TSsyyang85
post Apr 30 2008, 12:39 AM, updated 18y ago

982 posts

Finally, their album is coming out !!!

on 12 June 2008.

The album is named Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends

Their newest single called Violet Hill is available for free via their website at www.coldplay

Click 'I' for song, then it will ask for your email. The download link will be sent to your email.

Grab em now! It will be free for only a week.

Catchy tune. Reminds me of icky thump.

This post has been edited by syyang85: Apr 30 2008, 05:50 PM
Jaroque
post Apr 30 2008, 12:47 AM

995 posts

ewww...sounds.....smth wrng? grats on the album though. I like coldplay haha.
kobe8byrant
post Apr 30 2008, 02:30 AM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

Thank you! Can't wait. Loved X and Y and Rush of Blood. Must say that the title seems something that Coheed and Cambria would name their album laugh.gif

Next up, I need some U2 and Snow Patrol
obefiend
post Apr 30 2008, 09:19 AM

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilluminati
863 posts

just listened to the single on XFM. its ok aje. maybe need further listening to really like it.
TSsyyang85
post Apr 30 2008, 10:03 AM

982 posts

QUOTE(obefiend @ Apr 30 2008, 09:19 AM)
just listened to the single on XFM. its ok aje. maybe need further listening to really like it.
Hahaha. That was what I felt at first. Further listening, makes this track addictive. tongue.gif

Catchy beat.
Klesk
post Apr 30 2008, 10:51 AM

3,469 posts

OMG at first i thought, wah biggrin.gif free song! after listenin to it, i feel like wanting to shift+del it already, what a sucky track.. i still think "fix you" is their best song...
khazz
post Apr 30 2008, 11:24 AM

PIXEL THE BRAIN
858 posts

violet hill not bad.. i just like it icon_rolleyes.gif
EightPhantomz
post Apr 30 2008, 12:03 PM

1,766 posts

Not bad. Maybe not as good as Fix you/Yellow gang but still it's a Coldplay trademark sound. With moore distorted guitar effects.
kobe8byrant
post Apr 30 2008, 12:26 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(Klesk @ Apr 30 2008, 10:51 AM)
OMG at first i thought, wah biggrin.gif free song! after listenin to it, i feel like wanting to shift+del it already, what a sucky track.. i still think "fix you" is their best song...
The whole album was great. The Hardest Part is my favorite song though - not a popular choice but I love it. Talk is great as is Speed of Sound as is Fix You.
Eisenmeteor
post Apr 30 2008, 01:06 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

Cannot la..they ask me for id and password..dunno hw nw..haha
hiiragizawa
post Apr 30 2008, 01:16 PM

365 posts

http://rapidshare.com/files/111429583/01_V...t_Hill.MP3.html

Link for those who do not want to go through that email process.
EightPhantomz
post Apr 30 2008, 03:00 PM

1,766 posts

If u're really a Coldplay fan, u wouldnt say its a sucky song. Yes Fix U is great and whatever, but u cant expect them to do another Fix U, rite? For me, its an ok song. Still a Coldplay trademark song.

And my fav Coldplay song will be "Shiver". Familiar? No? Hehe.
sumtuckieeeee
post Apr 30 2008, 05:38 PM

889 posts

I actually like the new song. Atleast something different from them
Klesk
post Apr 30 2008, 05:54 PM

3,469 posts

QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ Apr 30 2008, 03:00 PM)
If u're really a Coldplay fan, u wouldnt say its a sucky song. Yes Fix U is great and whatever, but u cant expect them to do another Fix U, rite? For me, its an ok song. Still a Coldplay trademark song.

And my fav Coldplay song will be "Shiver". Familiar? No? Hehe.
oh well,sorry, frankly am not a Coldplay fan, basically they're just a pre-"Kid A" Radiohead wannabe band, but i still like some of their songs..
Shiver? thats my fav song too, thumbup.gif
"Did you want me to change?
Well I'd change for good"

ykc
post Apr 30 2008, 05:55 PM

1,884 posts

eh free mp3, why not? smile.gif
oxalato
post Apr 30 2008, 10:31 PM

609 posts

i pretty much like their new song. cant wait for their album release!!
kobe8byrant
post Apr 30 2008, 10:34 PM

12,275 posts

I actually don't notice that much of a difference from their music but it still sounds good.
Proclaimer
post May 1 2008, 03:33 AM

1,150 posts

Their new song is pretty good lah to me although i'm not a huge fan of Coldplay.. Hehe.. biggrin.gif
sickx
post May 2 2008, 01:23 AM

:)
1,232 posts

not bad..just dl-ed it and listented to it once.i gotta say that this is a good new material from them.hope there's more to come.
TSsyyang85
post May 2 2008, 01:36 PM

982 posts

I like the lo-fi sound.

It sounded raw.
jayxunned
post May 2 2008, 06:37 PM

478 posts

i love the 1st and 2nd album most...

