19 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Fund Investment Corner v2, A to Z about Fund

SUSPink Spider
post Aug 23 2012, 04:48 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 23 2012, 04:12 PM)
Holy cow.. 70(FI) / 30(Eq) and still generating 7%pa?!  notworthy.gif
Must be your AmDynamic Bond fund pulling up the socks cow cow leh
AmDynamic Bond and Hwang Select Income Fund the strongest performers laugh.gif
OSK-UOB Emerging Markets Bond also playing its part
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 23 2012, 06:35 PM

16,872 posts

Regret not keeping detailed investment & withdrawal data...now if I wanna do a systematic ROI calculation, kena dig my FSM e-mails and input the data one by one mega_shok.gif

Worth the trouble or not leh hmm.gif

Currently I only maintain simple (Value - Cost) / Cost calculation for individual funds... doh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 23 2012, 09:37 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 23 2012, 06:40 PM)
Knowing U (numbers person), U'd do it tongue.gif
To get detailed per transaction's return (each transaction), total fund's returns (each fund) AND total investments' returns (which i think U have now).

(Value - Cost) / years aint too accurate one U've been running several years. Trust me - been there & hit by that before.
CAGR or compounded pa. is the holy grail mar right? Comparable to "no risk" FD rates & even mortgage rates (eg. to pay off mortgage or invest).

Me - i just have the first two only, and can't compute the total coz i keep pumping $ into my "investable assets", screwing up my "total" tracking  doh.gif
A whole day's off time would be gone doing this...wait til I got the luxury of time and fresh mind laugh.gif

*korek my Hotmail FSM folder*
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 23 2012, 10:00 PM

16,872 posts

Great...my FSM Purchase Order e-mails from earlier than year 2011 were deleted doh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 23 2012, 10:48 PM

16,872 posts

Wong Seafood,

How would u deal with Sales Charge in your CAGR worksheet? Especially when u have switched from Fund A to Fund B, and the SC of Fund A gets "credited" to Fund B, thus u need not incur SC on Fund B?

hmm.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 24 2012, 07:47 AM

16,872 posts

Similar to what I did previously, redemption value of Switch-Out fund becomes the cost of Switch-In fund. But I find that such way did not aid comparison between performance of different funds (the Switch-In fund will have a lower cost of purchase, cos zero SC, it starts with a "tongkat" tongue.gif ).

So what I did was, ALL SCs are taken as Transaction Costs which are treated as something like, "Portfolio Overheads", all funds are recorded at net purchase price (invested amount less SC). Performance of individual funds are compared on basis of current NAV vs average purchased NAV without SC.

What u guys think? unsure.gif

Added on August 24, 2012, 8:04 am
QUOTE(Macrusin @ Aug 24 2012, 12:58 AM)
Sifus,

Currently I'm holding funds as below
1. Eastspring Investments Asia Pacific Equity MY Fund
2. AMB Dividend Trust Fund
3. OSK-UOB Emerging Markets Bond Fund

I'm still researching & analyzing which developed market equity fund might be the most appropriate to add in my portfolio.

Hereby, i hope to gain more suggestions and ur recommendation^^
Right now, i'm aiming those undervalued & potential fund coz as you guys always said "buy low sell high"^^
kecil meow replying... blush.gif

Seems that many are buying AMB Dividend Trust Fund hmm.gif
Do u know that, Hwang Investment Management is the external manager for this fund? whistling.gif
And that Hwang Select Dividend Fund actually performed better than AMB Dividend Fund? rolleyes.gif
I believe FSM recommended the AMB fund only because it has a longer track record laugh.gif

IMHO, it is not that straightforward to pick a good developed market equity fund, as it is harder to outperform consistently with developed market equity than with emerging/Asia Ex-Japan ones. Yesterday I briefly browsed thru FSM Singapore, even their best developed market equity fund could not deliver half the returns of Kenanga Growth Fund. tongue.gif

Just pick one that u like its investment mandate. At least its your choice, kalau salah pun hanya boleh salahkan sendiri. laugh.gif

My recommendations:

Alliance Global Equities
- 1/3 in developed markets, managed passively; 2/3 in Asian markets, actively managed
- strong performer
- but be careful of overexposure to Asian markets in your portfolio should u pick this fund

OSK-UOB Global Equity
- relatively low volatility as it focuses on dividend stocks
- as at 31 July its exposure is roughly 77% developed markets, balance in Asia/emerging markets

Eastspring Investments Global Leaders
- seeks out undervalued stocks that are (or have potential to be) their industry leaders
- about 80% in developed markets, overweight US (about 40%+) and Japan

Pacific Global Stars
- from what I read in its prospectus, its approach is more technical than fundamental (seeks stocks that have potential to outperform the market)
- weighting between developed markets and Asian markets is close to 50/50, so be careful of overexposure to Asian markets

Added on August 24, 2012, 8:08 amWong Seafood, just to add, "Portfolio Transaction Costs" will affect porfolio performance evaluation, but will not affect individual fund performance evaluation.

