edifier vs altec lansing vs sonic gear, The Different

TSdhzh4x
post Apr 23 2008, 09:39 PM, updated 18y ago

15 posts

Can anyone tell me wat is the different within this 3 model??
such as sound quality, performance and design... and details also...
anyone know where to find the comparison for this 3 model speaker....
ASAP thx for ur help......
Kytz
post Apr 23 2008, 10:21 PM

572 posts

you're asking the differences between brands without any specific model or budget, no one can help you if you aren't specific enough
also, try the audiophile subforum, they can help you over there, just remember to state your budget
sbd18
post Apr 23 2008, 11:11 PM

300 posts

value for money i would go for edifier...but sound is a personal preference though...hard to justify...
sucka3
post Apr 23 2008, 11:22 PM

F e I c H a I 23
1,199 posts

QUOTE(sbd18 @ Apr 23 2008, 11:11 PM)
value for money i would go for edifier...but sound is a personal preference though...hard to justify...
second that..me AL supporter always... sweat.gif
dj.eRicZzz
post Apr 23 2008, 11:44 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

personally think edifier still the best....using for 2/3 years still booming
zHo3
post Apr 24 2008, 05:47 PM

Knowledge is power, guard it well
709 posts

i using sonic gear.. gila bass. walalalala rclxms.gif
Liuteva
post Apr 24 2008, 06:03 PM

Empty.
2,991 posts

sonic gear provide clear sound .. altec lansing had nice bass ..

no idea on edifier.. no use before smile.gif
LExus65
post Apr 24 2008, 06:23 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

edifier got some range of speaker made with wooden casing, the sound is much deeper compare to plastic casing......
karhoe
post Apr 24 2008, 06:27 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(zHo3 @ Apr 24 2008, 05:47 PM)
i using sonic gear.. gila bass. walalalala rclxms.gif
Lol, if Sonic Gear you can say gila bass, wait till you listen to Edifier or Altec Lansing, no offence, Sonic Gear quality for material and sound is the worst among the three.
i_love_japan
post Apr 24 2008, 06:38 PM

753 posts

i think currently Edifier is the best among on the otp of the list.

Altec Lansing comes next. coz nowadays their technology tak boleh pakai.

No need to mention sonic gear is the worst among all.
vincent_5451
post Apr 24 2008, 08:20 PM

642 posts

so far i think edifier is the best among these brands. the price if edifier speaker is reasonable. while the sound quality is much more better than altec lansing and sonic gear due to its solid wood casing.
herojack41
post Apr 24 2008, 08:59 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

aiya...sonic gear balik rumah la.....i at my friends house he got a sonic gear.....macam turtle bass.....and compare to my altec lansing hell lot of different,been using almost 3 years
sucka3
post Apr 24 2008, 09:01 PM

F e I c H a I 23
1,199 posts

fuh...bashin parade... doh.gif

This post has been edited by sucka3: Apr 24 2008, 09:01 PM
reckless
post Apr 24 2008, 09:03 PM

QUOTE(i_love_japan @ Apr 24 2008, 06:38 PM)

yup edifier is the best!
mingdynasty
post Apr 24 2008, 09:05 PM

656 posts

with out a doubt its edifier
snoopyguy
post Apr 24 2008, 09:09 PM

145 posts

which model of edifier would be prefered by u guys..?
fesick
post Apr 24 2008, 09:49 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

but sonic gear not that bad..
my friend got i sonic gear..not sure what model,its 75w 2.1 speaker..
the bass can shake entire room..price around rm200 only
edifier..ya,no doubt on this..
ir1z
post Apr 24 2008, 10:01 PM

The God of Death
1,629 posts

go for like mine s530d u can knock the hella out of ur neighbourssssss windowsssss if you want to with the extra volume boost after the max level sound allowed hahaha

p/s: i was an altec lansing vs4121 user b4 this, not gonna turn back after getting this edifier period!!!.......
don^don
post Apr 24 2008, 10:03 PM

(#‵′)凸
1,930 posts

no doubt its edifier. i never look up on edifier until 1 day i go and buy edifier for no reason, and now there's no turning back. laugh.gif

altec lansing was good, but it was good...

sonic gear? the quality is not tat good, but some of the models aren't tat bad at all. but still i won't go for sonic gear.
SkyDriver
post Apr 24 2008, 10:03 PM

364 posts

AL is outdated, i hate their cut cost and old school products
edifier is cool
sonic gear isnt that bad, such as apocalypx series

QUOTE(karhoe @ Apr 24 2008, 06:27 PM)
Lol, if Sonic Gear you can say gila bass, wait till you listen to Edifier or Altec Lansing, no offence, Sonic Gear quality for material and sound is the worst among the three.
QUOTE(i_love_japan @ Apr 24 2008, 06:38 PM)

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Apr 24 2008, 08:59 PM)
aiya...sonic gear balik rumah la.....i at my friends house he got a sonic gear.....macam turtle bass.....and compare to my altec lansing hell lot of different,been using almost 3 years
ever own a sonic gear speaker? LOL
if ya, what model?

KooHei
post Apr 25 2008, 01:59 PM

431 posts

altec lansing is known as expensive brand... while sonic gear... is affordable brand with lesser quality of altec lansing...
Seaedge
post Apr 25 2008, 03:05 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

i would agree edifier sounds better than ther rest brand stated... i used my r401 for like 5 years... and now only it has problem with the subs... plan to get another edifier..

