Steven's Corner Brand New Look, what if it looks like coffee bean?

liez
post Jun 17 2008, 12:29 PM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(siliconwiper.com @ Jun 16 2008, 02:13 AM)
bro, pls think logically a bit....renovations takes time....another thing is i don't understand the admin of the forum...?? why a person in my thread are not been warn even when making claims which is damaging other ppls business image? do i need to ask again from the admin?
damaging= negative comments from others ' in ur opinion' ; but remained as doubts or doubts in a harsher or more direct way 'others opinion'

dude....by saying those u r actually disallowing the fellow forumers to post a single comment unless the comments are sided on your way of thinking...there is to bring up the image of SC....

doesn't sound abit selfish here??? to mark and highligh this matter even more critically....Even the admin of the forum itself is not entitled to do this or the result will be kinda like colourful (e.g: the numbers of members of the forum is gonna fall continuously). sorry....my 1st post in this thread but juz to clarify your misunderstanding....i m not SC hater....i went to SC, station no.1 , OTWC and BRJ as well...peace, dude...this is a forum.

This post has been edited by liez: Jun 17 2008, 12:33 PM
liez
post Jun 18 2008, 12:34 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jun 17 2008, 04:19 PM)
If the construction contractors got doubts then they would not want to commence the works.

They are not like those days, rushing to your office the moment you have jobs for them.

They want to see the real money first.

In fact, they are the ones who could offer some knowledge to you about this project.
seriously....there are tonnes of critical thinking entreprenerus or entreprenerus to be in this thread....but seriously ...this reply really impressed me alot. not siding anyone and being a neutral...even others think that it is common sense... sky, you are great. Even your reply may be proven wrong but despite the result, this is the way one should be.
liez
post Jun 19 2008, 02:37 PM

1,346 posts

From the beginning....lol...At least We learned...
liez
post Jun 20 2008, 07:16 PM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(siliconwiper.com @ Jun 19 2008, 07:37 PM)
Now i need to standby 2 persons Food Vouchers.....Dine on me..the Curry fish head or tandoori Chicken taste good.... drool.gif
lol...no thx dude.....i dined at steven as well...at least it's a better place than BRj....which standard has drop like XXXXX...suan le bah... anyway....eh.....i found a topic in Kopitiam....No offence...Not posted by me...but it is somehow related to this topic.... well...the link is here...

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/615194

QUOTE(stopscams007 @ Jan 19 2008, 04:07 PM)
This is going to be long and take some of your time but reading this thread is much easier than creating it. So I hope you can spare this little time to finish reading it. Please caution your family members and friends before they become victims.
I hope you will read to the end for your own benefits and protection. I will come back regularly to update it but I hope some of you can help by contributing. Date of last update will be stated in my topic title.
I have even seen a family of parents and their children getting involved together in a scam. Such that you will not feel suspiscious until you could not recover your money back and realise it too late.
Please note that my message here is NOT meant to support or go against MLM or direct-selling business.
Personally, I have a few friends who used to tell me that they will never be cheated because they are not greedy, they don't believe in MLM or network marketing or they have no money. Yet they lost their money because they have been greedy or because they trusted their friends wrongly. In most cases, those who introduced their friends to get involved into such businesses or investments or got their friends into losing monies will never admit they did it on purpose. They will give the excuses that they are victims too.

I know a quite similar thread have existed before but I could not find it now. Hopefully someone can retrieve it back so that I can "copy" some useful information.

These information are meant for you to know and warn your family members and loved ones before they become victims.

"People got victimised by scams because they don't know about it and they don't know about it because those who knew about it did not share it"

Here are some hot scams in Malaysia, briefly, (I will elaborate more weekly):

1) The Cafe Scams - Island Red Cafe & Stevens Corner(strange, both in Pandan Indah) - Island Red Cafe collects members RM6,000 each and promised 5% return every month and even give you a name in the ROC as a shareholder but what's the point when they run away ? Stevens Corner, the famous indian coffee shop follows due to drop of business since their renovation. They collect RM3,000 per member and promise return of RM150 monthly and plans to open nice fanchisee cafe called StevensTeaGarden but so far all drawings and no new outlet yet. Both collect monies from new members with MLM recruitment schemes and pay the old members like Sunshine Empire. You never know when they will run away. Apparently, Stevens' takeoff have not been so successful.
2) Sunshine Empire - This licensed and legal Company has an impressive office at the ground level of KUB building along Jalan Yap Kwan Seng, near Menara Public Bank and AmBank Building. They also have a showroom office at the ground level in the next building. 2 or 3 months ago, Singapore's Straits Times and The Paper published big news reminding their people to be careful and NOT to believe in them. Hope someone can put up the link or google for it.

