Discussion Season 07/08 Best Buy, who do u think?

TSvivi99
post May 6 2008, 11:34 AM, updated 18y ago

484 posts

biggrin.gif hi there, want to know peoples opinion about which manager got the best buy in this season
If u play Football manager, u always wanted to buy for less money but gain a lot.. tongue.gif
haha, in real life also the same
so lets vote for the player best buy this season!! rclxms.gif

Please use this format...

player name:
price :
Reason to be a big bargain:

let me start first

Player name: Bakary Sagna
price : around 7 million pound
Reason to be a big bargain: he is turning into the best right back in EPL

Vote for ur choice!!
u can name 2 or more players

CURRENT TOP BEST BUY/BARGAIN

STRIKER(GOALS PER POUNDS RATIO)
1. ROUQE SANTA CRUZ
2. EL NINO TORRES
3. ????

MIDFIELDER( PASS COMPLETED, ASSIST, INFLUENCE IN TEAM)
1. ???
2. ???
3. ???

DEFENDER ( ROCK SOLID DEFENCE, MINIMAL MISTAKE, CRUCIAL TACKLE )
1. BAKARY SAGNA

Anyway here are the review Season 07/08 Best buy from Soccerner.com
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story...ab1pos1&cc=4716

This post has been edited by vivi99: May 15 2008, 04:26 PM
aBs-
post May 6 2008, 11:38 AM

1,165 posts

fernando torres..
no doubt about that
kikurazz

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

player: Fernando 'El Nino' Torres
price: forgot - 20 mil? tongue.gif
reason: 1st season, scored so many goals - need any other more reason? laugh.gif
nazman

1,200 posts

player name: Roque Santa Cruz From Bayern to Blackburn
price :£3.5 million
Reason to be a big bargain: 36 appreance 19 goals in first season with Blacburn...
faris21
post May 6 2008, 11:44 AM

Newbies
4,453 posts

El Nino get my vote rclxms.gif
Rush need worry now bcos El Nino will break his record
mokhzaini
post May 6 2008, 11:52 AM

278 posts

it has got to be Santa Cruz.
he was on what...3.8 million?

and scores nearly 20 goals.

what a machine
corez
post May 6 2008, 11:52 AM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

Nando Torres. notworthy.gif

Remind me of RvN, gelled with the team almost immediately in debut season.
Apis_LuaLua
post May 6 2008, 12:09 PM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

Me also go for Torres. Tevez and Santa Cruz be in my list too.
nazman
post May 6 2008, 12:20 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(Apis_LuaLua @ May 6 2008, 09:39 AM)
Me also go for Torres. Tevez and Santa Cruz be in my list too.
Manchester United put forward a proposed two-year loan deal for Tévez to the Premier League, which was approved on 10 August
MADReaLJL
post May 6 2008, 12:21 PM

4,050 posts

tevez is not a signing, united just loan him from kia
vutsi
post May 6 2008, 12:22 PM

-+#***#[OO]#***#+-
747 posts

santa cruz, sagna n torres...smile.gif
nazman
post May 6 2008, 12:22 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ May 6 2008, 09:51 AM)
tevez is not a signing, united just loan him from kia
that why i corrected his post tongue.gif
gry
post May 6 2008, 12:25 PM

Red Warriors
780 posts

Santa Cruz
3.5 million
24 goal in first season
better than torres coz santa cruz playing for blackburn with average player
torres great but got very good supplier such as gerrard,babel
sanesaint
post May 6 2008, 12:28 PM

359 posts

def santa cruz for me.
nazman
post May 6 2008, 12:32 PM

1,200 posts

guys..only BPL player only?..no from Laliga?Serie A?Bundesliga?..
btw Luca Toni/Ribery also a bargain signing from Bayern..
livingmonolith
post May 6 2008, 12:32 PM

821 posts

santa cruz should be the best bargain i would say. but if you take the transfer fee out of the equation, i'd go for torres anytime. defoe is quite a great signing as well for portsmouth.
MyDevil
post May 6 2008, 12:35 PM

7,480 posts

QUOTE(gry @ May 6 2008, 12:25 PM)
Santa Cruz
3.5 million
24 goal in first season
better than torres coz santa cruz playing for blackburn with average player
torres great but got very good supplier such as gerrard,babel
Yup, I would say Santa Cruz as well. 3.5 million for 24 goals (I check soccernet, it is 23 hmm.gif ) is a real steal.
PrinceOfPersia
post May 6 2008, 12:35 PM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

santa cruz and el nino biggrin.gif
yngwie
post May 6 2008, 12:48 PM

| Ãøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÃðmÑ!
3,092 posts

3+ golas from el nino speak for his worth. considering that it was his 1st season in bpl and he missed quite a number of match too.

credit should be given to roque santa cruz. he managed to bang in 2+ golas while playing for blackburn.
kikurazz
post May 6 2008, 12:54 PM

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

best buy/signing = torres

best bargain = santa cruz
edvpc
post May 6 2008, 01:00 PM

HardSun..... (IntoTheWild)
1,274 posts

QUOTE(kikurazz @ May 6 2008, 12:54 PM)

yes i agreed with u but i more like RSC coz he's low profile striker... tongue.gif must watch striker next season... flex.gif
BotakHead
post May 6 2008, 01:00 PM

GOD WEARS No. 7
1,607 posts

Santa Cruz for his GOALS/MILLION ratio biggrin.gif

He will do even better playing for a bigger club.
nizamhameed
post May 6 2008, 01:02 PM

6,437 posts

i will go with Santa cruz as well, but wait, this player need to overcome 2nd season syndrome...

This post has been edited by nizamhameed: May 6 2008, 01:02 PM
qspn
post May 6 2008, 01:09 PM

1,534 posts

My vote would have to be Torres. He has an excellent season with us. He need to improve on his goal scoring ratio in the away game as he only managed 3 goals in the EPL only.
teck_dq
post May 6 2008, 01:29 PM

~`HorriBLe Ador@bLe'~
1,148 posts

i will go for santa cruz also..
woundxp
post May 6 2008, 01:40 PM

366 posts

torres for me
SUSAzurues
post May 6 2008, 02:16 PM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

for me is sagna,robbie santa cruz..
both player with low amount of money can get such top quality already.

Duke Red
post May 6 2008, 02:22 PM

6,112 posts

Without a doubt, Fernando Torres. Why?

1) His signing was hyped up by the press, no doubt but his goalscoring record was all but impressive for Atletico. Fans were influenced by the media and expectations were high but several pundits had their doubts. After all, Fernando Morientes before him was a gem and scoring goals for fun all about Europe but came up short in the Premiership. This was a striker whose goals helped Monaco reach the finals of the 2004 Champions League Final no less. Needless to say, Fernando Torres has far exceeded my expectations.