Added on April 25, 2008, 3:06 pmp/s: i heard sonic gear is sub-brand by AL? no?

This post has been edited by Seaedge: Apr 25 2008, 03:06 PM
mrhenree
post Apr 25 2008, 03:24 PM

LYN 6 Stars Member
1,122 posts

QUOTE(sucka3 @ Apr 23 2008, 11:22 PM)
second that..me AL supporter always... sweat.gif
i'm AL supporter too, i like their bass. Solid. biggrin.gif
yus_eden
post Apr 25 2008, 03:30 PM

123 posts

If got $$, buy klipsch instead.. whistling.gif
cyew86
post Apr 25 2008, 03:46 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

just close this thread dry.gif
TS, i dun mean to flame u, but ur question is pretty vague

Can anyone tell me wat is the different within this 3 model??
such as sound quality, performance and design... and details also...
anyone know where to find the comparison for this 3 model speaker....
ASAP thx for ur help......

firstly, edifier, altec lansing, and sonic gear are BRAND, not MODEL. when u ask question like this, which refers to brand, u are attracting fanboys and flame wars.

secondly, each of those BRANDS has various range of speakers, which are called MODELS, and each of them have different sound quality, performance, and design. each MODELS from each BRANDS can compete with each other, depending on the price range and the usage, e.g., u can't compare Edifier M1310 with Altec Lansing MX5021 due to different price range. but u can compare Edifier M1310 with Sonic Gear EVO3, or Edifier M3300 with Altec Lansing VS4121 and Sonic Gear Blue Thunder 3. there is no such thing as best brand or model in this world, as sound quality is pretty much subjective to each individuals, some gamers would prefer SG BT3 and AL VS4121 compared to M3300, while music listeners might prefer M3300.

thirdly, why bother about the design of the speakers? we need speakers for the sound, and not for the look. but if u insist, i would say that it's still very subjective to each of us here. and again, do not compare BRANDS, compare MODELS.

finally, please stick to 1 thread 1 time, please refrain from asking the same question in both places, in ur case, audiophile and hardware sections.

This post has been edited by cyew86: Apr 25 2008, 03:48 PM
yus_eden
post Apr 25 2008, 03:58 PM

123 posts

huh..Someone speaking here.. rclxms.gif

Agree with you...Brand and model...

Different.. brows.gif
mrhenree
post Apr 25 2008, 04:04 PM

LYN 6 Stars Member
1,122 posts

QUOTE(yus_eden @ Apr 25 2008, 03:58 PM)
huh..Someone speaking here.. rclxms.gif

Agree with you...Brand and model...

Different.. brows.gif
Hoho.. I second that. Already mention in the 1st page...
magna_voxx
post Apr 25 2008, 04:17 PM

-Maximum Game-
1,071 posts

edifier...i thnk d sound quite gud compared wif sonic gear.costly a bit..

yus_eden
post Apr 25 2008, 04:47 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(magna_voxx @ Apr 25 2008, 04:17 PM)
edifier...i thnk d sound quite gud compared wif sonic gear.costly a bit..
Don't know other to say...

You have your own point of view..

I had use sonic gear from the first time tested it...

Not flaming other user but for me, sonic gear is affordable for value and performance...

I have used blue thunder 2 2.1 and now using enzo 6000 5.1.... rclxms.gif
shinjite
post Apr 25 2008, 05:09 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Personally I am using Edifier R501, no turning back man
Value for money plus with its 8" sub...Syiok~~

Classic man wink.gif
Mooneyes
post Apr 25 2008, 05:40 PM

Time heals
2,731 posts

what nice model edifier speaker can i get for rm150-rm250
aspire2oo6
post Apr 25 2008, 05:41 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

Have u tried logitech z-5500D ? haha u should uncle
cyew86
post Apr 25 2008, 05:42 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(Mooneyes @ Apr 25 2008, 05:40 PM)
what nice model edifier speaker can i get for rm150-rm250
what is the main usage of ur speakers?
i have tried e3100 for music, and it's pretty good, but dun think it's that suitable for gaming
u have lotsa choices here: M3300, E3100, M3310, C2
Mooneyes
post Apr 25 2008, 05:49 PM

Time heals
2,731 posts

need loud bass and clear sound tongue.gif

cyew86
post Apr 25 2008, 05:55 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(Mooneyes @ Apr 25 2008, 05:49 PM)
need loud bass and clear sound tongue.gif
hmm, for bass, maybe u shud look at Altec Lansing VS4121 or Sonic Gear Blue Thunder 3
i have never listened to 4121 b4 but the users said that its bassy
BT3 i have tried once, it's clarity and bass are acceptable, it's one of the SG flagship model

This post has been edited by cyew86: Apr 25 2008, 05:56 PM
PeowYong
post Apr 25 2008, 06:13 PM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

1 thing for sure is dont buy those model with nice design (stylish shape and material)...
i found out that most of it doesn't sounds good... it just look cool

suicideroach
post Apr 25 2008, 06:22 PM

kiss mah a^^
1,494 posts

QUOTE(yus_eden @ Apr 25 2008, 04:47 PM)

Not flaming other user but for me, sonic gear is affordable for value and performance...

heheheh... i'm using blue thunder2 2.1 for almost 2 years now.. thumbup.gif really satisfied with it.. especially the bass. really can shake my room laugh.gif
zHo3
post Apr 25 2008, 09:33 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(suicideroach @ Apr 25 2008, 06:22 PM)
heheheh... i'm using blue thunder2 2.1 for almost 2 years now..  thumbup.gif  really satisfied with it.. especially the bass. really can shake my room  laugh.gif
wow.. ganas.. me using 3. woohoo. my friends altec lansing dunno why as it goes louder, the bass and the sound will cacat a bit wan..
likito
post Apr 27 2008, 10:48 AM