SUSb3ta
post May 2 2008, 10:53 PM

responsible poster stormtrooper
685 posts

this new song is pretty good
nocar
post May 3 2008, 07:00 PM

752 posts

Just downloaded 'Violet Hill'.... it is Coldplay stuff alright. My fav song ever from Coldplay is 'Yellow'.
amalost
post May 31 2008, 12:44 AM

798 posts

the video for the first single(viva la vida) will out soon,cant wait for the album!!!
kobe8byrant
post May 31 2008, 12:46 AM

12,275 posts

Violet Hill already has a video - saw it in the gym this morning.
amalost
post May 31 2008, 07:14 AM

798 posts

ya,my bad...
ulwan25
post Jun 1 2008, 11:16 AM

2,054 posts

lol, whats with the vidz? xde arah tujuan or what? its really weird go check it out on youtube. but, the song is good! although like it after 5 - 6 time hearin it. viva la vida was really2 great. first time hearin u will love it.

really a competitor for onerepublic. right?
kobe8byrant
post Jun 1 2008, 11:26 AM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(ulwan25 @ Jun 1 2008, 11:16 AM)
lol, whats with the vidz? xde arah tujuan or what? its really weird go check it out on youtube. but, the song is good! although like it after 5 - 6 time hearin it. viva la vida was really2 great. first time hearin u will love it.

really a competitor for onerepublic. right?
Coldplay are on a different league! tongue.gif

The video reminded me of the Beatles.
thefryingfox
post Jun 1 2008, 11:58 AM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

The Scientist and Dont Panic is my favorite....i sang the scientist to my girlfriend and she cried biggrin.gif ..that powerful
kobe8byrant
post Jun 1 2008, 05:37 PM

12,275 posts

Another of my favorites

Till Kingdom Come - dedicated to the late Johnny Cash.

I just hope Malaysia will be dropped into the Asian leg of their World tour in August.

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Jun 1 2008, 05:37 PM
ulwan25
post Jun 2 2008, 10:04 AM

2,054 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jun 1 2008, 12:26 PM)
Coldplay are on a different league! tongue.gif

The video reminded me of the Beatles.
lol just my thoughts blush.gif but for me, CP just like a senior for onerepublic (for me la rclxms.gif )

but, 2 singles release after one?? in a good charts? wonder if the two of it will come up through number 1?? smile.gif
EightPhantomz
post Jun 2 2008, 03:18 PM

1,766 posts

No, no, no.
Dont put Coldplay beside OneRepublic's name. Very different league.
Its offensive for britrock fans. Hehe.

There are similarity yes, specially One's Stop&Stare. But maybe in guitar riffs etc.

If u want comparison for Coldplay, maybe Radiohead and bits of Travis.
For OneRep, The Fray.
Calvin871989
post Jun 2 2008, 10:32 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

another one of your coldplay fan rite here guys. yesh me baby biggrin.gif lol

well ive been a coldplay fan for like 8 years now and i think oveall they have done well but still need to come out more albums in the future

the albums parachutes , a rush of blood to the head plus x&y & now vivda la vida has been some really nice songs in it

as for the album now they have release two singles, violet hill & viva la vida

violet hill for me was 1st ok but as for viva la vida, well it was coldplay's all time come back. the sound of it was cool with the guitars, drums, and all other kinds of sounds beats. the video for viva la vida on itunes was nice with the background colours and all

hope the next single will be even more sweet then two or the single release biggrin.gif
kobe8byrant
post Jun 3 2008, 04:08 PM

12,275 posts

Damn it, LEAK already. First three albums on loop in iPod and iTunes!
ulwan25
post Jun 3 2008, 11:43 PM

2,054 posts

QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ Jun 2 2008, 04:18 PM)
No, no, no.
Dont put Coldplay beside OneRepublic's name. Very different league.
Its offensive for britrock fans. Hehe.

There are similarity yes, specially One's Stop&Stare. But maybe in guitar riffs etc.

If u want comparison for Coldplay, maybe Radiohead and bits of Travis.
For OneRep, The Fray.
mad.gif no no. OneRepublic is a good competitor mad.gif HAHAHAHA

ok. maybe not. true that rclxub.gif

leak?? same as OneRepublic before. so, its the same rite?? nod.gif
hello_world
post Jun 4 2008, 07:33 PM

32 posts

here's lovers in japan: http://youtube.com/watch?v=wGtvjOA5OGQ
really awesome song but it's an acoustic version. if you do a little bit of digging on youtube, you can find a full live version that they did on the jimmy kimmel show, which is more awesome-er. they played another new track called chinese sleep chant. hmm.. it seems they kinda like asia.

i for one have only listened to lovers in japan once and heard 10 seconds of chinese sleep chant. i really have to control myself not to spoil the album. right now i'm already a bit muak of viva la vida... hehe... super-awesome song, but when you listen to it every hour of everyday... well...

edit: here's the live version of lovers in japan! http://youtube.com/watch?v=CUi15bVkpy0&feature=related
it's not the full version though

This post has been edited by hello_world: Jun 4 2008, 07:37 PM
kobe8byrant
post Jun 4 2008, 09:33 PM

12,275 posts

Seriously, Viva la Vida is an awesome song. I just had to tap my feet and bang my head as the song went.
TSsyyang85
post Jun 4 2008, 11:50 PM

982 posts

here's the Coldplay - Apple iTunes Viva La Vida promo
hello_world
post Jun 5 2008, 12:53 AM

32 posts

smile.gif just saw the apple ad. awesome ad. i seriously would not mind it if the real viva la vida video looked just like that.
EightPhantomz
post Jun 5 2008, 10:17 AM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(ulwan25 @ Jun 3 2008, 11:43 PM)
mad.gif no no. OneRepublic is a good competitor mad.gif  HAHAHAHA

ok. maybe not. true that rclxub.gif

leak?? same as OneRepublic before. so, its the same rite?? nod.gif
Its not about competition lah kawan. Its more of the genre itself.
So many britrock wannabes from US nowadays but I'm not saying OneRep is one of them.
Like I said, OneRep has its own concept. Similar to TheFray which is also from US.
If u listen to OneRep's album and Coldplay's albums, u'll know what I mean lah.