2) He has adapted to the league like a fish to water. I did not expect him to be this strong and powerful. Yes, he may go down under light tackles so far but it's not everyday you see a slender kid from Spain out-muscle big blokes like Bikey.

He is selling more T-Shirts than Steven Gerrard, even in Liverpool. The fans sing his song every game even when he is on the bench. He has earned the respect of former Liverpool greats like Kenny Dalglish, Greame Souness and Ian Rush. He has scored more goals in one season than any other Liverpool striker since Robbie Fowler, despite playing alone up-front for much of the time.

Roque Santa Cruz was a shrewd signing no doubt but Fernando Torres far eclipses him in overall ability and my vote goes to him.
Meganova
post May 6 2008, 02:26 PM

Incomplete
953 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 6 2008, 02:22 PM)
Without a doubt, Fernando Torres. Why?

1) His signing was hyped up by the press, no doubt but his goalscoring record was all but impressive for Atletico.  Fans were influenced by the media and expectations were high but several pundits had their doubts. After all, Fernando Morientes before him was a gem and scoring goals for fun all about Europe but came up short in the Premiership. This was a striker whose goals helped Monaco reach the finals of the 2004 Champions League Final no less. Needless to say, Fernando Torres has far exceeded my expectations.

2) He has adapted to the league like a fish to water. I did not expect him to be this strong and powerful. Yes, he may go down under light tackles so far but it's not everyday you see a slender kid from Spain out-muscle big blokes like Bikey.

He is selling more T-Shirts than Steven Gerrard, even in Liverpool. The fans sing his song every game even when he is on the bench. He has earned the respect of former Liverpool greats like Kenny Dalglish, Greame Souness and Ian Rush. He has scored more goals in one season than any other Liverpool striker since Robbie Fowler, despite playing alone up-front for much of the time.

Roque Santa Cruz was a shrewd signing no doubt but Fernando Torres far eclipses him in overall ability and my vote goes to him.
So true, totally agree with your facts. smile.gif
services189
post May 6 2008, 02:56 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(kikurazz @ May 6 2008, 01:54 PM)

true,true! nod.gif
JuNz-V
post May 6 2008, 03:59 PM

Talk to the Stars!!
2,085 posts

for me, it is santa cruz n torres too..
kinfei
post May 6 2008, 04:45 PM

ENDLESS RAIN
1,109 posts

pardon me if i ruin the party here,but the media hype and the fact knowledge we know bout torres,it gives me a little surprise by how much his goal ratio compare to the strikers in BPL .but wait,santa cruz was come out from nowhere,he has helped blackburn to be in top 10 clubs in the league with an average quality that blackburn have (no offense).Torres where else get supplied everytime and actually get centered by his mates to rely him to score.
Duke Red
post May 6 2008, 05:05 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kinfei @ May 6 2008, 04:45 PM)
pardon me if i ruin the party here,but the media hype and the fact knowledge we know bout torres,it gives me a little surprise by how much his goal ratio compare to the strikers in BPL .but wait,santa cruz was come out from nowhere,he has helped blackburn to be in top 10 clubs in the league with an average quality that blackburn have (no offense).Torres where else get supplied everytime and actually get centered by his mates to rely him to score.
If I may offer my opinion:

1) Fernando Torres was talked about more because he plays in a league more people are familiar with, the La Liga. Roque Santa Cruz has already played 57 games for Paraguay and had made 155 appearances for Bayern Munich. I have seen him play for Paraguay before though not very often. I don't think many had even heard of him as he was playing in a less popular league. My point is, he didn't exactly come from "nowhere". That and Blackburn do have David Bentley (England U-21), Tugay (Turkish International), Matt Derbyshire (England U-21), Morten Gamst Pedersen (Norwegian International) and Benni McCarthy (South African International) in attack. They may not be the highest scorers in the league but they aren't toothless either. Brett Emerton is also a pretty decent passer of the ball.

2) Torres does receive passes but bear in mind that seldom does he score tap-ins or arrive just in the nick of time to nod a cross in. Much of the time he gets the ball 30 - 40 yards out and makes a beeline to goal by himself. Ask anyone who has watched him play with some degree of regularity. He creates a lot of his own chances.

3) It's true that there was more hype on Torres because he played in the La Liga, and he was signing for one of the "big four". If Man Utd had gone for Santa Cruz, you can bet he'd be headline news. Having said that, don't you think there was much more pressure on Torres to perform and score goals? Optimistic fans expected him to score 20 odd goals in his first season and he wasn't exactly prolific before signing for Liverpool. He averaged a mere goal every 3 games for Atletico. If that had continued, he would only have scored what? 13 goals for us in the league? What expectations were there on Santa Cruz? How much pressure was he burdened with?

This post has been edited by Duke Red: May 6 2008, 05:11 PM
deitylord
post May 6 2008, 05:07 PM

248 posts

torres + santa cruz for me
sanesaint
post May 6 2008, 05:11 PM

359 posts

well, it depends on how u see it. some people see santa cruz as the best buy as he has been an extremely shrewd signing for blackburn. 4 million = 20 goals? i mean, come on thats a pretty darn good deal.

others see torres as the best buy as he has scored goals for fun this season and has been liverpool's brightest hope this season.

it depends on how a person sees it i guess. i personaly feel santa cruz is the best buy this season, but torres isnt tht far off. neither is sagna
johnjenin
post May 6 2008, 05:12 PM

!~ Pura Vida ~!
1,352 posts

roque santa cruz is the best bargain for 07/08 season
uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post May 6 2008, 05:14 PM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

to me, best buy = best bargain = best player value for money...

no doubt this player gonna be santa cruz..torres perform above expectations this season for liverpool, but he come with some expectation and high transfer fees
J-Piggy
post May 6 2008, 05:21 PM

205 posts

Besides these 2(torres, RSC), elano is quite a bargain..
heavenhell90
post May 6 2008, 05:35 PM

1+1=11
1,271 posts

for me its sagna & santa cruz...

torres dont score in every match.... his high goals are like wat?? inconsistent.... sometimes 1 match din score at all... sometimes 1 match score 3-4 goals.... i dont know... maybe im wrong.... lol...
-Nos-
post May 6 2008, 05:43 PM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

Torres

R. Santa Cruz

Bakary Sagna
Duke Red
post May 6 2008, 05:43 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(heavenhell90 @ May 6 2008, 05:35 PM)

torres dont score in every match.... his high goals are like wat?? inconsistent.... sometimes 1 match din score at all... sometimes 1 match score 3-4 goals.... i dont know... maybe im wrong.... lol...
?

and I suppose Santa Cruz scores in every match?

Torres has at least scored in his last 8 Premiership appearances.

