TSdj.eRicZzz
post May 2 2008, 11:59 PM, updated 14y ago

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

ok this is my plan...

some nice pc speakers in car...
2.1 ch lor

but the problem is...how to get the power supply? i need 12v and the car battery is 12v...

i dun think it's that simple to get power coz some guy said need to get fuse la blablabla

advise pls
TSdj.eRicZzz
post May 3 2008, 12:24 AM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

i'm serious lei
TSdj.eRicZzz
post May 3 2008, 12:30 AM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ May 3 2008, 12:27 AM)
pull a wire from the battery terminals lo... positive connect to possitive then negative connect to negative... and fuse is placed on the positive wire... advisable near the battery terminal...
mind to elaborate more?

Added on May 3, 2008, 12:36 am
QUOTE(craziechild @ May 3 2008, 12:27 AM)
pull a wire from the battery terminals lo... positive connect to possitive then negative connect to negative... and fuse is placed on the positive wire... advisable near the battery terminal...
i want it to on off like when i start engine only on then off engine also off...wont always on...

This post has been edited by dj.eRicZzz: May 3 2008, 12:36 AM
TSdj.eRicZzz
post May 3 2008, 01:26 AM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

sounds so complicated >_>
TSdj.eRicZzz
post May 3 2008, 12:34 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

so what type of wire i shud use?
TSdj.eRicZzz
post May 3 2008, 10:46 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ May 3 2008, 06:40 PM)
types of wire would be 8g for the power(+) and ground(-), while a normal 14g for the key switch to the relay...
hmm...what if i want to use the power from the cigarette there...

heard the power is 12v...coz if from the front part will be quite hard for me
TSdj.eRicZzz
post May 4 2008, 05:08 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ May 4 2008, 01:00 AM)
Buy power inverters - 160w or more and that should do the trick - make sure that you have sufficient w to power up your speakers.

Get the accesories shop guys to modify the power inverter a bit straight to your battery - not using the normal cigarette lighter port.

Then put this inverter on your rear bonnet. These inverters should have a normal plug (like the 3 pins we have at home) to plug your PC speakers.

After you got that powered up, connect your PC speakers to your amp (or line out of your player - if you have one) - might need to purchase the right cables for these.

After that, place your speakers somewhere nice wink.gif

I've seen a kenari with altec lansing before, the driver actually put this upside down (i don't know the model but the speakers are thin and long) bolted it to the roof and damn it look nice.

Post a pic if you manage to do it! thumbup.gif
the thing is power inverters are expansive...so i''m trying to do something DIY..coz i asked an accesories shop before and the quote me rm110 for wiring from front to back with a small fuse...

so i was thinking instead of wasting the rm110, maybe i can buy better speakers to fit in the car....

@craziechild...u mean even after the power from the cigarette socket also need a fuse?
TSdj.eRicZzz
post May 4 2008, 10:44 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ May 4 2008, 08:28 PM)
yea... need to for safety...
ok so i take power from cigarette socket, then fix 1 with fuse then another straight to speaker...like this then ok already?

anyone got tips? i mean to get the power from the socket..coz i dont know how it works
TSdj.eRicZzz
post May 9 2008, 02:41 AM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

hmm inverter still need the 2 wires from battery rite?
TSdj.eRicZzz
post May 17 2008, 03:27 AM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(zx7177 @ May 16 2008, 10:31 AM)
why ? sound propogates differently in the car's atmosphere ?  laugh.gif
most inverters that you can buy nowadays would plug in to the 12v cigarette lighter in the car . if you do go with the inverter , make sure you get an inverter with a higher power rating than what the speakers need
so to make my life easier i think i should just get a power inverter...can use for any other thing hahaha....

so recommend how many watts? 350? 250? and got pic of it? coz i see those inverters...they all comes with 2input 12v then a socket output 240v
TSdj.eRicZzz
post May 21 2008, 06:50 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(zx7177 @ May 19 2008, 08:02 PM)
never seen an inverter in real life before , so i have no idea about the 2 12v plug thing sweat.gif

but IMHO a 250w unit should be enough as long as you get more of a casual 2.1 setup or less . not too sure about the power requirements of 4.1 and 5.1 setups ....

ps : garage sales used to have a few sellers selling it last time . not sure about now
the input for 12v is just like 2 holes for u to plug in banana plugs for negative and positive terminal...

i'm just looking for a 2.1 unit or 2x2.1 for back and front lol...
TSdj.eRicZzz
post May 24 2008, 09:15 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

1 question...the RCA issit plug n play? dont need anything else?
TSdj.eRicZzz
post May 25 2008, 09:47 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

i'm sure my player got RCA...saw it last time when fix it

then now i'm thinking how to hide the wires from the front to the trunk
TSdj.eRicZzz
post May 29 2008, 07:09 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(crazeeclan @ May 28 2008, 12:47 PM)
bro..its easy...im using altec lansing acs 45.1 old skool woofer in my car...abt ur power issue..get an inverter...150watt will do..i get it for RM 55 only from lowyat..
150w enough juice ah?
and...rm55? where very cheap
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Jun 4 2008, 12:48 AM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

i bought mine already...150watt...and realise my speaker only need 60watt lol...

1 question b4 proceed to fixing...can i use the standard RCA cable? for those like when u buy vcd player then comes with that..or a car cd changer rca cable
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Jun 6 2008, 04:34 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

yes, just plug the inverter in the cigarette socket then fix the speaker power to the inverter then get the RCA from the cd player to the speaker...then ok liao
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Jun 8 2008, 10:30 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(katopunk @ Jun 6 2008, 08:38 PM)
guys,

i'm planning to whack a creative megaworks 510D 5.1.
http://www.digit-life.com/articles/creativ...510d/index.html
if i'm not mistaken, the speaker set watt rating is at 500W RMS.

will the ngbh's 500watt inverter are able to sustain the blasting power?
whoa why that speaker need so high watt? i check my old edifier r401 or r301...only need 60watt...but i bought 100+w inverter -.-
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Jun 9 2008, 12:45 AM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

i believe to make the whole hse shake is the subwoofer tongue.gif...
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Jun 11 2008, 01:37 AM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

now i planning to change plan...coz my HU cannot take out -.-....damnit...

so i plan to put a 3.5mm to the front and play song through psp or hp or mp3 player without going through the cd player

TSdj.eRicZzz
post Jun 11 2008, 03:37 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(one0202 @ Jun 11 2008, 11:15 AM)
my HU also cannot take out.....
but, can i take out wire from original speaker n connect it to 3.5mm wire???
maybe need to modified the wire.....but how about the sound quality?????
u can try..abt the quality i'm not sure abt it

0.0332sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:52 AM