6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Galaxy 9600GSO OC mod to 8800GTS 512, Previous title: New Geforce 9600 GSO

BBXiong
post Aug 8 2008, 12:29 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

nvidia is putting 9800GTX to compete with 4850, so i think 9800GT wouldn't be that much better then 8800GTS, but do bear in mind that nvidia have physX driver support on 9-series cards(which includes our card)
BBXiong
post Aug 8 2008, 01:38 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

u know the physics card company PhysX?? Nvidia bought them over, and now 9 series card can also have physics calculation feature in games that support
BBXiong
post Aug 9 2008, 08:43 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

how should i put this, cos normally physics is calculated by our CPU, but as all of us know, the highest end CPU will only have 4 cores, and the calculation capability is quite limited if you compare with graphic cards.
Originally, PhysX company have their own physics card to aid the calculation of physics if the CPU really cannot do the calculation properly, like if there are way too massive calculation to be done. Now, nvidia bought over physX company, and have developed a driver, currently only work on 9-series and GT-series, which allows our graphic card to perform like the physX card, which means that our graphic card not only generates graphic, it will also handle the physics calculation part.

This is good because it would really unlock the capability for graphic cards on multitasking.
and if u ask me, it's bloody good, because we can save RM1000+ as we already have a physX card...hehehe
BBXiong
post Aug 9 2008, 11:43 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

yeap, says there physX enabled means can gua...need some game to see the difference..

tech wise, yes , 9 series better then 8, but performance wise, still dunno, some good some bad
BBXiong
post Aug 10 2008, 06:50 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

see how you put it lor, im my opinion, if you can afford it, get yourself a full power CrossFire board, get one, and get 4850. After that card is outdated, just get a new card, and use that card as sub card
BBXiong
post Aug 11 2008, 09:21 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

erm..just suggested PCI-E 2.0, but there isnt much problem to use v1.1(i also using)..if you planning on getting 4870x2, then must be v2.0, otherwise i think that is not a problem
BBXiong
post Aug 12 2008, 12:09 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

dunno got actual performance decrease a not lar, but single card should use so much bandwidth
BBXiong
post Aug 14 2008, 12:29 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

same here, but AMD have just teamed p with blizzard..
what i means is that ATi cards will gonna give out free blizzard games in the future...rumors say possible that SC2 and Diablo 3 to be packed together with graphics card...
BBXiong
post Aug 14 2008, 09:06 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

erm...price might drop after new batch of gc come out
BBXiong
post Aug 15 2008, 01:06 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

erm...new batch means new series lar...that one i dunno lo..
(you can always ask ATi and nvidia director...)

Added on August 15, 2008, 1:09 pm
QUOTE(spideysam @ Aug 14 2008, 06:14 PM)
lol.. but dl gaming game without paying other extra service from other 3rd party ppl.. i rather buy outside game.. ahem outside. but pd gaming ahem a little.. in kl got where sell?? wangsa maju got right?? my gf studyin there.. hmm
the thing is.. if you pay for 3rd party service, let's say RM45 a month, and you can finish a game download for like 2 days, then imagine what you can do with the remaining 28 days of the months...also, do not forget movies/song and others...
if you do the math that way, you can see that you are actually saving a lot

but of course, if you can still download bloody fast without 3rd party service, then it's best case..but that will never happen in bolehland

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Aug 15 2008, 01:09 PM
BBXiong
post Aug 15 2008, 06:01 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

that is much expected....gc speed depend more on the number of shader model, better specs...the 4850 is just the same with normal ones, just factory overclocked, which you also can do without problem, just need some adding to voltage, drop some temp...
so don expect it to go like 4870 performance, as OC a card will only increase a bit performance of the card, typically 10-20% is consider not bad
BBXiong
post Aug 16 2008, 09:39 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

if got money, go for XFX, cos they allow user to change heatsink, and the warranty include damages from overclocking...plus, i think they give life time warranty as well(although not so practical...)
BBXiong
post Aug 25 2008, 09:33 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

suggestion...
there is a reason why good brands are expensive. If you want to know, it's because they use better component, so they can have better OC range..
XFX and otehr leading US brands are good example. They even give warranty if your card is spoil of OC
BBXiong
post Aug 27 2008, 12:18 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

what kind of problem... i need more specific details to take some guess(tongue.gif)...
try to google also
BBXiong
post Aug 28 2008, 12:29 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

i was guessing that the clock speed was too high...
remember last time i said my crysis have artifact at high setting??
i have to drop to 1450/450/750 to remove all artifact
so i was suspecting you clock speed is too high for the 'default clock' of that card, so i might wanna suggest you to drop you card speed

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Aug 28 2008, 12:30 AM
BBXiong
post Aug 28 2008, 11:14 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

no ler..
it's shader:1450, core:450. memory:900
BBXiong
post Sep 1 2008, 01:48 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

dunno...you can always try tongue.gif
my suggestion is that you check if you have 8 memory chip, because other ppl here says that new batch of this card only comes with 6-memory chips
BBXiong
post Sep 1 2008, 11:55 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

dude, if you do not know what is the use of the 8 memory chip, don go ahead and guess WTF it is for...
IT'S NOTHING TO DO WITH OC, so don act smart here pls...
(not that i want to say this so rudely, but pls do better and proper research before you post)

it's like this, this card itself have 6 memory chip used, which is 384MB, 96 shader processors. Rumor has it that this card is actually a 8800GTS, but due to some memory chip faulty issue, it was then re-made and sold as our card, and there are 2 memory chip , which are the faulty ones, locked.

However, not all cards have problem, so if you are lucky enough to get a normal working condition 8 memory chip card, you can flash the bios. After flashing it, we are able to use the locked 128MB video memory, and also unlocked another 32 shader processes, which brings the total of 512MB, 128SP. You can use some of the software out there to check this, like riva tuner or ATI tray tools.

Even so, there are no methods to check if your remaining 2 memory chip are in normal working condition except for flashing the bios. so if you failed, you can just use the backup bios to enter windows, and flash back the original bios, which will return you to 384MB, 96SP. In this case, i highly suggest you to backup your bios before you do the flashing.

not to mention, if you card have only 6 memory chip, there are totally no hope for you to flash you card to 512MB, as your on-board memory is just 384MB...you can tell by looking at the back of the card, it's near your GPU, around it, will have 8 soldered chips on it(can tell from the back of the card). If you card have 2 empty slots which are not soldered, then yours is 6 memory chip version

also, do take note that the success rate is quite low, and some forumers here says that it's mobo related or something like that..
BBXiong
post Sep 1 2008, 08:12 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

haizz...you please try to refer back to the original chinese post please.
It's stated clearly, and my card also proved it. Before flashing, at the same clock speed, performance in crysis is average or 30++fps, but after flashing, performance increase to 40++fps.
i wouldn't say it increase oc range, because after flashing, you are using another 2 extra memory chip THAT IS LOCKED BY THE DEFAULT BIOS, which is also where the 128MB appears, so the temp will be sure to increase.6 memory chip is 384MB, but full power 8 memory chip is 512MB, THAT IS WHAT CHANGED..
i don't care about what shader processors, as increase of memory itself is quite a performance boost.

if you still do not believe what i said, try dig back previous posts where i show result, or go post other forum and ask there...
i am pretty sure the answer you get is quite close to this one, because IT IS THE FACT
BBXiong
post Sep 1 2008, 11:03 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

exactly, so the 'actual' spec of the card is increase..
my 'actual' as in the specs that are actually used by the bios, not what it had on board

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0344sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:00 PM