Added on May 6, 2008, 5:44 pm
I just have to add that I find your statement rather baffling.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: May 6 2008, 05:44 PM
J-Piggy
post May 6 2008, 05:45 PM

205 posts

There is no striker that scores in every match(even the time afonso alves at hevenreen) not scoring 1 match doesnt mean inconsistent... doh.gif
edvpc
post May 6 2008, 05:54 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(kinfei @ May 6 2008, 04:45 PM)
between this good 2 striker, only the best can score against United this season... tongue.gif
sorry no offense.just my 2 cents... icon_rolleyes.gif
J-Piggy
post May 6 2008, 05:58 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(edvpc @ May 6 2008, 05:54 PM)
between this good 2 striker, only the best can score against United this season... tongue.gif
what makes u think that only by scoring against united considered the best striker?jus bcos u r a manutd fans?Eto din score against Man utd in CL, is he 1 of the best? dun make me laugh. PLS!
angel82
post May 6 2008, 05:58 PM

246 posts

torres, santa cruz, sagna will be best buy of the season rclxms.gif

have to mention hargreave also, although he not much playing all season but he play vital role for MU for second half of season nod.gif
edvpc
post May 6 2008, 06:06 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(J-Piggy @ May 6 2008, 05:58 PM)
what makes u think that only by scoring against united considered the best striker?jus bcos u r a manutd fans?Eto din score against Man utd in CL, is he 1 of the best? dun make me laugh. PLS!
huhuhu i think many other fans will quote my posting... thumbup.gif
Eto din score so he's not the best... tongue.gif
i said between 2 striker only... biggrin.gif ok2 enough here and we end it here...chill... icon_rolleyes.gif

p/s : and u still can laugh if u want... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by edvpc: May 6 2008, 06:07 PM
J-Piggy
post May 6 2008, 06:10 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(edvpc @ May 6 2008, 06:06 PM)
huhuhu i think many other fans will quote my posting...  thumbup.gif
Eto din score so he's not the best... tongue.gif
i said between 2 striker only... biggrin.gif ok2 enough here and we end it here...chill... icon_rolleyes.gif

p/s : and u still can laugh if u want... sweat.gif
I know SAF get to buy those striker scoring against them and regarded them as best striker...
Saha , Tevez, Rooney all were bought(including tevez whether loan or watever shit) bcos they scored against man utd...but this is not proving that they are the best...Example is saha is a failure whether he is injury prone or not...he is stil a failed signing..

and if u think eto is not the best...wat makes u think rooney is? pls compare the goals..god bless u laugh.gif
edvpc
post May 6 2008, 06:14 PM

1,274 posts

bro dont take it so serious lah... laugh.gif
u really made me laugh also... laugh.gif thumbup.gif
J-Piggy
post May 6 2008, 06:15 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(edvpc @ May 6 2008, 06:14 PM)
bro dont take it so serious lah... laugh.gif
u really made me laugh also... laugh.gif  thumbup.gif
then laugh biggrin.gif
Hevrn
post May 6 2008, 06:30 PM

4,017 posts

Santa Cruz and Torres... the former tops it for me due to his goals per pound ratio.
nazman
post May 6 2008, 06:37 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(J-Piggy @ May 6 2008, 03:45 PM)
then laugh biggrin.gif
bro J-Piggy..edvpc is full of sarcasm tongue.gif ..but i like it..u must understand that from the beginning.. brows.gif

J-Piggy
post May 6 2008, 06:38 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(nazman @ May 6 2008, 06:37 PM)
bro J-Piggy..edvpc is full of sarcasm  tongue.gif ..but i like it..u must understand that from the beginning.. brows.gif
baru tau tongue.gif
edvpc
post May 6 2008, 06:41 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(nazman @ May 6 2008, 06:37 PM)
bro J-Piggy..edvpc is full of sarcasm  tongue.gif ..but i like it..u must understand that from the beginning.. brows.gif
how can u say that? hmm.gif tongue.gif
but i still voted for RSC coz he scored against MU this season... laugh.gif

p/s : bro J-Piggy plz ignore this post... tongue.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Hevrn
post May 6 2008, 06:44 PM

4,017 posts

What about Tevez? The transfers not completed yet, though I'd imagine Fergie will do his best to sign him. Carried on his form from last season with West Ham, despite having very little rest with the Copa and all...
edvpc
post May 6 2008, 06:48 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ May 6 2008, 06:44 PM)
What about Tevez? The transfers not completed yet, though I'd imagine Fergie will do his best to sign him. Carried on his form from last season with West Ham, despite having very little rest with the Copa and all...
maybe after he complete his signing he will top form and then he will vote as a good signing... thumbup.gif
who knows? tongue.gif
jam_lennon
post May 6 2008, 07:01 PM

4,156 posts

torres, worth every single penny...
sagna as well

tevez is good also, he'd been savior of mu for several times liao but he is loan

gidlcin
post May 6 2008, 07:06 PM

457 posts

no other than Mr EL NINO TORREESSSSS!!
clemong_888
post May 6 2008, 07:11 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

i think it settles it, clearly torres,sagna and cruz are the top3.

i personally think torres did well, better than my expectations with his price tag. 20mil pounds is nothing comparing to the fact that liverpool might not have been in the top 4 without his goals.

sagna, well, few players fit into arsenal from the start and his defence as well as attack and crosses really helped arsenal this season.

cruz, best quality per pound ratio smile.gif
-Shinjiz-
post May 6 2008, 07:41 PM

861 posts

When you look at my avatar and you will know who's the best buy of the season.

Although i might said it's quite expensive, he shows his improvement and able to adapt the EPL style quicker than everyone's expectation.
TSvivi99
post May 6 2008, 07:43 PM

484 posts

haha so many people questioning about who is the best between santa cruz and torres
for me, as Arsenal supporter, i'll choose the one who come with little money, so Santa cruz get my votes!!

emm, what do u think about eduardo, he looks to shine in the middle of the season but terrible injury got him in bed...pity him

Bought at 7.5m pounds and scores more than 12 goals in minimal appearance, quite a great signing
nazman
post May 6 2008, 07:49 PM

1,200 posts

so we decided best signing in terms how many goals they score??...how about midfilder?defender? they make the game too..anyone??..

This post has been edited by nazman: May 6 2008, 07:50 PM
TSvivi99
post May 6 2008, 07:52 PM

484 posts

what about michael Johnson of Man city
he looks very good in midfield, with a couple of goals as well
Elano also good

I want to say Nani was good, but with the price tag, i taken it back

Added on May 6, 2008, 8:08 pmwatch this video
top ten crazy goalkeeper

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/200...89520-20406500/

This post has been edited by vivi99: May 6 2008, 08:08 PM
mochamania
post May 6 2008, 08:31 PM

268 posts

torres gets my vote.. kudos to RSC too.. for his relatively low price.
Did anyone mention Mascherano at all? if im not mistaken he's officially signed this season after a short period of loan from west ham.
TSvivi99
post May 6 2008, 08:46 PM

484 posts

Macherano is still on loan at liverpool i think...
what about Jonathan Woodgate, who gaves Totenham the winning goals against Chelsea in Carling cup

he make a good partnership with Ledley King
uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post May 6 2008, 08:52 PM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(vivi99 @ May 6 2008, 08:46 PM)
what about Jonathan Woodgate, who gaves Totenham the winning goals against Chelsea in Carling cup

officially liverpool player already, paid $18M for him i think
kimurastanley
post May 6 2008, 09:26 PM

Freak
1,580 posts

Fernando Torres
<Kenji>
post May 6 2008, 09:59 PM

345 posts

Midfield : Elano + Petrov
ermm, Muntari ?