1,468 posts

i own altec lansing b4 , nice tri and bass sound , but dead very fast . i dont like sonic gear like pasar malam rm10 each .. unless u talking abt A series , that is only good speaker in sonic gear . edifier , overall is good sound with the price ...
if i was u , i wont back to altec lansing , s/g .

myee
post Apr 27 2008, 11:47 AM

>>>>>SAMA Inside<<<<<
1,157 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Apr 25 2008, 03:46 PM)
just close this thread dry.gif
TS, i dun mean to flame u, but ur question is pretty vague
firstly, edifier, altec lansing, and sonic gear are BRAND, not MODEL. when u ask question like this, which refers to brand, u are attracting fanboys and flame wars.

secondly, each of those BRANDS has various range of speakers, which are called MODELS, and each of them have different sound quality, performance, and design. each MODELS from each BRANDS can compete with each other, depending on the price range and the usage, e.g., u can't compare Edifier M1310 with Altec Lansing MX5021 due to different price range. but u can compare Edifier M1310 with Sonic Gear EVO3, or Edifier M3300 with Altec Lansing VS4121 and Sonic Gear Blue Thunder 3. there is no such thing as best brand or model in this world, as sound quality is pretty much subjective to each individuals, some gamers would prefer SG BT3 and AL VS4121 compared to M3300, while music listeners might prefer M3300.

thirdly, why bother about the design of the speakers? we need speakers for the sound, and not for the look. but if u insist, i would say that it's still very subjective to each of us here. and again, do not compare BRANDS, compare MODELS.

finally, please stick to 1 thread 1 time, please refrain from asking the same question in both places, in ur case, audiophile and hardware sections.
i've been use altec lansing for 2 years plus...and yes you're right....for gamers this is the good one...music okoklah....as long as my speaker working will used it until least...just thinking of what will be the next speaker will choose...
tonyqcc
post Apr 27 2008, 12:15 PM

70 posts

it seems tat quite most of you here supports edifier oh haha...

mine altec lansing and another edifier...
magna_voxx
post Apr 27 2008, 03:23 PM

-Maximum Game-
1,071 posts

QUOTE(yus_eden @ Apr 25 2008, 04:47 PM)

yeah..different people different thought.currently use sonic gear too icon_rolleyes.gif
different brand,different model give different satisfaction..

prolexus
post May 5 2008, 10:39 PM

280 posts

Bought my AL 45.1 for rm280 back in 1998. Been serving me deep bass for 10 years already without any failure.

Altec for build quality and good bass. Period.
gamers maniac
post May 5 2008, 10:42 PM

Casual Gamers
1,070 posts

1. altec 2. edifier 3. sonic gear.

btw altec offer good saound + have higher 2nd value than other brand stated above.
nelienuxe_sara
post May 6 2008, 08:25 AM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

i support altec and creative
altec = exp
creative = cheap but still ok ^^
hagiwara
post May 6 2008, 11:32 AM

- YUI -
777 posts

Sonic Gear if u not planning to use the speaker for long time .. otherwise buy Altec Lensing ..
TerryZeroX
post May 6 2008, 12:43 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

Edifier thumbup.gif M3300 user here and the bass is shaking up my computer table with only 3quarter of the bass knob turned.
madballs
post May 6 2008, 01:38 PM

237 posts

seems noone like logitech here sad.gif
ryugan
post May 6 2008, 01:56 PM

Gixxer Rider
684 posts

QUOTE(madballs @ May 6 2008, 01:38 PM)
seems noone like logitech here sad.gif
TS stated 3 brand only,

for me i'll go for Altec Lansing, but certain batch only, like AL VS4121 batch, the blue LED's speaker sound superb compare with 'new' AL VS4121 speaker (green LED). lousy one.

last time i bought this speaker, n at the same time my friend bought edifier, at shop da speaker's sound superb.after bawak balik campus...seems da sound quality 'downgrading'. day after day, i felt like lousy speaker.

i'll say no to edifier,
sonic gear? got bad experience with sonic gear headphone, low quality mic.my i cute headphone better. so i assume other product from sonic gear are the same.
clngu
post May 6 2008, 05:33 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

Edifier S730 drool.gif
i_love_japan
post May 6 2008, 06:59 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(SkyDriver @ Apr 24 2008, 10:03 PM)
AL is outdated, i hate their cut cost and old school products
edifier is cool
sonic gear isnt that bad, such as apocalypx series
ever own a sonic gear speaker? LOL
if ya, what model?
few years back, i used to own AL Speaker. used for 1year+, subwoffer rosak, realeasing *pish* *pish* sound instead of bass.

then, changed to Edifier, used for 2 years, still rocking good even sold to my fren. now maybe around 3years+.

