Tax Rebate for Sports and Exercise Equipment, What is covered?
TSDannyl
Apr 30 2008, 10:42 AM, updated 18y ago
Hi guys, Let me quote: You will get a deduction of RM 300 for each year of assessment for the purchase of sports and exercise equipment for any sports activities defined under the Sport Development Act 1997. (Source: http://e-malabari.net/finance/reducetax1.htm, point #9) This starts in 2008. So my question is, what kinds of equipment are covered? How about these: Sports clothing (including shoes; maybe not, otherwise we'll all be wearing Nikes) Sporting goods (mats, dumbbells, racquets, etc) Exercise equipment (benches, treadmills, stationery bikes, etc) Electronic equipments (heart-rate monitors, etc) Too bad they don't cover health supplements
mancy
Apr 30 2008, 10:47 AM
i think anything regarding sports can... than means 1 new nike @ adidas shoes every year or footie jersey... muhahaha...
kianweic
Apr 30 2008, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(Dannyl @ Apr 30 2008, 10:42 AM) Hi guys, Let me quote: You will get a deduction of RM 300 for each year of assessment for the purchase of sports and exercise equipment for any sports activities defined under the Sport Development Act 1997. (Source: http://e-malabari.net/finance/reducetax1.htm, point #9) This starts in 2008. So my question is, what kinds of equipment are covered? How about these: Sports clothing (including shoes; maybe not, otherwise we'll all be wearing Nikes) Sporting goods (mats, dumbbells, racquets, etc) Exercise equipment (benches, treadmills, stationery bikes, etc) Electronic equipments (heart-rate monitors, etc) Too bad they don't cover health supplements  I think you can only get deduction from that on 2009 when you do your tax return for 2008. Sorry I might be wrong, I will need to have a look on the 2007 and 2008 Tax Budget. Worst of all it's in the boxes. Cheers
yeeck
Apr 30 2008, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(kianweic @ Apr 30 2008, 11:01 AM) I think you can only get deduction from that on 2009 when you do your tax return for 2008. Sorry I might be wrong, I will need to have a look on the 2007 and 2008 Tax Budget. Worst of all it's in the boxes. Cheers Purchase of sports and exercise equipment including all types of racquets and balls, threadmills, exercise bikes and air walkers - max relief RM300. I suppose I can include badminton shuttlecocks which costs almost RM50 per tube these days. Don't think clothing and shoes count but if you wanna take the risk...hehe. This post has been edited by yeeck: Apr 30 2008, 01:10 PM
red-queen
Apr 30 2008, 03:23 PM
so dumbbells, barbells all can get rebate?
kuntaker
Apr 30 2008, 05:11 PM
i dun think is this year bah.. suppose nex year tax compute ba
Polaris
Apr 30 2008, 06:06 PM
One mini-machine is already more than 300.. even powerball is almost 200.
yeeck
May 3 2008, 12:01 AM
Ya...just put in ur returns lah....make sure you keep the receipts.
lambertlai
May 3 2008, 12:21 AM
Impossible..................
kianweic
May 3 2008, 08:06 AM
I think it should be like RM2k of tax relief. RM300 maybe just enough to buy a set of dumbbells and some sport equipments.
Definitely not enough to buy a treadmill or crosstrainer machine.
Would be nice to have my own set of cardio equipments and free weights equipment at home, can work out early in the morning at home before going to work.
spana
May 5 2008, 11:45 AM
The question is whether this RM300 is deductable from: -
1. Total Taxable Income.
OR
2. The Actual Tax payable.
Eg. if my total taxable income is RM100,000 a year and this RM300 is deducted from here...then this tax relief is just peanuts....
but if my taxable income is RM100,000 and the total tax payable is lets say RM8,000... if this RM300 is deducted from here, then it is very much worth it.... my net tax payable will be RM7,700. this is huge man....
anyone can clarify this.... ???
oRoXoRo
May 5 2008, 05:58 PM
if not mistaken...deduct from the total taxable income..pelepasan cukai rm300 right?
TSDannyl
May 5 2008, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(kianweic @ May 3 2008, 08:06 AM) I think it should be like RM2k of tax relief. RM300 maybe just enough to buy a set of dumbbells and some sport equipments. Definitely not enough to buy a treadmill or crosstrainer machine. Would be nice to have my own set of cardio equipments and free weights equipment at home, can work out early in the morning at home before going to work. Well, hopefully the government realises the importance of exercising and the amount will go up in the future. Just like the tax relief for books, remember? RM300 then RM500, RM700, then last year it was RM1000. QUOTE(oRoXoRo @ May 5 2008, 05:58 PM) if not mistaken...deduct from the total taxable income..pelepasan cukai rm300 right? Yes total taxable income.
oRoXoRo
May 6 2008, 11:48 AM
its deduct from total taxable income..its like nothing..  but u can save few RM...
NaiveLady
Jun 22 2008, 04:12 PM