Def : Distin

m o m o
post May 6 2008, 11:40 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(vivi99 @ May 6 2008, 08:46 PM)

What?! Partnership with Ledley King? In bingo games you mean? King would probably need 17 different kind of jabs to dull his pain before he can even wear his boots! Almost non-existent partnership, one or two decent games doesn't mean a good partnership... just like when you go out on one or two good dates with a girl, but have like 756 bad ones...is that a good date?
s3liparjepon
post May 7 2008, 12:52 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(edvpc @ May 6 2008, 06:54 PM)
Adebayor scored against United and also using his hand this season...hes the best!!!!!!!
Apis_LuaLua
post May 7 2008, 08:37 AM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

QUOTE(s3liparjepon @ May 7 2008, 12:52 AM)
Adebayor scored against United and also using his hand this season...hes the best!!!!!!!
Failing to use his feet and his head to score against united that u call the best?? Need his hand to do so.. tongue.gif
fcuk90
post May 7 2008, 09:14 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

fabregas .....best young midfielder ..
<Kenji>
post May 7 2008, 09:18 AM

345 posts

dude... read the topic... nobody is asking for the best midfielder...
Reimao
post May 7 2008, 09:26 AM

Hola~!
709 posts

Santa Cruz..Why?

cuz Torres snubbed United for Liverpool.. wink.gif
z3171600
post May 7 2008, 09:48 AM

534 posts

I'd say Santa Cruz is the best buy for this season. Torres comes into the second place considering he cost way more than Santa Cruz. And I agree with statement that he has better teammates than RSC, nevertheless he's still a great striker though.
m o m o
post May 7 2008, 10:04 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(z3171600 @ May 7 2008, 09:48 AM)
I'd say Santa Cruz is the best buy for this season. Torres comes into the second place considering he cost way more than Santa Cruz. And I agree with statement that he has better teammates than RSC, nevertheless he's still a great striker though.
Considering his small transfer fee, no doubt Santa Cruz has been the best deal this season...
<Kenji>
post May 7 2008, 10:19 AM

345 posts

Pato ?
Duke Red
post May 7 2008, 10:40 AM

6,112 posts

I'm sorry, was the questions "who was the best signing", or "who was the best bargain"?

If it were always to do with being cheap and good, how do players like Kaka, Zidane and Ronaldinho win "Best Player" awards given their price tags?

While I do agree that price does matter to some degree, I'd like to believe it's the impact a player makes on the team and the fans. Liverpool's entire shape has changed just to accommodate Torres simply because he is scoring for fun and some may say, he forced Liverpool to adjust to his inclusion. So much so that Peter Crouch who scores almost each time he plays, has been shelved. So much so that Liverpool have reverted to a 4-3-3 from our traditional 4-4-2 or even 4-4-1-1. I also haven't a doubt in mind who is the more talented player.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: May 7 2008, 10:53 AM
edvpc
post May 7 2008, 06:13 PM

1,274 posts

how bout best signing for manager?
can i say Juande Ramos? rclxms.gif
Krovaxq
post May 7 2008, 06:18 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

Definitely Santa Cruz... damn cheap for such debut
clsiluf
post May 7 2008, 06:57 PM

2,058 posts

how to define best buy ? hmm.gif

santa cruz might have scored 20 ++ goals, but blackburn win nothing nor qualify for europe ...
-Nos-
post May 7 2008, 07:26 PM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

QUOTE(clsiluf @ May 7 2008, 06:57 PM)

santa cruz might have scored 20 ++ goals, but blackburn win nothing nor qualify for europe ...
Best buy means his worth. Is he worth for every penny spent on him?
We are not saying best player. If you say best buy means that player can help his team to Europe and start winning the league, he is best player.

Playing in Europe and winning trophy is depend on the whole team not a single player.
yoongkeen
post May 7 2008, 08:58 PM

247 posts

santa cruz lol.
TSvivi99
post May 8 2008, 01:38 AM

484 posts

ok
what about the defender u guys...?
edvpc
post May 8 2008, 01:41 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(vivi99 @ May 8 2008, 01:38 AM)
ok
u name it... thumbup.gif
<Kenji>
post May 8 2008, 03:59 AM

345 posts

Pepe... 30M is a bloody expensive price tag for a defender...
but who cares ? Ferdinand costs MU 30M too not too long ago n look at him now...
he's been playing very consistently for Madrid and might prove to b a good signing for the long go...
Duke Red
post May 8 2008, 11:00 AM

6,112 posts

Judging from feedback here, the typical Malaysian mentality is "cheap and good". Santa Cruz was signed for $3.5 million pounds and scored 19 goals for Blackburn. This would mean that a forward signed for $20 million pounds would need to score 109 goals to be considered as one of the best buys of the season. This is why I think it doesn't make sense to base it on cost and goals alone. If that were so, how would you rate midfielders? Cost to pass completion ratio? What of defenders? Tackles to cost ratio?

This post has been edited by Duke Red: May 8 2008, 11:01 AM
munky
post May 8 2008, 11:11 AM

1,971 posts

Torres for me. Sagna, Tevez and Santa Cruz comes close
raul7
post May 8 2008, 02:02 PM

67 posts

<----- this guy of course... 30 over goal what... got one more game... hope another 1 or 2 coming... heheh
TSvivi99
post May 8 2008, 03:30 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 8 2008, 11:00 AM)
Judging from feedback here, the typical Malaysian mentality is "cheap and good". Santa Cruz was signed for $3.5 million pounds and scored 19 goals for Blackburn. This would mean that a forward signed for $20 million pounds would need to score 109 goals to be considered as one of the best buys of the season. This is why I think it doesn't make sense to base it on cost and goals alone. If that were so, how would you rate midfielders? Cost to pass completion ratio? What of defenders? Tackles to cost ratio?
totally agree.
if u buy someone, and the players turn out to be the main man for teh team leading to success..i think it is the best buy ever.in this case, Torres will win the battle
But if i consider myself a mid table team, like blackburn, signing a star like Santa Cruz is superb..they almost beat Man U rite? nod.gif
Duke Red
post May 8 2008, 05:03 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(vivi99 @ May 8 2008, 03:30 PM)
totally agree.
if u buy someone, and the players turn out to be the main man for teh team leading to success..i think it is the best buy ever.in this case, Torres will win the battle
But if i consider myself a mid table team, like blackburn, signing a star like Santa Cruz is superb..they almost beat Man U rite? nod.gif
You have a point.