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 24 2012, 08:08 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 24 2012, 08:41 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 24 2012, 08:13 AM)
Ah.. cool, U got my gibberish without screenshots  sweat.gif

Well, in my situation, i usually (99.99%) SWITCH only between Equity <--> Bond funds, to either lock-in some profits into bond funds OR enter into equity market. Thus the SC "paid" by the first time Equity fund in (loaded units) is not comparable to Bond fund SC
ie. the 3% or 5.5% (or my actual cost of 1.5%+ or 2.75%+) for Equity funds VS 0.25% Bond Funds doesn't my tracking much as Equities' returns <> Bonds' returns.

I guess one will have COMPARATIVE problems when U often SWITCH between Equity to Equity or Bond to Bond funds only.
ie. SWITCHing between same class causes comparison issues during one's review of transactional / fund performances if the 2nd Fund "does not pay SC" as the 1st Fund paid SC and is loaded already.

If i were to accumulate all SCs as some sort of overhead - how to absorb to each transaction and at what basis? especially when Equities' and Bonds' SC varies wildly.
If i don't absorb these overheads, how to calculate CAGR as close as possible? only simple calc & averaging can be done - unless there are some other methods of calculation lar (pls share share - maths baka here).
I'm a P lesen akauntan, remember? tongue.gif

1 solution I see to this is...

Fund performance evaluation
- Current NAV to Average Purchased NAV comparison (SCs excluded)
- CAGR for individual fund on NAV-to-NAV basis

Portfolio performance evaluation
- Cash flows (SCs will come in here) vs Current Portfolio Value comparison
- CAGR for portfolio would be based on actual cash invested analysis

What I lack now is time data to calculate CAGR doh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 24 2012, 09:00 AM

16,872 posts

Nav to nav performance published is not YOUR nav to nav returns tongue.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 24 2012, 09:07 AM

16,872 posts

Yea, we too anal sometimes doh.gif

Analysing n doing excel sheets is fun, SOMETIMES laugh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 24 2012, 09:45 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 24 2012, 09:17 AM)
it's bloody fun when U see your net worth AND investable assets grow at x.xx% pm tongue.gif
And during yearly reviews.. and in 3 to 5years time, go.. whoa... i didn't know something that simple can have such impact...  drool.gif

Yes yes, i'm a gamer at heart - "hitting the next level" and seeing the "stats grow" monthly, quarterly, yearly, etc. (RPG gaming & levelling up anyone?) is addictive and an incentive for me to keep "plugging along"  laugh.gif
Yea, it keeps us going, like, "hey this is REALLY better than FD/EPF!!!" drool.gif

*back to reality, starting work*

Added on August 24, 2012, 10:16 amWow the magic of Excel punya XIRR function...no need to design long and complicated formula...thanks Wong Seafood wub.gif

Wait, will withdrawals/switching outs mess up the XIRR function? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 24 2012, 10:20 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 24 2012, 01:07 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 24 2012, 12:29 PM)
er.. withrawals/switching outs doesnt mess (much) from mine coz i've a separate "SOLD/SWITCHED OUT" worksheet to capture realized gains/losses
VS
held & paper gains/losses
tongue.gif - bad habit carried forward from my stock trading days (ie. paper vs realized)
Yea I know, switchings will not affect the portfolio returns (because no cash movements involved), but it will affect returns of individual funds.

Just tested, XIRR function will take care of outflows too. rclxms.gif
Tonight will get my transaction data from FSM to do a new worksheet. 3 years' worth of data to churn. sweat.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 24 2012, 04:24 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Aug 24 2012, 03:57 PM)

Added on August 24, 2012, 3:58 pm

Wah.. you also another sifu la. So cleaver on XIRR and learn it in a short time!
Senang je...what I did was, I create a simple case study and used the XIRR function. Then, I test the figure generated by XIRR by doing a more manual calculation of IRR. Both methods produced the same figure. wink.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 24 2012, 05:06 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Aug 24 2012, 05:00 PM)
Wong, we do include the subsequent distributions amount into the XIRR calculations right? Those are considered the 'different time of investment' too, I suppose?
Distribution is NOT a cash flow, it is merely "left hand go right hand", should be disregarded in the XIRR calculation.

