Discussion Season 07/08 Best Buy, who do u think?

MADReaLJL
post May 6 2008, 12:21 PM

4,050 posts

tevez is not a signing, united just loan him from kia
MADReaLJL
post May 9 2008, 06:05 AM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(clsiluf @ May 7 2008, 06:57 PM)
how to define best buy ? hmm.gif

santa cruz might have scored 20 ++ goals, but blackburn win nothing nor qualify for europe ...
the same thing can be said to torres actually
this season liverpool lost at ucl semifinal, finished 4th in the league, got kicked by barnsley in fa cup
last season they proceed to the ucl final, finished 3rd in the league, eliminated by arsenal in fa cup
but the amount of his goals really proves something.. for a player that comes from spanish league and swiftly suited to bpl, he is an amazing player
he creates a lot of his goals himself, like against city before
he is worth 25 mil pounds that liverpool paid for him, but i still think santa cruz is the best signing.. small fees and 20+ goals really help
MADReaLJL
post May 9 2008, 02:39 PM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 9 2008, 11:23 AM)
If by "same thing", you meant score goals then I'd have to agree. I have to add that unless you have seen both players play with same regularity, it's unfair to pass much judgement. Aside from Liverpool fans here, how many have seen Torres play more than 10 times this season? How many have seen Roque Santa Cruz play the same number of games? I can't say I've seen much of the Paraguayan myself. Because of this, most people are just looking at numbers. If Cruz's goals had all come via deflection, he'd still be the "best buy" rather than the "luckiest buy". Judging from what I've seen of the two though, Torres is the more complete player. Santa Cruz for me needs supply and being 6'3" has a penchant for the English game where the ball is often played up to him. Most of his goals that I've seen have come from headers. He may surprise me much like how Miroslav Klose did at the last World Cup where he scored every goal with his feet (unlike in the previous one) but at this moment, I think Torres has more dimension to his game.

Still I respect everyone's opinion in this matter and I accept that I may be biased. It's just been a long time since we've signed such an exciting player. When was the last time?
everybody knows that
i see u tried ur best to say torres is no 1, dont deny it already admitted.. everyone knows that he is better than santa cruz
but in terms of best signing, i think santa cruz deserves the top spot
he is just a few goals less than torres in the league

This post has been edited by MADReaLJL: May 9 2008, 02:40 PM
MADReaLJL
post May 10 2008, 06:33 PM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(akRia @ May 9 2008, 05:03 PM)
laugh.gif so now i know torres beats rooney anytime of the day if it's to compare price tag on their forehead. dont deny it how much was he? 31m pound if im not mistaken,right?anyway, no hard feeling,tak boleh tahan when comes to comparing biggrin.gif
by the way, i think the best signing of the season goes to
striker: 1) santa cruz 2) tevez 3)defoe (spur ----> portsmouth)

midfielder: 1) owen hargreaves 2)petrov 3) ashley young

defender: 1)woodgate (boro--->spur) 2)skrtel

keeper : 1)carson (liverpool ---> villa)
torres may be better than rooney this season, but dont forget that rooney always being hampered by injuries
and he was being played out of position to accommodate tevez.. he is not a true cf but now he is learning
rooney in 2004/2005 was a joy to watch notworthy.gif
he is a better player now but more a team player
MADReaLJL
post May 24 2008, 09:04 PM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(Kerplunk @ May 24 2008, 09:01 PM)
skrtel's a name of a pokemon?  sweat.gif indeed he looks really brutal..huhu.but wait a sec isn't he slovakian..vidic is serbian rite..elano was unlucky.but he's still young so no worries for him
got a pokemon named squirtle laugh.gif kinda sounds alike

0.0168sec    1.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:26 PM