Complaints Is this a mod should say & do?, Mod in Hobbies, Collectibles & Model Kit

TSwhoami123
post May 2 2008, 12:15 PM, updated 18y ago

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

I've complaints on the mod VincC454 in Hobbies, Collectibles & Model Kits

Recently a member morgenthau raised a question bout hotlinking other people's model works & post in the Gundam Thread (All posts was deleted by the mod now)
The moderator VincC454 handle this issue with irresponsible action as a mod
he should calm the situation but he just posts some emotional replies which is very bias & make the situation worse

On the other hand, he went to another thread & post the threatening replies as the attachment below
which further cause other members to flame the innocent member who just pointed out hotlinking issue
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/686457/+160 (Please read from #161 & few pages onwards)

Low Yat Forum is one of the biggest & professional forum in Malaysia
so ain't the elected moderator should handle their sub forum in a professional way too?
edan1979
post May 2 2008, 12:25 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,513 posts

like this also can ah... its hobbies thread lor... for fun... be so damn serious for what??? doh.gif
jhcj
post May 2 2008, 12:26 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

I believe the issue has been resolved.

There is no point in further blowing this matter out of proportion.
TSwhoami123
post May 2 2008, 12:30 PM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ May 2 2008, 12:26 PM)
I believe the issue has been resolved.

There is no point in further blowing this matter out of proportion.
1st of all, I raised this issue because of his attitude as a mod
moderator shouldn't be too bias on certain issue
you're an experienced mod & I know you know the basic principal of being a mod
it's to keep the forum organized & in peace
not just flame people behind when someone said something he dislikes
jhcj
post May 2 2008, 12:34 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

QUOTE(whoami123 @ May 2 2008, 12:30 PM)
We have spoken about it, and I apologise on his behalf if he has offended you in anyway.

What's past is past, let's move on.
malaysianPotato
post May 2 2008, 12:41 PM

I need more space to write stuff here...
2,816 posts

QUOTE(whoami123 @ May 2 2008, 12:30 PM)
I think you don't really understand what mods are.

We are normal forum members given powers to act against individuals or threads which are in breach of r&r. We are allowed to discuss, argue and do everything you do in the same way you do. We can be as biased as we want on any subject aslong as we do not carry that bias over into our jobs as moderators.

If normal people can flame others over a difference in opinion, so can we. In most cases we don't, that's a choice we make.

Edit: Since the thread is closed.

I think that rule on no trolling/flaming is directed towards trolls who intentionally post flame bait.

This post has been edited by malaysianPotato: May 2 2008, 01:21 PM
TSwhoami123
post May 2 2008, 01:05 PM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

QUOTE(malaysianPotato @ May 2 2008, 12:41 PM)
I think you don't really understand what mods are.

We are normal forum members given powers to act against individuals or threads which are in breach of r&r. We are allowed to discuss, argue and do everything you do in the same way you do. We can be as biased as we want on any subject aslong as we do not carry that bias over into our jobs as moderators.

If normal people can flame others over a difference in opinion, so can we. In most cases we don't, that's a choice we make.
Sorry, I'm a mod myself for almost 4 years in other forum

I know a mod is just a normal member in a forum
mod can express their opinions freely like a normal member & I agree with that
but your responsibility is higher than normal members because you're the "parent" of the forum too
normal members always take mod as their example
they'll always think that "Mod can do like that, so do I"
when sh*ts happened, they'll say something like "Mod did / said that too, why can't I?" & put all the blames on mod

Anyway, I thought the General Board Rules have stated "No flaming"? hmm.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=boardrules
Action: Trolling/Flaming. Do not make posts that are inflammatory just to upset people.
Result: Your thread will be closed, your post may be deleted and a warning may be given depending on severity

Added on May 2, 2008, 1:12 pm
QUOTE(jhcj @ May 2 2008, 12:34 PM)
We have spoken about it, and I apologise on his behalf if he has offended you in anyway.

What's past is past, let's move on.
Thanks for being understanding
I just want to point out something before it's out of control smile.gif

This post has been edited by whoami123: May 2 2008, 01:12 PM

0.0153sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:10 AM