Someone below has put a link to the Singapore news. In fact there are more to it. Although Singapore is investigating them, they did not stop their business as the business is legal and so far, no Singaporean have failed to receive their commissions as promised. Thus, the government cannot stop them yet.

The news published that the founder, director and group president is someone named James Phang but he is NOT the owner. Isn't this quite strange ? At the end of the game, James Phang can just disappear from the Company easily and claimed that he was just "employed". Such trick always happened in scam businesses.

Now, the Company has STOPPED paying commissions and interests to members with the excuse that the Singapore government has freezed their bank account while under investigation. Do you think their boss will be so stupid to keep much monies in the bank to be freezed ? They are all transfered away. It's just an excuses not to pay back to members and members are only paid "e-bonus-points" which is cashless. If they wish to convert to cash, they have to recruit new members to pay them cash and the recruiter less out trom the amount. So victims act like Vampires and "forced" to victimise other victims if they wish to get their monies back. And their victims will later transform to vampires and the scam carries on.....

3) Water businesses - Oxygenated and alkaline water products - Some of these are bottled water and some are filters or equipment that claimed the trick. One of the better known Company that sold "oxygen" water is SITO(supposed to stand for Selangor International Trading Organiszation and claimed Selangor State Government owned some share in it). The key person and founder is a Dato Robert Ong from Rawang but his name is no longer in the business now. Their products are sold for RM2 to RM3 for a 350ml bottle and now concentrating mostly in the Indian market. Their Chinese and Malays market are long gone since a year or 2 ago. Their customers are made to believe that their water has more oxygen and able to give miraculous effects for the body. Water is H2O, how to put more O into it ? Anyone knows how much oxygen do we breathe into our body everyday at FOC ? Latest news is that this SITO Company is going to create new label to market under a new Company since the SITO name has already gone bad. Someone informed that this Company is owing alot of money(due to refunds) to ex-stockists but just refuse to pay them.
Alkaline Products - Can anyone explain how it can work for the body ? The stomach's gastric liquid is so acidic that  water of any pH that goes through it will not make any difference.

4) Car Fuel Booster - K-Link, the famous scam MLM Company that sold the footpatch TAKARA, later the "cock-ring" and energy-card launched the patrol-saving pills last year. Got so hot that even grocery shops are selling for them. Recently many of these cars that used the pills are rushing to the workshops to clean the residual. Few months ago, another MLM Company launched a fuel booster gadget, claimed that saves up to 20% fuel, that is attached to the cigarette lighter. Started off well using binary plan but businese begin to fade now and most users find it NOT effective.

5) Perfumery Products(eg. Lampe Berger & Bel Air)(more details later). Lampe Berger is not so hot now in the neighbouring countries but there are still new victims every month in Malaysia. Must thanks to those who have contributed and kept the thread alive here in Kopitiam. Bel-Air have closed in Malaysia. LB is almost zero in Singapore. This perfumery product from France with over 100 years history is just bottles and fragrance(check the factory's website) but the Company marketing them in Asia claimed "aromatheraphy" products. Hong Kong TVB aired a program that exposed their scam but their members claimed that HK's TVB already apologised to them. Note that the biggest strenght in a MLM Scam is their members will go all way out to lie in order to defend for their Company. The reason is simple; these members fear that they will not be able to make their money back if the Company collapsed. Knowing that the Lampe Berger products are moving slow, they add a line of skincare products named Estebel, also claime to have over 100 years history in France.

6) Energy Products(eg. stone pendants, bracelets, mattress and pillows). They use all sorts of gimmicks and demonstration to make you into believing them. They will do some tricks and demo to prove that these products really produce energy BUT is there any tricks in their demo ? So what if there really produce energy; is it good or strong enough to help the body ?(more details later)

7) Hi-Tech products(names like bio-tech, nano-tech that claimed millions of dollars of research involved, eg Bio-Young and XKL few years ago). Most of these will claimed a professor behind them(even with name and picture of a person) or used words like "U.S.A. formula", "German Technology" or "Nanotechnology" and no further details(more details later). If you ask for more details like the professor or factory's address, the answer will be "trade secrets".

8) Investment Schemes - SWISSCASH is the King of all. Swisscash is nearly over now but there are many similar and smaller ones that are still on.

9) GoldQuest - This Company that claimed to be HK-based started with some non-value gold-plated coins that are sold for over RM2,000 have several names and changed products several times. QuestVacation, QuestNet, etc. They have several offices in Amcorp Mall, PJ and their key person(in fact, the owner), a Malaysian Indian was arrested last year in Indonesia for having involved in a very big Phillipines scam. Most of their overseas offices are closed or inactive but their Malaysia business is still hot, with some "energy" products.

10) Numerology & Fortune telling - A Company named Visible is using MLM to sell fortune telling classes using your birthday based on Numerology fortune telling. Prpspects will be told that they need to buy a certain "number" between 1 to 9 in the form of pendants or bracelets made of stainless steel and sold from RM600 to RM20,000. Customers, or rather victims are mostly females from rural areas. Very hot in Penang now and a number of spin-off Companies have started.

11) MJ-Life - This Company boost of a very big background with many many years of history which is NOT true. Their people or associates may be long in business but nothing to do with their MLM launched recently. Why do I consider it a scam or bad ? New members are told to pay a sum of money(up to RM1000) and you get NOTHING for it. You only get a membership can entitle you to enjoy all sorts of special price and discounts when you have medical check-ups in their centres. They will claim all those check-ups cost more if done elsewhere. It's not true. Only the naive and those new to medical check-ups will fall victims to them. Most members who paid the money ended up with nothing.

12) Seaweed Venture Scams - 1 such Company is located in Taman Maluri, Cheras. They will ask you to invest a few thousands ringgits for their venture of growing seaweeds in East Malaysia and you are guaranteed returns. To gain your confidence further, they will tell you your investment money is secured by "insurance" or "unit trusts" & "trustees". When you ask for further documents to prove, they will give all sorts of excuses or just ignore you because they know they cannot get you. These Seaweed scam is one of the hottest now, warn all your friends about it before they are victimised.

13) MXM(previously MGM) - This is a master scam among the younger group, very successful 2 or 3 years ago but since there moved to their big 10-storey office at Phileo Damansara and changed name to MXM, their business dropped. They collect members RM3,000 to RM4,000 with credit card monthly easy payment and in return you get a hospital benefits insurance from Pacific Insurance worth only a few hundred RMs together with some you-don't-need medical check-ups from their associate Company Pathlab. Also talk about fitness, lifestyles bullshit that is all worthless.

14) Gano Excel - This company from the north, a copycat of DXN selling Lingzhi capsules created a new Company called Gano iTouch to cash-in on the internet like e-Cosway after their Company went down the drain since the last 2 years, selling Linzhi and some no-value energy pendants and alkaline water gadgets. They provide free transport every weekend from KL to visit their Alor Star office.

15) NuLife(HK) - This Company started by some HK people has been in Malaysia for more than 10 years but they have flopped in HK and Malaysia due to bad management and a product scam making use of a prosecuted American named Dr Jeffrey Bland, found guilty of false products claim. Since this case in the US leaked out and many Malaysians found out that the real boss in HK is a Steven Tang(he cheated many Malaysians in another scheme about 20 years ago) their business went down all the way. Now they claim Malaysian partners cheated them and start a new Company in Malaysia. Watch out, this new Company will come out with some investment scheme idea that will get many to lose their money.

Lastly but not least, thank you for reading to the end and I hope you can come back for more details and updates or help to contribute for me to update. I hope to receive information of any scams so that I can share them here to protect others. Although most of those above-mentioned are marketed through direct-selling or MLM schemes, I will soon add non-MLM scams. Please contribute.

If you wish to send me any new information confidentially, you may email them to me at:

stopscams007@gmail.com

Good Luck.

PS. Please pass this link to your friends if you find it helpful and thank you to those who contributed or e-mailed me with informations.

Do remember that SCAMs continue to exist mainly because they can survive due to available VICTIMS and VICTIMS exist because many of those who knew about the SCAMs did not warn others about it.
well...interesting yea?
liez
post Jun 21 2008, 10:42 PM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(siliconwiper.com @ Jun 21 2008, 09:48 PM)
Money Games? you know Money Game? can tell us how it works?? pls..thks hmm.gif
Eh...i think money games means strategy of finance management introduced or used by a corporate organisation .
liez
post Jun 22 2008, 09:43 PM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(siliconwiper.com @ Jun 22 2008, 11:50 AM)

Added on June 22, 2008, 11:55 am
Wait..i need marcuszlee to let us know what the real term of Money Games.....at least we can learn something...or mayb as the bzbodi (CW) guy to tell us..he got alot of thing to say...he likes to help innocent ppl.....
nah...chatwarrior is juz sharing his opinion...in a philosophical way...no one is right and no one is wrong...thus no one should be entitled busy body if they shared. shocking.gif
liez
post Jun 24 2008, 11:50 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(Joehans @ Jun 23 2008, 11:54 PM)
no need to get too paranoid about it, among all i think steven project has the lowest risk,
unlike the rest of scams you mentioned above, worst come to worst even if the project fails
steven corner will still be around and you'll still get to meet the owner and sort it out with him.  wink.gif
sorry...erm...lower risk from the point of view of which party??? The Steven's group or investors???
liez
post Jul 1 2008, 10:26 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 30 2008, 10:36 AM)
Errr.... I am confused now, it is Steven's Corner or Steven's Tea Garden that we are discussing on?

Please bare with me, as I don't follow this thread closely, just look at thread title (Steven's Corner) only.
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jun 30 2008, 10:44 AM)
If the intention could confuse people ( like the moderator ), then we ( the less informed group ) should be cautious about it.

Frankly speaking, certain information like how the money collected,  is treated in their accounting book needed to be disclosed, and whether creative accounting approach is adopted.

But the final decision would still be yours.
well...for ur infos....why not on the world could there be two seperate registered identity??? Now things get to be interesting when silicon mentioned the distinction between the 'family brand' name and the 'line brand' name...Frankly...After the end of the day...they are 2 different identity... Well...Don't know whether I am correct but based on the case of Kleinwort Benson v Malaysia Mining Corp (1989) ...Take note that....Unless the T&C was stated...Ther family brand will not be liable for its line brand... Well... in other words, the event can be organized by the family brand and not liable by the line brand when loss occured, u can simply draw an analogy with the topic above. So no offence but if i really got to comment on it....despite the results... Then Steven corner is actually using a few protection schemes by its own.

1) Family brand oragnized an event for the interest of line brand thus anything happend goes to the family brand. one might said it is plain stupid to damage the image of family brand...well...the golden rule is...if it is worth to do so... just do it. A damaged family brand can be abolished by the corporation and new brand can be build. Well...Really no offence but the worst possibility if u guys really wanna know... the group will registered under Steven tea corner and the money which collected by the event organized by steven corner will be transfered there....steven corner closed up and no body will get caught or being liable. When it is time for check up...mosty of the time...it is too late.
2)Exclusion clause. like all the other companies policy, i dunno whether this element was being used but predictably...positive.
3)The hidden of real intention- to use the name of promotion such as prepaid to eat for 5 years like u 20 years old eat until u married... brows.gif but the intention was actually creating a MLM scheme so either to
i)clear off current debts
ii)pay off current suppliers credits
iii)shortage of cash to purchase new technology or system
iv)etc....or
v)worse come to worst- as mentioned by chatwarrior- run off with the amount of money collected.

The comment above was based on the interest of party which oposed to Steven corner

So I tried to think of the positive side of steven's corner again despite the results

They are just doing an investment and avoid the prcedure to be registered to KLSE because they wanna remain in a family business dont wish to further expand their legal structure. So this is the way but unfortunately it is not allowed in malaysia.... so they'd decided to use a promotion namely prepaid to eat is used to:
i)develop further business expansion by using the money collected in the promotion campaign.
ii)get public's attention
iii)promote steven's tea garden which is the new line brand of steven's corner.

with the objective of bringing up steven's publicity so to get loan easier in the future, advantages of putting leverage on suppliers, increase profit margin and bring down it's industrial rivals such as BRj and Genting corner...etc.

_____
but no matter how i gotto explain for steven's corner....something keep bugging my mind...so i hope silicon can explain further question for me or us:

1)we are paying RM3000 for 5 years and steven is paying us RM6k in cash and Rm3k in foods. forget about the RM3k. 20k places of membership will pay steven RM60,000,000(rm60m) they plan to get 100 outlets. well...so the tricky part is here.

100 outlets and few outlets u mentioned -rental fee is about RM30k a month or maybe more. steven gotto pay out bout Rm3m to rental a month
the return which promised to pay off 20k memebrs (put it as RM120 instead of full Rm150 )- RM2.4million per month

so altogether steven actually gotto paid 324 million of ringgit malaysia for 5 years (excluded the fix cost, overheads, taxes, dividens, etc) if wanna add up everything i'd estimated Rm162 million for wages [30 (employees for 3 shifts of 20 hours a day to serve 50 tables there is 10 employees per shift ) X Rm900 (per employee) X 12 (months) X 5 (years) X 100 (outlets)]

fix cost is at elast 36 millions to 50 millions of ringgit malaysia. ( I estimated the lowest fix cost of Rm600 without added up the rental)

Altogether- RM324millions +RM 162 million + RM36 million= Rm522,000,000 despite maintainence fee, taxes, licenses, interest, purchase of new technology, bonus for workers( since my estimation is only Rm900 per worker to work 8 hours with 1 hour rest so incentives must be given e.g- foods and beverages)

RM60million collected from the public that is 11.5% of Rm522 million nia sad.gif

_______________________________put that aside______________________________

well, silicon metioned a RM45million of revenue a month..wow that's alot. Rm45million gave steven RM540 million a years which is equlibrium of 300 mcdonald franchise steven can own a year if the mcdonald franchise can be negotiate till RM1.8 million. but with these money why not generate into someting more powerful.

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jun 30 2008, 06:53 PM)
So are you chrissolution ? and can you get their P&L statements ?

PS A handy tip for investing : "you don't make money" is always better than "you lose money". Opportunities will always be available, someone somewhere will always want your money, so for most of us, it's not like we'd die if we didn't invest. So do your due diligence, find out if they're making money, if they're a public listed company you can always get their annual reports. The way STG is trying to fund this is suspicious. Normally if you want to fund an expansion you'd take the company public, get it on the KLSE. There you can be sure everybody's interest is protected. If you can't get on there then you need to rely on private capital. The interests of the small-time investor should always be protected because as a percentage, they're investing more than the big-timers. Big-timers can afford to lose, small-timers can't.

So be mean to them, always ask for anything and everything. If they want you to invest, it's their job to tell you what you need to know. If they walk away, then well and good, you don't lose money. Better that they walk away in the beginning than in the middle. And you can always find other places to invest.
Wow...u dam geng. The golden rule is getting nothing is better than losing something.

This post has been edited by liez: Jul 1 2008, 10:40 AM
liez
post Jul 2 2008, 10:45 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(siliconwiper.com @ Jul 2 2008, 02:05 AM)

The calculation above is not include their actual business so whatever you'd been calculating are not include daily turnovers...some more the labour salary which is much more lower than rm900.....and then they work more than 8 hours la...then another thing is who tell you that STG will open all 100 in shopping mall?? the 1st few will be in shopping mall but the coming ones will be landed ones.
hmm...sorry....didnt expect workers will actually worked for wages lower than RM900 and more than 8 hours....my miscalculation. but then....hmm...the rental fee should be more or less the amount even a landed ones....for say...the one in genting kalng... i guess at elast 15k is needed for that area.
liez
post Jul 5 2008, 11:29 PM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 5 2008, 06:00 PM)
Mobile Wallet close shop already?

After you mentioned Mobile Wallet, I remind back some of the MW issue discussed before. Err... STG issue is quite similar to it though. Also got prepaid then get return rate afterwards one.
Don't mean to comment much on STG. Better let Siliconwiper or other familiar with it to comment. I am just an outsiders that are curious and for the best of interest of public, try to find out the actual and exact thing that is happening.

I remembered once some forumers also strongly promoting those scheme (MW) also. But I can't find anything (regarding the prepaid/investment) from the legitimate official website, but the forumers said the scheme so complicated until they didn't put in the website, and ask people come and see yourself.  whistling.gif
yup...I remembered about the MW thingy...happened few years ago....It was lucky that I was too fresh to join such scheme at that time.
liez
post Jul 7 2008, 10:16 PM

1,346 posts

come on guys, chill...this discussion and debate has slowly turned into a flame.... Nothing personal here, brothers. perosnal issues included some unrealistic and illogistic reply which has no effect on the current topic.
liez
post Jul 11 2008, 10:41 PM

1,346 posts

lol...i think now is not really silicon's fault in giving statements that sounds like mlm marketers.....but we got too much influenced by the previous mlm scams who had already used all the methods that silicons used today...lol....i am not siding anyone...but we simply blame too much on silicon now...haha....i felt weird also starting like all the statements by silicon sounds so familiar...now i know...from the previous mlm scammer experts....(doesn't mean silicon is s scammer...juz dat he's trying his best to give explaination but we are too sensitive towards the way he reply) so ppl....cool dpwn ^~^ ...

0.0154sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:47 AM