Official Asus EEE PC Thread #2, Love it ? Feel it !
Aug 23 2008, 08:30 PM
5,193 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
if u got headache, get the 1000H
Aug 24 2008, 12:28 AM
get the 1000H and get used to the weight
the extra sized keyboard and the bigger screen definately will help u do more work |
Sep 7 2008, 09:24 PM
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Sep 7 2008, 11:50 AM) maybe retailers, not distributors. I don't believe their bull when they say they only make RM30 to RM50 margin per netbook or notebook. Have you sold laptops before? High end Lenovo Ideapad, here its RM7000 plus, Hong Kong, its RM5000. Margin RM2000. Same with Toshoba R500. Its about RM2500 less in Hong Kong. Cause i did before, and yes, their margins are something as low as RM50 for the really low end ones, while for higher ends like sony perhpas up to RM200. And the reason why their price and suddenly drop alot, is because the distributors set the prices. Rarely retailers keep huge stock of notebooks, rather the distributors are the one with lots of stock. So to receive new models from overseas, they'll push the old stocks by dropping the price of the notebook. Of course the prices for retailers will also drop accordingly. So the culprits are definately distributors and not retailers. Its pretty well known that the computer parts, notebooks and most gadgetries retailing are surviving on razor thin margins. Its the peripherals and add ons for most gadgets that usually have huge margins. Most leather pouches or the like are retailing for 50-80% margin. |
Sep 10 2008, 10:44 AM
my 1000h using team elite, but the one that comes with it is adata
Sep 10 2008, 11:10 AM
haha no la they company which i've bought the notebook from upgraded to 2Gb for me using the team elite. they took back my adata 1gb
Sep 11 2008, 11:08 AM
My 1000H OC endevours and its 3DMark03 scores :
Windows XP SuperP AC - 811 Windows Vista SuperP AC - 795 / 695 / 731 Windows Vista 1.6Ghz AC - 668 Windows Vista 1.7Ghz AC - 740 Windows Vista 1.9Ghz AC - 811 Windows Vista 2.0Ghz AC - 840 / 868 Windows Vista SuperP Bat - 689 Windows Vista 1.9Ghz Bat - 808 Windows vista 2.0Ghz Bat - 863 AC means connected to adaptor, Bat means running on batteries. SuperP means using the Super Hybrid Engine program, while the 1.9Ghz etc is using the respective maximum speed set using eeectl. Also, the slashes indicated various runs. The SHE gives varied results compared to the eeectl. edit : some people on eeeuser.net managed to get theirs running up to 2.3Ghz but those are very rare. The more common one is 2.0Ghz. Mine cant go more than 2.0Ghz. Oh, people that hit 2.2-2.3Ghz can get scores up to 1000 for 3DMark03 This post has been edited by daijoubu: Sep 11 2008, 11:10 AM |
Sep 14 2008, 01:45 AM
Its like this :
Old 1000h : - 80GB - 6600mah normal size - RM1999 3-4weeks ago New 1000h - 160gb - 5600mah - RM1999 current So guess that they increased the hdd size but reduced the batteries |
Sep 14 2008, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(emino @ Sep 14 2008, 04:45 AM) I dont know why people would need 160gig with this kind of laptop anyway. Its not supposed to play heavy games and you dont really do heavy things with it like video editing or large image editing. Unless of course you start using it as a storage device... Some people want to use this laptop to watch movie so maybe they want to keep all their collections on itI would suggest store your files elsewhere. External hard disk perhaps and go for the 80gig version. Or for photographers who want light picture editting on the spot for their raw shots which takes up alot of space Having extra HDD space never hurts |
Sep 14 2008, 06:38 PM
QUOTE(emino @ Sep 14 2008, 04:19 PM) LikeI said before, external HD/SD is the way to go. I myself uses SD cards to store movies I wanna watch on my eeebaby and they doesnt mean function as permanent storage. Usually I'll delete them once I'm adding new movies. external HDD beats the whole point of mobilitywhat is the point of paying so much to get a ultra small netbook and get get bogged down by a large HDD? storage size to price ratio of SD is very very low compared to that of HDD. if you want to get SDs to add your space, might as well spend on hdd you get more space for the money spent for example, i travel out of the house 7 hours per day, and i use my eee pc about 2-3 hours with a large HDD, i can chuck my whole series collection and slowly watch whenever i feel like it without needing to constantly remove and add into it like i have to do with my old PDA why should i spend so much on a mobile netbook when i need to be bogged down by either an external hdd, or an adaptor, when i can just bring the netbook if i have a large HDD and a large battery? =D |
Sep 14 2008, 10:07 PM
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Sep 14 2008, 06:57 PM) The price of hdd like other tech items tends to fall over a period of time generally. So the cost of production of eee pc remains the same, though offering bigger storage capacity. yup, but for us, its better to get larger battery than size because HDD can be upgraded very cheaply compared to batteriesHowever, the same cannot be said about the cost of producing the batteries. The price could go up in next six months or so. More on demand and supply factor. It could fall too. So it is safe to giving higher HDD storage space, then to maintain 6 cells battery. Look like it is the current trend. so i guess i wont be that upset that i bought my old 1000h earlier =.= |
Sep 14 2008, 11:36 PM
Sep 15 2008, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(booby @ Sep 15 2008, 12:10 AM) omg u running vista on eee too? omg yup running it quite smoothly I also want !! 2gb ram cukup hor? Edited: Anywhere to get nice cover for 1000h model? Something like protector like that 2GB ram yes played dota on it but its pretty laggy and screen abit small but when i OC it to 2.0ghz its much better, but still small screen means need to scroll alot even in battles |
Sep 16 2008, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(Perfect-Stranger @ Sep 15 2008, 07:47 PM) no problem running it QUOTE(Balok @ Sep 15 2008, 07:47 PM) go to www.eeeuser.net and go to their forumsread their articles on eeectl which is the software used for overclocking =D |
Sep 17 2008, 12:16 AM
Sep 25 2008, 12:21 PM
office 2007 definately can work in xp pro
been using it |
Sep 25 2008, 02:25 PM
yeah i agree the 1000h sound quality isnt bad at all for a netbook =D
Sep 25 2008, 08:03 PM
I used the normal IDE > USB convertor usually used for harddisk. Used it with my DVDROM, and installed from it. Pretty good
Another way u can do is to install it from your thumbdrive. For normal programs you can just install, but for Windows, there is a special preparation method to follow before it can work. |
| Change to: | 0.0470sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:59 AM |