DUH doh.gif .u dun need to own a speaker in order to feel the difference. there are many places where u can do audition. shakehead.gif

btw i'm using Aego M right now. totally satisfy with it.
stone13
post May 7 2008, 12:07 AM

272 posts

have been using the altech lansing ACS56 on 200 until today nothing wrong with it still sound great and kicking smile.gif
fcuk90
post May 7 2008, 09:31 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

i i think sonic gear blue thunder also not bad...vs4121 deep bass...if you like bass then go for altec lansing....sonic gear speaker produce sound more sharp
naq_saviola
post May 7 2008, 05:12 PM

394 posts

how about edifier with amplifier?its gud?
salmonella
post May 7 2008, 05:52 PM

36 posts

edifier is the best
rizer
post May 7 2008, 06:11 PM

289 posts

Agree.... that why i choose edifier C2 rclxms.gif

Added on May 7, 2008, 6:13 pm
QUOTE(fesick @ Apr 24 2008, 09:49 PM)
but sonic gear not that bad..
my friend got i sonic gear..not sure what model,its 75w 2.1 speaker..
the bass can shake entire room..price around rm200 only
edifier..ya,no doubt on this..
sonic gear blue thunder ?

Sonic gear hv a heavy bass.... but the bass always boooop booop
macam gonna pecah ard...

Added on May 7, 2008, 6:21 pm
QUOTE(ryugan @ May 6 2008, 01:56 PM)
TS stated 3 brand only,

for me i'll go for Altec Lansing, but certain batch only, like AL VS4121 batch, the blue LED's speaker sound superb compare with 'new' AL VS4121 speaker (green LED). lousy one.

last time i bought this speaker, n at the same time my friend bought edifier, at shop da speaker's sound superb.after bawak balik campus...seems da sound quality 'downgrading'. day after day, i felt like lousy speaker.

i'll say no to edifier,
sonic gear? got bad experience with sonic gear headphone, low quality mic.my i cute headphone better. so i assume other product from sonic gear are the same.
have u ever experience about the cable problem for VS4121 ?
my few fren who bought their 4121 at different place all meet the same problem
sometimes the subwoofer doesn't work due to the cable problem

is few people... not 1 or 2

Added on May 7, 2008, 6:24 pm
QUOTE(naq_saviola @ May 7 2008, 05:12 PM)
how about edifier with amplifier?its gud?
i'm using C2 now....
the sound quality and bass much more better compare to M3300...
for me lar...

the new C3 is too big for me
hard to clean out a place for it since i hv limited space for my computer table..

This post has been edited by rizer: May 7 2008, 06:24 PM
ryugan
post May 7 2008, 08:20 PM

Gixxer Rider
684 posts

QUOTE(rizer @ May 7 2008, 06:11 PM)

have u ever experience about the cable problem  for VS4121 ?
my few fren who bought their 4121 at different place all meet the same problem
sometimes the subwoofer doesn't work due to the cable problem
is few people... not 1 or 2

so far my speaker ok,
which batch u talking about

psycho_aloha
post May 8 2008, 01:17 AM

96 posts

for me edifier n AL lor....
ahkang77
post May 8 2008, 02:06 AM

107 posts

>>>>>>>sonic gear, dun ever touch dis

>>>>>>>altec lansign, whole round entertainment system even with ur
ipod

>>>>>>>edifier, sumtimes good, sumtimes bad, last time drop water short the volume controller keeping stinging my finger like in electric chair
franson
post May 9 2008, 10:48 AM

186 posts

edifier is the best nowadays~~ sonic gear no matter build quality, sound quality, etc etc also in down side~~ altec lansing? i can say he is the pc speaker dai lou few years ago~ but not now any more~ pick a rm200 range edifier speaker and u can already enjoy it~ speaking frankly =)
Neoven
post Oct 23 2008, 09:08 PM

88 posts

If You Want The BEST quality sound
GO FOR YAMAHA !!!!
But i think edifier is the best of the three
My edifier c3 just blasted my window and now need $$ to buy new window .....

Aquariusdenz
post Oct 23 2008, 09:32 PM

1,533 posts

1) Altec Lansin
2) Edifier
3) Sonic Gear

just my point of view...
ColourShadow
post Oct 24 2008, 06:50 PM

170 posts

AFAIK, Altec = bass + clear cool.gif
Edi = BASS + BASS thumbup.gif
Sonic = good bucks brows.gif
kernah
post Oct 24 2008, 09:58 PM

474 posts

if have budget... always go for altec ... sonic gear is being my last choice
Aquariusdenz
post Oct 24 2008, 10:35 PM

1,533 posts

lolz me diff... if got budget then go for altec but wont even buy sonic if no budget... smile.gif
momoyuen
post Oct 24 2008, 10:50 PM

119 posts

im using altec lansing VS4121 since 2006, yeah is a bass speaker....just setting here and there, and debaboom!!!..its good!!..using for mp3s, watching movies, games....

and i don't want to change to any speaker..hahah...but if i have to...i go change to home theater?...heh....but it will cost more money...

almost 2 years already, and this speaker served me well!!..yeaaa!!...