Viva La Viva is very different from Coldplay's previous album. Its like an experimental.
kobe8byrant
post Jun 5 2008, 04:28 PM

12,275 posts

Traccia 10 has to be the best piece of shit I've listened to this year
Calvin871989
post Jun 5 2008, 06:34 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

I hear Jerusalem bells a ringing
Roman Cavalry choirs are singing
Be my mirror my sword and shield
My missionaries in a foreign field
For some reason I can't explain
I know Saint Peter won't call my name
Never an honest word
But that was when I ruled the world
(Ohhhhh Ohhh Ohhh) !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

man guys i cant top singing to this song "viva la vida"!!! its like the best single on the album and i cat stop watching the itunes add video. hope the real video for viva la vida will be something like that! biggrin.gif

amalost
post Jun 5 2008, 08:56 PM

798 posts

QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ Jun 5 2008, 10:17 AM)
Viva La ViDa is very different from Coldplay's previous album. Its like an experimental.
and its work brilliantly...

Added on June 5, 2008, 9:40 pmand also chris martin already said that 'violet hill' will be playable at guitar hero 4...w00t!!

This post has been edited by amalost: Jun 5 2008, 09:40 PM
hello_world
post Jun 6 2008, 10:30 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Jun 5 2008, 06:34 PM)
I hear Jerusalem bells a ringing
Roman Cavalry choirs are singing
Be my mirror my sword and shield
My missionaries in a foreign field
For some reason I can't explain
I know Saint Peter won't call my name
Never an honest word
But that was when I ruled the world
(Ohhhhh Ohhh Ohhh) !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

man guys i cant top singing to this song "viva la vida"!!! its like the best single on the album and i cat stop watching the itunes add video. hope the real video for viva la vida will be something like that! biggrin.gif
dude i suggest waiting till the album comes out, then you can splurge on your coldplay cravings. just ban yourself from hearing anything from viva la vida for the next few days, and when the album comes out just imagine the satisfaction you'll get when hearing all the new songs in one go. it's like masturbation: tension, tension, tension... release. trust me, it works.

btw, you guys seen the MTV movie awards performance? to be honest... chris martin's voice sucked... it sounded like he was straining the words out or something. a bit dissapointing but still cool. the church bell is such an awesome instrument. here it is: http://youtube.com/watch?v=y-S-Q00kGic

This post has been edited by hello_world: Jun 6 2008, 10:46 PM
Calvin871989
post Jun 6 2008, 10:57 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

well guys the album has been leaked to one of the torrent site yesterday an EMI is in serious trouble.

here in the site...

Viva la Leak, or how EMI is in serious trouble

http://www.prefixmag.com/news/coldplay-viv...ida-leak/19132/

Added on June 7, 2008, 1:29 amok guys all coldplay songs are on torrents and on limewire as well for the new album viva la vida or death and all his friends.

well i rate the album as 8/10 cause the songs in the album were way far better then any other songs they have made from their last album's. trust me guys if you were a true coldplay fan you would just simple close your eyes and rate this album as one of the best coldplay's album of all time. be sure to check out and listen to their new songs. "coldplay the best british band in the world!!!" biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Jun 7 2008, 01:30 AM
amalost
post Jun 8 2008, 03:48 AM

798 posts

i dunno man,only go through it for the 1st time and the music is brilliant but overall....myb i have to keep playin their songs to love it...

p/s:the sound of the music is abit like arcade fire...??
ulwan25
post Jun 8 2008, 07:26 AM

2,054 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Jun 6 2008, 11:57 PM)
well guys the album has been leaked to one of the torrent site yesterday an EMI is in serious trouble.

here in the site...

Viva la Leak, or how EMI is in serious trouble

http://www.prefixmag.com/news/coldplay-viv...ida-leak/19132/

Added on June 7, 2008, 1:29 amok guys all coldplay songs are on torrents and on limewire as well for the new album viva la vida or death and all his friends.

well i rate the album as 8/10 cause the songs in the album were way far better then any other songs they have made from their last album's. trust me guys if you were a true coldplay fan you would just simple close your eyes and rate this album as one of the best coldplay's album of all time. be sure to check out and listen to their new songs. "coldplay the best british band in the world!!!" biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
u torrent it?? rclxub.gif
Calvin871989
post Jun 8 2008, 02:11 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(ulwan25 @ Jun 8 2008, 07:26 AM)
u torrent it?? rclxub.gif
lol no man it wasnt me but when the torrent came out i just cant wait any longer for their album to come out plus i got the torrent and started listening to all their songs. then i felt like i was in heaven. the songs in their album is like so good to litne too plus the sound of it is so diffrent then the past 3 ablums they've made. overall the ablum ill rate it as 8/10 as a coldplay fan tongue.gif lol
popsicle toast
post Jun 8 2008, 04:48 PM

29 posts

"and the future's architectured by a carnival of idiots on show"

quoted for truth.
Calvin871989
post Jun 8 2008, 06:23 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(popsicle toast @ Jun 8 2008, 04:48 PM)
"and the future's architectured by a carnival of idiots on show"

quoted for truth.
what is that "quote" supposed to mean? ;P
old_calculator
post Jun 9 2008, 01:26 AM

Don't go away
980 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Jun 8 2008, 06:23 PM)
what is that "quote" supposed to mean? ;P
edit for no reason

This post has been edited by old_calculator: Jun 14 2008, 01:02 PM
hello_world
post Jun 9 2008, 01:32 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(amalost @ Jun 8 2008, 03:48 AM)
i dunno man,only go through it for the 1st time and the music is brilliant but overall....myb i have to keep playin their songs to love it...

p/s:the sound of the music is abit like arcade fire...??
wow you know arcade fire?! that's cool man. who introduced it to you? he must've been a really really awesome guy.