Would it be fair to suggest that had Liverpool signed Santa Cruz, he would have made a bigger impact than Torres? What if Blackburn had signed Torres? Who would have made the bigger impact? Torres or Cruz?
maxizanc
post May 8 2008, 06:18 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 8 2008, 05:03 PM)
You have a point.

Would it be fair to suggest that had Liverpool signed Santa Cruz, he would have made a bigger impact than Torres? What if Blackburn had signed Torres? Who would have made the bigger impact? Torres or Cruz?
Cruz has scored a lot of goals for a team like Blackburn and i'd say Torres can't do much if he's in Blackburn now compared to Liverpool.. And i don't think Blackburn can hold Cruz for a long time..

Cruz is really2 a best buy in BPL this season.. Amazin
nazman
post May 8 2008, 06:43 PM

1,200 posts

btw when cruz playing at Bayern he not performing very well..it look like he mix well with average rating team...go to other big team?..he maybe think again..
faris21
post May 8 2008, 06:50 PM

Newbies
4,453 posts

did we just talking about BPL
btw i can see Ribery also best buy in this season
nazman
post May 8 2008, 06:55 PM

1,200 posts

haha..i have mention that earlier but still debating about torres/cruz till now..
another good signing...Luca Toni..last season with Fiorentina he also a top scorer IMHO..now at bundesliga he also the top scorer with bayern...
good signing from the Bundesliga Champion..
TSvivi99
post May 8 2008, 10:41 PM

484 posts

hehe, a lot of cruz goals contributed by their superb winger...Pedersen and Bentley...
anyway, Bentley is turning a brialliant winger. his cross looks dangerous his skill improve quite a lot

Luca Toni is teh best buy for Bayern..although it cost a lot of money, but hey look, they won they title
Abangpedro
post May 8 2008, 11:39 PM

Who am i??????
3,440 posts

Santa Cruz got my vote........

Hey what the heck happen to Benni McCarthy????? Is he still alive at Blackburn.

This post has been edited by Abangpedro: May 8 2008, 11:40 PM
s3liparjepon
post May 9 2008, 12:40 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(vivi99 @ May 8 2008, 02:38 AM)
ok
Bacary Sagna
MADReaLJL
post May 9 2008, 06:05 AM

4,050 posts

the same thing can be said to torres actually
this season liverpool lost at ucl semifinal, finished 4th in the league, got kicked by barnsley in fa cup
last season they proceed to the ucl final, finished 3rd in the league, eliminated by arsenal in fa cup
but the amount of his goals really proves something.. for a player that comes from spanish league and swiftly suited to bpl, he is an amazing player
he creates a lot of his goals himself, like against city before
he is worth 25 mil pounds that liverpool paid for him, but i still think santa cruz is the best signing.. small fees and 20+ goals really help
m o m o
post May 9 2008, 06:53 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(vivi99 @ May 8 2008, 03:30 PM)
totally agree.
Can't agree with your point... did Liverpool win anything this season mate? Under-achieved again... (hate to say this, trust me)

And Blackburn was supposed to get into a UEFA Cup spot, this season can be judged to be under-achieving for them... so your point holds no water for me...

It will be different if the reference is a different player, e.g. Tevez

I guess that most folks here, including myself, chose Santa Cruz is simply because of his transfer fee relative to Torres... it's like buying two cars that can do about the same thing, only that one of them comes with a price tag almost 1/7 of the other... so, to me, that's the better buy (not to say the other is NOT OK), period.

So many factors affects the so-called Best Buy tag... some can be intrinsic (for personal reasons) while some are simply bloody obvious (like goals, assists, pass completion, clean sheets, successful tackles etc.) stats related stuff...

BTW, the term 'Best Buy' almost always relate to certain items that present very good value for money, whatever cultural / philosophical / political/ gender / etc divide. Hence, the results here.
imcurtain
post May 9 2008, 07:03 AM

38 posts

Santa Cruz - Blackburn (Bargain but still scoring plenty of goals for a club outside the Big Four)
alucard31
post May 9 2008, 10:52 AM

284 posts

My choice will be

STRIKER
1. Santa Cruz
2. Torres
3. Tevez

MIDFIELDER
1. Anderson
2. Gary O'neil (Boro)

DEFENDER
1. Skrtel

Duke Red
post May 9 2008, 11:23 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(m o m o @ May 9 2008, 06:53 AM)
I guess that most folks here, including myself, chose Santa Cruz is simply because of his transfer fee relative to Torres... it's like buying two cars that can do about the same thing, only that one of them comes with a price tag almost 1/7 of the other... so, to me, that's the better buy (not to say the other is NOT OK), period.
If by "same thing", you meant score goals then I'd have to agree. I have to add that unless you have seen both players play with same regularity, it's unfair to pass much judgement. Aside from Liverpool fans here, how many have seen Torres play more than 10 times this season? How many have seen Roque Santa Cruz play the same number of games? I can't say I've seen much of the Paraguayan myself. Because of this, most people are just looking at numbers. If Cruz's goals had all come via deflection, he'd still be the "best buy" rather than the "luckiest buy". Judging from what I've seen of the two though, Torres is the more complete player. Santa Cruz for me needs supply and being 6'3" has a penchant for the English game where the ball is often played up to him. Most of his goals that I've seen have come from headers. He may surprise me much like how Miroslav Klose did at the last World Cup where he scored every goal with his feet (unlike in the previous one) but at this moment, I think Torres has more dimension to his game.

Still I respect everyone's opinion in this matter and I accept that I may be biased. It's just been a long time since we've signed such an exciting player. When was the last time?
madmoz
post May 9 2008, 02:02 PM

4,250 posts

Harry Kewell and Fernando Morientes? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by madmoz: May 9 2008, 02:03 PM
alsree786
post May 9 2008, 02:38 PM

937 posts

definitely santa cruz for me, and not because im a brfc fan...
MADReaLJL
post May 9 2008, 02:39 PM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 9 2008, 11:23 AM)
If by "same thing", you meant score goals then I'd have to agree. I have to add that unless you have seen both players play with same regularity, it's unfair to pass much judgement. Aside from Liverpool fans here, how many have seen Torres play more than 10 times this season? How many have seen Roque Santa Cruz play the same number of games? I can't say I've seen much of the Paraguayan myself. Because of this, most people are just looking at numbers. If Cruz's goals had all come via deflection, he'd still be the "best buy" rather than the "luckiest buy". Judging from what I've seen of the two though, Torres is the more complete player. Santa Cruz for me needs supply and being 6'3" has a penchant for the English game where the ball is often played up to him. Most of his goals that I've seen have come from headers. He may surprise me much like how Miroslav Klose did at the last World Cup where he scored every goal with his feet (unlike in the previous one) but at this moment, I think Torres has more dimension to his game.

