1,723 posts

Thor (2011)

By Odin, it is GOOD.

It's NOT perfect, it is good.

Asgard NEVER looked so good.

This movie is ALL about duality.

Interesting how "heaven" seem so... Shakespearean... (Thor, Clash of the Titans etc)

I LUV the interpretation/representation of the rainbow bridge (BiFrost)

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE the beginning of the movie

Tom Hiddleston is PERFECT as Loki

I do have some bones to pick though

Please stay after the movie, there are AS USUAL tidbits!

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Apr 28 2011, 11:50 PM
kadS
post Apr 28 2011, 11:51 PM

344 posts

5/5 nuff said,
better than battle la shit.
stargazer_7
post Apr 29 2011, 12:04 AM

89 posts

The effects are simply dazzling. I love the futuristic feel of Asgard, its like meshing mythology and sci-fi together.
Chris Hemsworth is excellent as Thor. From an arrogant *******, to a confused human, then a remorseful son, and finally a true warrior, he couldn't hide his charm throughout the movie, especially when he smiled... biggrin.gif
Tom Hiddleston who played Loki is equally impressive too. And I appreciate the way they made Loki a complicated character, instead of a plain one-dimensioned villain seeking for power.

The same, however, cannot be said for other characters. Natalie Portman is there just for the sake of being the chick. Her character, Jane Foster, basically did nothing at all the whole movie besides being consistently concerned about Thor. Same goes to the four Thor's sidekicks. We know virtually nothing about them, except that they are loyal to Thor. I didn't even catch their names in the movie. I hope that the inevitable upcoming sequels can correct this out. At least give us who never read the comic books some backstory about those characters..
Ohh and the action scenes are..kinda..boring...to me. The CGI may be awesome to watch, but the fighting is anything but thrilling. From the beginning where Thor fought the Frost Giants right until the 'climatic' battle between Thor and Loki, I kept hoping for something that would excite me, but I never saw it. The scenes are too short, each time starting with Thor waving his hammer and ending with Thor stop waving his hammer, as nothing seems to stand a chance against the mighty Mjolnir.

Hmm well if you are looking for mindless entertainment, this movie is strongly recommended. It is much better than Clash of The Titans, but still has a long way to go to match Iron Man. Its a typical fun-to-watch yet forgettable Hollywood movie.

P/S This movie is converted to 3D in post-production instead of being filmed in 3D. Which typically means watching in 3D is nothing but a waste of money. Still, would like to hear feedback from people watching in 3D too..
Razaelx
post Apr 29 2011, 12:11 AM

219 posts

^^cool review bro

n thanks for informing bout post production 3d convertion

dont want to feel like watching clash of the titans again vmad.gif

btw tron also didnt really feel the 3d...was it converted in post production also ? hmm.gif
stargazer_7
post Apr 29 2011, 12:25 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(Razaelx @ Apr 29 2011, 12:11 AM)
^^cool review bro

n thanks for informing bout post production 3d convertion

dont want to feel like watching clash of the titans again vmad.gif

btw tron also didnt really feel the 3d...was it converted in post production also ? hmm.gif
Haha, this forum thread might be useful for you.
http://forum.blu-ray.com/3d-blu-ray-movies...-converted.html
Dunno whether the list will keep updating or not though..
FYI, Tron is filmed in 3D, not converted..according to it..
Razaelx
post Apr 29 2011, 12:36 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(stargazer_7 @ Apr 29 2011, 12:25 AM)
Haha, this forum thread might be useful for you.
http://forum.blu-ray.com/3d-blu-ray-movies...-converted.html
Dunno whether the list will keep updating or not though..
FYI, Tron is filmed in 3D, not converted..according to it..
thanks for the link biggrin.gif , but looks like it is not updated anymore
hairyLGS
post Apr 29 2011, 12:48 AM

209 posts

Just came back from watching Thor.

No wonder it works! One name says it all - J. Michael Straczynski... and what the hell - he even appear in the movie! Of course Stan Lee is there too...

Anyway - this movie is worth it. Just the story enough will do. The special effects is alright for me (seriously, good enough) and Chris Hemsworth carry it well as Thor. So is Tom Hiddleston as Loki. True enough, the love scenes are platonic... but who cares - I go for the story and that's good enough.

If you ask me - I just hope when Captain America is showing - it is as good as this!

P/S:- There is a certain cameo appearance in the film I am sure nobody noticed - CLINT BARTON! Who is he? HAWKEYE (played by Jeremy Renner!)! He appears only a minute over only! I am sure nobody knows this because he is not in costume!

Also, stayed on till the end credits end:-

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Apr 29 2011, 12:49 AM
Sniperwolf1987
post Apr 29 2011, 12:56 AM

 No iPhone No Life 
1,251 posts

worth my every ringgit in this movie .. far more better than ironman 2 ~ touching love story between thor and jane ...rated 10/10
Razaelx
post Apr 29 2011, 01:04 AM

219 posts

dayummm all this good reviews, make me want to see this movie asap !!

post Apr 29 2011, 01:11 AM

53 posts

damn cinema cut off the credit part....me ish sad...
Darah Harimau
post Apr 29 2011, 01:13 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Apr 29 2011, 12:48 AM)
Just came back from watching Thor.