anyway, i've only recently downloaded the album. but only heard the first 3-4 songs, wanted to buy the album... anyway i thought the first track was quite a standout. the rest probably have to listen to more lah
Calvin871989
post Jun 9 2008, 05:10 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

hmm i still dont get the quote man. anyone here mind to explain to me what the quote means? thanks smile.gif

ps : i fail my english tongue.gif lol
amalost
post Jun 9 2008, 06:11 PM

798 posts

my favourite:
1.Viva La Vida
2.Cemeteries of London
3.Strawberry Swing
4.Lovers is Japan
5.Violet Hill

This post has been edited by amalost: Jun 9 2008, 06:12 PM
popsicle toast
post Jun 9 2008, 06:44 PM

29 posts

NO!
YOU GOT THE ALBUM OFF A TORRENT??!
*passes out
ulwan25
post Jun 10 2008, 07:06 PM

2,054 posts

u got plans for buyin it?? since ur ColdPlay's fan, same what i did with OneRepublic, downlod it first but after that, bought their album, only it was Malaysian Edition.
QuickFire
post Jun 10 2008, 07:15 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

I havent even heard violet hill yet, just going thru the album for the first time up to track 3 now. I'm liking it so far.
Calvin871989
post Jun 10 2008, 08:24 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

yeah man im gonna buy it of course i mean the effort and time they put in this would be waste if i dont buy their album. i downloaded it cause i couldnt wait any more longer and felt so good listening to all their song after such a long time when the X&Y album was out. but yeah man i would buy their album just for "Coldplay" biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Makakeke
post Jun 10 2008, 08:36 PM

310 posts

I surprisingly enjoy this album very much. Almost all of the tracks are very enjoyable and it's pretty upbeat, which is a plus point considering their previous melancholic albums. I can't even list down my fav tracks.

I love the first minute of Vida la vida, reminds me of Eleanor Rigby and although the instrumental part in 42 sounds like a rip-off from Bodysnatchers, still a good song.

This post has been edited by Makakeke: Jun 10 2008, 08:40 PM
ulwan25
post Jun 10 2008, 09:04 PM

2,054 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Jun 10 2008, 09:24 PM)
yeah man im gonna buy it of course i mean the effort and time they put in this would be waste if i dont buy their album. i downloaded it cause i couldnt wait any more longer and felt so good listening to all their song after such a long time when the X&Y album was out. but yeah man i would buy their album just for "Coldplay" biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
great to hear. well if u ask me if im CP fans too, well IM NOT tongue.gif

only onerepublic inspires from CP, thats the story smile.gif
Calvin871989
post Jun 10 2008, 09:17 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

haha yeah OneRepublic is not bad as Coldplay if you ask me cause their not that really diffrent from each other plus i think there is some songs connection between the two bands and i love when they use their falsetto in some songs biggrin.gif
Calvin871989
post Jun 11 2008, 07:47 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

o rite guys just got an email from coldplay just now and yes its good news that you guys have been finally waiting for

NEW ALBUM DUE FOR RELEASE!

ALBUM OUT THIS WEEK
Yes, the wait is almost over. Coldplay's new album, 'Viva La Vida', is released worldwide over the next few days. The album is out in Japan today and the UK tomorrow, with worldwide release dates following between now and the beginning of next week. If you see your flag below, click the links to order the album from iTunes or Amazon.
iTunes:

Amazon:

HEAR THE ALBUM NOW!
If you can't wait for 'Viva La Vida' to be released, you can hear the entire album right now at Coldplay's MySpace profile, www.myspace.com/coldplay. Unfortunately, some countries are excluded from the online playback, but folks in the US can listen at IHeartMusic.com.

REVISED NORTH AMERICAN TOUR DATES
We're very sorry, but unfortunately Coldplay have had to move the dates of some of the previously-announced North American shows. The band have experienced some production delays which mean that the show simply won't be ready for June 29. It's very frustrating but they promise you a show worthy of your patience and understanding when they start in mid-July. All tickets remain valid, but refunds will be available from the point of purchase if you're unable to make it to the new date. The full revised routing is as follows:

July 14 - Los Angeles, CA - The Forum
July 15 - Los Angeles, CA - The Forum
July 18 - San Jose, CA - HP Pavilion
July 19 - Las Vegas, NV - MGM Grand Garden Arena
July 23 - Chicago, IL - United Center
July 25 - Philadelphia, PA - Wachovia Center
July 27 - Pemberton Festival
July 29 - Montreal, QB - Bell Centre
July 30 - Toronto, ON - Air Canada Centre
August 02 - Hartford, CT - XL Center
August 03 - Washington, DC - Verizon Center
August 04 - Boston, MA - TD Banknorth Arena
October 20 - Ottawa, ON - Scotiabank Place
October 21 - Cleveland, OH - Quicken Loans Arena
October 26 - East Rutherford, NJ - Izod Center
November 03 - Detroit, MI - The Palace of Auburn Hills
November 07 - Orlando, FL - Amway Arena
November 09 - Ft Lauderdale, FL - BankAtlantic Center
November 11 - Atlanta, GA - Philips Arena
November 13 - Kansas City, MO - Sprint Center
November 14 - St Paul, MO - Xcel Energy Center
November 16 - Oklahoma City, OK - Ford Center
November 18 - Houston, TX - Toyota Center
November 19 - Dallas, TX - American Airlines Center
November 21 - Denver, CO - Pepsi Center Arena
November 22 - Salt Lake City, UT - Energy Solutions Arena
November 26 - Phoenix, AZ - Jobing.com Arena

BBC TO BROADCAST BRIXTON SHOW LIVE
As you know, Coldplay are playing a free show at London's Brixton Academy on Monday (June 16th). For those of you who didn't win tickets (or live on the other side of the world) we thought you'd like to know that the show will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 1. The gig will air at 8.30pm UK time as part of a three hour special which will also feature the band talking about the album. If you don't live in the UK, you can listen live online here