Tax relief up to a maximum of RM 300 a year be given on purchase of sports equipment. • Defination of sports under Sports Development Act 1997.
The following activities are regarded as sports for the purposes of this Act: 1. Archery 2. Athletics 3. Aquatics 4. Automobile Sports 5. Badminton 6. Basketball 7. Billiards and Snooker 8. Body Building 9. Bowling 10. Boxing 11. Cricket 12. Cycling 13. Equestrian Sports 14. Fencing 15. Foolball 16. Golf 17. Gymnastics 18. Handball 19. Hockey 20. Judo 21. Karate Do 22. Lawn Bowls 23. Netball 24. Rugby 25. Sepak Takraw 26. Shooting 27. Silat Olahraga 28. Soft Tennis 29. Softball 30. Squash 31. Table Tennis 32. Tae kwan do 33. Tennis 34. Volleyball 35. Waterski 36. Weightlifting 37. Wrestling 38. Wushu 39. Yachting
jfashion33
Jun 22 2008, 06:40 PM

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Apr 30 2008, 10:42 AM) Hi guys, Let me quote: You will get a deduction of RM 300 for each year of assessment for the purchase of sports and exercise equipment for any sports activities defined under the Sport Development Act 1997. (Source: http://e-malabari.net/finance/reducetax1.htm, point #9) This starts in 2008. So my question is, what kinds of equipment are covered? How about these: Sports clothing (including shoes; maybe not, otherwise we'll all be wearing Nikes) Sporting goods (mats, dumbbells, racquets, etc) Exercise equipment (benches, treadmills, stationery bikes, etc) Electronic equipments (heart-rate monitors, etc) Too bad they don't cover health supplements  QUOTE(mancy @ Apr 30 2008, 10:47 AM) i think anything regarding sports can... than means 1 new nike @ adidas shoes every year or footie jersey... muhahaha... hehe if so..that a good news to many people out there....btw is the sport clothing really tax rebate-able???
hypersushi
Aug 16 2008, 11:26 AM

QUOTE(NaiveLady @ Jun 22 2008, 04:12 PM) Tax relief up to a maximum of RM 300 a year be given on purchase of sports equipment. • Defination of sports under Sports Development Act 1997. The following activities are regarded as sports for the purposes of this Act: 1. Archery 2. Athletics 3. Aquatics 4. Automobile Sports 5. Badminton 6. Basketball 7. Billiards and Snooker 8. Body Building 9. Bowling 10. Boxing 11. Cricket 12. Cycling 13. Equestrian Sports 14. Fencing 15. Foolball 16. Golf 17. Gymnastics 18. Handball 19. Hockey 20. Judo 21. Karate Do 22. Lawn Bowls 23. Netball 24. Rugby 25. Sepak Takraw 26. Shooting 27. Silat Olahraga 28. Soft Tennis 29. Softball 30. Squash 31. Table Tennis 32. Tae kwan do 33. Tennis 34. Volleyball 35. Waterski 36. Weightlifting 37. Wrestling 38. Wushu 39. Yachting What? Fishing not considered a sport??? dammmm.... BTW, where did you get this info? I can't find it via google.
Jackieboy
Oct 24 2008, 01:56 AM

So does this mean that
a) running / jogging shoes can be claimed? b) Or if i buy a bicycle (mountain / racing) can be claimed? c) Shuttlecocks? d) Football/basketball jerseys?
This post has been edited by Jackieboy: Oct 24 2008, 01:59 AM
findecano1
Jan 25 2009, 03:26 PM
Found this a little too late. RM300? DArn IT! My Yonex costs more than that.  Where got enough cover?
jonjon87
Jan 27 2009, 10:31 PM
Sports equipment....can these be used for tax reduction:
lets say, badminton - racket holder, shuttle cock cycling - helmet, shoes,
Or i do i need to get the MAIN equipment only can reduce?