Reason For Leaving : VSS, Should I...???

TSepo
post May 3 2008, 10:34 PM, updated 18y ago

892 posts

I took VSS from my previous company.
Few questions :-

Although i had a VSS money but i still want to hunt a job coz i'm just 34 years old.
Is it clever enough to put applied VSS in a reason for leaving column
VSS is a company offer , not being black listed by a previous company
so what might employer think when they read it?

How about availability
Better chance if i put immediately?
But of coz i need to write it since i inform them i take vss
If i don't mention about vss, probably i will write 1 month notice.

With hard to find a job today, is it ok if i write expected salary below than current salary?

Normally, does employer call previous company asking a question about me? (HR forumer plz answer)

Kindly plz share your expereience with me. TQ.
knwong
post May 3 2008, 10:47 PM

3,567 posts

QUOTE(epo @ May 3 2008, 10:34 PM)
I took VSS from my previous company.
Few questions :-

Although i had a VSS money but i still want to hunt a job coz i'm just 34 years old.
Is it clever enough to put applied VSS in a reason for leaving column
VSS is a company offer , not being black listed by a previous company
so what might employer think when they read it?

How about availability
Better chance if i put immediately?
But of coz i need to write it since i inform them i take vss
If i don't mention about vss, probably i will write 1 month notice.

With hard to find a job today, is it ok if i write expected salary below than current salary?

Normally, does employer call previous company asking a question about me? (HR forumer plz answer)

Kindly plz share your expereience with me. TQ.
The best is always tell the truth. Most employer will understand. The criteria for recruiting always lie on whether you are suitable for them or not. Not that you have black history or something.
samurai1337
post May 3 2008, 10:51 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

Why not... VSS is an option, and the reason of a company giving the option is usually to cut cost (hence most of the employees given the option are usually those highly paid ones)

I personally feel there's nothing to be ashamed of.
kb2005
post May 3 2008, 11:03 PM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

VSS is very common nowaday. I have many friends got it and now they're working in new companies. biggrin.gif
TSepo
post May 3 2008, 11:44 PM

892 posts

oic... ok...
will edited my resume asap.

how about expected salary?
if low compare to current salary, should it look like i am so desperate in searching a job... but if put it higher, percentage to get a job might turn lower... advise?
kb2005
post May 4 2008, 12:05 AM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

What position you were in before VSS ?
DerekKuah
post May 4 2008, 12:08 AM

519 posts

Im not into VSS experience before. But do sharing with my friends before.....When a company VSS offering to you, is that the company going for a cut cost. For this criteria, there will look the entire organization whereby the selected VSS employee will not affect the company operation. So my point of view, is not a good point.
Sometimes, saying truth does not bring u anywhere especially nowadays working environment....

my 2 cents nia...
Core-
post May 4 2008, 02:41 AM

221 posts

hmm...
sorry to ask this...
but may i know what is VSS?

bysquashy
post May 4 2008, 08:26 AM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

QUOTE(Core- @ May 4 2008, 02:41 AM)
hmm...
sorry to ask this...
but may i know what is VSS?
Voluntary Separation Scheme (VSS)
kb2005
post May 4 2008, 10:22 AM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

Besides VSS, there is another one called WFM or work force management. biggrin.gif
TSepo
post May 4 2008, 10:50 AM

892 posts

What position you were in before VSS ?

Tecnical Support (Desktop, Notebok & Printer) - 10 years experience
so bored until i want to move to server support support but they said they need a replacement from another dept to fill up my current position
waiting from jan 07 until i took VSS, no one want to replace my position.
haiyaaa... so difficult to change position.
do they expect me to stay at current positon until my age is 55...?
no need to mention the company but it's a banking environment
so make profit from customer money is their priority, IT technology is no priority...
i already request to sit a MCDST exam but no reply. they dunno what MCDST can benefit them...

For this criteria, there will look the entire organization whereby the selected VSS employee will not affect the company operation. So my point of view, is not a good point.

yeah... i'm curious about this one...
when staff applied VSS and their application approved, it's look like the company don't need that staff anymore...
it's true they want to cut cost but if that staff is valuable for them, they should reject their application.
so i'm afraid if i write took VSS as a reason for leaving, the employer will expect that i'm a not productive staff
so how?
yen1022
post May 4 2008, 03:51 PM

City of Angels
607 posts

well i tot vss they'll compensate u for few mths salary. like my ex colleague she got 2 yrs salary n she bought a house because of tat. i dun think u cant find a job just because of vss. ppl who hire u will look for ur qualifications, skills n attitude. so no big deal. anyway good luck ya.
TSepo
post May 4 2008, 09:54 PM

892 posts

ok... tq
Core-
post May 27 2008, 08:22 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ May 4 2008, 08:26 AM)
Voluntary Separation Scheme (VSS)
er... i might be dam late to ask this...
but may i know what is this means? @.@
wat it does??? still very new to all these stuff. >.<
deodorant
post May 27 2008, 10:49 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

When a company wants to cut costs and reduce the size of their workforce, they can't just simply fire people for no reason.

So they launch a VSS -- Voluntary meaning they offer you to leave the company, with some benefits like x months or years of salary, but it's your decision whether you want to take up their offer or not.

This post has been edited by deodorant: May 27 2008, 10:50 PM

0.0241sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:17 PM