COLDPLAY ON TODAY SHOW
On Friday June 27th, Coldplay are playing on NBC's Today Show at 7am NYC time and you folks are encouraged to come along and watch. Viewing is on a first-come, first-served basis outside Today's Window on the World Studio, located at 49th Street and Rockefeller Plaza in New York City, USA. If you're in the area, set your alarm and we'll see you there.

www.coldplay.com

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Jun 11 2008, 07:55 PM
mamet
post Jun 12 2008, 05:19 AM

1/3 Sone
592 posts

I wonder when they will come here...
the came to singapore i think last year...
hmm.. poor us.. tongue.gif
Calvin871989
post Jun 14 2008, 12:26 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

hey guys are the cd's for the new album viva la vida from coldplay out yet here in malaysia? thanks
fariz
post Jun 14 2008, 11:55 AM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

japan, uk, aussie and some part of europe already got their copy..

finally, no more crappy 1st track ph34r.gif
rhoyo
post Jun 14 2008, 03:32 PM

-
2,800 posts

i got my coldplay cd . i think the new album is ok . i kinda hate violet hill but i like viva la vida and 42 ( reminds me of pulp wash the dishes song ) thumbup.gif
Calvin871989
post Jun 14 2008, 03:35 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

oh cool where did you get it from?

well that means it out already here in malaysia

gonna go get it in some hours time tongue.gif lol
amalost
post Jun 14 2008, 04:43 PM

798 posts

42 : creepy song....
Makakeke
post Jun 14 2008, 06:47 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(amalost @ Jun 14 2008, 04:43 PM)
42 : creepy song....
Not until they go into the Bodysnatchers instrumental tune and the bridge which I thought was pretty cool. It's one of my fav songs in the album.

Current fav - Death and All His Friends.
ulwan25
post Jun 16 2008, 05:42 PM

2,054 posts

compare to the previous album, which is the best?? i notice that the two single songs were really2 different with the previous single, examples= FIX YOU. a different, and far more touching for me!
Calvin871989
post Jun 17 2008, 11:23 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

well talking bout the previous album. look what has viva la vida album has done to all the coldplay albums...

In the UK it sold 125,000 copies in the first day and 302,074 in three days debuting at #1. It's expected to become the UK's second fastest selling record beating Coldplay's 2005 release X&Y in whole week sales

well even thou the album got leaked throu the internet quickly, that dont bother people from buying their ablums and see their album debut 1st

violet hill, viva la vida, good singles so far release by the band and cant wait for the 3rd single. oh yeah and im still waiting for the video of viva la vida. the itunes commercial was great but that wont be the video for it as now their already set to direct the music video for the song on a Dutch beach. will this be something like the video "yellow" ??? hmm...

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Jun 17 2008, 11:32 PM
kobe8byrant
post Jun 17 2008, 11:26 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(fariz @ Jun 14 2008, 11:55 AM)
japan, uk, aussie and some part of europe already got their copy..

finally, no more crappy 1st track ph34r.gif
Square One's crappy?!

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Jun 14 2008, 03:32 PM)
i got my coldplay cd . i think the new album is ok . i kinda hate violet hill but i like viva la vida and 42 ( reminds me of pulp wash the dishes song ) thumbup.gif
42 sounds like it's taken out of Hitchhiker's Guide tongue.gif
Calvin871989
post Jun 17 2008, 11:35 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jun 17 2008, 11:26 PM)
Square One's crappy?!
i feel like square one and life in technicolour have some sorts of musical similarities between each other during its opening of the song hmm.gif
aoibhealFae
post Jun 18 2008, 05:57 AM

224 posts

I had to review for the song of Violet Hill because the finale of Grey's Anatomy s4 actually have the song in the midst of it. I thought it was good for the show's scene but when I listen to the full song.. it makes me think its a random attempt of British guy to take on country/cowboy theme.... my POV only....

Death and All His Friends is worth listening. And Viva La Vida is good too.. both deserved to be as the title... unlike their previous albums...

kinda normal... subtle.. but doesn't compare to their previous RushofBloodtotheHead album....
Suk
post Jun 18 2008, 06:31 AM

2,330 posts

FREE download ? where?

fariz
post Jun 18 2008, 07:31 AM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jun 17 2008, 11:26 PM)
Square One's crappy?!
I meant the leaked Life In Technicolor
ulwan25
post Jun 23 2008, 05:32 PM

2,054 posts

square one was good oso!! one of the best coldplay songs!

don't you think CP's idea of their next album is about life and death?? and their instrument playin' was far more different than the previous one.

FYI, im startin' to love CP's old song. im waaaay far from Death and All His Friends now!
TSsyyang85
post Jun 23 2008, 10:53 PM

982 posts

how abt lost?

the lyric is awesome
Calvin871989
post Jun 23 2008, 11:02 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

The band have stated that the track 'Lost!' resulted from listening to the early Blur track "Sing", as featured on Blur's debut album Leisure, while they were on tour in the United States

In the UK, the week ending 21 June, the song "Lost!" charted at #62 without being released as a single and is highly rumoured to be the third single off the album.

could this be their next single? hmm.gif
sickx
post Jun 24 2008, 03:58 PM

1,232 posts

yea~i won the consolation prize for the contest!!goin to pickup the prize tomorrow!
Calvin871989
post Jun 24 2008, 04:02 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(sickx @ Jun 24 2008, 03:58 PM)
yea~i won the consolation prize for the contest!!goin to pickup the prize tomorrow!
wow. damn you lucky guy. tongue.gif lol so what was the consolation prize? can give me ah? brows.gif haha nah jk man smile.gif well congrats anway
steamboat
post Jun 24 2008, 10:19 PM

232 posts

what a great album... two thumbs up!!! COLDPLAY for life
TSsyyang85
post Jun 24 2008, 10:39 PM