This post has been edited by momoyuen: Oct 24 2008, 10:51 PM
sukhoi37
post Oct 24 2008, 10:53 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

sonic=altec<edifier

altec sux in all models except mx5021.
xelnamikaze
post Oct 24 2008, 10:55 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

my altec lansing is 5years old. still booming like nobody's business..
raymond5105
post Oct 24 2008, 10:59 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Oct 24 2008, 10:53 PM)
sonic=altec<edifier

altec sux in all models except mx5021.
Boss really kah?I'm using ACS45.1 wor....
sukhoi37
post Oct 24 2008, 11:53 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

i'm talking about current models. smile.gif

their old models are good of course, AL621, AL641, ADA885, ACS45.1.
owikh84
post Oct 25 2008, 12:16 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Been using Edifier old time R102 for years. It's time to upgrade now.
For sure I'll stick with Edifier.
Aquariusdenz
post Oct 25 2008, 12:16 AM

1,533 posts

metoo talking about the old models... edifier are catching up now... and where is creative...
raymond5105
post Oct 25 2008, 12:53 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Oct 24 2008, 11:53 PM)
i'm talking about current models. smile.gif

their old models are good of course, AL621, AL641, ADA885, ACS45.1.
Do you think the VS4121 is a good buy for budget speaker?Would you recommend other models than this?
lex
post Oct 25 2008, 01:06 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

For clarity... Edifier

Tight bass... Edifier

Nice highs... Edifier

Nuff said... tongue.gif

sukhoi37
post Oct 25 2008, 01:06 AM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Oct 25 2008, 12:53 AM)
Do you think the VS4121 is a good buy for budget speaker?Would you recommend other models than this?
not at all, i sold it within 2 months.
look for edifier, there are a few better models in this price range.
i_love_japan
post Oct 25 2008, 02:48 AM

753 posts

old speakers using old technology by altec lansing are good.

but since then, they changed the technology, so do their sound quality drops.
qwerty79
post Oct 25 2008, 03:19 AM

1,907 posts

QUOTE(Neoven @ Oct 23 2008, 09:08 PM)
If You Want The BEST quality sound
GO FOR YAMAHA !!!!
But i think  edifier is the best of the three
My edifier c3 just blasted my window and now need $$ to buy new window .....
You are joking rite? So how your new window? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Once I was an AL user. True, we I go to shop for speaker, most AL have great bass sound. But I'm not like it.

So, for almost 3 year, I'm an Edifier user thumbup.gif . Really great sound. Currently also searching for <RM200 range speaker.

maxburnz
post Oct 25 2008, 04:41 AM

698 posts

B&O la the best...high end speaker which you usually get when owning a luxury car...haha...

altec lansing still for me has the best of all sound..while edifier pretty catch up with the spec and lastly...sonic gear...cheapest speaker to get what spec you want such as freq,5.1,vacuum..so quality a lil bit (u know what to add)
S4PH
post Oct 26 2008, 01:05 AM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

the other day i went to thunder match i saw a sonic gear speaker with vacuum tube does it raly works or its just for show?
maxburnz
post Oct 26 2008, 01:09 AM

698 posts

my fren bought 1...i think i hear a better quality sound..feels like a pricey speaker but when saw it..just sonic gear..dunno what other thinks
Aquariusdenz
post Oct 26 2008, 01:13 AM

1,533 posts

the vacuum tube really improve the quality but then the speakers are not big one(not big wattage)... ppl will still prefer other brands which have those THX or whatever technology...
k!nex
post Oct 26 2008, 11:54 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

i used Altec ACS45.1 (died to due to lightning),ADA885 and ATP 3. 3 of them also sound very nice ( especially the ADA885). current AL i think the 5021 only nice.but i think is 600bucks rite??
Aquariusdenz
post Oct 26 2008, 12:24 PM

1,533 posts

ya i think only that model nice... my fren use second set dy.. his first set blow and cant be fix.. dono why... and ya its around rm600 that price range... the sound really chun... others i think is sound pollution... i mean other AL models smile.gif
andrekua
post Oct 26 2008, 01:03 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

No use comparing brands when their product differs from one another.

Instead, try comparing the model from all 3 companies within the price bracket for say, RM300-400 or RM500-600 or RM800-1000.

I think its safe to say Altec Lansing sucks when it comes to sub Rm150 speaker. I think Edifier and Sonicgear are comparable. Sub RM500, I think Edifier got much more choice hence I give them the nod.

For RM500-600, I would say Altec and Edifier nicely matched, depending on what you prefer. Altec used to have ACS48, ADA885 but these two have retired. Altec only rely on MX5021 to match Edifier wide variety of choice. However, AegoM also seem like a nice choice as its only cost RM6xx thus making it the best choice in this price range.

For >RM800 category, most if not all people will go for BASS model. For me, their sound is bigger but the quality still isnt there. To appreciate quality, need to move to another level which is bookshelf. I think so far, only Edifier dare to venture with its S2000 flagship model. I prefer this to all those BASShead model from Edifier and Altec Lansing. 3" sattelite speakers just aint enough to produce the full spectrum of sound and its feel like overpaying for just some extra juice of bass.
chchyong89
post Oct 26 2008, 01:36 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

no matter which price range.. i vote edifier.... i tried sonic gear, i tried altec lansing

u want game? go for altec lansing

u want music, movie (media)? go for edifier

i don't know which situation that sonic gear will be better, the sound not that attractive..
arzz
post Oct 26 2008, 02:07 PM

92 posts

ok,
i will go for altec.
dickdickomg
post Oct 26 2008, 02:17 PM

36 posts

i agree

Aquariusdenz
post Oct 26 2008, 03:51 PM

1,533 posts

Sonic gear really sux...

@andrekua
if talking about full spectrum sound.. then you should talk about speakers satellites which have at least tweeter, speakers. what i mean is from smallest to the biggest size speakers... just like Hi-Fi... with those diff sizes, it can produce sounds of different frequency... you can listen more specific sound... thats what we call full spectrum.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Aquariusdenz: Oct 26 2008, 03:52 PM
andrekua
post Oct 26 2008, 06:41 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Aquariusdenz @ Oct 26 2008, 03:51 PM)
Sonic gear really sux...