Unless you elected to receive distributions in cash i.e. not reinvested, then yes, it should be taken into account.

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 24 2012, 05:07 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 24 2012, 05:25 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Macrusin @ Aug 24 2012, 05:23 PM)
So, pink. Since you said so, should I add in a developed market equity fund into my portfolio?  hmm.gif
Or else seek for other equity fund in other sector?  icon_question.gif
There is no right or wrong, it all depends on your risk appetite and your view on developed markets equities.

For me, I still believe in the potential of DM equities.

Why?

Even though the growth is in Asia, but what brands and products are Asians buying? icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 24 2012, 05:26 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 24 2012, 05:51 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Macrusin @ Aug 24 2012, 05:46 PM)
Ermm...what if my risk appetite is high.
Then should i go for DM equities?
Or else do u hv other recommended equity funds for high risk taker?  flex.gif
notworthy.gif
Just my 1 sen worth of opinion - do include some exposure to DM equities nod.gif

Idea of the Week: Europe – Continentally Enticing! (Despite A Debt Crisis) [24 Aug 2012]

caveat emptor brows.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 24 2012, 06:06 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Aug 24 2012, 06:01 PM)
Aiya Pink, don't like that - of course I know that. I was thinking since we do include subsequent distribution into the calculation when calculating the value of investment as per latest date, whether we should include in XIRR when calculating returns too.

Since the former way of calculating latest investment value is indirectly calculating returns too.
No no no, if u elected for reinvestment of distributions, u have to exclude it from the XIRR calculation.

TIP - Only include actual CASH FLOWS (buys and withdrawals) in the XIRR calculation

In XIRR, u are comparing

A - your cash investments
against
B - the current value of your investment (units x current NAV price)

Distributions will only come into play in B

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 24 2012, 06:06 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 24 2012, 06:30 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 24 2012, 06:29 PM)
See-food always hungry wan biggrin.gif, hyper-metabolism, U won't believe how much i eat a day sweat.gif
See, Pinky know also wielding "the XIRR force" easily now - just need to structure the cash flow out & in/current total value with dates.
Need to mix it with IF() for more powerful and automated leverage <does a Jedi hand wave> heheh - er.. i hope i'm not turning this thread/topic into an Excel tutorial  notworthy.gif
Apasal mau pakai IF pulak sikalang blink.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 24 2012, 10:24 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Aug 24 2012, 09:08 PM)
I also makan banyak la.. so same same. Maybe we can set a date after September.. tongue.gif

I notice when I use XIRR(), my result will always be #NUM!

But if i put my final column value a negative value, there is a value coming out which I think should be correct on the annualized return..

8/18/2011        20,000
11/20/2011 10,000
3/12/2012        0
3/16/2012        12,000
3/30/2012        45,000

Above example I am getting #NUM!

When I change the 45000 to -45000, i get something...

You know why? Or anyone can help me?
XIRR function must be used with - and + values

Either your investments in - and end value at +
Or vice versa
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 24 2012, 10:56 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 24 2012, 09:38 PM)
See, TakoC also picked it up sup sup water.  thumbup.gif
Think cash flow -(ve) or +(ve) and total current value at the end

Added on August 24, 2012, 9:42 pm
and that is why one can couple IF() to automatically set a column used by XIRR to -ve or +ve and also do other funky stuff

IF() can be coupled to SEVERAL NESTED IF() and/or AND() & OR() or both. er.. i think we better take this to the BKT or SUBWAY table before mods come after our butts for turning this Funds thread/topic into an Excel tutorial  sweat.gif

Lots of changgih stuff can be automated, even grabbing data from websites and auto updating all your value held / NAVs * units etc.. ok that's my last spiel on Excel  notworthy.gif
Excel discussion is directly related to management and review of our fund investments, if mod come nuke this I'm gonna nuke the mod vmad.gif

Added on August 24, 2012, 11:05 pmExcel 2003 at home cannot do XIRR cry.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 24 2012, 11:05 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 24 2012, 11:15 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 24 2012, 11:11 PM)
Anyhow, 2003 boleh do XIRR leh, UNLESS your 2003 at home is HOME/STUDENT or FREE edition. If Standard or Professional edition, sure can wan - just need to add the Analysis ToolPak.
Done, lucky I still keeping my old MS Office installer CD sweat.gif

Added on August 24, 2012, 11:16 pmNow, let the work begin flex.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 24 2012, 11:16 PM

19 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:32 AM