many investors who were pensioners or retirees ( zero tax group ).

I also want to clarify that I am a just salesperson not qualified at all to share the knowledge of Capital Guarantee ( the details of it ). And if you have doubt whether the product is indeed guaranteed , please approach Maybank. It is your money counts.

I saw many people asking about this product again and again, but only 1 person ( the moderator ) shared something on it. I talk in term of A to Z as this forum suggested and debatable. I have no idea who is fund manger in charge ( deemed to be important by others ). Fund management is totally out of my scope.

I just think this could be an alternate product to FD, since any FD amount exceeding 65K is not guaranteed by bank. Correct me if I am wrong.

There are some qualified fund managers in our forum, but mainly keeping sllence.

And sometimes, they prefer to act like the policemen than to share.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jun 17 2008, 02:45 PM
SKY 1809
post Jun 17 2008, 08:36 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(leekk8 @ Jun 17 2008, 06:01 PM)
Capital guaranteed fund is good in terms of capital guaranteed. There is no way you can lose your capital. However, there is tradeoff for this. Capital guaranteed funds normally invest 90% of it's money into money market (something like FD, short term loan), and only 10% is invested in share market. The 90% investment in money market will guarantee the investor to get back the capital at least. How much the investor can actually earn depends on how much the 10% money earn in share market.

Another disadvantage is, there is maturity date for capital guaranteed funds. For a 3-year fund, if the share market goes major correction at the period of maturity, then investors will lose the chance to earn money. For normal funds, if market goes correction, we still can hold it and wait for the market recover then only we sell or switch the funds.
Actually the company I tied to ( in Malaysia ) has launched many of this type of fund since Year 2001. Not a single investor complained that they got back than below the guaranteed amount, though a fund manager here mentioned of a non guarantee clause.

About the returns, i am not sure whether investors are happy or not. But recent sales of the product are good.

What you say on the 10% limited investment is quite true.

Short term of 3 years might be good if the share market turns good, then the money you get back can put into equity 100% ( depending on your risk profile ), if you use your money for safe parking at the present moment.

I am talking in turn of Malaysia, not not applicable to US or other parts of the world.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jun 17 2008, 08:59 PM
SKY 1809
post Jun 17 2008, 10:34 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(lwb @ Jun 17 2008, 10:10 PM)
now you see why i said what've said when certain forumer here claimed that the guarantee is always 100%
that was when i realized a financially immature guy is talking.
The Capital Guarantee Fund is only RM 100 million per launch. The bond is guaranteed by an International Insurance Co.

If you think a foreign international insurance cannot afford to pay out RM 100 million on bond guarantee, that is .

This company paid out about US $ 5 billion claims after Sept 11.

No further argument.

Thanks for pointing out the risks involved.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jun 17 2008, 11:15 PM
SKY 1809
post Jun 18 2008, 06:26 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(lwb @ Jun 17 2008, 11:45 PM)
you seems to be trying so hard to act smart.. for something that you knew so little. stop trying kiddo.
i don't have to "think".. it's already happening and happened. this is "after the fact" so to speak. how about this for your thoughts? not just public listed companies can go bust.. but even legit and sovereign government can go bust.. one just happened, a local municipal government.

i feel pity for your lack of reading.. if you rise above your own tempurung, you wouldn't say what you've said below.. well known and reputable insurance companies and re-insurance companies both have trouble and near insolvency because of margin calls.

It is all about the theory of how to fail. And I have read the book more than 10 years ago. Do not need to read another.

No point to discuss further.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jun 18 2008, 07:13 PM
SKY 1809
post Jun 18 2008, 04:24 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Jun 18 2008, 04:09 PM)
In a kind of way, I was thinking that a well-informed investor would not have a preference for capital-guaranteed products.

As cherroy mentioned, typically about 10% is invested in high-risk, high-gain products so that the potential overall gains could be better than just FD. What makes it worse is that the high-risk products could be at the lowest point in the cycle at the maturity date where you have to cash-up, whereas waiting a little longer to sell may have yielded significantly different (hopefully higher) results.

So why not just put 90% in FD, and 10% (or whatever combination you choose) in an aggressive UT where you have the flexibility to change as required and not be tied to a fixed maturity date?

Then again, these products typically have high minimum-amount requirements, so the customers they are trying to attract cannot possibly be classified as not well-informed.

Just putting out another viewpoint. No offence.
No harm done, we are here only to explore ways or merely discussing , and not the promoters of the scheme.

Agreed with you, the buyers ( majority ) are of the middle class and above, and the more informed group. The take up period is shorter than many other products ( like unit trusts ).

OT. For those ( If you are ) into financial services/selling, do respect investors' decisions. It is their decision, not ours. Do not criticise your clients on products that they purchased, especially from others than you. It is rather unprofessional. If the investors ask for you a second opinion, then do accordingly.

Just my 2sen.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jun 19 2008, 10:48 AM
SKY 1809
post Jul 15 2008, 08:26 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(insaint @ Jul 12 2008, 02:54 PM)

Recently i was approached by a Financial Planner from HLA, as he was presenting some FD+investment+Insurans plan which has at least 25% rate of return of the sum you insure...it's called HLA promise plan which offers a kinda attractive plan.

And the best thing is you can pay monthly yet taking the "at least" 25% interest and have a insurans attached like a FD growing with devidends payable when you surrender your plan or the term is over....

But before i am commited to this plan thought of asking some PROS overhere for some advice....

They also offers a rider plan which may double your interests in the event you are gone in the middle of the term.

Any advice and opinion from you guys??

thanks in advance
Any insurance plan comes with a promise of 25% return a year would surely go against (DGI ) Bank Negara Malaysia's
guidelines. No insurance company would want to go against the guidelines. Correct me if I am wrong.

25% is capital to be returned, and not profit from investments, I believe.

For any insurance plan, the projection is below 9% for industry standard, higher than that would mislead the public.

Any reasonable Financial Planner would understand this.

just my 2sen opinion.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jul 15 2008, 09:59 AM
SKY 1809
post Aug 6 2011, 12:26 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 6 2011, 08:37 AM)
Yeah Transit - always learning from mistakes. I just wish it was other people's mistakes that i'm learning more from VS my own stupidity  tongue.gif
But you earn the reputation of our "Wong Sifu ", right.
SKY 1809
post Aug 2 2012, 05:39 PM

23,851 posts

well said , Wong Sifu notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 2 2012, 06:15 PM

0.0600sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:11 AM