Still I respect everyone's opinion in this matter and I accept that I may be biased. It's just been a long time since we've signed such an exciting player. When was the last time?
everybody knows that
i see u tried ur best to say torres is no 1, dont deny it already admitted.. everyone knows that he is better than santa cruz
but in terms of best signing, i think santa cruz deserves the top spot
he is just a few goals less than torres in the league

This post has been edited by MADReaLJL: May 9 2008, 02:40 PM
alsree786
post May 9 2008, 03:04 PM

937 posts

im a brfc fan and my bro is a liverpool fan, so i've watched my share of both teams playing...there's no dispute that torres is a better player...but the thread specifically refers to the "best buy". to answer that, one definitely has to refer to price paid. u wun expect to get a lousier player by paying so much more...it is the return for the price paid that has to be considered. santa was signed for 1/7 the price. i would rate his return higher than torres.
m o m o
post May 9 2008, 03:15 PM

399 posts

When was the last time? Too long, much too long ago...

I see your points and fully understand them...it's a very simple issue really, Torres is definitely the much better player, no doubt, but in terms of value, now that is debatable, hence the discussion here... right?

edit: BTW, to not cause further confusion / language technicalities, I think it is wise to state that there is Best Buy and then there is Best Value... can arr?

This post has been edited by m o m o: May 9 2008, 03:16 PM
uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post May 9 2008, 03:39 PM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(m o m o @ May 9 2008, 03:15 PM)
When was the last time? Too long, much too long ago...

I see your points and fully understand them...it's a very simple issue really, Torres is definitely the much better player, no doubt, but in terms of value, now that is debatable, hence the discussion here... right?

edit: BTW, to not cause further confusion / language technicalities, I think it is wise to state that there is Best Buy and then there is Best Value... can arr?
i see no difference in best buy and best value...unless i think the term u looking for is best signing.
m o m o
post May 9 2008, 03:55 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(uNeVErwaLkaloNe @ May 9 2008, 03:39 PM)
i see no difference in best buy and best value...unless i think the term u looking for is best signing.
Darn it, here we go again...

I give up, call it what you guys want... I'd go for Santa Cruz...
<Kenji>
post May 9 2008, 04:13 PM

345 posts

Santa for me too...
considering the price paid n that he's not frequently played at Bayern before this...
Duke Red
post May 9 2008, 04:43 PM

6,112 posts

The thing about value is this; if a player is almost out of contract and is looking to leave, clubs can buy him on the cheap. Then there is also the bosman ruling, etc. What i'm trying to say is that the value of a player can change depending on the details of his contract and it's duration. Steve McManaman was free and therefore could be considered an even better signing than David Beckham. Just trying to put things in perspective and look at it from other angles, aside from cost.
akRia
post May 9 2008, 05:03 PM

...~+noob+~...
1,998 posts

QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ May 9 2008, 02:39 PM)
everybody knows that
i see u tried ur best to say torres is no 1, dont deny it already admitted.. everyone knows that he is better than santa cruz
but in terms of best signing, i think santa cruz deserves the top spot
he is just a few goals less than torres in the league
laugh.gif so now i know torres beats rooney anytime of the day if it's to compare price tag on their forehead. dont deny it how much was he? 31m pound if im not mistaken,right?anyway, no hard feeling,tak boleh tahan when comes to comparing biggrin.gif

by the way, i think the best signing of the season goes to

striker: 1) santa cruz 2) tevez 3)defoe (spur ----> portsmouth)

midfielder: 1) owen hargreaves 2)petrov 3) ashley young

defender: 1)woodgate (boro--->spur) 2)skrtel

keeper : 1)carson (liverpool ---> villa)
jackolantern
post May 9 2008, 05:08 PM

495 posts

i vote for cruz as well.. cheap and good in finishing
m o m o
post May 9 2008, 05:26 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 9 2008, 04:43 PM)
The thing about value is this; if a player is almost out of contract and is looking to leave, clubs can buy him on the cheap. Then there is also the bosman ruling, etc. What i'm trying to say is that the value of a player can change depending on the details of his contract and it's duration. Steve McManaman was free and therefore could be considered an even better signing than David Beckham. Just trying to put things in perspective and look at it from other angles, aside from cost.
Chicken and eggs, apples and oranges... oh my, can't imagine this will turn into such an interesting and complicated subject... maybe we should have just a separate thread on this... LOL

Yeah, I see the other perspectives, clearly, and my head tells me Santa Cruz while of course my heart says Torres... both have excellent names BTW...

Tevez is in the reckoning too, but details of his 'transfer' are rather sketchy - is it 2 mil pounds as loan fees for a season? Wonder how much Utd will stump up now for his full transfer? If Kia can demand in excess of 18 mil pounds for Marscherano, no telling how much he will ask for Tevez...
zhixin
post May 10 2008, 12:26 AM

- Bling bling -
792 posts

Bacary Sagna
yngwie
post May 10 2008, 02:46 PM

| Ãøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÃðmÑ!
3,092 posts

hey, count avram grant in brows.gif
everybody think that his chances i like a snowball in hell but look at where there are now;
challenging at 2 front!
he inherited an almost 'complete and mature' squad so most of the credit should go to the players whistling.gif
based on this fact, his success rate can't be compared with ferguson, mourinho and even rafa!
btw, he is more like a good swap instead of a good buy tongue.gif

cruz and torres thumbup.gif
<Kenji>
post May 10 2008, 02:49 PM

345 posts

if so, Juande Ramos oso can ? tongue.gif
yngwie
post May 10 2008, 02:55 PM

| Ãøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÃðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(<Kenji> @ May 10 2008, 02:49 PM)
if so, Juande Ramos oso can ?  tongue.gif
he cannot be counted in. tottenham's placing is worst than last year under jol. tongue.gif
grant bring the bpl title to penultimate day and they're in cl final too! brows.gif
MADReaLJL
post May 10 2008, 06:33 PM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(akRia @ May 9 2008, 05:03 PM)
laugh.gif so now i know torres beats rooney anytime of the day if it's to compare price tag on their forehead. dont deny it how much was he? 31m pound if im not mistaken,right?anyway, no hard feeling,tak boleh tahan when comes to comparing biggrin.gif
by the way, i think the best signing of the season goes to
striker: 1) santa cruz 2) tevez 3)defoe (spur ----> portsmouth)

midfielder: 1) owen hargreaves 2)petrov 3) ashley young

defender: 1)woodgate (boro--->spur) 2)skrtel

keeper : 1)carson (liverpool ---> villa)
torres may be better than rooney this season, but dont forget that rooney always being hampered by injuries
and he was being played out of position to accommodate tevez.. he is not a true cf but now he is learning
rooney in 2004/2005 was a joy to watch notworthy.gif
he is a better player now but more a team player
BeckhamSoccerTips
post May 10 2008, 11:34 PM