@andrekua
if talking about full spectrum sound.. then you should talk about speakers satellites which have at least tweeter, speakers. what i mean is from smallest to the biggest size speakers... just like Hi-Fi... with those diff sizes, it can produce sounds of different frequency... you can listen more specific sound... thats what we call full spectrum.. smile.gif
Its useless. ALL multimedia speaker out there comes with 3" sattelite driver that are not capable of playing full spectrum sound, regardless of their published rating. Most of them sucks at <500Hz frequency. Although the subwoofer does a good job to cover the lower note, there is obvious sound loss for frequency below 500Hz (even when equipped with a subwoofer) when compared to 5.5" midbass driver. To get full spectrum sound, you will need at least a 5.5" mid that will allow you to play from probably 70/80Hz ~ 4KHz + 1" tweeters which play 4KHz ~ 20KHz.
monkeez
post Oct 26 2008, 06:42 PM

35 posts

EDIFIER ALL THE WAY RULEZ!!!!!
viqq
post Oct 26 2008, 06:50 PM

From the Eastside
1,836 posts

Altec Lansing if between these 3. But if you say you want other brands as an option, you may want to look into Creative or Logitech products.

But for me, when purchasing a speaker it depends on other factors also la. Not only the speaker's performance or brand but also factors such as the room size, on what purpose should I buy the speakers for etc.
minghao
post Oct 26 2008, 07:23 PM

Taeyeon Saranghae <3
2,221 posts

No creative option here? smile.gif
owikh84
post Oct 26 2008, 08:47 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

I think the Creative is hardly seen as compared to the threes.
Actually they also have a good range of speaker i.e. Giga/Megawork but their price is not so tempting in Malaysia. Somehow it's cheaper in S'pore. JB ppl will get advantage in terms of this.
yaphong
post Oct 26 2008, 09:33 PM

659 posts

I have been using Altec Lansing for 7 years...
Never used other brands so I have no idea.
Aquariusdenz
post Oct 26 2008, 10:15 PM

1,533 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 26 2008, 06:41 PM)
Its useless. ALL multimedia speaker out there comes with 3" sattelite driver that are not capable of playing full spectrum sound, regardless of their published rating. Most of them sucks at <500Hz frequency. Although the subwoofer does a good job to cover the lower note, there is obvious sound loss for frequency below 500Hz (even when equipped with a subwoofer) when compared to 5.5" midbass driver. To get full spectrum sound, you will need at least a 5.5" mid that will allow you to play from probably 70/80Hz ~ 4KHz + 1" tweeters which play 4KHz ~ 20KHz.
yupz.. im not only talking about satellites... their woofer only produce limited range of frequency... thats what i said.. if they only use 3'' satellite then cant produce full spectrum... they need to have other sizes to produce different frequency... smile.gif besides that... nowadays the amp of the speakers are sux... its impossible to produce what me so call full spectrum...
Federer
post Oct 27 2008, 01:45 AM

290 posts

When u want to buy a speaker u'll go to a section in a shop that's full of speaker. There u can compare. I choose Edifier C2. The sound's so clear. Compare with my friend's Altec and i still like Edifier's sound more.

Edifier is the best. Altec Lansing got power bass but the sound's not as clear as Edifier. Sonic Gear if u choose it among the 3 u need to check ur ears.

Added on October 27, 2008, 1:46 amWhen u want to buy a speaker u'll go to a section in a shop that's full of speaker. There u can compare. I choose Edifier C2. The sound's so clear. Compare with my friend's Altec and i still like Edifier's sound more.

Edifier is the best. Altec Lansing got power bass but the sound's not as clear as Edifier. Sonic Gear if u choose it among the 3 u need to check ur ears.

This post has been edited by Federer: Oct 27 2008, 01:46 AM
lex
post Oct 27 2008, 02:33 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Federer @ Oct 27 2008, 01:45 AM)
Altec Lansing got power bass but the sound's not as clear as Edifier.
Errmmm... From my experience, the Altec speakers didn't strike me as having "power bass".... its more like "boomy bass"... not real deep bass. Of course I've used a 45.1 before... didn't really like the sound anyway, sounds nice for games but when playing music its a different story. tongue.gif

Jcsy
post Oct 27 2008, 03:11 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

yup,i have sonic gear myself , for the price, aroudn my range other guys perform better smile.gif
zHo3
post Oct 27 2008, 10:50 AM

709 posts

i'm using sonic gear. omgwtf. okok lo.. haha. blue thunder 3.. now discontinued adi.. sad.gif
James_yka
post Oct 27 2008, 11:39 AM

kNight
1,372 posts

From my experience...

Edifier is for music and Altec is for gaming...

But since im more into music, i still prefer Edifier... eventho im a gamer...
Gaming with Edifier isnt really that bad after all, just a bit lack of bass impact, but the background music drives me all the way thru... XD
Music with Edifier is solid clear...
Jcsy
post Oct 27 2008, 12:15 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

my next speakers, if my sonic gear dies would be edifier or altec anyways

im a music listener, game yes but my game is just gun shots and shell explosions.. couldnt be that bad

thanks 4 the heads up
lex
post Oct 27 2008, 04:22 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(James_yka @ Oct 27 2008, 11:39 AM)
Gaming with Edifier isnt really that bad after all, just a bit lack of bass impact, but the background music drives me all the way thru... XD
Hmm.... I think the "bass impact" is subjective to one's preference.. hmm.gif