No wonder it works! One name says it all - J. Michael Straczynski... and what the hell - he even appear in the movie! Of course Stan Lee is there too...

Anyway - this movie is worth it. Just the story enough will do. The special effects is alright for me (seriously, good enough) and Chris Hemsworth carry it well as Thor. So is Tom Hiddleston as Loki. True enough, the love scenes are platonic... but who cares - I go for the story and that's good enough.

If you ask me - I just hope when Captain America is showing - it is as good as this!

P/S:- There is a certain cameo appearance in the film I am sure nobody noticed - CLINT BARTON! Who is he? HAWKEYE (played by Jeremy Renner!)! He appears only a minute over only! I am sure nobody knows this because he is not in costume!

Also, stayed on till the end credits end:-

I knew it haha, knew since he appeared in the miniclip posted few weeks ago....
hairyLGS
post Apr 29 2011, 01:23 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Darah Harimau @ Apr 29 2011, 01:13 AM)
I knew it haha, knew since he appeared in the miniclip posted few weeks ago....
If someone watched the Comic Con line-up of the cast for Avengers, they will know Jeremy Renner there appearing in Thor. But I guess not many paying attention... laugh.gif
hyperx
post Apr 29 2011, 01:33 AM

||Lunatica||
1,198 posts

superbly awesome!

after watching this movie i gained so much momentum.. now im afraid i may get disappointed with fast 5 next week icon_question.gif
incognito
post Apr 29 2011, 01:37 AM

i've got a hunger, twisting my stomach into knots
2,402 posts

haha yeah i caught his cameo... i was giggling to myself when he appeared biggrin.gif

i thoroughly enjoyed chris hemsworth's performance... he's immensely charismatic (only last saw him in the opening 10 mins of star trek previously). hopkins was also very imposing as odin, i thought he'd ham up the cheese factor but he manages to find a nice balance to his portrayal.

marvel are on a winning streak here. can't wait for captain america next. bring on the avengers!
hairyLGS
post Apr 29 2011, 01:53 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(incognito @ Apr 29 2011, 01:37 AM)
haha yeah i caught his cameo... i was giggling to myself when he appeared biggrin.gif

i thoroughly enjoyed chris hemsworth's performance... he's immensely charismatic (only last saw him in the opening 10 mins of star trek previously). hopkins was also very imposing as odin, i thought he'd ham up the cheese factor but he manages to find a nice balance to his portrayal.

marvel are on a winning streak here. can't wait for captain america next. bring on the avengers!
When I saw him in Perfect Getaway - he really look bada$$. He got me thinking the way he portray his character. Got my attention real quick. But with Thor now... he got it right and luckily not some goldilocks guy laugh.gif

Well, I just home Captain America is also doing well too - Avengers 2012... that means, trailer should be coming year end. Hope they have something good... icon_rolleyes.gif
MHR
post Apr 29 2011, 03:25 AM

312 posts

awesome movie, going to see it again
madcrow
post Apr 29 2011, 09:16 AM

39 posts

Thats a lot of good reviews up there.. For me, it just kind of fell apart halfway through as if Branagh went up and said: Frak it man

It became a bit campy and cheesy with the flow of the film being distorted at times. And come on man, you expect me to believe Thor goes from arrogant and reckless to humble and wise after just two days? The movie is quite forgetable but its a summer blockbuster and I'd have to agree on the fact that there were some great special effects.

But I would say that Hemworth fit the role perfectly as Thor.
n00b13
post Apr 29 2011, 11:52 AM

364 posts

No wonder it works! One name says it all - J. Michael Straczynski...
Who also wrote Ninja Assassin. biggrin.gif

Anyway, I really liked it too. It does everything a comicbook adaptation of Thor needs to do, it looks great, the action scenes are cool, the characters are fun, and the main character is established perfectly. I also noticed that they made sure to make it fun - there are quite a few humourous bits, and they balance the seriousness just right.

I'd say it's almost as good as the first Iron Man. (And definitely better than the second.)

kueks
post Apr 29 2011, 12:38 PM

Playstation
6,437 posts

hmmm waited till the 1st part of credits... still they don cut out the credits to show the extra scenes then only continue credits back sad.gif

wat is it about ?
fookie
post Apr 29 2011, 12:42 PM

What?
622 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Apr 29 2011, 12:38 PM)
hmmm waited till the 1st part of credits... still they don cut out the credits to show the extra scenes then only continue credits back sad.gif

wat is it about ?
the cinema i went didnt show the extra scene. the dude had to tell me. sudah habis. lol

19 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0233sec    1.02    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:01 PM