250 posts

Torres is a great player to watch...
aBs-
post May 14 2008, 04:59 PM

1,165 posts

hardia jaafar from telekom melaka to perak..
really a good buy for perak..
<Kenji>
post May 14 2008, 06:18 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ May 10 2008, 02:55 PM)
he cannot be counted in. tottenham's placing is worst than last year under jol. tongue.gif
grant bring the bpl title to penultimate day and they're in cl final too!  brows.gif
but they did win Carling Cup under him... hmm.gif
n considering he wasnt given his own squad... the squad is a leftover frm Jol...
n oso he came in late (January), less time to experiment with his squad...
RedSky21
post May 14 2008, 06:32 PM

LYN Old-Timer
672 posts

I would say firstly will have to be Torres (to come in your first season and score so many goals is a great acheivement), second on my list will be Sagna (has been a consistent preformer and has suited well in the BPL) and lastly got to be Defoe (really starting to shine in portsmouth).....
slyyoung
post May 14 2008, 10:13 PM

'sup.
1,154 posts

Checkout soccernet's version. Top 10 best buys
edvpc
post May 14 2008, 10:16 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(slyyoung @ May 14 2008, 10:13 PM)
Checkout soccernet's version. Top 10 best buys
90% agreed with soccernet... thumbup.gif
<Kenji>
post May 14 2008, 10:18 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(edvpc @ May 14 2008, 10:16 PM)
90% agreed with soccernet... thumbup.gif
the other 10% ?
yngwie
post May 15 2008, 12:08 PM

| Ãøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÃðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(<Kenji> @ May 14 2008, 06:18 PM)
but they did win Carling Cup under him...  hmm.gif
n considering he wasnt given his own squad... the squad is a leftover frm Jol...
n oso he came in late (January), less time to experiment with his squad...
thats because grant hand 'em the title with his 'genius' tactical tongue.gif
and ramos actually inherited a strong squad from martin jol as well.
strong enough at least for 6th place.

agree with soccernet's list thumbup.gif
Jason_T
post May 15 2008, 12:13 PM

466 posts

Wilson Palacios now worth more than 1m...good signing from bruce
TSvivi99
post May 15 2008, 04:25 PM

484 posts

Nice article by Soccernernet
now, everyone agree Santa Cruz is a better signing from Torres?
yngwie
post May 15 2008, 04:29 PM

| Ãøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÃðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(vivi99 @ May 15 2008, 04:25 PM)
$$$ per goal, perhaps.
shgx700
post May 15 2008, 04:32 PM

Devil I'm
1,135 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ May 15 2008, 04:29 PM)
$$$ per goal, perhaps.
undoubtedly its torres and santa cruz
Duke Red
post May 15 2008, 04:34 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(vivi99 @ May 15 2008, 04:25 PM)
Why? Just because soccernet says so? What's printed isn't always the gospel truth. I've my opinion and they have theirs. There is no absolute truth.
<Kenji>
post May 15 2008, 04:44 PM

345 posts

agrred... everyone has their own opinion... try to respect that, there's no absolute answer here...
thats wat this thread is opened for, as a discussion...
TSvivi99
post May 15 2008, 04:56 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 15 2008, 04:34 PM)
Why? Just because soccernet says so? What's printed isn't always the gospel truth. I've my opinion and they have theirs. There is no absolute truth.
Sorry, i know it is just a printed material and can 't measure the level o achievement of someone
anyone cna give their own opinion and no one is right
clsiluf
post May 15 2008, 05:11 PM

2,058 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 15 2008, 04:34 PM)
does that matter a lot ? cruz or torres the better buy ?

Duke Red
post May 15 2008, 05:15 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(clsiluf @ May 15 2008, 05:11 PM)
does that matter a lot ? cruz or torres the better buy ?
Why are you asking me? I'm not the one that quoted the article insisting that those who voted Torres agree with soccernet, and change their votes to Santa Cruz. I've already made my points.
nickvanhakim
post May 16 2008, 08:55 AM

59 posts

Got to be Fernando Torres...scored bunch of goals on his debut season..more to come next season..hopefully he doesn't affected by the sophomore slump syndrome..
munsheng
post May 16 2008, 09:00 AM

134 posts

torres...
score alot in his debut season..

almost as good as v nistelrooy few seasons back
eksk86
post May 16 2008, 09:24 AM

421 posts

Roque Santa Cruz is the buy of the season hands down. Buying him at 3.5 million pounds and scoring 23/24 goals in his debut season and not with a top 4 team really impresses me ALOT.

Yes,torres is another fantastic buy but i rate him second best buy and a close one. Think about it, buying him at 20+mil pounds and playing with one of the top 4 team. I didn't expect him to score that much but he must at least deliver some goods. There's an expectation for him to play well for a record signing for a top4 team
Duke Red
post May 16 2008, 11:09 AM

6,112 posts

I completely agree. Expectations of Torres was high despite him only scoring once in three games for Atletico. There were no expectation of Santa Cruz. There was therefore more pressure on Torres to perform as all eyes were on him. Andy Gray paid him a huge compliment by claiming he was the complete centre forward and when a bluenose says that, you know this kids special. Santa Cruz was given little attention much like Benni McCarthy in his first season. Now that there are expectations, let's see if he performs in his 2nd season. McCarthy himself has moved down the pecking order near the end of the season behind Jason Roberts.
O-haiyo
post May 16 2008, 11:23 AM

857 posts

Definitely Santa Cruz, 3.5M with that kind of goal ratio? I don't think anyone can argue with that.
Duke Red
post May 16 2008, 11:31 AM

6,112 posts

Alright so we weight cost to goals ratio for strikers. What about goalkeepers, defenders and midfielders?
-Nos-
post May 16 2008, 12:10 PM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 16 2008, 11:31 AM)
Alright so we weight cost to goals ratio for strikers. What about goalkeepers, defenders and midfielders?
Clean Sheets, saves, assists, fouls, season appearance?
munky
post May 16 2008, 07:35 PM

1,971 posts

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story...england&cc=4716
<Kenji>
post May 17 2008, 02:12 AM