982 posts

gonna buy the album!!!!
Calvin871989
post Jun 24 2008, 11:05 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(steamboat @ Jun 24 2008, 10:19 PM)
what a great album... two thumbs up!!! COLDPLAY for life
thats good you loved it as i loved it to when i bought the album last week and listened to it icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on June 24, 2008, 11:09 pm
QUOTE(syyang85 @ Jun 24 2008, 10:39 PM)
gonna buy the album!!!!
hurry hurry before it gets sold out. lol jk im sure they'll have a lot waiting for you at yor closest store

the album is doing pretty well on the ablum charts, getting 1st spot at every country.

so yeah the overall of the album is quite good wink.gif

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Jun 24 2008, 11:09 PM
sickx
post Jun 24 2008, 11:35 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Jun 24 2008, 04:02 PM)
wow. damn you lucky guy. tongue.gif lol so what was the consolation prize? can give me ah?  brows.gif  haha nah jk man smile.gif well congrats anway
haha..tq..tq..im goin to give it to my friend anyway.

Calvin871989
post Jun 24 2008, 11:45 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(sickx @ Jun 24 2008, 11:35 PM)
haha..tq..tq..im goin to give it to my friend anyway.

ah ok cool smile.gif

is he a fan of coldplay? will he/she like their new album?

if not i think you still have time to give me their album

haha jk again man wink.gif
sickx
post Jun 24 2008, 11:54 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Jun 24 2008, 11:45 PM)
ah ok cool smile.gif

is he a fan of coldplay? will he/she like their new album?

if not i think you still have time to give me their album

haha jk again man wink.gif
it's she actually.i think so.she is willing to give me a ride to go to mines. smile.gif
Calvin871989
post Jun 25 2008, 12:04 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(sickx @ Jun 24 2008, 11:54 PM)
it's she actually.i think so.she is willing to give me a ride to go to mines.  smile.gif
haha wow how sweet smile.gif you give her the cd and she takes you to the mines biggrin.gif haha well hope you have fun and do enjoy. peace icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Jun 25 2008, 12:58 AM
Calvin871989
post Jun 25 2008, 12:58 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

i two thumbs up for this guy thumbup.gif do check him out, quite good actually not bad smile.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nDfvEs1Sk6A

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Jun 26 2008, 12:13 AM
Calvin871989
post Jun 26 2008, 12:12 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

ALBUM, WEBSITE & TV UPDATE

VIVA LA VIDA MAKES CHART-TOPPING START
A big thanks to all of you who've bought Coldplay's new album, Viva La Vida, since its release, helping to send it to the top of album charts all over the world. As you might've heard, the track Viva La Vida is also at the summit of the singles hit parade in both America and the UK (look out for the song's video, coming soon). If you've yet to hear what all the fuss is about, then you can buy the album from the links below...

EXCLUSIVE CHRIS INTERVIEW ON COLDPLAY.COM
Click here to check out an exclusive chat which Coldplay.com recently had with Chris Martin, in which he revealed some pretty exciting plans for the band's upcoming tour. While you're at the site, check out Roadie #42's blogs from the free shows in London, Barcelona and New York. And to keep up with all the site's latest news, blogs and interviews, you can now add the handy Coldplay widget to your blog or social network site

US/FRENCH TV APPEARANCES COMING UP
Those of you in the US of A may wish to know that Coldplay are appearing on Comedy Central's The Daily Show with Jon Stewart later today (June 25th) and on the Today show on NBC this Friday (June 27th) at 7am - if you're in NYC you can go along and watch outside Today's Window on the World Studio, located at 49th Street and Rockefeller Plaza. Coldplay also played a live set for French TV in Paris last week, which will be broadcast on channel W9 on Friday, June 27th and on channel M6 on Saturday, July 5th.

More news soon...

Coldplay.com
Calvin871989
post Jul 4 2008, 12:54 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

Yet another record breaking by coldplay...

i know you're a fan of john mayer but sorry to say this kobe tongue.gif

... By the end of June 2008, Viva la Vida had sold more downloads than any album in digital history, surpassing the previous record held by John Mayer's Continuum

http://new.music.yahoo.com/blogs/chart_wat...and-all-his-cds

Here's the low-down on this week's top 10 albums.

1. Coldplay, Viva La Vida Or Death And All His Friends, 249,000. This is Coldplay's second album in a row to log two or more weeks at #1. X&Y held the top spot for three weeks in 2005. Who was the last artist to have back-to-back #1 albums that both had multiple weeks on top? Mariah Carey. Three songs from Coldplay's album are listed on Hot Digital Songs, topped by "Viva La Vida," which dips from #3 to #4.

2. Lil Wayne, Tha Carter III, 209,000. Two weeks after debuting at #1 with the biggest one-week sales total in more than three years, the album holds at #2. In just three weeks, this has become the best-selling album of Lil Wayne's nine-year career. That distinction was held by Tha Carter II, which (as of this week) has sold 1,386,000 copies. Six songs from the new album are listed on Hot Digital Songs, topped by "Lollipop" (featuring Static Major), which holds at #8.

3. Various Artists, Camp Rock soundtrack, 169,000. The TV soundtrack holds at #3 for the second straight week. This is off to a much faster start than the first High School Musical soundtrack, which took seven weeks to crack the top five (in February 2006). The second HSM soundtrack debuted at #1 with sales of 615,000. Five songs from Camp Rock are listed on Hot Digital Songs.

4. Motley Crue, Saints Of Los Angeles, 99,000. This is the Los Angeles-based band's fifth top five album--and its first since Generation Swine in 1997. The Crue first hit the album chart 25 years ago this October. The band reached its zenith between 1987 and 1991 when it released three consecutive albums that hit #1 or #2. The new album may have the most L.A.-centric title since Rage Against The Machine's The Battle Of Los Angeles hit #1 in 1999. The title track to the new album enters Hot Digital Songs at #115.