Some like (loud and) boomy type of bass which makes gaming sounds have impact at the slightest nuance... While others like deep solid bass (I call it the "thud" factor) which doesn't muddle the highs and mids and is more suitable for music and movies. wink.gif

sukhoi37
post Oct 27 2008, 05:30 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

the problem is that most of the newbies don't care about the muddy bass, as long as it trembles your desk at loud volume will do.
they call it powerful speaker. rolleyes.gif laugh.gif
Aquariusdenz
post Oct 27 2008, 07:14 PM

1,533 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Oct 27 2008, 04:22 PM)
Hmm.... I think the "bass impact" is subjective to one's preference..  hmm.gif

Some like (loud and) boomy type of bass which makes gaming sounds have impact at the slightest nuance... While others like deep solid bass (I call it the "thud" factor) which doesn't muddle the highs and mids and is more suitable for music and movies.  wink.gif
i agree with your Thud factor and im finding those speakers with this deep solid bass.. as im just music listener and watching movie only...
herojack41
post Oct 27 2008, 09:02 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(James_yka @ Oct 27 2008, 11:39 AM)
From my experience...

Edifier is for music and Altec is for gaming...

But since im more into music, i still prefer Edifier... eventho im a gamer...
erm....i nt so agree with that...last pc fair...i went to edifier booth and altec lansing 1...two of them are almost same range product...although that edifier speaker spunned to max...but da sound like yawn.gif it hurting my ear
when i go to altec lansing speaker it has different sound as i heard

zeustronic
post Oct 27 2008, 11:50 PM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles
2,605 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Oct 27 2008, 10:02 PM)
erm....i nt so agree with that...last pc fair...i went to edifier booth and altec lansing 1...two of them are almost same range product...although that edifier speaker spunned to max...but da sound like yawn.gif it hurting my ear
i mean wow so many speakers blasting together, u differenciate which sound good which sound no good doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif ?
Aquariusdenz
post Oct 28 2008, 12:22 AM

1,533 posts

dude... we have to right to switch off other speaker just to listen one by one right? smile.gif
Jcsy
post Oct 28 2008, 02:24 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

close 1 ear and listen to 1 speaker

lol
lex
post Oct 28 2008, 02:32 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

If you looking to compare speakers and test them on the spot (ask the salesman to demo), then I suggest try ALL IT Hypermart and ThunderMatch (highest floor) at Low Yat. thumbup.gif I don't recommend Sri Computers because its just too noisy there... sweat.gif

Anyway, that is how I picked the Edifier M3300 (and went overbudget) tongue.gif ... Originally I was looking at the (lower price) Sonic Gear Blue Thunder but was disappointed with its sound (especially the bass). wink.gif
Aquariusdenz
post Oct 28 2008, 12:07 PM

1,533 posts

ya.. i dont like sonic gear's bass as they are a bit 'fake' smile.gif
Edifier
post Oct 29 2008, 04:56 PM

Store Representative
9,166 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Oct 27 2008, 09:02 PM)
pcfair is not a good place to testing speaker, it is for bargain. All the player will tune the spk to the max.
bekham6669
post Oct 29 2008, 08:09 PM

146 posts

for me~~~~edifier is the best n affordable
damaknet
post Jan 27 2009, 12:53 AM

QUOTE(psycho_aloha @ May 8 2008, 01:17 AM)
for me edifier n AL lor....
I'm using sonic gear blue thunder IIX and the sound was never failed me.
Astonishingly powerful, superb crispy clear.

It's depend on what type of speaker did you buy, price range RM150 and up are better choice. No matter what brand.
I also have used Altec lansing, and the quality of steady bass, even at slow volume is surprisingly astonishing.

i have never use edifier, but i would like to try ...
nightshade_nova
post Jan 27 2009, 03:51 AM

443 posts

using sonic gear apocalypse
after 3 months use, amplifier goes kaput, dunno what happened

my fren lost the receipt some more cry.gif

now using the two speakers with new amplifier

heard quality of both an altec lansing and sonic gear
altec lansing much better with high notes
kinda makes me mad, cos the sonic gear (my sonic gear, in this case...)
cos much more than altec lansing mid range product. mad.gif

but of course, the pros of my sonic gear, one is that you can turn up the volume without the noise breaking
but still the sound produced not quite satisfying for an audiophile like me
lex
post Jan 27 2009, 07:13 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(nightshade_nova @ Jan 27 2009, 03:51 AM)
using sonic gear apocalypse
after 3 months use, amplifier goes kaput, dunno what happened

my fren lost the receipt some more cry.gif
You mean no sound at all from all the speakers? Is there any power indicator? Is that the one with the vacumm tube? hmm.gif

now using the two speakers with new amplifier
You mean the satellite speakers? What amplifier did you pair them with? unsure.gif

heard quality of both an altec lansing and sonic gear
altec lansing much better with high notes
kinda makes me mad, cos the sonic gear (my sonic gear, in this case...)
cos much more than altec lansing mid range product. mad.gif
Next time... Test first before buying. nod.gif

but of course, the pros of my sonic gear, one is that you can turn up the volume without the noise breaking
but still the sound produced not quite satisfying for an audiophile like me
Depends on personal preference. Generally most audiophiles like (dull) flat sounds (natural sound), some like "bright" sounds (high notes), some like "impact" (strong bass) sounds.. while some like "colored" (strong mids, some frequency deviations) sounds. Not sure which one is your preference... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Jan 27 2009, 07:14 AM
don_naza
post Jan 27 2009, 11:29 AM