345 posts

but, undeniably, Torres did bring in sumthing new into Liverpool's attacking force...
n the 26M might be a bargain too if he continues his form for a long long run...
then his goals/ratio would increase too...
common, u cant expect Torres to come for 5M right ?
eksk86
post May 17 2008, 09:23 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 16 2008, 11:09 AM)
I completely agree. Expectations of Torres was high despite him only scoring once in three games for Atletico. There were no expectation of Santa Cruz. There was therefore more pressure on Torres to perform as all eyes were on him. Andy Gray paid him a huge compliment by claiming he was the complete centre forward and when a bluenose says that, you know this kids special. Santa Cruz was given little attention much like Benni McCarthy in his first season. Now that there are expectations, let's see if he performs in his 2nd season. McCarthy himself has moved down the pecking order near the end of the season behind Jason Roberts.
Yup,now that there are expectations of santa cruz, we shall see whether he still performs at the same level or not. I believe torres will, no doubt. If you talking about the long run, torres is the better buy, definitely. But this season? santa cruz gets the award.
Duke Red
post May 17 2008, 01:37 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ May 16 2008, 12:10 PM)
Clean Sheets, saves, assists, fouls, season appearance?
In my opinion, you have to look beyond statistics because numbers don't always tell the whole story. If they could, all anyone would need to do is look at the stats sheet to pick the winner, much like how you buy players in Football Manager without having seen the player in the flesh.
<Kenji>
post May 17 2008, 01:47 PM

345 posts

man, this arguement could go on until next season...
m o m o
post May 18 2008, 06:26 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(<Kenji> @ May 17 2008, 01:47 PM)
man, this arguement could go on until next season...
Well, it's like asking a capitalist what he thinks about communism and a communist what he thinks about capitalism... there won't be a satisfactory answer for everyone...

Those who said Torres, fair enough.

Those who said Santa Cruz, fair enough.

alsree786
post May 18 2008, 07:12 PM

937 posts

yeah everyone is entitled to their opinions...cant keep arguing coz people see things differently...there's no right or wrong answer so long as it's "about there"...
-Nos-
post May 18 2008, 07:20 PM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 17 2008, 01:37 PM)
In my opinion, you have to look beyond statistics because numbers don't always tell the whole story. If they could, all anyone would need to do is look at the stats sheet to pick the winner, much like how you buy players in Football Manager without having seen the player in the flesh.
Well, those i mentioned above are not statistics alone. You don't get a clean sheet if the goalie doesn't perform well.
m o m o
post May 19 2008, 12:50 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ May 18 2008, 07:20 PM)
Well, those i mentioned above are not statistics alone. You don't get a clean sheet if the goalie doesn't perform well.
Again, both arguments have their own merits...

For simplicity sake, laymen like us (unlike paid professional pundits and whatnots who has seen the game inside out) will have to resort to stats and general consensus, it's more unbiased if you'd like... I would love to say Torres is the best buy and my heart indeed says he is... but my head dictates that Santa Cruz better bargain, simply because of his relatively small fee and big return (by no means he is better than Torres) - economically speaking...
Duke Red
post May 19 2008, 11:28 AM

6,112 posts

It doesn't matter if this argument continues so long as you have something constructive to say. It doesn't mean that there has to be a definitive answer.
SUSAcey
post May 24 2008, 07:46 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอà¸
3,622 posts

Roque Santa Cruz is no.1 for this season for me. 3.5m is so much worth it

Torres comes second. Real goal getter.

Third... lol.. Alex... what do you expect? Big, tall, 1 pound centre back who scores free kicks.
Kerplunk
post May 24 2008, 08:44 PM

802 posts

skrtel looks to be a bargain.with such a cool name too biggrin.gif oh yeah alex is not bad at all.i think he would've banged in a few more goals if terry and carvalho didn't stay regularly fit.hey does sven goran eriksson qualify?
Hevrn
post May 24 2008, 08:47 PM

4,017 posts

QUOTE(Kerplunk @ May 24 2008, 08:44 PM)
skrtel looks to be a bargain.with such a cool name too biggrin.gif oh yeah alex is not bad at all.i think he would've banged in a few more goals if terry and carvalho didn't stay regularly fit.hey does sven goran eriksson qualify?
When my bro told me they signed Skrtel I was like, "What? A Pokemon?" biggrin.gif Looks like a serial killer, not suprised he plays alongside Vidic. Elano has been a revelation as well, but injuries has stuttered his performances. Would be great to see how Santa Cruz and Torres cope with their second season.
Kerplunk
post May 24 2008, 09:01 PM

802 posts

skrtel's a name of a pokemon? sweat.gif indeed he looks really brutal..huhu.but wait a sec isn't he slovakian..vidic is serbian rite..elano was unlucky.but he's still young so no worries for him
MADReaLJL
post May 24 2008, 09:04 PM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(Kerplunk @ May 24 2008, 09:01 PM)
skrtel's a name of a pokemon?  sweat.gif indeed he looks really brutal..huhu.but wait a sec isn't he slovakian..vidic is serbian rite..elano was unlucky.but he's still young so no worries for him
got a pokemon named squirtle laugh.gif kinda sounds alike
Kerplunk
post May 24 2008, 09:19 PM

802 posts

haha okay got it.wow u guys are aware of pokemon characters and football..not bad biggrin.gif what do u guys think of mauro zarate in birmingham?
Yaozz
post May 24 2008, 10:13 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(Kerplunk @ May 24 2008, 09:19 PM)
haha okay got it.wow u guys are aware of pokemon characters and football..not bad  biggrin.gif what do u guys think of mauro zarate in birmingham?
He is ok but then he didnt have much chance to score because birmingham midfielders cannot provide him with a goal.
Abangpedro
post May 25 2008, 06:27 AM

Who am i??????
3,440 posts

^ and also he didn't have enuff chance to play.....their coach prefer putting in mcFadden , Forssell or Jerome.
Gr3yL3gion81
post May 25 2008, 06:47 AM

\(n.n)/
685 posts

Sagna, he gelled into Arsenal immediately and playing consistently well throughout the whole season.
Jason_T
post May 25 2008, 12:35 PM

466 posts

QUOTE(Gr3yL3gion81 @ May 25 2008, 06:47 AM)
Sagna, he gelled into Arsenal immediately and playing consistently well throughout the whole season.
quite agree with this...When AW signed him, i thought he will turn out to be on bench more...but is quite a surprise he did manage to make a name for himself among the fans.. smile.gif
whatsupbro
post May 25 2008, 12:45 PM

~Musician wannabe~
1,952 posts

sagna works really hard to gain AW trust.. I think he worth the money eh..
Hevrn
post May 25 2008, 01:27 PM

4,017 posts

QUOTE(Kerplunk @ May 24 2008, 09:19 PM)
haha okay got it.wow u guys are aware of pokemon characters and football..not bad  biggrin.gif what do u guys think of mauro zarate in birmingham?
When you have a brother 8 years younger then you are you tend to get curious with all the shite he's doing. He was watching the cartoon and I thought so what? And I didn't get what the hype was all about.

Zarate's the Argie kid from Birmingham right? Scored a carbon copy of Hargreaves free kick against Arsenal in that same week.

0.0630sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:46 PM