Movies DC Presents: WONDER WOMAN, Status: Movie = YES! | TV Series = Maybe

defaultname365
post Aug 15 2016, 12:01 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Way too much time some have on their hands eh...

Wonder Woman director Patty Jenkins addresses rumours the film is 'a mess'

http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertai...s-a7189826.html

Following the mediocre reception to both Suicide Squad and Batman v Superman, many DC fans are becoming increasingly worried about Warner Bros’ upcoming slate of superhero films.

Next up is Wonder Woman, the first trailer having taken the internet by storm earlier this year after debuting at Comic-Con in San Diego.

However, a critical letter published by an 'alleged former Warner Bros. employee' under the name Gracie Law has started doing the rounds online.

The author of the letter criticises the studio, specifically CEO Kevin Tsujihara, alledging the studio mishandled the likes of Edge of Tomorrow, The Man From U.N.C.L.E., and The Hobbit trilogy.

Eventually, the studio’s DC film slate is mentioned, the disgruntled ‘ex-employee’ saying they have completely mangled the ‘entire slate’ of films, including Wonder Woman.

Judging by Suicide Squad, my hopes are now decimated for WW. Let's hope this works out.
defaultname365
post Nov 5 2016, 10:49 PM

1,098 posts

My reaction after the trailer; 'Ok.'

We'll see.

I don't trust these DC goons anymore.
defaultname365
post Mar 12 2017, 11:45 AM

1,098 posts

defaultname365
post Mar 13 2017, 01:28 AM

1,098 posts

Trailer didn't really do justice for me. I think it was the first trailer, the first full length trailer that did it for me. Not very optimistic about this.
defaultname365
post Apr 28 2017, 05:06 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Apr 28 2017, 12:25 PM)
This film is gonna be epic, too bad some people are gonna bash it eventhough it's a good movie and has minor issues, just cos it's cool to hate DC  sweat.gif
Couldn't care less if DC / Marvel. A good film is worth watching and if it's not, I don't watch.

Regretted watching BvS, skipped Suicide Squad and grateful for that.

Here's hoping Wonder Woman will truly shine in all regards.
defaultname365
post May 30 2017, 03:21 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ May 30 2017, 12:53 PM)
Hnnnnggh.... tongue.gif

So this could be it la... the first 'great' DC film in DCEU.

Last watched Trailer 2 to minimize plot/action reveals... now excited for the film.

defaultname365
post May 30 2017, 11:05 PM

1,098 posts

Back in my old days guys... nobody needed any reviews. Only little kids with little to no knowledge of movies needed it.

/s

Kalau dah bodoh tu simpan lah kat rumah... laugh.gif

Excited to catch it this weekend. Hope it is going to be great, I know the reviews are! icon_rolleyes.gif
defaultname365
post Jun 4 2017, 02:49 PM

1,098 posts

If only... if only this was released prior to BvS, it would have given WW a lot more weightage when she first appears! laugh.gif When you do watch BvS again, seeing WW there won't feel the same anymore.

Watched this today... definitely the best DC film in DCEU, great origin story, likeable characters, brilliant action set pieces (that trench scene...!) and Gal Gadot... she is WW. Gal Gadot truly shines here. I found myself saying "Whoa... she's pretty... several times" more times here than in BvS biggrin.gif

Kudos to Patty Jenkins for her direction and the writing is definitely up to 'superhero / Marvel' origin standards.

That trench scene was truly memorable... the music kicking in and WW getting into high gear. For me that was the highlight of the film.

My biggest gripe would be the villain sweat.gif Hmmm.... saving the 'best' for last in the DCEU perhaps? Who knows.

I liked how they used the Greek/Amazonian mythology to good use, without overly doing it. Not too much, just right for you to get interested. This part could easily have been overdone but they did not. The beach scene was great too. Love the 300-style slow-mo action.

Overall, this is the best DC film to date worth checking out.

Would have been nice to see another DC character making a cameo, but that's Marvel's way I guess, no post credits too which is totally fine. If DC can keep making their films with this level finesse and care, it can only go uphill from here.

"Justice League"... looking forward to it, though I have my skepticism since it is helmed by Snyder but let's hope WW is the start of DCEU era of great films.

9/10
defaultname365
post Jun 6 2019, 02:04 PM

1,098 posts

#WW84

Can't wait! For me, Wonder Woman (2017) is the best DCEU film to date.
defaultname365
post Dec 9 2019, 06:36 AM

1,098 posts

Loving the retro vibe... And Steve is the one who feels out-of-the-water this time 😄 How did he survive hmm...
defaultname365
post Nov 19 2020, 06:22 PM

1,098 posts

...and another one goes to streaming (and in cinemas) laugh.gif

https://variety.com/2020/film/news/wonder-w...ase-1234804411/

WB will try to get as much box office as possible with a cinema release. Who knows, it may do well internationally and break even.

To be a profitable wide screen movie release in 2020 is going to be mighty challenging.

"Tenet" has a cumulative gross of $353 million - an incredible feat considering a pandemic year but apparently to break even it needed $500 million.

0.0260sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:29 PM