All Things about BLU-RAY | V4, High Def. Experience | Only 1 CHOICE
May 12 2008, 04:30 PM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
May 12 2008, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(almattitude_v1 @ May 12 2008, 05:59 PM) It pays to make good friends with the right folks, like the folks who bring in these stuff, or related to bringing in the AV-related items, |
May 12 2008, 07:29 PM
QUOTE(fentanyl @ May 12 2008, 06:51 PM) Nopes, your "Bawah Meja" case still need you to pay them, although at reduced rates.This is "Atas Meja, Depan Mata" or "Full Frontal, WYSIWYG" case. There are certain waivers and leverages you can use to circumvent any taxation requirement. Either that "use cronies" method, or better still, if your livelihood involves bringing these things in, you you get my drift. Outta here, i've been dying to see how Helen Hunt and Will Smith look in Twister and Independence Day. |
May 12 2008, 09:03 PM
Funny how my own DHL shipment didnt get molested, while others here are reporting things on the contrary. Got my previous shipment of collectibles, electronics and stuff using UPS as well, well over the alleged "RM500" quota, but was left untouched too.
Oh well, next order will be via Amazon, for the two National Treasure BDs, the Complete Rambo series BDs, Before the Devil knows you're dead, The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe, and Face/Off. For a relatively old movie, Independence Day totally worked the speakers/subs! Scenes to look for are the first blowing up of downtown LA, as well as the first dogfight. The sub almost brought the house down with the explosions, and the sound of the alien lasers (or "green shit" as refered to by Captain. Steven "Eagle" Hiller This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 12 2008, 09:46 PM |
May 13 2008, 03:06 AM
The new Aliens vs Predator: Requiem BD(or rather idiotically names as AVP2 in your cinemas around here) contains a second disc that allows you to transfer portable version of the movie into compatible devices. The images above basically describes the process you go through to transfer this pre-encoded movie to your Mac(or PC, blergh). Fairly self-explanatory. The only other title that comes to mind that offer this such second movie in portable (read:DVD quality format) is Juno and the upcoming John Rambo (or Rambo 4 around here) BD. The end result looks fine on iPhone and Apple TV setup i have at home. This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 13 2008, 03:06 AM |
May 13 2008, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(JonC @ May 13 2008, 03:15 PM) Any1 wan to share the B2G1 promo in amazon? PM me quick quick..... we split the cost of 2 bd by 3 lor. I am interested in ID4..... can check out the other available titles at Amazon B2G1 promo Thanks for the heads-up, i'm itching to get Ice Age but not at its previous rate. Got that together with Mr.Brooks and Predator for this promo. |
May 13 2008, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 13 2008, 03:57 PM) No offense meant, but a movie may have the best PQ and/or AQ on it, but if I cant stay awake to enjoy it because the story is so dull and boring, im not inclined to get it. But vice-versa, i am more willing to spend more on older movies that is cleaned up and rebadged as a high-definition release, such as Independence Day or Twister, just because the stories in them are so compelling.Hell, gimme Citizen Kane, The Godfather, Carrie, Rosemary's Baby or The Devil's Backbone in BD, and i'd rather buy those titles full priced, than the recent special-effects laden mega blockbusters (or bollockbusters i call them) such as the crappy 10,000 B.C. ALL IMO of course, what may be a "must-have" for me, may not apply the same to others. |
May 13 2008, 05:42 PM
And i thought i've heard it all. Notch a few up for the "male raging hormone" reasoning, although i find the real-life jubblies/knockers gives the highest definition "picture" there is of that, not to mention more satisfying tactile feeling too. Too busy watching and not "getting"?
May 13 2008, 06:08 PM
If all you're getting is a look (high definition look nonetheless), why even bother when you have the real thing? People are weird. They yearn for things yet they fail to realise that they already have those things they wanted in front of their eyes.