5. Three 6 Mafia, Last 2 Walk, 77,000. This is the hip-hop act's first album release since core members Jordan Houston and Paul Beauregard won an Oscar in 2006 for co-writing "It's Hard Out Here For A Pimp" from Hustle & Flow. This is Three 6 Mafia's second studio album in a row to reach the top five. The act hit #3 in 2005 with Most Known Unknown. Two songs from the new album are listed on Hot Digital Songs, topped by "Lolli Lolli (Pop That Body)," which jumps from #21 to #17.

6. Various Artists, NOW 28, 66,000. In its fourth week, the compilation slips from #4 to #6. A NOW album has appeared in the top 10 in 15 of the first 26 weeks of 2008. So although the franchise is off its peak pace, it is still competitive.

7. Usher, Here I Stand, 52,000. Four weeks after debuting at #1, Usher slips from #6 to #7. He's standing, true to the title, just not quite as tall as he did with his last album. The album is #8 for the year to date. Three songs from the album are listed on Hot Digital Songs, topped by "Love In This Club" (featuring Young Jeezy), which dips from #30 to #38.

8. Shinedown, The Sound Of Madness, 50,000. This is the Florida-based rock group's first top 10 album. Shinedown's previous highest-charting album was its sophomore set, Us And Them, which hit #23 in 2005. The band's 2003 debut, Leave A Whisper, hits the Catalog Albums chart at #152. It sold 2,000 copies this week, bringing its total to 1,187,000.

9. Disturbed, Indestructible, 50,000. Three weeks after debuting at #1, the hard rock band dips from #8 to #9. The album has sold 464,000 copies in four weeks, almost exactly the same number as NOW 28, which was released the same week. "Inside The Fire" holds at #90 on Hot Digital Songs.

10. Rihanna, Good Girl Gone Bad, 47,000. This platinum album has logged four weeks in the top 10, two when it was first issued a year ago and now two more on the heels of the release of an expanded, Reloaded edition. With all this success, I think it's time to change the title from Good Girl Gone Bad to Bad Girl Done Good. (And I mean "bad" in the hip sense.) Five songs from the album are listed on Hot Digital Songs, topped by "Disturbia," which jumps from #6 to #5.

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Jul 4 2008, 01:02 AM
peinsama
post Jul 4 2008, 01:02 AM

Au fait
725 posts

Viva la vida is just ok to me.
Calvin871989
post Jul 4 2008, 01:15 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(peinsama @ Jul 4 2008, 01:02 AM)
Viva la vida is just ok to me.
the album or the song man? lol

if you're talking bout the album then yeah i think its gotta be one of the albums this year that got everybody listening to the trakcs that were on the album

as for the song thou, its just brilliant... the song "viva la vida" is just something to do with the piano and guitar together. also with the string part of the song upbeat, the bass guitar and the drum beat plus the vocals of chris martin wink.gif

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Jul 4 2008, 01:16 AM
keaizer
post Jul 4 2008, 01:23 AM

432 posts

oh yeah..coldplay back again...!!!!
Calvin871989
post Jul 4 2008, 01:42 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(keaizer @ Jul 4 2008, 01:23 AM)
oh yeah..coldplay back again...!!!!
yeah baby!!! their back with a new album and songs plus their making history!!! icon_idea.gif
Calvin871989
post Jul 4 2008, 02:22 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

Videos of the Today Show performance
July 3, 2008 12:13 pm
Watch last Friday's NYC breakfast gig

just to share with you coldplay fans out there. do sing along. enjoy!!! icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Jul 4 2008, 02:43 AM
sickx
post Jul 4 2008, 06:35 PM

1,232 posts

hey everyone.i have a confession to make.i am now addicted to viva la vida or death and all his friends.
Calvin871989
post Jul 4 2008, 06:51 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(sickx @ Jul 4 2008, 06:35 PM)
hey everyone.i have a confession to make.i am now addicted to viva la vida or death and all his friends.
LOL you made me laugh man tongue.gif

wow looks like some 1 is really addicted to the new coldplay album wink.gif like me! biggrin.gif heh

believe me man you won know how crazy i am listening to the song viva la vida bout 20 or 30 times in a day. yeah i know man im crazy but i dont care cause its good music drool.gif haha
Kernkraft400
post Jul 4 2008, 10:03 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

It is really sad to say that Viva La Vida or Death and All His Friends is kinda dissapointing, and isnt that great as the other 3 previous albums. The whole album is preety empty and doesnt show their true colours.

For me the best albums from Coldplay goes like this ;
1) A Rush of Blood To The Head 5*
2) Parachutes 4.8*
3) X&Y 4.5*
4) Viva La Vida or Death and All His Friends 3.5*

This post has been edited by Kernkraft400: Jul 4 2008, 10:05 PM
Calvin871989
post Jul 4 2008, 10:12 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Jul 4 2008, 10:03 PM)
It is really sad to say that Viva La Vida or Death and All His Friends is kinda dissapointing, and isnt that great as the other 3 previous albums. The whole album is preety empty and doesnt show their true colours.

For me the best albums from Coldplay goes like this ;
1) A Rush of Blood To The Head 5*
2) Parachutes 4.8*
3) X&Y 4.5*
4) Viva La Vida or Death and All His Friends 3.5*
oh dear. sorry it didnt turn turn of as it should be man but for a change yeah the new coldplay album for me was lie a totally new material and i loved it. viva la vida was the best song from the ablum and then violet hill and the rest of the other songs as it follows on.

as for me the best album for me goes like this...

