Advisable to use EPF to payoff house loan?
TSadccs
May 6 2008, 12:28 PM, updated 18y ago
Just need opinion from sifu here.
As we know EPF money is our pension fund & recent years ppl r already talking our current EPF money will not be enuf for our retirement. Our EPF money will greatly diminish if we take it out to payoff our house loan.
Well some ppl say, to use EPF money to payoff loan will help save us a lot of bank loan interest.
Should we saving the few thousand ringgit of bank loan interest or to have enuf EPF money for retirement?
lelongkidd
May 6 2008, 12:52 PM

no worry for your retirement plan. KWSP dun allow you to withdraw all your epf fund from there. they only allow 30% for housing loan.
correct me if i'm wrong.
b00n
May 6 2008, 01:07 PM
delusional
There was previously a debate on EPF abuse which from the thread goings quite similar to answering your question: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=519300Anyway, it's all about proper financial planning. Look at it this way, the earlier you settle all your debt; the faster you need to focus on maintaining your wealth. Btw, why do we need to rely on EPF to sustain your retirement?!..... EPF money alone is not going to be enough to sustain your retirement depending on how you spend. Added on May 6, 2008, 1:12 pmA thread on retirement savings if you're interested: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=678274This post has been edited by b00n: May 6 2008, 01:12 PM