Should i cabut too? The opposite side perhaps? This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 13 2008, 06:08 PM |
May 13 2008, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(Audio Nirvana @ May 13 2008, 06:25 PM) I don't get your argument. So if I yearn for Jessica Alba, I shouldn't bother because I already have the real thing? Yearning and obsessing are two different things. I would reckon that if you're at the stage where you purchase a BD just for the fact that there are two "jubblies" (or three, as in the case of Good Luck Chuck) to see, this is more than just a case of unbridled libido. Your wife is there for that. Or you're just trying to say that one jubblies is the same as another jubblies? Now that's not entirely true ain't it? Even if the exact duplicate set of jubblies is attached to two different "carriers", the experience with each one can be quite different. BTW, wtf kind of word is jubblies anyway? If these jubblies are the ones you care about, then why dont get a whole bunch of high definition clips of jubblies of your choice and make them into a montage so that you can simply watch them over and over again ,rather than returning to that bookmarked chapter in your Into The Blue? And if you'd come back here saying you want soft porn with some semblance of a story, ........what story is there in Into the Blue or any soft porn titles out there anywhere? The point here is, get the real deal, instead of obsessing on moving knockers on a flat screen. However alluring these mammaries are, they are still "flat" on the flat screen, not like the bosoms on your wife waiting in the bedroom. Fantasizing and fawning over Tinseltown queens (or whores) are best left during the age where you are still reading Seventeen, or getting curious about your sexuality. Not when you're this old, and hopefully with the maturity that comes with it. Pardon my language, or my slang, it comes with the territory. Unfortunately, im fairly assimilated with where i live and the people im around with, and that word "jubblies" comes very often in our day-to-day conversation. ....Now, let's get back to BD, rather than derailing with different ways of describing boobies/mammaries/jubblies/knockers/rack/ or its Malay equivalents. I agree with Aiman, Sunshine is a great thinking sci-fi. I Am Legend, if made exactly and stayed true to the book, would make a great sci-fi/drama/thriller alongside it. I still hold dearly to my two alltime favourite scifi :- 2001 :A Space Odyssey and Blade Runner. P/S: Before anyone starts digging into my signature and finding out i actually have Into The Blue in my collection, that title is unfortunately part of the free 5 BD titles that comes with the previous Samsung BD Player that had came into my possession. Sadly you cant pick what titles you want around here, unlike in the States. This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 13 2008, 07:24 PM |
May 13 2008, 07:31 PM
QUOTE(ruffstuff @ May 13 2008, 07:26 PM) As i said earlier, every single film out there 'deserves' HD format, that include Malaysian film that consider to be sampah. Weather it's worth it or not, it's back to each preferences. That's the very basic in purchasing criteria and you cannot deny people preferences. What you're saying here is moving the entire movie catalogue into HD, which i fully agree. What i do not agree with is that "movies with boobies" getting worship status, undeservingly, because those boobies are in high-def. That is what the current crop of audience have turn to when we celebrate movies like Epic Movie, Meet the Spartan, or the upcoming Superhero Movie, and turning our eyes from excellent titles like No Country for Old Men or There Will Be Blood.This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 13 2008, 07:32 PM |
May 13 2008, 07:40 PM
Funny how you reply, and i quote:-
QUOTE you cannot deny people preferences. One very glaringly obvious example is the local audience in Malaysia in accepting their own cinematic work. See how rubbish like Cuci and countless other garbage-bin material like it gets celebrated as box-office champions while Yasmin Ahmad's offerings gets "cricket-chirping" response to say the least. Does this reflect upon Malaysian psyche and their level of thinking? Water-levels have never been any shallower. High-def? Yes please, but i would never want to go to the movies watching crappy Apek comedy movies no matter how high-def his movies are, or how "defined" his nostril hairs are in high-def. Sorry, crappy stories will not attract audience no matter how gee-whiz-bang jawdropping it looks, without a palatable engaging story. Movies are about , in its literal mean, telling a story. |
May 13 2008, 10:45 PM
QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 13 2008, 10:14 PM) AGREED Why would you get 200 BD titles and not liking them?That's a lot of moolah to spend on! Care to elaborate, im intrigued. I hope it does not involve showing off. but ... if I like it ...WHY not ?? alot ppl got 200BDs but doesnt mean he likes all the movie 1 man daging 1 man racun Added on May 13, 2008, 10:34 pmBEST BUY going to have buy 2 $30 sales soon next week...with some paramount title Unless those movies i dont care about are Christmas or birthday gifts or any kind of gifts at all, i wouldnt even bother getting them. The way i see it, there would probably be three valid reason to get them:- Because the story is engaging, and to a lesser extent, because the PQ & AQ can be referenced by to showcase your home theatre setup (screen and speakers/AVR combo). I have yet to see any dignified and reliable AV enthusiast showcase their setup with Girls Gone Wild or Pirates. No, not the POTC kind. Showcasing boobs, especially naked ones, arent exactly dignifying your setup that much. FAST EDIT: Dont get me wrong, i love naked flesh as much as the next red-blooded male around here, but seeing how these titles are priced at a premium, as any BDs are anyway, i'd rather relegate those cash to spending on better titles than hi-def porn, unless you have cash to throw around......If that's the case, then im not surprised to see your "friends" acting so nicely around you for a "certain" reason. This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 13 2008, 11:01 PM |
May 13 2008, 11:00 PM
Which is why i always say to these rednecks that they are stupid. Buying for the sake of buying. This kind of behaviour is called hoarding.