110 posts

altec lansing VZ 4121 rocks!
frostmourne
post Jan 27 2009, 02:34 PM

219 posts

all this 3 brands are big brand.. but for me test before u buy because not all people have same taste.. wink.gif

for me, 1. altec lansing, 2. edifier, 3. sonic gear
uzer85
post Jan 27 2009, 02:38 PM

love............love......
3,812 posts

altec lansing VZ 4121 rocks!

it is VS 4121 if i'm not mistaken.
have one before (VS 4121), great sound with great woofer.
wont regret it.
fadhfuad
post Jan 30 2009, 02:03 AM

248 posts

Add one more..
Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, THX certified dude!!!
KenDiriwan
post Jan 30 2009, 02:11 AM

2,277 posts

And THX doesnt mean that much dude!!!
fadhfuad
post Jan 30 2009, 02:18 AM

248 posts

just joking..Im using heman kadon something..nearly 4 years now still crisp and perfect sound..
jimmylim85
post Jan 31 2009, 04:34 PM

iPhone world....
7,826 posts

I personally still prefer my 7 years old Altec lansing 45.1B, just replace a brand new sound IC which is spoilt. Just RM 10 for that IC which is manufactured by ST Microelectronics.

I got the money, i'll go for Klipsch GMX 2.1A, even is old model but it rocks!
CallOfLegend
post Jan 31 2009, 11:35 PM

350 posts

I have an Altec Lansing FX6021 before and now i'm using Edifier S330. I would say that edifier speaker give better performance over price ratio (better value) compared to AL. FX6021 sounds good but S330 sounds better. Still it's just my opinion anyway.
andrew9292
post Jan 31 2009, 11:59 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

6021's clarity and soundstage is gila... but the bass tone not really match the satalite speaker. if tighter bass n more power that speaker is legend edy ; )
rezmez
post Feb 5 2009, 08:54 PM

I'm using altec lansing 2.1 not sure what model. Bought it last 2 year around rm150 and satisfy with the performance. The design is quite simple and I always believe with simple design so the manufacturer can focus the manufacturing cost on the component quality rather than spend it on product cosmetic.
Just my 2cent.... smile.gif
radi0head
post Feb 5 2009, 08:59 PM

A Shocker
2,759 posts

of all the three... i will choose altec lansing for it's 'name' over the other 2... hehe...

wink.gif

uzer85
post Feb 5 2009, 09:02 PM

love............love......
3,812 posts

Altec is my 1st choice (have one before). currently using headphone. cant use the speaker loudly so there's no point in buying any. tongue.gif
reign226
post Feb 12 2009, 06:04 PM

804 posts

Hmm singapore selling S330 for only $118...but S330D almost $200. Should I go for the $118 model? I don't need digital.
cyew86
post Feb 12 2009, 06:10 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

that's really cheap
i want that price in Malaysia as well sad.gif
by all means, go for S330 if u do not need digital
hsienhsien
post Feb 12 2009, 09:28 PM

Safe Trader
1,490 posts

armageddon 5 i suggest if budget around rm200 smile.gif

This post has been edited by hsienhsien: Feb 12 2009, 09:28 PM
uzary
post Feb 13 2009, 02:51 AM

J@ck da D0n
3,149 posts

i just bought edifier c3, damn incredible the sound man..cayala thumbup.gif notworthy.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
reign226
post Feb 13 2009, 07:25 AM

804 posts

C3 better than the S330? What are the differences? Hehe
onnjeyyon
post Apr 27 2009, 01:41 AM

smoking is bad for health
1,009 posts

haha...i oso jz bought a C3
erm, mayb it has a amplifier??
andyhui
post Apr 24 2011, 12:00 AM

251 posts

Now only I know Altec is from US
Edifier is from CHINA!!!
and Sonic gear is from Singapore!!!

finally Eview is from Malayisa
bentayan_hijau
post Apr 24 2011, 12:03 AM

106 posts

now using sonic gear armageddon A5 ...very2 satisfied..woofer boom boom boom...at price 195
renishi
post Apr 24 2011, 12:31 AM

893 posts

go here

there is a section in home entertainment where they will recommend you any system depending on your budget
kingkingyyk
post Apr 24 2011, 02:02 AM

15,694 posts

Hello, I don't see any point for digging up 2 years old thread.
ask_dino
post May 19 2011, 05:15 PM

DS is the name
741 posts

Well actually they already open a new version of the thread

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1850014
zephyrus9999
post May 19 2011, 08:19 PM

649 posts

depends on people actually

a kampung guy perceive ppl who drive honda city is freaking rich
a city guy perceive him as average.

same thing, most people here who comment have not experienced all the three brands you stated before, and their prejudgements are solely based on reviews and words of mouth.

and of course we know sonic gear makes rubbish speakers(just crack open the speaker and see how terrible the building quality is).. sonic gear speakers are eye-catchy towards those who likes bling bling lala lights etc etc..

altec lancing used to be on par with logitech like 5-10 years ago. but they're bought by plantronics and quality seem to drop slowly :/ but i think their high end range are not bad though?

among the three edifier probably takes the top spot.. good build quality, less boomy but strong bass and clear sound.

its all depends on human taste though. If your happy with a Rm50 speakers then stick to it. biggrin.gif
skeleton202
post May 19 2011, 08:38 PM

Perdana Malaysia ke-9
1,132 posts

no money go for Sonic Gear
middle money go for Altec
more money go for edifier
overload money go for bose(?)

0.0579sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled