Travel Sydney, Australia, New South Wales & Surroundings

moody5
post Jan 9 2010, 12:36 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Dec 30 2009, 11:55 AM)
Maybe I will opt for a revisit for Blue Mountains, since i miss out mostly due to driving at the wrong direction, as well as getting lost near Jenolan Cave. The trail requires camping and overnight in the jungle? I dont have experience on that as well as the necessary equipment too.

Many have mentioned 3 sister wine, any particular specialty on it?

Snowy Mountains are really far from Sydney, some searching reveals it requires a 5 hours driving to destination, meaning overnight there is pretty much required as you will be spending the first half day driving there while the second day driving back. This the biggest national park in Australia, second in the world after Yellow Stone National Park in USA also with the highest peak of Australia on it.

I just visit Coogee Beach and had some pretty sunburn on the beach, plan for another revisit where I would walk along the coast from Coogee to Bondi Beach.

I'm pretty much into hiking in particular.
biggrin.gif are u going to finish your travel blog on your Aussie trip?
moody5
post Jan 15 2010, 10:30 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jan 15 2010, 10:15 AM)
lol. it's difficult to get internet access in Melbourne now, staying over my friend's place.

Basically nothing much in Victoria, visited Mornington Peninsula, it's quite a great place, love the hot spring and strawberry farm. Go try on T'Gallant *moscato* (not sure of the spelling), it a lovely easy drinking pink wine.

Before I was in Melbourne, I've visited Hunter Valley. It's a really big place and I spend a night there in YHA hostel accomodation which is quite a new experience for me. The environment is quite lovely there, peaceful, quiet and makes you feel like you can live long by staying here. Not last, wine tasting, cheeses and olives.

Driving to Blue Mountain from Hunter Valley via the so-called "scenic drive" isn't that great after all, it's quite stressful and basically it's all the mountains road with limited view being blocked by the trees around. It can be quite challenging to drive too in Putty Road with many turns.

BTW, head with what empire say, use a map, even you have a GPS, verrified it with a map first before proceeding with your journey. Ask around when you are unsure, people are always helpful and friendly, although it can be misleading too. Be sure to ask a few people, not least to seek for the "i" tourist kiosk.
I am planning a trip to Sydney this coming year end and probably will en-route it via Gold Coast if I am flying AA.

Anyway, which airlines did you take to AUS?

I have searched around the web and most of the airlines charge aroun RM3000 for return trip!
moody5
post Jan 18 2010, 04:03 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jan 15 2010, 03:31 PM)
Malaysia --(AA)--> Gold Coast --(Jet Star)--> Sydney --(Qantas)--> Melbourne --(AA) --> Malaysia

Thinking to squeeze in another trip either central Australia, Adelaide, Tasmania or New Zealand before coming back on the 28 January.

My return trip only cost me like RM 800, but the internal flight cost equally that much although it's 2hrs vs 8hrs journey.

Jetstar is 85Au$, Qantas 105$ without admin and credit charges if I have remembered correctly.

If you are travelling year end like me, prepare for some unforseen weather, was 43c back few days, then the next 2 days it's 19c. Bring an extra coat or something
Well I only have 9 days including two weekends plus weekdays

so actually i have checked on the options that i had, the cheapest way will be

Malaysia --(AA)--> Gold Coast ---(budget airlines)--> Sydney --(budget airlines)--> Gold Coast --(AA) --> Malaysia

AA flights' rate haven't out yet for the last week of Dec 2010 but i think it should be around RM500 per pax for return flights. On the budget internal flights, it cost around RM 1120 per pax on return flights. So, total RM1616 for AA plus budget internal flights. As if i take the premium or xl seats then i believe it will be Rm2200 in total.

Maybe I will take the route of KL --> SG --> Sydney --> SG --> KL
moody5
post Jan 19 2010, 12:05 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ Jan 18 2010, 07:56 PM)
i took that route
Malaysia --(AA)--> Gold Coast ---(budget airlines)--> Sydney --(budget airlines)--> Gold Coast --(AA) --> Malaysia

GC to sydney return i took virgin blue airlines. quite good
but the flight for AA to gc n back is not as comfy..
u may consider takinga direct flight to sydney via mas

Added on January 18, 2010, 8:00 pm
I am trying to get the cheapest one and to avoid AA. Well I heard about the not comfy thingy for AA to GC flights.

I am 170cm and my bf is 180++cm so for flights around 3 hours we still can endure so I am worried about the 8 hours to GC.

Well, MAS flights is around RM3300 return trips KUL to SYD per pax. SIA is around RM3100 return trips KUL to SYD via transit in SG.
moody5
post Jan 20 2010, 10:47 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jan 19 2010, 08:45 PM)
Emirates now doing promotion to travel from Malaysia to Melbourne @ $594 return if you travel between 02 Feb 10 - 30 Nov 10
http://www.emirates.com/au/english/destina...d=535325#535325

I've to admit AA is a bit cramp even to me which is 178cm, but I rather spend the money on my holiday and endured a bit for that 8 hours
maybe will look into getting 'Premium seat'

anyway i want to go there from 25Dec 2010- 2 Jan 2010 for fireworks.. hahahaha

Added on January 20, 2010, 10:48 amchecked on the Emirates promotion but it was really that cheap and it didn't fly to sydney

This post has been edited by moody5: Jan 20 2010, 10:48 AM
moody5
post Jan 22 2010, 09:09 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(frequency @ Jan 22 2010, 12:58 AM)
Going Australia next Friday ....kekeke

KLIA->Sydney (Dun care since it is business trip)
Sydney->Melb (2 Ways RM3xx TigerAirlines)

I m going to extend oni bout 4 days in Melbourne whereas oni 2 days for Sydney (2 days full schedule for my job)

Place planned to visit in Melb: (Rent car, self driving)
1) Phillip Island
2) Great Ocean Road
3)....

hmmm wat else?
haahaa since it is a business trip, take Emirates! or try to get any Business class
moody5
post Feb 5 2010, 05:53 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jan 27 2010, 10:26 PM)
I love Morninton Peninsula more than any place else, Philip Island might not be the best place to view penguins, a lot tourist ended up quite dissapointed actually.

Great Ocean Road, if you have the time, take a night overnight somewhere along your journey and spread it out 2 days, it's not a good place to rush through.

Explore internal of Melbourne, it has quite much to offer, try some Italian food in Lygon Street, have a look at Melbourne's beautiful Architecture and maybe to Shrine of Rememberance.

Finally going back to Malaysia tomorrow
So any travel blog ?
moody5
post Feb 9 2010, 09:18 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ Feb 9 2010, 04:48 AM)
Well if its such a big diffrence then endure a bit for 8 hours BOTH ways meaning bout 16 hours
I went on the plane without any warning at all so i was very dissapointed but if u know bout it n still go for it at least you are prepared for the worst...

of all airasia flights ive took all these years seriously this is by far teh worst flights ive taken
My ticket was dirt cheap if i have to say why i choose it its only RM313 coz i book during free seats but after adding all the meals and 30kg luggages it came up to bout RM600
plus i change my route to sydney n my ticket to sydney was quite exp coz i chose a peak date 24th dec
so lets say if u plan to go sydney and ticket its only bout 1k + go for it
eventhough it few hundred ringgit diffrence.

Summary :AA to GC flight is TERRIBLE! The seats cannot i repeat CANNOT be reclined! u can only pushed ur seat out a bit ..u cannot push behind .. everyone in teh plane complains some preferto stand around instead of sitting down.
Esp the elderly's pls avoid this flight by all means
what was the price you paid for the GC -> Sydney route?

0.0156sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:18 PM