1) A Rush of Blood To The Head
2) X&Y
3) Parachutes
4) Viva La Vida or Death and All His Friends

haha just a bit diffrent then yours

yeah looks like ive put the viva la vida album on 4th place cause when i compared it with the other albums , it just cant beat those top 3 albums icon_rolleyes.gif

QuickFire
post Jul 4 2008, 10:49 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

Viva la Vida > A Rush of Blood > Parachutes > .................... > X&Y
Calvin871989
post Jul 4 2008, 10:52 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jul 4 2008, 10:49 PM)
Viva la Vida > A Rush of Blood > Parachutes > .................... > X&Y
woah viva la viva 1st on your list?

damn why x&y last on the list?

how nice if all coldplay albums were 1st on the list... lol nah no way shakehead.gif
sickx
post Jul 5 2008, 01:09 AM

1,232 posts

for me,viva la vida is like a whole new way to express an art.from the album cover,the album sleeve and all the songs inside.its like a gallery full of art.this is the 2nd album of the year after portishead's third.

and why oh why until june we can only hear best albums of the year..
Kernkraft400
post Jul 5 2008, 10:03 AM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

If only they can re-master or re-create new materials from their original musics on the album A Rush Of Blood To The Head, like Politik, A Rush Of Blood To The Head or God Put A Smile On Your Face.

It would be a blast from the past. Their new musics are too promising, they've shown hope which is practically not there, and give away empty messages. Hopefully if there's another album from them in the future, it should be something like AROBTTH.
old_calculator
post Jul 5 2008, 02:18 PM

Don't go away
980 posts

QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Jul 5 2008, 10:03 AM)
If only they can re-master or re-create new materials from their original musics on the album A Rush Of Blood To The Head, like Politik, A Rush Of Blood To The Head or God Put A Smile On Your Face.

It would be a blast from the past. Their new musics are too promising, they've shown hope which is practically not there, and give away empty messages. Hopefully if there's another album from them in the future, it should be something like AROBTTH.
2nd
Calvin871989
post Jul 5 2008, 02:25 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Jul 5 2008, 10:03 AM)

well yeah i do agree with some bit of pieces of your statment there but what you should know is that they have planned to release another album in late 2009...

http://www.nme.com/news/coldplay/37056

ghoster
post Jul 6 2008, 12:07 PM

I got 4 stars
641 posts

the first time i heard viva la vida, i felt like, 'ok, im gonna buy this album!'. the song is nice to listen, especially when driving biggrin.gif
overall, i like the album.

but, did u guys heard about the controversy? there's 2 song similar with viva la vida, one by joe satriani and the other one from a small band name creaky boards. CB claim that chris martin ripp off their song. here's the link

creaky boards vs coldplay

here's a song from the legendary JOE SATRIANI biggrin.gif listen until 00:50, sounds very similar to viva la vida

satriani - if i could fly

anyway, IMO all 3 songs are great.

This post has been edited by ghoster: Jul 6 2008, 12:12 PM
Calvin871989
post Jul 6 2008, 02:26 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(ghoster @ Jul 6 2008, 12:07 PM)
the first time i heard viva la vida, i felt like, 'ok, im gonna buy this album!'. the song is nice to listen, especially when driving biggrin.gif
overall, i like the album.

but, did u guys heard about the controversy? there's 2 song similar with viva la vida, one by joe satriani and the other one from a small band name creaky boards. CB claim that chris martin ripp off their song. here's the link

creaky boards vs coldplay

here's a song from the legendary JOE SATRIANI biggrin.gif listen until 00:50, sounds very similar to viva la vida

satriani - if i could fly

anyway, IMO all 3 songs are great.
you talking bout the Plagiarism thing?

i still dont think that coldplay copied portions of anybody's music. they did the song on their own
hello_world
post Jul 6 2008, 04:49 PM

32 posts

but i still have to say that this new album does bear a lot of resemblance to arcade fire. and chris martin have stated before that they love arcade fire. chris martin was seen in a lot of arcade fire shows before too.
Kernkraft400
post Jul 6 2008, 08:02 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

Calvin, is that you on your display picture? I think we look the same.
Calvin871989
post Jul 6 2008, 08:18 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Jul 6 2008, 08:02 PM)
Calvin, is that you on your display picture? I think we look the same.
yeah it is me in the picture man? why? you serious? we look the same? have you picture put up too so we can compare it. lol wink.gif

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Aug 3 2008, 04:32 AM
Calvin871989
post Aug 3 2008, 04:32 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

new viva la vida video

alternate video directed by Anton Corbijn, which is a tribute to Corbijn's video for Depeche Mode's "Enjoy the Silence"

or you can check both the video out at coldplay's offical website

http://www.coldplay.com/newsdetail.php?id=88

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Aug 3 2008, 02:44 PM
ulwan25
post Aug 3 2008, 07:50 AM

2,054 posts

love the tribute vids. the original vids, love em too but, the itunes one was better i think.
X.E.D
post Aug 3 2008, 11:42 AM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

CSS, Coldplay, Goldfrapp that's listenable, Keane, Bloc Party, Ratatat...

2008 > 2006> 2007 for music!

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Aug 3 2008, 11:44 AM
steamboat
post Aug 3 2008, 08:16 PM

232 posts

actually how many version of Viva La Vida out there?

This post has been edited by steamboat: Aug 3 2008, 08:22 PM
pandablue3
post Jan 8 2009, 12:39 PM

hi there! i'm new here, just joined this board.
i'm a huge fan of coldplay.
i'm from coldplaying.com
just wanna make new friends here and discuss about coldplay.

This post has been edited by pandablue3: Jan 8 2009, 12:53 PM

0.0551sec    0.92    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:15 AM