May 13 2008, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 13 2008, 11:02 PM) nvm la IIANM, only the AVP:R and the AVP boxset (AVP + AVP:R)have digital copies. The singular AVP does not have it. Digital copy versions of the BDs have that topside banner on the BD front cover advertising it.their $ ma .. as long as he or she happi ok lo btw... i got my AVP just now ..unrated version but no digital copy |
May 13 2008, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(apisgogo @ May 13 2008, 11:40 PM) does anyone fans of Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles series? I love the free pilot episode i've downloaded through iTunes, but word on the street says that the series has gone downhill from there.http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detai...KX0DER&v=glance im definitely gettin this |
May 14 2008, 04:13 PM
Judging from the last post i did till this page, i can only shake my head. The intention was to keep the whole discussion mainly about BD and making the whole discussion look somewhat civilised and proper, after all it is "All Things about Blu-Ray". I would love to have the discussion here to somewhat resemble the level of quality and maturity in the AVSForum (the good ones, not the fanboyish blabbering kind), but it looks like the lot here would rather have it kopitiam-style, sitting down with one leg propped on the stool while talking boisterously about women anatomy. Ashamed to link this forum to those rednecks,......yeah, they do hoard and stuff, but at least when it comes to conversation and discussions, they're civil and know their limits.
Carry on, no point "blowing a gasket" like someone pointed it here , over something the crowd here have unanimously agreed that is tolerated and encouraged, that's the way you wanted this whole section to become. I guess most of you guys here would rather have this forum here looking like an IM conversation rather than a fruitful discussions, boobs and all. I'm in CA. at the moment, and am open to BD purchases from Amazon to be brought back from US. Only coming back to KL end of this month, so that i can bring back the two National Treasure BDs with me. Any takers, i'll see if i can do the same for you. |
May 14 2008, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ May 14 2008, 04:21 PM) Nope. The news on Macrumors were right, you cant find any more iPhones in Apple Stores right now, there is an "indefinite" waiting period for it. I guess Apple's gearing up for the 3G model.Added on May 14, 2008, 4:27 pm QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 14 2008, 04:25 PM) I'll see if i can find them. How many?This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 14 2008, 04:27 PM |
May 14 2008, 04:47 PM
"Occasional" is not what i'd choose to describe about the "harmless fun" you decide to talk most of the time here. Might as well change it to "All Things about Blue-Movie" while you're at it. It is simple, dont want people to talk you down like pubescent teenagers? Act, talk and type like adults!
And oh, my comment about turning a discussion forum IM-conversation stays, i dont see any worthwhile content in those kind of posts here. Posts like aiman's are the ones i'd consider worth browsing through. |
May 14 2008, 05:01 PM
Try AVSforum. Their posts are chock-full of worthwhile information, but they present them in a manner that is not snooze-worthy. Here, things tend to drag on to coffeshop material, youhave to sift through piles and piles of inane tableside talk before you can come to the posts that contain the info you want to get to.
It all goes to how you word them. Your post can be informative and still be entertaining to read. If you post them point blank , complete with cut and paste with bullet points, of course you'll lull your audience to sleep. You already have the kopitiam thread in this forum, dont turn this into another one. You say LYN is a tech-enthusiast/gadget related community, but posts in here hardly describe that level of sophistication that THAT title implies on the LYN front page. |
| Change to: | 0.0460sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:17 PM |