KL Grand Prix, Time to use 70-200 f2.8 @ ISO3200

SUSTheVoIP
post Apr 28 2008, 10:58 PM, updated 18y ago

Super General
5,793 posts

These were some pictures that I took last November and only until now I have time to touch them...

Well... Nothing fancy... Basically just use my 40D + 70-200 f2.8 L. Image Stablizer is pretty useless here as you will need highest shutter speed possible... Initially more shots are blur because I was using ISO1600 and was hesitate to use ISO3200. At ISO3200, there were visible noise at 100%. I wish I have a 1D mark III for its ISO3200, super-sensitive autofocusing + 10fps performance.

It is more of a test to my 40D on its autofocusing tracking as well as knowing the noise performance at ISO3200.

You guys might notice the constrast & shadow might be a bit harsh compare to my usual pictures because of the hard lighting; ya... stupid sport light.

Surpriselly, I did not see any profesionals around at the show... I guess the interests on this events were lower compare to others.

As usually, none of the pictures been gone throught fancy photoshop nor any cropping. Any comments are welcome.

Picture 1: My favourite lenglui rider... wub.gif

Picture 2:

Picture 3:

Picture 4:

Picture 5:

Picture 6:

This post has been edited by TheVoIP: Apr 29 2008, 01:23 PM
travis_ckf
post Apr 28 2008, 11:05 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

Wow nice ones! I remember the event is like 1 year ago right?
SUSTheVoIP
post Apr 28 2008, 11:06 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Apr 28 2008, 11:05 PM)
Wow nice ones! I remember the event is like 1 year ago right?
Last November...

Picture 7: Who is this guy? Local artist? hmm.gif

Picture 8:

Picture 9:

Picture 10:

Picture 11:
Xannava
post Apr 30 2008, 08:58 PM

765 posts

OMG I LOVE these pictures!! *drools* My favs are 1, 8 and 10.
I jealous lah your white lens!
Oh btw, your favourite lenglui rider is Ellen Whitaker.
This shots use ISO 1600 or 3200?

Added on April 30, 2008, 9:00 pmOh yeah, and in Malaysia there is so little coverage in equestrian sports that the first day of events can have very few spectators, its as good as they're not there.
But in Europe... hahaha, the number of professionals there is like fashion runway like that.

This post has been edited by Xannava: Apr 30 2008, 09:00 PM
./Hack-Fusion
post Apr 30 2008, 09:04 PM

1,111 posts

indoor @ outdoor?

ISO3200 a bit serious for outdoor lol....light not enough?

nice pic there
edan1979
post Apr 30 2008, 09:05 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,517 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Apr 28 2008, 11:06 PM)
Last November...

Picture 7: Who is this guy? Local artist?  hmm.gif

Anuar zain ma... sweat.gif
SUSTheVoIP
post Apr 30 2008, 10:44 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(Xannava @ Apr 30 2008, 08:58 PM)
OMG I LOVE these pictures!! *drools* My favs are 1, 8 and 10.
I jealous lah your white lens!
Oh btw, your favourite lenglui rider is Ellen Whitaker.
This shots use ISO 1600 or 3200?

Added on April 30, 2008, 9:00 pmOh yeah, and in Malaysia there is so little coverage in equestrian sports that the first day of events can have very few spectators, its as good as they're not there.
But in Europe... hahaha, the number of professionals there is like fashion runway like that.
Initially some shots are using ISO1600.... then later only realise some time pictures blur... So ma increase to my camera maximum ISO3200 lo...

So her name is Ellen Whitaker. She is young and pretty ma... How did you know her name? hmm.gif

QUOTE(./Hack-Fusion @ Apr 30 2008, 09:04 PM)
indoor @ outdoor?

ISO3200 a bit serious for outdoor lol....light not enough?

nice pic there
It is a bit surprise that all people that I had shown these pictures thought it was taken outdoor... sweat.gif

The event hosted in Bukit Jalil Stadium... Lighting is bad... and camera equiptments are critically important... Trust me on this part.. Even my 40D + 70-200 f2.8 L, my sucess rate are still around 30% keepers only... sweat.gif I saw one guy using D200... but looking at the pictures no keepers at all.. Most likely he do not know how to take pictures yet... D300 was not born at the time yet, ok? whistling.gif

I do wish I have the hyper-sensitive autofocusing EOS 1D mark III that is best for this event... I would say with that camera, at least 80% are keeper... some more much lower noise at ISO3200... notworthy.gif

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Apr 30 2008, 09:05 PM)
Anuar zain ma...  sweat.gif
Oh... ok.. thanks... So he is number # in Malaysia male singer? around top 10?
Xannava
post May 1 2008, 05:37 PM

765 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Apr 30 2008, 10:44 PM)
So her name is Ellen Whitaker. She is young and pretty ma... How did you know her name?  hmm.gif

It is a bit surprise that all people that I had shown these pictures thought it was taken outdoor...  sweat.gif
I know her name is just like u guys noe Ronaldo on the football field. She is very young. Only 22 years old this year. She comes from a whole family of showjumpers so no surprise there.

Lolz, I think its because people associate horses with outdoors. blink.gif

0.0128sec    1.13    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:01 PM